Desdemona - Supernova review


2 users:
Band: Desdemona
Album: Supernova
Release date: 2003

01. 0rbital
02. XI IX
03. Tomorrow Will Turn Into The Past
04. To The Past Shadows
05. Crucified: Act I
06. XII: Salem
07. Void
08. The Was Between Us
09. Mantra
10. _s.u.p.e.r.N.O.V.A.
11. Mimosa
12. Astral Drift
13. Insomnia
14. Depression

So, Desdemona from Poland… wait! I've have another album of Desdemona, but not from Poland, but from Italy, yes, a case of identical band names… the difference apart from the native country, is that this Desdemona Plays Gothic Metal and the ones from Italy are a Power Metal band.

Anyway, the albums starts with some electronic elements, but then explodes with fantastic riffs and the sweet voice of Agata, yes a female vocalist. Hmm… yes, a female-fronted Gothic Metal band, for many people, this is enough reason to dismiss this guys to the trash can, but please, hear me out!, because this Polish Quartet has more to offer than your average Gothic Metal Band.

As I was saying after the intro, "XI IX" comes riffing and double-bassing his way out! As I also said this albums features great female vocals courtesy of Agata, she has an impressive range, she can scream, whisper, yowl, a truly complete singer!

The album contains several electronic elements, in almost all the songs, but don't fear, this is not a electronic album! All this elements assume a secondary position, and I must say that they mold pretty well with the music of Desdemona, so if you want, you can call this Electronic-Gothic Metal.

Some of the songs that will stuck in your mind are "XI IX", "The war Between Us", "Mantra" and "Mimosa".
So, if you like innovative Gothic Metal with great female vocals, nice keyboards and electronic elements, check this out, and if you don't feel that this is your cup of tea, go back to your typical female-fronted gothic bands, but you better watch out because they are thousands out there!

Written by Undercraft | 02.10.2003


Hits total: 1367 | This month: 13