Rating:
9.0
Ringworm - Hammer Of The Witch
17 March 2014


01. Dawn Of Decay
02. Bleed
03. Leave Your Skin At The Door
04. Exit Life
05. Psychic Vampire
06. King Of Blood
07. I Recommend Amputation
08. Hammer Of The Witch
09. We'll Always Have The End
10. One Of Us Is Going To Have To Die
11. Vicious Circle Of Life
12. Die Like A Pig
13. Height Of Revelation
14. The Wheel [bonus]
15. The Nightmare Continues [Discharge cover] [bonus]


Ringworm plays metalcore metalcore, not the sugary stuff Hot Topic wants you to throw your money at. Metalcore metalcore that will make you want to spin around with a blunt weapon, letting the centrifugal force have its way.

These guys have been doing their best of both worlds thing since 1991; there are thrashy, metallic grooves that get coupled with snarling hardcore fury. Not much more or less, and I can't imagine anyone wanting much more or less from them.

It's stripped down stuff in other words, there's no technically arresting dicking around to ease you into their ugly, tooth-spitting sonic ring. Nothing's inviting about what they do. It's brutal.

It feels like everything they do gets banged straight out. They sound like a bunch of dudes playing together dynamically; whatever "ideas" element there is to their stuff seems secondary to the savage basics, not the other way around. There must be a whole lot of great bands that go about making tunes by having their ideas for how they want their stuff to sound down first, and then trying to execute, and that just doesn't seem to be what Ringworm does. The sense that this album was a hit record, play, then walk away kind of thing might be way off, but it's a strong one nonetheless.

I don't really have any complaints. At first the mix seemed kinda bland, but anything else done on the production end would probably have gotten in the way of Ringworm being Ringworm. Hammer Of The Witch sounds fucking mean and it's lean and it's fighting certain plastic metal machines. So godspeed and stuff.

Highlights: "Hammer Of The Witch," "Exit Life," "King Of Blood," "Die Like A Pig," the vocals in general


 



Written on 12.03.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 295  
Search this topic:  


Spirit Molecule - 12.03.2014 at 12:10  
Just checking the album stream, sounds pretty cool. Not sure if I'd give it a spin too many times though.
Spirit Molecule - 12.03.2014 at 13:32  
Just found out that their vocalist did that sweet cover art. Just moved a notch higher in my books
PocketMetal - 12.03.2014 at 14:54  
This looks interesting , gotta check out this metalcore metalcore band.
Lit. - 12.03.2014 at 18:05  
Quote:

Ringworm plays metalcore metalcore, not the sugary stuff Hot Topic wants you to throw your money at. Metalcore metalcore that will make you want to spin around with a blunt weapon, letting the centrifugal force have its way.

You had me at hello.
wormdrink414 - 12.03.2014 at 20:47  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 12.03.2014 at 13:32

Just found out that their vocalist did that sweet cover art. Just moved a notch higher in my books

Didn't know that, that's awesome.
Spirit Molecule - 13.03.2014 at 08:58  
Written by wormdrink414 on 12.03.2014 at 20:47

Didn't know that, that's awesome.


Cover art made me check the tracks out And the review of course
deadone - 14.03.2014 at 01:33  
Oooh sounds interesting.

I'll have to check them out.

Most stuff they call Metalcore these days is really just tired old Melodic Death Metal IMO.

Give me real Metalcore ala Vision of Disorder and maybe these guys any day.
deadone - 24.03.2014 at 01:57  
Having listened to this, I don't agree with the reviewer's descriptors though I agree the album is good.


The review makes it sound like it's more hardcore orientated ala say Earthcrisis, Vision Of Disorder or even Hatebreed.

It's not - it's basically Crossover (i.e. Thrash/Hardcore) fusion originating in the mid-1980 with bands like SOD, Suicidal Tendencies and later Biohazard, Corrosion of Conformity etc. The music is very rooted in groovy Thrash or even Groove Metal and the only thing visibly Hardcore is the vocals.

Even the odd breakdown is more similar to that practised by Pantera or Machine Head than Hardcore.


Vocals are actually the only thing that's true hardcore. The rest of the music is basically groovy thrash.


I like the mix - very early 1990s especially with that big bass sound.
SuicidalCyco - 31.03.2014 at 01:17  
Righteous stuff, I just bought the CD a few days ago. Definitely worth seeing them when they come.
Guib - 01.07.2014 at 23:31  
Pretty good review Worm, couldn't be closer from the truth... Although, come to think of it, 9 seems a bit high IMO. I would gladly give it a 8.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Ringworm - Hammer Of The Witch 7.5 11.03.2014 by Ornusashas
Reviews Gama Bomb - The Terror Tapes 4.5 22.06.2013 by Rulatore
Reviews Drug Honkey - Ghost In The Fire 4.5 23.09.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Wolves In The Throne Room - Two Hunters 4.5 18.02.2011 by Himann
Reviews Stigmhate - The Sun Collapse 4.5 09.02.2012 by Kuroboshi



Hits total: 4112 | This month: 57