Rating:
9.0
Gris - À L'Âme Enflammée, L'Äme Constellée...
9 July 2013


Disc I
01. L'Aube
02. Les Forges
03. Samsara
04. Igneus
05. Dil

Disc II
01. Moksha
02. Seizième Prière
03. Sem
04. Une Épitaphe De Suie
05. Nadir


If you still haven't managed to delve into the miserable world of Métal Noir Québécois, do yourself a favor and start with this album.

À l'âme enflammée, l'äme constellée... is exactly what this genre is all about: beautiful acoustic passages, haunting melodies, agonizing screams, passionate classical instrumentation, and just the right amount of raw aggression.

Where Il était une forêt... emitted a more woeful vibe, the duo that make up Gris captured feelings of remorse in a more spectacular way this time around. While the 15-minute dirge, "Les forges", is somewhat of a throwback to the harrowing "Le gala des gens heureux", the majority of these songs follow a less abrasive path.

Interspersed with acoustic interludes of varying lengths, these talented multi-instrumentalists have seemingly taken influence from the current post-metal trend, infusing their unique atmospheric black metal with the perfect blend of dissonance and melody. "Seizième prière" captures this approach with an emotional rollercoaster to the tune of uplifting classical music and harsh depressive black metal, a ride that has become synonymous with this band's discography.

Clocking in at over 80 minutes, À l'âme enflammée, l'äme constellée... may take some time to warm up to you, but the ends definitely justify the means. Despite an album that contains far more emphasis on atmosphere than actual riffs, the members of Gris still managed to create an engaging listen from beginning to end that incorporates cultural desolation and hopelessness - not at all unlike its predecessor.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Gris
Album: À L'Âme Enflammée, L'Äme Constellée...


 



Written on 30.11.2013 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 308  
Search this topic:  


3rdWorld - 30.11.2013 at 19:16  
I quite like the lengthy songs here especially since they are written this beautifully. And also the fact that this happens to be a double disc album.
gnirpz - 30.11.2013 at 20:35  
My Album of the year so far...

I have some difficulties to translate my feelings in english about that album. Some emotions can't be translate, like the lyrics of À L'Âme Enflammée, L'Äme Constellée...

It was the more enjoyable 80 minutes of the year. I'm Québécois, probably why that album means so much for me.

Nice review, it give justice to that album. "Emotinal rollercoaster" like in the review, it's exactly what it is.
Death_95 - 30.11.2013 at 20:49  
Album of the year without a doubt! Great review, thank you!
Can someone suggest other 'Métal Noir Québécois' bands?
Troy Killjoy - 30.11.2013 at 21:51  
Written by Death_95 on 30.11.2013 at 20:49
Can someone suggest other 'Métal Noir Québécois' bands?

Forteresse, Sombres forêts, Csejthe, Neige et noirceur, Monarque, Brume d'automne to name a few...
mz - 30.11.2013 at 22:10  
I tried to get into DSBM a couple of times and could not find good band, except for shining. Will definitely check this band out soon to see what comes out.
Draven Edge - 30.11.2013 at 22:21  
Here's a couple of bands I think those that like Gris would also enjoy, both from Sweden though. Hypothermia and Lustre. The dark anguished vocals are what first caught my attention, definitely cool atmospheric music. I dunno... for me.... over the last couple of years I've gotten away from reading lyrics. I used to totally analyze albums and their lyrics in a quest for the musician's "message'.
Of course, I listen to music for the music, but the lyrics are usually where the meaning of the song is conveyed (the concept). When I listen to Gris, Hypothermia or Lustre, vocal 'delivery' is what I appreciate. For me it conveys anguish, torment, anger, sorrow, pain....the dark side of the music world I can enjoy, appreciate and relate to. Thanks Troy for giving Gris the attention they deserve, good review.

Lustre | Lost in Lustrous Night Skies

Hypothermia | Do Ave Ran Vilja
Death_95 - 30.11.2013 at 23:22  
Written by mz on 30.11.2013 at 22:10

I tried to get into DSBM a couple of times and could not find good band, except for shining. Will definitely check this band out soon to see what comes out.

You'll love Gris, but also check out Nocturnal Depression... they got me into DSBM
Death_95 - 30.11.2013 at 23:26  
Written by Draven Edge on 30.11.2013 at 22:21

Here's a couple of bands I think those that like Gris would also enjoy, both from Sweden though. Hypothermia and Lustre. The dark anguished vocals are what first caught my attention, definitely cool atmospheric music. I dunno... for me.... over the last couple of years I've gotten away from reading lyrics. I used to totally analyze albums and their lyrics in a quest for the musician's "message'.
Of course, I listen to music for the music, but the lyrics are usually where the meaning of the song is conveyed (the concept). When I listen to Gris, Hypothermia or Lustre, vocal 'delivery' is what I appreciate. For me it conveys anguish, torment, anger, sorrow, pain....the dark side of the music world I can enjoy, appreciate and relate to. Thanks Troy for giving Gris the attention they deserve, good review.

Lustre | Lost in Lustrous Night Skies

Hypothermia | Do Ave Ran Vilja

Both bands are amazing, especially Hypothermia! I suggest Hypothermia for anyone who wants to get into DSBM.
Death_95 - 30.11.2013 at 23:29  
"just the right amount of raw aggression." I think this sentence sums up Black Metal in general, or DSBM to be more specific... great review Troy, thank you!
Death_95 - 30.11.2013 at 23:48  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.11.2013 at 21:51

Written by Death_95 on 30.11.2013 at 20:49
Can someone suggest other 'Métal Noir Québécois' bands?

Forteresse, Sombres forêts, Csejthe, Neige et noirceur, Monarque, Brume d'automne to name a few...

Thanks man, will give them a listen!
Tristus Scriptor - 01.12.2013 at 01:20  
If you ask me (though nobody did); THIS album is a collection of concentrated brilliance. I've loved it since it came out. Been a huge influence on me - both emotionally and musically.
tea[m]ster - 01.12.2013 at 17:43  
Good stuff although I don't know what's depressive about this music.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2013 at 17:52  
Written by tea[m]ster on 01.12.2013 at 17:43
Good stuff although I don't know what's depressive about this music.

It's more so the between-the-lines kind of depressive (loss of culture), not the in-your-face kind of depressive (suicide). That's why I don't lump Gris in with traditional depressive black metal bands, even though lyrically you can consider them depressive for different reasons.
Boxcar Willy - 01.12.2013 at 18:16  
I cannot appreciate this release for the simple reason that I can't finish it. It's just way too fucking long.
Troy Killjoy - 01.12.2013 at 19:32  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 01.12.2013 at 18:16
I cannot appreciate this release for the simple reason that I can't finish it. It's just way too fucking long.

I'd say that's your loss, unfortunately. I've listened to it over 20 times now from beginning to end and the intricacies throughout give me something new to appreciate every time. It's gotten to the point where I'm just listening to this instead of other new releases.
mz - 01.12.2013 at 20:47  
Written by Death_95 on 30.11.2013 at 23:22

Written by mz on 30.11.2013 at 22:10

I tried to get into DSBM a couple of times and could not find good band, except for shining. Will definitely check this band out soon to see what comes out.

You'll love Gris, but also check out Nocturnal Depression... they got me into DSBM


thank you, but I tried a few ND songs and did not like them. Also, what a cliche band name they've chosen. Nocturnal Depression ?? wth
Mad Arab666 - 01.12.2013 at 22:54  
I've never heard of Gris before but I'll check this out. Hopefully it will force me to buy the album.;D
Both Bears - 02.12.2013 at 10:48  
Doesnt beat Il etait une foret for me .. yet the music is different drawing more influences, enjoyable listen so far
Unhealer - 06.12.2013 at 01:57  
This is fucking lovely! Thanks for the heads-up Killjoy, I knew there had to be a positive side of having to tolerate you around MS again
Merchant of Doom - 06.12.2013 at 18:24  
Best album ever...
mz - 08.12.2013 at 12:12  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.12.2013 at 18:24

Best album ever...

Is it a fanboyish exaggeration to express how much you love this or you really mean it?
Merchant of Doom - 14.12.2013 at 11:21  
Written by mz on 08.12.2013 at 12:12

Written by Merchant of Doom on 06.12.2013 at 18:24

Best album ever...

Is it a fanboyish exaggeration to express how much you love this or you really mean it?


a bit of both...
Desert Father - 13.02.2014 at 01:32  
Just based on that first track... I'm in for a treat.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Alcest - Les voyages de l'âme 6 05.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Tortorum - Katabasis 4.5 28.02.2014 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews Burzum - Fallen 4.5 13.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Neige Et Noirceur - Hymnes de la montagne noire 4.5 03.01.2012 by Milena
Reviews Spectral Lore - Sentinel 4.5 03.07.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 4179 | This month: 108