Rating:
N/A
Thrashless - Trip Of Death
14 September 2013


01. Intro
02. Mental Slaughter
03. Vodka Attack
04. No Forgiveness
05. We Burn Your House
06. Unholy Destruction Forever
07. Deconstructing Humanity
08. In My Darkest Dreams
09. Pure Warfare
10. Trip Of Death


In general, thrash isn't the most exciting metal genre to think and/or write about these days. There are only so many things you can say about most of the current waves of young groups channelling Slayer and the like that hasn't already been said about frozen pizzas and boxed wine.

Thrashless probably doesn't care about that and they probably shouldn't. The impression this thing gives is that what they do is informed solely by a desire to shred. This isn't a read between the lines kind of deal, because, you know, reading's gay and stuff. You can't bang your head while reading.

If nuance were a missing person, I'd say there's a good shot it's tied up in Thrashless' garage. And on the production end of things that normally is a bad sign, but catchy riffs and savage, blasted moments here save this from being insipid and seeming too squeaky most of the time. There are enough explosions and whatnot here to help you forget about all the cleanliness.

Trip Of Death is at its best when it sacrifices groove for speed—there's fury to be found on this thing, but it does frequently yield to more mid-paced, chunkier bits that are too tame to be enjoyable. The production isn't built for groove and neither is Thrashless' general approach to songwriting. When these guys go balls out on this, they sound great. When they tuck them back in for the sake of riff-highlighting, they sound dull and overly heard-it-before.

These guys are promising regardless, Trip Of Death just never really delivers on those promises. They're undeniably talented, but there's nothing in terms of memorability or adventure on this, and the intensity of it all comes with a limp. Worth a spin though.


Band profile: Thrashless
Album: Trip Of Death


 



Written on 08.07.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 68  
Search this topic:  


RottingDeathHead - 09.07.2014 at 05:52  
Sounds good to me! Because thrash metal is like pizza, when it's good, it is really good! But when it's bad, it's still pretty good!
deadone - 09.07.2014 at 08:34  
Sounds pointless. I don't need more third rate generic thrash so I will give this one a miss.
Troy Killjoy - 09.07.2014 at 17:36  
I know it isn't right to judge an album by one song, especially a single, but after two minutes of Mental Slaughter I gave up. Weak vocals, bland instrumentation, generic overall feel. Not my thing.
deadone - 10.07.2014 at 05:21  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.07.2014 at 17:36
Weak vocals, bland instrumentation, generic overall feel.



This is in fact the premise behind most modern Thrash!
Lit. - 10.07.2014 at 07:19  
Written by deadone on 10.07.2014 at 05:21

This is in fact the premise behind most Thrash!

F.I.F.Y.

But yeah, this is average even for a simple thrash outlet.
Troy Killjoy - 10.07.2014 at 08:20  
Written by deadone on 10.07.2014 at 05:21
This is in fact the premise behind most modern Thrash!

Agreed. There really aren't any contemporary thrash outfits that impress me, at least not in the way that the genre's pioneers/originators do. These revivalist copycat bands do have one thing going for them though - they inspire me to go back and listen to the classics.
deadone - 10.07.2014 at 08:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.07.2014 at 08:20

Agreed. There really aren't any contemporary thrash outfits that impress me, at least not in the way that the genre's pioneers/originators do. These revivalist copycat bands do have one thing going for them though - they inspire me to go back and listen to the classics.


100% agree. I thought Evile, Warbringer, Revocation (with DM leanings) and Bonded By Blood showed promise but none of them ever exploited it and they all ended rather third rate and completely unimaginative.

When it comes to newerThrash, I prefer either the older guys still at it (Overkill, Death Angel, Testament or Kreator) or more modern Thrash stylings ala those of Soulfly, The Haunted, Shadows Fall etc which all added other bits and pieces into the mix (and even here the wheels have come off).

To be fair a lot of the older 1980s Thrash was dismal too, but the pioneers and classics albums more than made up for all the third tier stuff. Today it's all dismal third tier stuff.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Flayed Disciple - Death Hammer 4.5 27.08.2012 by Mattybu
Reviews Bloodsoaked - The Death Of Hope 4.5 06.07.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Absence Of The Sacred - Come Hither O Herald Of Death 4.5 08.02.2012 by koob
Reviews Incapacitate - March To The Death 4.5 01.08.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Mion's Hill - Black Death 4.5 29.01.2014 by Lit.



Hits total: 1559 | This month: 56