Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.4
Altar Of Plagues - Teethed Glory & Injury
30 April 2013


01. Mills
02. God Alone
03. A Body Shrouded
04. Burnt Year
05. A Remedy And A Fever
06. Twelve Was Ruin
07. Scald Scar Of Water
08. Found, Oval And Final
09. Reflection Pulse Remains


grower [ˈgrəʊə]
n
1. (Music / Pop Music) a piece of music that is initially unimpressive but becomes more enjoyable after further hearings

After listening to this for half a year I cannot remember a release making such an abrupt 180 degree turn for the better like Altar Of Plagues final album Teethed Glory & Injury. I have dabbled in post-black metal before but my black metal has to be the "light" variety because music tagged with "black" is met with cynicism and hesitation. Alcest and Fen have helped me overcome some of my fears and now Altar Of Plagues can take its place along their side because of consummate use of post-metal guitar textures and arrangements, calm and tranquil yet dark and thick ambient interludes and peerless even flow on a post-metal record.

Of course those post-metal aspects is what enamors me about Teethed Glory & Injury. However, the black metal ingredients do not overshadow the post facets of the songs. Conveniently they are cohesive and working as one. Burst beat drumming, shrieking, screaming vocals and dense, impenetrable layers of heavy bass and guitar overlay songs that can easily be concurred or confused with music from the industrial, avant-garde, and experimental genres. The songs are really more of an expression of ideas rather than anything resembling structured, riff-orientated compositions. Using shorter songs to exhibit this form of ingenuity, it's new territory for Altar Of Plagues and I thoroughly enjoy the bravado.

The album really is a tough listen. You will either get it or not. The songs may come across as abrasive or even yet, have no direction or flow. At first listen I wasn't too sure, after 20 more I am convinced this is the greatest piece of art I have listened to in 2013 and an excellent finale to Altar Of Plagues' career. With each play their stylistic approach and risk-taking on this album has come before me to discover something disguised and raised my level of awareness for other post-black metal acts. Bring them on.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Altar Of Plagues
Album: Teethed Glory & Injury


 


written by tea[m]ster | 03.12.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 75  
Search this topic:  


Erik M. - 03.12.2013 at 21:05  
You gave it a 9.4 and rated it a 10? That's inconsistent.

Sorry, just noticed that. Have been meaning to check out this album for a while now but still haven't done so, don't know why.

Btw, would you consider this band more post or more black? If you had to choose one... I'm not sure from what I've heard so far. In any case, nice review.
tea[m]ster - 04.12.2013 at 00:17  
Written by Erik M. on 03.12.2013 at 21:05

You gave it a 9.4 and rated it a 10? That's inconsistent.

Sorry, just noticed that. Have been meaning to check out this album for a while now but still haven't done so, don't know why.

Btw, would you consider this band more post or more black? If you had to choose one... I'm not sure from what I've heard so far. In any case, nice review.


It's very hard for me to give out "pure" 10's. I wish there was a tenth place when rating albums in our collections, instead I usually round up. I consider this more black than post.
Erik M. - 07.12.2013 at 01:06  
Written by tea[m]ster on 04.12.2013 at 00:17

It's very hard for me to give out "pure" 10's. I wish there was a tenth place when rating albums in our collections, instead I usually round up. I consider this more black than post.


I understand that. Not a single album I've heard deserves a true 10.0. A 9.9 (well, actually a 9.94 ) is as high as I'll go. I'm only saying a 9.4 simply cannot be rounded up to a 10. If you actually gave this a 9.5 in the review I wouldn't have said anything because a 9.5 can be rounded up to a 10. But I'll now stop breaking your balls. And thanks for the answer. I asked this because I wanted to know where to put this band's debut in my list. I already put it in the "black" section so I don't have to change it now.
Diverge - 07.12.2013 at 05:17  
Hey thanks for the great review. This is one of the biggest albums that I missed in 2013 and this review brought the album to my attention.

I tend to sympathize with almost everything you say here.
MechanisT - 09.12.2013 at 01:40  
Wow, what a great review. Does the album justice entirely. Teethed Glory is without a doubt my black metal album of the year. Entrancing and hypnotic to say the least.
HaralambossHorn - 04.01.2014 at 16:40  
I already consider this a classic
Fritillaria - 10.03.2014 at 16:13  
Now that I read this awesome review I think I have missed a great album from 2013
tea[m]ster - 12.03.2014 at 19:55  
Written by Fritillaria on 10.03.2014 at 16:13

Now that I read this awesome review I think I have missed a great album from 2013


Keep an open mind. At first you may be like "What the hell is this jumbled mess?" After a few listens, everything works out and makes sense.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Altar Of Plagues - Teethed Glory & Injury 9 19.03.2013 by Pazdzioch
News Altar Of Plagues - To Disband, Final Performance In October 4.5 15.07.2013 by Skyum
News Altar Of Plagues - New Album Streaming Online 4.5 23.04.2013 by God Alone
News Altar Of Plagues - Completing Work On New Album 4.5 17.12.2012 by Oaken
Albums Altar Of Plagues - Tides [EP] 4.5 25.07.2010 by InnerSelf



Hits total: 1641 | This month: 3