Rating:
9.2
Hail Spirit Noir - Oi Magoi
20 January 2014


01. Blood Guru
02. Demon For A Day
03. Satan Is Time
04. Satyriko Orgio (Satyrs' Orgy)
05. The Mermaid
06. Hunters
07. Oi Magoi


These days it can tend to be rare to come across bands that are both entirely original while also not too far out there with their quirkiness, and that combine the best of both the familiar and the unconventional. Greece's Hail Spirit Noir already added to the list of such bands with their 2012 effort Pneuma, not only one of the best debuts of the year, but easily one of the most impressive progressive black metal releases in quite a while. But if Pneuma was a rainstorm of success, then Oi Magoi is a typhoon, and easily clears up any doubts about the band that may have been left with their previous album.

What makes Oi Magoi such a great follow up to Pneuma (as well as an overall better release) has to be the fact that it retains the qualities of Pneuma while also filling in the missing pieces that the album had, as well as also testing some new ingredients. Everything from the debut that won listeners over is more or less retained: the distinct xylophone/keyboard usage ("The Mermaid," "Blood Guru"), catchy chorus lines ("Demon For A Day") beautiful clean vocals ("Satan Is Time," "The Mermaid"), as well as some harsher black metal moments ("Blood Guru," "Satyriko Orgio").

Unlike Pneuma, however, Oi Magoi strikes much more of a happy medium between the black and prog elements, and is sure to delight fans of each. In a way, this makes the album feel a lot more complete, and also a bit more genuine, because here Hail Spirit Noir seem to have dug deeper into both their prog and black metal personalities, and found the desirable balance between the two. "Satyriko Orgio," for example, kicks off with some harsh BM-style riffing, much more intense than any such moments on Pneuma, before melting into some groovy prog and trippy effects around 2 minutes in. "The Mermaid," meanwhile, is essentially an 11 minute jam session, easily the most progressive track on the album, and in some ways is even more so than the climactic "Into The Gates Of Time" from Pneuma.

So in essence, at least to these ears, Oi Magoi is a much better, more carefully detailed album than the band's debut, and if Pneuma didn't win you over with these guys, I'd be very surprised if this one doesn't. More intense prog elements and more intense black metal elements, without a push too far in either direction easily make this one of the best releases of 2014 thus far, an honor that will very likely hold water in the months to come. Like stuff that digs into that strange blend of the creepy and the trippy? Then get on it!

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Hail Spirit Noir
Album: Oi Magoi


 



Written on 07.01.2014 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 47  
Users visited: 438  
Search this topic:  


PocketMetal - 07.01.2014 at 08:40  
All Hail Hail Spirit Noir.
necros4 - 07.01.2014 at 11:54  
Now you made my hunger for ''Oi Magoi'' bigger...
And Bigger..
AND BIGGER...:beer:
Monolithic - 07.01.2014 at 13:43  
Damn...


I'm out of words for the time being.
Draugen - 07.01.2014 at 16:11  
This seems to be just what I was hoping they would go for with this album. Keeping the basic formula that made Pneuma so great intact while still giving it an own identity. January the 20th can't come soon enough!
koob - 07.01.2014 at 16:20  
Couldn't wait to listen so I downloaded it... Needless to say I'm going to buy it on the 20th, it's just THAT good and totally deserves the 9.2 rating.
Spyros Papado - 07.01.2014 at 19:17  
\m/
Hybreda - 07.01.2014 at 20:05  
It's spectacular.. it's marvelous.. can't be more glad that I became a fan of a band like this.. but sucks at the same time, wondering what's next, asking will they succeed.. oh the irony
Schnabeltier 24 - 07.01.2014 at 23:07  
Written by Guest on 07.01.2014 at 21:49

Cant find this album anywhere!!!!!


It's normal, the album is not released yet.

So you'll have to wait until the 20th... Yeah, I know, it's hard to wait for me too
Apothecary - 07.01.2014 at 23:29  
Written by Guest on 07.01.2014 at 21:49

Cant find this album anywhere!!!!!

A download link leaked on darkport a few days ago, on the 5th I believe. That's how I got it, plus I took the time to upload it to Youtube (link at the end of the review) so you can listen early.
Karlabos - 08.01.2014 at 00:02  
Written by Apothecary on 07.01.2014 at 23:29

Written by Guest on 07.01.2014 at 21:49

Cant find this album anywhere!!!!!

A download link leaked on darkport a few days ago, on the 5th I believe. That's how I got it, plus I took the time to upload it to Youtube (link at the end of the review) so you can listen early.

Aarrr!
Y'er already be sailing the webs, sea mateys?
Apothecary - 08.01.2014 at 00:12  
Written by Karlabos on 08.01.2014 at 00:02

Aarrr!
Y'er already be sailing the webs, sea mateys?

Of course. It was one of my most anticipated releases for this year, so I had to do some snooping around for it
Fat & Sassy! - 08.01.2014 at 00:55  
Holy shit. I had no idea that they were releasing a new album. I loved their debut. One thing I think that the review doesn't mention enough (that I find very appealing about this band) is the production. It has a certain raw sound that *sounds* classic, but is stylistically FRESH AS FUCK. A lot of other bands would just come off as imitators. The production gives the music weight (especially the way the drums are mixed), making it confidently heavy at its core. I mean, I hate to sound like an old-head (and digress a bit), but a lot of contemporary metal sounds insecurely loud, and not very heavy.
Apothecary - 08.01.2014 at 01:01  
Written by Fat & Sassy! on 08.01.2014 at 00:55

It has a certain raw sound that *sounds* classic, but is stylistically FRESH AS FUCK

Pretty much what I kinda hinted at when I said that they "combine the best of the familiar and the unconventional"
Unhealer - 08.01.2014 at 01:09  
If they continue releasing albums of this quality they might end up among my favorite artists.
Monolithic - 08.01.2014 at 09:23  
Written by Apothecary on 08.01.2014 at 00:12

Of course. It was one of my most anticipated releases for this year, so I had to do some snooping around for it

But you could also ask the label for a promotional copy. They're quite nice and helpful.
Erik M. - 08.01.2014 at 21:06  
I only checked out the debut so far and really liked that one, so will also check this one out.

Btw, good job on uploaded the whole album on Youtube.
Erik M. - 08.01.2014 at 22:36  
Apothecary, could you also upload Oranssi Pazuzu's latest album? That would be great, because I can't stream the album anywhere as of now, and I'm very curious since I think the debut is truly great.

Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny ) and have to say I'm enjoying it a lot. Pretty damn unique stuff (for me at least).
Apothecary - 08.01.2014 at 23:23  
Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36

Apothecary, could you also upload Oranssi Pazuzu's latest album? That would be great, because I can't stream the album anywhere as of now, and I'm very curious since I think the debut is truly great.

Yeah, for sure! I had actually been meaning too, but have just been a bit lazy about it
I also uploaded Kosmonument in full on that same channel (Cosmic Heruka), if you look through my vids
Erik M. - 08.01.2014 at 23:48  
Written by Apothecary on 08.01.2014 at 23:23

Yeah, for sure! I had actually been meaning too, but have just been a bit lazy about it
I also uploaded Kosmonument in full on that same channel (Cosmic Heruka), if you look through my vids


Yeah, I noticed Kosmonument a while back already but still haven't checked it out. Don't worry, I will check it out, but for the upcoming MS Awards I'd rather first check out the 2013 albums by certain bands (even though certain albums might not be in the MS Awards).
Carrion Misery - 09.01.2014 at 00:30  
First time actually listening to these guys. They sound like a mix of later Enslaved and Ghost (minus the constant whimsy satire), then a hint of Dark Medieval Times by Satyricon slips in once in a while. Though, strangely, I don't really categorize Hail Spirit Noir with any of those bands. Absolutely a very original sound though. Great stuff.
Apothecary - 09.01.2014 at 00:31  
Written by Carrion Misery on 09.01.2014 at 00:30

First time actually listening to these guys. They sound like a mix of later Enslaved and Ghost (minus the constant whimsy satire), then a hint of Dark Medieval Times by Satyricon slips in once in a while. Though, strangely, I don't really categorize Hail Spirit Noir with any of those bands. Great stuff.

I agree with you, but that's part of the beauty of the band: they sound similar to others, and you can hear the influence of some of the ones you mentioned, yet they still retain their own distinct style.
Michaelis - 09.01.2014 at 00:31  

It's sounds just... amazing. First of the top of 2014 on my new list.
Carrion Misery - 09.01.2014 at 00:36  
Written by Apothecary on 09.01.2014 at 00:31

Written by Carrion Misery on 09.01.2014 at 00:30

First time actually listening to these guys. They sound like a mix of later Enslaved and Ghost (minus the constant whimsy satire), then a hint of Dark Medieval Times by Satyricon slips in once in a while. Though, strangely, I don't really categorize Hail Spirit Noir with any of those bands. Great stuff.

I agree with you, but that's part of the beauty of the band: they sound similar to others, and you can hear the influence of some of the ones you mentioned, yet they still retain their own distinct style.


Yeah, I edited my post about that. You worded it just right. They have a very distinct style that takes a lot of finesse to keep consistent, and they do it without struggle.
Carrion Misery - 09.01.2014 at 00:36  
And great review!
Divergenceless - 09.01.2014 at 03:30  
Good album, but I've always felt as if this band is overrated in just about every regard. In fact, they are actually one of the middle-calibre bands on the Code666 label if you ask me.
Apothecary - 09.01.2014 at 04:49  
Written by Divergenceless on 09.01.2014 at 03:30

Good album, but I've always felt as if this band is overrated in just about every regard. In fact, they are actually one of the middle-calibre bands on the Code666 label if you ask me.

Please explain
Divergenceless - 09.01.2014 at 05:51  
Written by Apothecary on 09.01.2014 at 04:49

Written by Divergenceless on 09.01.2014 at 03:30

Good album, but I've always felt as if this band is overrated in just about every regard. In fact, they are actually one of the middle-calibre bands on the Code666 label if you ask me.

Please explain

To their credit, Hail Spirit Noir have crafted a spell-binding, original sound that is psychadelic and folk-like at times, keeping tight transitions and nice punctuated guitar work. They manage to combine elements of Giant Squid, Oranssi Pazuzu, Enslaved and Ghost, all without *feeling* like any one of those groups. I would say that they have improved dramatically on this record relative to Pneuma, in fact, and I do believe that they have shown on this record that they are capable of things in the future still.

A minor thing in the review: I wouldn't characterize it as a mix of more intense prog and more intense black primarily. I know it's kind of a small part of your review, but I'm not sure I really agree about the black metal being more prominent.

I do find that this album in particular is not quite as overtly metal as I would like, and the vocals are not particularly enigmatic or captivating to me (harsh and clean). Lyrics also need some work; Satan is Time just comes across as odd and pretentious to me. *Some* of the elements incorporated in the album (ie. what sounds like a xylophone in Blood Guru) feel too gimmicky for me or just not very interesting (around 3:30 of that track), but some elements radically succeed (weird little synths in Satan is Time, for example); yes, the songs are not structured that well and actually mean less to me than, say, an Unexpect album would. I think the music would be much better by paying attention to a crucial aspect mastered by a band like Giant Squid: climaxes build very palpably there and lead to a riveting conclusion, instead of showing me all of the interesting parts and straying a little bit longer just to finish. These tracks just meander, with the possible exclusion of the Satyrs' Orgy (the band's best effort so far). You also discussed the chorus-nature and catchiness of the album at points, and frankly I prefer something a little challenging; I tend to find choruses or massive sing-alongs repulsive. I find that these tracks, in almost all instances, are 45 seconds to a minute too long for their own good, especially the ending. I'm certainly in the minority about this band, however, since they seem to have received a very strong reception almost uniformly; their fanbase is rather small still, and I can only imagine that this album will launch them into the hands of more metalheads.

As for my Code666 comment... I tend to enjoy Fen, The Prophecy, Nachtvorst, Agruss, Akphaezya, Ne Obliviscaris, Cult of Erinyes, Carpe Noctem etc. well before this band. GIven Todtgelichter's latest release and Control Human Delete's album, however, it's clear I would rank them well in the middle. But I do know many who would rank them near the top of Code666 records.
Apothecary - 09.01.2014 at 14:57  
Written by Divergenceless on 09.01.2014 at 05:51

I do find that this album in particular is not quite as overtly metal as I would like, and the vocals are not particularly enigmatic or captivating to me (harsh and clean). Lyrics also need some work; Satan is Time just comes across as odd and pretentious to me. *Some* of the elements incorporated in the album (ie. what sounds like a xylophone in Blood Guru) feel too gimmicky for me or just not very interesting (around 3:30 of that track), but some elements radically succeed (weird little synths in Satan is Time, for example); yes, the songs are not structured that well and actually mean less to me than, say, an Unexpect album would. I think the music would be much better by paying attention to a crucial aspect mastered by a band like Giant Squid: climaxes build very palpably there and lead to a riveting conclusion, instead of showing me all of the interesting parts and straying a little bit longer just to finish. These tracks just meander, with the possible exclusion of the Satyrs' Orgy (the band's best effort so far). You also discussed the chorus-nature and catchiness of the album at points, and frankly I prefer something a little challenging; I tend to find choruses or massive sing-alongs repulsive. I find that these tracks, in almost all instances, are 45 seconds to a minute too long for their own good, especially the ending. I'm certainly in the minority about this band, however, since they seem to have received a very strong reception almost uniformly; their fanbase is rather small still, and I can only imagine that this album will launch them into the hands of more metalheads.

A matter of personal tastes then, I suppose. Sometimes catchiness can be shitty, I agree with you, but I don't think HSN really use it that much on this release (actually more so on Pneuma, I would say) so when that technique does appear it doesn't really feel like it's too much to me. The clean vocals sound a lot more powerful and charismatic to me, especially on Satan Is Time and The Mermaid. Meanwhile, as far as your Code666 comment is concerned... I've really only listened to Carpe Noctem and Fen out of the bands you listened, but I trust your argument, so I'll be giving some of those others a peek when I get the chance.
Mr. Doctor - 09.01.2014 at 17:07  
Written by Apothecary on 09.01.2014 at 14:57
A matter of personal tastes then, I suppose. Sometimes catchiness can be shitty, I agree with you, but I don't think HSN really use it that much on this release (actually more so on Pneuma, I would say) so when that technique does appear it doesn't really feel like it's too much to me. The clean vocals sound a lot more powerful and charismatic to me, especially on Satan Is Time and The Mermaid. Meanwhile, as far as your Code666 comment is concerned... I've really only listened to Carpe Noctem and Fen out of the bands you listened, but I trust your argument, so I'll be giving some of those others a peek when I get the chance.


I recommend you Akphaezya which is the likes of bands like Unexpect or Diablo Swing Orchestra... Avantgarde stuff and Agruss which was my ote for death metal that year. So brilliant, dark, atmospheric, etc.
Apothecary - 09.01.2014 at 17:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.01.2014 at 17:07

I recommend you Akphaezya which is the likes of bands like Unexpect or Diablo Swing Orchestra... Avantgarde stuff and Agruss which was my ote for death metal that year. So brilliant, dark, atmospheric, etc.

Don't really care much for Unexpect, but I love DSO, so consider me interested!
Vitriolic Hate - 09.01.2014 at 23:00  
Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.
Erik M. - 09.01.2014 at 23:18  
Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.


Thanks for clearing that up.
-DC-002- - 13.01.2014 at 02:22  
^concurrencies I feel like a stereotyped Hasidic saying the album name and It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The first listen was a little rough but it becomes itself in time. I wouldn't call it 9.2 but I'd say maybe around 8.8 overall with moments of 9.2 Apothecary did a good job on the review too.
Apothecary - 13.01.2014 at 04:37  
Written by -DC-002- on 13.01.2014 at 02:22

It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The album officially comes out on the 20th. Voting on here can't begin until albums are actually released
-DC-002- - 13.01.2014 at 05:55  
Written by Apothecary on 13.01.2014 at 04:37

Written by -DC-002- on 13.01.2014 at 02:22

It's funny how nobody has voted on this yet.

The album officially comes out on the 20th. Voting on here can't begin until albums are actually released


dah-ha-ha. my bad. yup i can't wait for it to come out.....
necros4 - 14.01.2014 at 16:07  
Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.



It's Greek (not Greeklish) and yes it means THE WIZARDS.
If you here words that you don't understand it's Greek between English lyrics.
Vitriolic Hate - 14.01.2014 at 16:10  
Written by necros4 on 14.01.2014 at 16:07

Written by Vitriolic Hate on 09.01.2014 at 23:00

Written by Erik M. on 08.01.2014 at 22:36


Now playing Oi Magoi (what does it even mean? It sounds damn funny )

It's actually greeklish (Οι Μάγοι) which means The Mages/Wizards.



It's Greek (not Greeklish) and yes it means THE WIZARDS.
If you here words that you don't understand it's Greek between English lyrics.

I meant, it's spelled in greeklish & not in proper greek.
Traezeus - 15.01.2014 at 19:00  
I dig this album. This goes without saying, but It's my favorite this year so far
Carrion Misery - 16.01.2014 at 17:38  
It's always good to have, "Satan is time. Satan is time. Satan. Satan." blasting at work, and coworkers give you a weird look. "What is that supposed to be?" lol.
Apothecary - 16.01.2014 at 17:40  
Written by Carrion Misery on 16.01.2014 at 17:38

It's always good to have, "Satan is time. Satan is time. Satan. Satan." blasting at work, and coworkers give you a weird look. "What is that supposed to be?" lol.

Let me know if you manage to convert anyone with that
strade - 17.01.2014 at 23:22  
Man, this album is classy as fuck. Almost makes me want to take up the megalisting business again. A delight
Shmyt - 18.01.2014 at 10:17  
Holy shit I am loving this, never heard of them, saw this review and gave it a spin and now it is playing nearly constantly it is just a wonderful album and i seriously do not want to stop listening. I have missed lectures because i could not stop listening to this and had no idea of where the time went.
boo-boo - 19.01.2014 at 17:05  
I love this album, though I have to admit PNEUMA hooked me up a lot faster and strogner.
tea[m]ster - 07.03.2014 at 02:37  
Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?
Troy Killjoy - 11.03.2014 at 17:37  
Written by tea[m]ster on 07.03.2014 at 02:37
Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?

It's a lot more exotic than what you normally listen to but I think it's accessible and structured enough that you'll at least consider it "good". I suspect you'd probably end up giving this a 7 or 8.
mz - 11.03.2014 at 20:26  
Written by tea[m]ster on 07.03.2014 at 02:37

Would I like this? Anyone..that "KNOWS" me?

Yeah. This is not much intense in its black metal department and is pretty progressive (as stated in review). In theory, I think you'll like it.
barnesy - 18.04.2014 at 16:28  
I just added Hail Spirit Noire to my band favorites after listening to Oi Magoi for the last week straight. I rated it a 9 but the more I listen it the more I'm leaning toward 10.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Hail Spirit Noir - Oi Magoi 7.5 06.01.2014 by strade
Reviews Hail Spirit Noir - Pneuma 7 26.02.2012 by Ag Fox
News Hail Spirit Noir - Releasing Second Album Next January 6 25.11.2013 by mz
News Hail Spirit Noir - Premiere New Song 6 27.12.2013 by Apothecary
Albums Hail Spirit Noir - Pneuma 6 17.03.2012 by piratebay



Hits total: 5975 | This month: 239