Rating:
N/A
Suicide Silence - You Can't Stop Me
11 July 2014


01. M.A.L.
02. Inherit The Crown
03. Cease To Exist
04. Sacred Words
05. Control [feat. George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher]
06. Warrior
07. You Can't Stop Me
08. Monster Within [feat. Greg Puciato]
09. We Have All Had Enough
10. Ending Is The Beginning [re-recorded]
11. Don't Die
12. Ouroboros
13. Blue Haze [special edition bonus]
14. Last Breath [Hatebreed cover] [special edition bonus]


I have to give Suicide Silence credit. After the death of Mitch Lucker almost 2 years ago in late 2012, they picked up the pieces and put out another album. It's not always easy to keep on truckin' after a tragedy like that, so they get some respect from me in that sense. There's even more than that, though. You Can't Stop Me is not too shabby an album.

Granted, there are some areas in which Suicide Silence just can't seem to push forward. Deathcore is not a typically loved genre in metal, with the trademark breakdowns often being cited as a weak point of the genre, and there are some aimless breakdowns throughout You Can't Stop Me. The problem with breakdowns is when you don't inject any sort of creativity into them, it's painfully boring to listen to them, and it can detract from the quality and flow of a song if they aren't done well. On top of the songwriting at times being unable to escape mediocrity, the higher pitched screaming-type vocals are pretty grating at times. And of course, the lyrics are not just metal-in-general bad, they are cringe-worthy bad. I found myself trying to tune them out at times in an attempt to enjoy some of these songs.

However, despite a myriad of flaws, You Can't Stop Me does have quite a bit going for it. Opposite to the higher register vocal style, the deeper guttural style Hernan Hermida uses is much stronger and I found the parts of the songs with these deeper vocals more enjoyable. The production is well-balanced and the general sound isn't the kind that falls flat as a result of trying way too hard to be heavy. In addition, when the flow of the songs isn't being chopped up by a bad breakdown, there is some nice guitar playing on display and an efficient pace to the album - meaning the songs don't drag on too long and meander into stretches of boredom long enough to hurt the overall experience.

The icing on the cake is when George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher (vocalist of Cannibal Corpse) comes in on "Control". GCF always goes hard in the paint, so my expectations for this track were that it would be the best on the album. They were met, and I sat there like a giddy schoolgirl waiting for him to show up in the track and subsequently enjoying it once he was there.

At the end of the day, we have an album here that doesn't push any boundaries, and still has some of the trappings of deathcore that many people have come to hate, but nevertheless is pretty decent. Suicide Silence are capable of writing fragments of songs with good guitar work, good vocals, and engaging rhythm, but there are too many moments where the album takes a u-turn into Breakdownville and the hope for an album enjoyable in full fades away.


Band profile: Suicide Silence
Album: You Can't Stop Me


 



Written on 11.08.2014 by
Mattybu
Jesus piece around my neck and that protect me from my haters, who be hating.

R.I.P. Ceddybu.
More reviews by Mattybu ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 120  
Search this topic:  


Ilham - 11.08.2014 at 16:00  
I still haven't checked out anything by Suicide Silence. I should maybe start with this.
Mattybu - 11.08.2014 at 17:52  
Written by Ilham on 11.08.2014 at 16:00

I still haven't checked out anything by Suicide Silence. I should maybe start with this.


It's not something I could see you listening to a lot, but if you are feeling adventurous give it a shot. To be honest the main reason I wanted to hear it was for GCF but the whole thing in general was better than my expectations, seeing as when I last listened to Suicide Silence long ago I thought they were total crap.
Ilham - 11.08.2014 at 17:57  
Written by Mattybu on 11.08.2014 at 17:52
It's not something I could see you listening to a lot, but if you are feeling adventurous give it a shot. To be honest the main reason I wanted to hear it was for GCF but the whole thing in general was better than my expectations, seeing as when I last listened to Suicide Silence long ago I thought they were total crap.
Well thanks to your shorter annoying compatriot who gave me a crash course in Deathcore, I know I like that genre enough. I also know Suicide Silence is supposed to be the commercial side of it. But if I had a problem with commercial and radio-friendly music, I wouldn't be listening to Lady GaGa .
The GCF collab is also making me curious, so I really don't see why I wouldn't try. Feed-back within twenty-four hours.
Cynic Metalhead - 12.08.2014 at 08:18  
Well, I found this album to be step down from all other previous works. Hermida has its own style and quite frankly it's fantastic. Rest everything is just watered down.

No matter this record is tribute to Mitch but everything came down as just pure average stuff. Good songs swayed around the corner but never pushed the record to that high. Riffs are just filtered while breakdowns have gone pathetic.

Probably, that's the only reason I've enjoyed their earlier records. At least they use to have "some" decent riffs, breakdowns, lyrics and more importantly "songs" to construct a damn fine album.
Mattybu - 12.08.2014 at 18:32  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 12.08.2014 at 08:18

At least they use to have "some" decent riffs, breakdowns, lyrics and more importantly "songs" to construct a damn fine album.


I think they do still have some decent riffs, although the breakdowns and lyrics aren't exactly creative or engaging. My feelings on this album are very mixed overall so I would consider it fairly average.
Ilham - 13.08.2014 at 18:56  
Yeah I listened to it. It lacks depth. A lot. It's very average.
Mattybu - 13.08.2014 at 19:43  
Written by Ilham on 13.08.2014 at 18:56

Yeah I listened to it. It lacks depth. A lot. It's very average.


Yeah, pretty much. Less horrible than I expected it to be but still nothing special.
-Quatropus- - 13.08.2014 at 19:50  
I'll pass. Deathcore isn't really a genre I give too much shits about. I think only a handful have impressed me but that's because they try to distance themselves from the rest.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Suicide Silence - You Can't Stop Me 9 11.07.2014 by Absak
Albums Suicide Silence - No Time To Bleed 4.5 15.05.2011 by The Benighted
Albums Suicide Silence - Wake Up [EP] 4.5 04.10.2010 by ..ExoTeaR..
News Suicide Silence - Singer Mitch Lucker Passes Away At Age 28 4.5 01.11.2012 by Jiri
News Suicide Silence - Debut New Song 4.5 07.05.2014 by BlackEssence



Hits total: 1292 | This month: 91