Emptiness - Nothing But The Whole review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

101 users:
8.26
Band: Emptiness
Album: Nothing But The Whole
Release date: May 2014


01. Go And Hope
02. Nothing But The Whole
03. Behind The Curtain
04. All Is Known
05. Tale Of A Burning Man
06. The Past Is Death
07. Lowland


There's been a lot of blackened death craziness being served up lately in our beloved metal genre. Within the past two years especially, it seems like the style has been seeing a return to form of sorts, with the likes of Bölzer, Teitanblood, Diocletian and others dishing out albums that are pleasantly old school, yet with a delicious modern twist. Of all these bands, however, it is probably Belgium's Emptiness who stand as the most immersing and emotive of them all. Their 2014 album encapsulates this idea perhaps better than ever before, and is nothing short of excellent.

I've always been of the opinion that blackened death is at its best when combining the brutality of death metal with the all-encompassing, often trance like nature of black metal, something that seems to actually be an uncommon formula among many of its bands. Emptiness have taken to this approach somewhat in the past, but Nothing But The Whole feels as though it has finally blossomed in full, with quite splendid results. The atmospheric nature of opener "Go And Hope" sets this mood immediately, making it quite clear that with their fourth full length, Emptiness have evolved into a much more sophisticated songwriting, something far beyond the typical raging nature of the style from which they come.

At many points this heightened sense of atmosphere, as well as the more moderate pacing of tempo that comes with it, makes Nothing But The Whole feel more black than death, especially on "All Is Known" and "Tale Of A Burning Man." However, this can be a bit misleading, because throughout the album Emptiness also flirt around with crunchy riff delivery, drum patterns, and a particular style of guitar leads that all bear an unquestionable death metal influence, such as on "The Past Is Death." This is quite an interesting compositional structure, as it challenges listeners to rethink the blackened death style, and proves to us that there are many influences a band can take from death metal besides pure speed. The production on Nothing But The Whole is nothing short of superior as well: crisp and enveloping, and with an amazing bass that gets plenty of room to rumble along on its own during some of the more relaxed passages.

Furthermore, Nothing But The Whole is nothing short of a mature, engaging album, and could quite likely be the best of the band's career thus far. With their fourth release, Emptiness have put down some of the brutal cliches of extreme metal and are focusing more on how to channel the particular "feels" of both black and death metal into a single, quite astounding whole (and nothing but!). The only complaint I find myself having with this album is that it's good to the point of possibly being unable to be matched in the future, and when that's your only displeasure with a release, you know you've found a gem.

Surrender to the whole.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


 



Written on 18.06.2014 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 43   Visited by: 343 users
19.11.2014 - 15:56
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Angel N. on 19.11.2014 at 14:30

I feel that EMPTINESS is far spectacular than Bolzer, just saying, not sure.

I agree too, but that may just be because at the moment Emptiness has more material to judge by
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
19.11.2014 - 16:34
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Written by Apothecary on 19.11.2014 at 15:56

I agree too, but that may just be because at the moment Emptiness has more material to judge by

Probably, but for now I think the level of creativity in EMPTINESS sound is not comparable with Bolzer. :/
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 07:54
Zaph
The Nothingth
Fuck.
I just wrote a review for this thinking there wasn't one on MS yet. But I guess you had already filled that void.

It had Belgian jokes and everything...
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 15:28
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Zaph on 18.02.2015 at 07:54

Fuck.
I just wrote a review for this thinking there wasn't one on MS yet. But I guess you had already filled that void.

It had Belgian jokes and everything...

Sorry?
At least tell me there was a chocolate reference or two in it
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 15:38
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Apothecary on 18.02.2015 at 15:28


At least tell me there was a chocolate reference or two in it


Doubt it. I am willing to, more or less, bet my left testicle, there are some references to Marc Dutroux
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.02.2015 - 16:17
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.02.2015 at 15:38

I am willing to, more or less, bet my left testicle, there are some references to Marc Dutroux

Damn, didn't even know about that guy til you mentioned him. My serial killer knowledge leaves much to be desired
----
Written by RaduP on 14.01.2016 at 02:08

So you're not actually a bearded shaman opening his third eye through music?
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 16:32
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Apothecary on 18.02.2015 at 16:17


Damn, didn't even know about that guy til you mentioned him. My serial killer knowledge leaves much to be desired


Currently Belgium is more renowned for their serial killing pedophiles than their chocolate.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.02.2015 - 18:12
Zaph
The Nothingth
To quote a brilliant movie: "What's Belgium famous for? Chocolates and child abuse, and they only invented the chocolates to get to the kids."
There were references to both, actually
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 20:32
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Zaph on 18.02.2015 at 18:12

To quote a brilliant movie: "What's Belgium famous for? Chocolates and child abuse, and they only invented the chocolates to get to the kids."
There were references to both, actually



I cahnged my mind, I AM NOT CUTTING OFF MY LEFT TESTICLE.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.02.2015 - 21:04
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Zaph on 18.02.2015 at 18:12

To quote a brilliant movie: "What's Belgium famous for? Chocolates and child abuse, and they only invented the chocolates to get to the kids."
There were references to both, actually


Hhahahaha that fucking line. From what movie? I actually did laugh at loud while reading it so I'm interested in the movie.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 21:05
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.02.2015 at 21:04

Written by Zaph on 18.02.2015 at 18:12

To quote a brilliant movie: "What's Belgium famous for? Chocolates and child abuse, and they only invented the chocolates to get to the kids."
There were references to both, actually


Hhahahaha that fucking line. From what movie? I actually did laugh at loud while reading it so I'm interested in the movie.



From In Bruges
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
18.02.2015 - 21:36
Erik M.
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.02.2015 at 21:05

From In Bruges


That movie is hilarious. It's one of those movies that I can watch over and over again without getting less awesome.
Loading...
18.02.2015 - 21:47
Zaph
The Nothingth
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.02.2015 at 21:04

Hhahahaha that fucking line. From what movie? I actually did laugh at loud while reading it so I'm interested in the movie.

Yep, as Marcel said; In Bruges. One of my favorite movies. Tragicomedy from Ireland set in Bruges (duh.)
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...

Hits total: 5907 | This month: 46