Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.5
Weedpecker - Weedpecker
10 August 2013


01. Berenjena Pipe [remastered version]
02. Mindbreath [remastered version]
03. Don't Trust Your Elephant
04. Kraken
05. Sativa Landscapes
06. Weedfields [feat. Cheesy Dude]


Caution. Listening to Weedpecker may result in feelings of euphoria and relaxation. Results may vary. Please listen responsibly.

The line between stoner metal and stoner rock is quite a thin one, and this Polish quartet do a wonderful job at reigning themselves in before venturing too far into either territory. They incorporate just the right amount of grunge into their sound for the added head rush, taking great measures not so spoil your high.

"Berenjena Pipe" - a pipe made from an eggplant for those of you (like me) who don't know their vegetable aliases - starts the album off in typical stoner fashion: impressive psychedelic riffs, catchy melodies, and an overall expansion of the senses. Not only do these guys get it, but they help you get it too, with an impeccably smooth flow and generally straightforward song structures. Of course, being so heavily influenced by the likes of Elder and Alice In Chains, this self-titled debut will take you by the hand as you soar through various realities and dimensions before bringing you back down to reality with some hard-hitting alternative rock segments.

Your cosmic journey will reach its true height with the masterful "Sativa Landscapes", an 8-minute trip through... sativa landscapes. (What am I supposed to say here? It's an aptly titled song.) It catches the listener off-guard with some fast-paced aggressive riffs halfway through but never strays from the album's chill vibe. Vocals are done in a slightly rougher style compared to a lot of other stoner bands, and are similar in ways to John Baizley of Baroness fame at points. That said, they are unique in their own right, complementing the music perfectly by changing it up from raspy shouts to a slightly higher-pitched clean delivery, matching the extremity of the music along the way.

Wrapped in a brilliantly fuzzy production, Weedpecker meets its end at the 40-minute mark, leaving this reviewer begging for another hit. But if this release is anything to go by, the world of stoner music will be receiving some generous contributions in the near future. You would be wise to get in on this before all that's left is second-hand smoke.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 20.12.2013 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 411  
Search this topic:  


qlacs - 20.12.2013 at 21:07  
Surely you shouldn't judge anything by the cover art, but DAMN this looks awesome!
Troy Killjoy - 20.12.2013 at 21:14  
Written by qlacs on 20.12.2013 at 21:07
Surely you shouldn't judge anything by the cover art, but DAMN this looks awesome!

Actually I probably should have said something about that in the review. It's one of my favorite covers of the year and I'm glad the music turned out to be just as good.
Apothecary - 20.12.2013 at 22:00  
Great album, I'm digging this almost as much as the Domovoyd debut
mz - 20.12.2013 at 22:28  
Will check out. tnx
SuicidalCyco - 21.12.2013 at 02:45  
Dude this is a damn good album. Its so groovy!
Boxcar Willy - 21.12.2013 at 04:31  
Can't wait to hear Weedfields [feat. Cheesy Dude]
Troy Killjoy - 21.12.2013 at 07:50  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 21.12.2013 at 04:31
Can't wait to hear Weedfields [feat. Cheesy Dude]

You can hear it on their Bandcamp page and apparently that Cheesy Dude is the guitarist from Belzebong according to Metal-Archives.
SilentScream - 21.12.2013 at 08:29  
This is awesome. Thanks !
BloodTears - 21.12.2013 at 13:25  
This sure looks/sounds interesting. We might have a gem in our hands.

Great job with the review by the way
Troy Killjoy - 21.12.2013 at 19:35  
Written by BloodTears on 21.12.2013 at 13:25
This sure looks/sounds interesting. We might have a gem in our hands.

Great job with the review by the way

Thanks! It's been gaining a fair bit of recognition on the interwebs so hopefully more people here will give it a shot and spread the word.
Cynic Metalhead - 22.12.2013 at 08:28  
Great pick by Troy.

Well, I spun the disc last night considering my fellow MS compatriot has already sealed 8.5 rating with pros and cons clearly stated. It started with bunch of remastered versions and it was totally flowing fantastically til the disc ends. Honestly? they maintained a very good flow til the end. I thoroughly enjoyed the album.

The only thing which I wasn't comfortable with the influence of AIC. I didn't see any of AIC's vibes coming from Weedpecker bunker tbh. I found their music incredibly improvised and well structured. Yeah, vocals were totally sounded like John from Baroness. Nevertheless, its a great record.
Daniell - 22.12.2013 at 10:26  
This is great.

Edit: The amount of world class chilled out awesome coolness that this album oozes every second it plays is absolutely mindblowing. I've never tried, and never will try weed, but, having tasted 6 different single malt whiskies tonight, I must say this is one of the best albums of 2013.
Spirit Molecule - 23.12.2013 at 08:58  
Weed mention in the Band name: Check
Weed mention in song names: Check
Rad Album art: Check
Influenced by Elder: Hell's Yeah!

Sounds like something I might totally be into and that album cover is tits!
Listening to their bandcamp page and so far it sounds great.
theembryo - 23.12.2013 at 14:26  
So far so fucking good indeed! Vocals are spot-on for my taste to the style, especially the harmonizing, where present; production sounds great; I am in agreement with pretty much the entire well-stated review. Great pick here, once again the MS Staff does excellently. Thanks much!!
Super_Greg - 25.12.2013 at 05:16  
Great find dude! Very crunchy tunes
Dangerboner - 26.12.2013 at 10:50  
Is this similar to Whiskey Dick?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sombres Forêts - La Mort Du Soleil 4.5 03.12.2013 by Draugen
Reviews John Haughm - +46 17' 36​.​30", -124 4' 20​.​13" 4.5 05.12.2011 by malaikat
Reviews Dauden I Mørke - Nephilim 4.5 16.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 4.5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Hanternoz - Linceuls d'écume 4.5 14.06.2012 by Lokaeda



Hits total: 4374 | This month: 44