Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.0
Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem
19 August 2014


Disc I
01. Penetratal Curse
02. Evil Like A Knife
03. Prowling Leather
04. No Mercy For Mayhem
05. The Final Rape Of Night
06. Degradation
07. Woman Of Flame
08. Try Suicide
09. Whiplash Disaster
10. Aggressive Crucifixion
11. Destroy Tsunami's Power [bonus]

Disc II [bonus]
01. Unholy And Rotten
02. Black Rock'n'Roll
03. Satanic Royalty
04. All Hail Hell
05. Violence On Violence
06. I Am Violator
07. Holocaustic Deafening
08. Endless Slut
09. ...On The Wings Of Satan


Midnight seems to take everything that's off-putting about metal to those who think metal's too silly, amplifies it, and then laughs spitefully while going their merry Motör-way. There's not much more anyone could ask from them; there aren't many groups that can juggle being so preternaturally inane and yet rip so goddamn seriously.

As some dude over at Invisible Oranges put it, they're one of metal's "lords of nonsense." They relished relentless, merciless, sleazy absurdness on their previous full-length, and they're still at it; from the lady deep-throating a chain on the cover, to the tracks about crucifying aggressively and leather that prowls and trying suicide, not to mention the album's name, it's like every idiotic but cool sounding heavy metal thing got hammered into a delicious, misogynistic, evil knife here.

They're funny, in other words, but they're not a joke band. It's all way over-the-top, but so is a lot of metal, and when compared to the countless other groups spouting cliché dark, twisted bullshit and the number of groups who do so facetiously, what makes Midnight amusing almost seems subtle. I don't even know if they were trying to be funny for this, but the fact that it was crafted so we're not sure just makes it funnier.

All that's secondary to the shredding on this though. Midnight plays black/speed metal, constantly making headbanged-nods to Motörhead and Venom. It's old-style, sped-up and pissed off, slightly out of tune sounding, cutthroat rock 'n' roll. It's made to crank while riding a motorcycle and/or getting drunk, late-70s, early-80s, leather-jacket and a chained-wallet with a photo of a young Nina Hartley in its style. If you listened to Satanic Royalty, you'll know what to expect from this. Just expect it to have a slightly richer, more bass-heavy and less clanky mix.

Deciding on what to play while drinking can be tricky sometimes but, along with that new Studfaust album Doc just reviewed, this should make your party soundtrack for the coming days easy to put together.


 



Written on 12.08.2014 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 71  
Search this topic:  


The Benighted - 13.08.2014 at 04:52  
Really enjoyed Satanic Royalty, and I hear this is essentially the same, so I can't imagine I wouldn't love this.
Malignar - 13.08.2014 at 07:18  
I'm trying to like this but there is literally as many riffs on this as there are songs. I don't think I heard a black riff on here, no idea how this would be classified black anything. I heard almost no tempo changes throughout each song. I guess I just don't understand this MH inspired stuff as I don't understand their appeal.
deadone - 13.08.2014 at 07:38  
Written by Malignar on 13.08.2014 at 07:18

I'm trying to like this but there is literally as many riffs on this as there are songs. I don't think I heard a black riff on here, no idea how this would be classified black anything. I heard almost no tempo changes throughout each song. I guess I just don't understand this MH inspired stuff as I don't understand their appeal.



Anything with shit production these days is called "Black" or "Blackened."




I am curious though I hope it's not just third rate Motorhead knock off like Chrome Division. Why listen to them when I can just crank some classic Motorhead?
RavenEffect - 13.08.2014 at 13:43  
Written by deadone on 13.08.2014 at 07:38


I am curious though I hope it's not just third rate Motorhead knock off like Chrome Division. Why listen to them when I can just crank some classic Motorhead?


Why listen to any Doom band when you could be listening to Sabbath or Electric Wizard?

Kind of a dull theory you got there
Marcel Hubregtse - 13.08.2014 at 13:57  
Midnight are certainly black/speed. Really enjoyed Satanic Royalty and what I have heard of this one up to now I also enjoy. No matter how crap you're feeeling Midnight always manages to put a smile on your face.
deadone - 13.08.2014 at 15:21  
Written by RavenEffect on 13.08.2014 at 13:43

Written by deadone on 13.08.2014 at 07:38


I am curious though I hope it's not just third rate Motorhead knock off like Chrome Division. Why listen to them when I can just crank some classic Motorhead?


Why listen to any Doom band when you could be listening to Sabbath or Electric Wizard?

Kind of a dull theory you got there


It's a fair point when it's as mediocre as Chrome Division. And I tend to avoid clones and rehashes.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.08.2014 at 15:30  
Yeah because you're all about the original and avant-garde bands aren't you
RavenEffect - 13.08.2014 at 15:32  
Theres no reason to consider them a clone or rehash
Boxcar Willy - 13.08.2014 at 15:43  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.08.2014 at 15:30

Yeah because you're all about the original and avant-garde bands aren't you

OH SNAP!


I didn't know Midnight had a new album out, need to check it A$AP.
deadone - 14.08.2014 at 02:51  
Just checkin' this one out - hell fuckin yeah.

Speed/Heavy Metal as Jesus Cunting Christ himself intended it. Sounds like it's 1983-84 all over. Love the riffs, the vocals and the general sleazy vibe - it's like a smoke infested, stale beer smelling strip joint where every makeup caked dancer has her own customised cocktail of STDs she's collected over 30 years in the industry.

Good times!


Unlike those sad clones Chrome Division who unsurpisingly sound like a soulless 2010s band cluelessly apeing classic Motorhead. Bah fuck off Shagrath and make some good new Dimmu instead as opposed to that Abrahadabra turd burger.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Midnight - No Mercy For Mayhem 7.5 17.07.2014 by RavenEffect
Reviews Job For A Cowboy - Ruination 4.5 18.02.2011 by wormdrink414
Reviews Darkthrone - The Underground Resistance 3 03.03.2013 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Midnight Odyssey - Announce New Double Album For Next Year 3 24.08.2014 by Zaphod
News Mayhem - Japanese Shows For September 3 07.08.2010 by Black Conundrum



Hits total: 1212 | This month: 1