Rating:
8.4
Sinbreed - Shadows
28 March 2014


01. Bleed
02. Shadows
03. Call To Arms
04. Reborn
05. Leaving The Road
06. Far Too Long
07. Black Death
08. Standing Tall
09. London Moon
10. Broken Wings


Release Dates:
28/03/2014 - Europe
15/04/2014 - United States


After a strong debut, Sinbreed have returned with an even better sophomore album. Shadows brings the same manner of speed-power, but with more energy and stronger songwriting to make Sinbreed a band on the rise.

Worthy of mention is the fact that Sinbreed contains one-half of Blind Guardian, namely guitarist Marcus Siepen and drummer Frederik Ehmke. I'm not going to spend this whole review examining how this measures up to Blind Guardian out of respect for an independent project, but I'll be a blind goat farmer on the moon if the intro to "Leaving The Road" doesn't sound like "Imaginations From The Other Side." (I'm not, for the record, a blind goat farmer on the moon.) Some of that lovely BG guitar tone lends a welcome familiarity to the work as well.

Fronted by Herbie Langhans, the Seventh Avenue veteran with a Jørn Lande-ish voice, Sinbreed are not exactly the most esoteric band out there, but the relatively bare-bones approach (for power metal, at least) suits them. Partly riff-driven and partly hook-driven, the songs are pretty simple and catchy; I'll admit it took a few listens to allow this album to do its work, but after letting them sink in, "Bleed" and "Call To Arms," among others, are some fantastic power metal pieces. Shadows mixes the excitement and vigor of new blood with the confidence and mastery of old blood in a manner appropriate to the band's membership.

While Shadows contains very little in the way of experimentation or extraordinary technical displays (outside of the drums, which are of a caliber typical to both high-speed metal and Frederik Ehmke), it does contain a sense of very capable musicianship nonetheless. Sinbreed can exert their abilities without being too flashy or ostentatious, which preserves the integrity of their direct, unrelenting approach. Shadows leads off with its strongest offerings, especially the phenomenal "Bleed," but the sublime "Broken Wings" anchors the second half of the album.

Sinbreed play crisp, no-frills power metal with strong vocals, memorable songs, and the sense of a massive metal beast lurking just below the surface. Shadows is an improvement over When Worlds Collide, which itself was a respectable album, so hopefully the future will bring even greater things for Sinbreed.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 06.04.2014 by
ScreamingSteelUS
I'm only in this for the money, fame, glory, power, and personal satisfaction.

In my spare time, I fight dragon-pig-C.H.U.D.s in space.

I feel obligated to use up all of my allotted space, so... nah, I'm out of stuff to say.
More reviews by ScreamingSteelUS ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 5  
Users visited: 181  
Search this topic:  


psykometal - 06.04.2014 at 22:05  
Sounds like something I should check out. Will do asap.
LascaillesShroud - 06.04.2014 at 22:34  
Everything about this superbly arousing me. I enjoy much.
Rulatore - 07.04.2014 at 14:53  
I remember this being good, but what annoyed me were the solos, from what I remember, they were awful, or didn't exist. I'll need to re-listen to it. Marcos does help a lot here, I was surprised when I heard about it. Frederik performance I just found it good, nothing really special.
Hyperion - 07.04.2014 at 21:28  
Dude, as i listen to this album i find all the things that made me like Seventh Avenue and Sinbreed and even more. definately an inmense improvement from the first album, which i kinda found boring :/
thefallenalchmst - 15.04.2014 at 11:02  
This record fucking kills. Loved it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Sinbreed - Shadows 4.5 14.03.2014 by Zender 1.8
Reviews Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails 3 22.07.2014 by Zaphod
Reviews Dethklok - The Doomstar Requiem - A Klok Opera 3 01.12.2013 by Westvann
Reviews Solstice - Death's Crown Is Victory 3 27.04.2014 by LascaillesShroud
Reviews Kiss - Kiss Symphony: Alive IV 3 10.12.2012 by Ace Frawley



Hits total: 2766 | This month: 72