Sordide - Hier Déjà Mort review



Reviewer:
N/A

14 users:
6.71
Band: Sordide
Album: Hier Déjà Mort
Release date: February 2019


01. Prelude
02. La Peur Du Noir
03. Hier Déjà Mort
04. Le Cadavre Ou L'offrande
05. La Chute
06. Carapace
07. La Saveur De La Fièvre
08. Postlude


Black metal has had a good long run and it has evolved in a myriad of new directions. Sordide is a black metal band signed to Throatruiner Records. If you know who that is, you're probably licking your lips by now.

Sordide is a French black metal trio whose only connection to another major band I could find so far is that guitarist Nehluj also played in Hyadningar and is playing in Ataraxie, but most of their members are part of some sludge or black metal bands that are not (yet) on MS. They have been polishing their own brand of weird black metal over the course of, so far and including this one, three albums. So what gives?

It being black metal there's obviously a lot of atmosphere in this, but also incredible emphasis on tight songwriting. But instead of it being melodic, it's closer to being technical in the sense that something like Portal is both technical and esoterically atmospheric. Chaotic, sprawling, and surprisingly bass-heavy for a black metal album. Mountains of dissonance above it, Hier Déjà Mort's technical songwriting takes it in progressive and avant-garde directions without losing any of the vicious impact it has. Because this is some strong black metal.

What makes it so strong is the subtle but firm post-hardcore influence, which is obvious from both the sludge bands that some of the members play in as well as the hardcore-focused label that they're currently signed to. There's a lot of primitive-sounding moments in this album; check out "La Chute", for example, which melds vicious hardcore energy into vitriolic black metal. So the contrast between slower atmosphere-building, faster hardcore, and intricate sections is not that big, so much so that it blends seamlessly. And it is that seamlessness that really gives the whole record a slight avant-garde feel, because even though there is nothing especially new on the record, I can't really think of any band that has achieved a sound like this or would sound this good doing it.

Hier Déjà Mort is effective in being a straightforward black metal album, a forward-thinking one, and a bone-shattering one as well. Rarely does one find a single black metal album that can play in so many leagues without sounding disjointed. And that has audible bass for fucking once. And the cover art is also pretty dope. Dive in.


 



Written on 03.03.2019 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 10   [ 1 ignored ]   Visited by: 73 users
04.03.2019 - 11:15
Bad English
Masterchief
Black metal has had a good long run and it has evolved in a myriad of new directicins

Wise words, best what happened, from troo raw st annic boring taake, gorgoroth to many supgenres where is atmosfere, kosmos, nature, heaten, paganissm, and many elements
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 11:19
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Bad English on 04.03.2019 at 11:15

Black metal has had a good long run and it has evolved in a myriad of new directicins

Wise words, best what happened, from troo raw st annic boring taake, gorgoroth to many supgenres where is atmosfere, kosmos, nature, heaten, paganissm, and many elements

It's amazing that there's so much diversity in black metal and it still is evolving, though I like some sounds more than others
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 11:49
Mercurial
Top lad. I really dig this, and it would be nice to see the average rating reach a more deserving score.
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 11:52
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Mercurial on 04.03.2019 at 11:49

Top lad. I really dig this, and it would be nice to see the average rating reach a more deservign score.

I've come to accept the fact that if a more underground album is really good, it has a 6-7 rating. If it's any bigger than that, it's wack.
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 11:53
Mercurial
Written by RaduP on 04.03.2019 at 11:52


I've come to accept the fact that if a more underground album is really good, it has a 6-7 rating. If it's any bigger than that, it's wack.

I've noticed that this year. I guess 7 is the new 9.
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 12:52
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by RaduP on 04.03.2019 at 11:19

Written by Bad English on 04.03.2019 at 11:15

Black metal has had a good long run and it has evolved in a myriad of new directicins

Wise words, best what happened, from troo raw st annic boring taake, gorgoroth to many supgenres where is atmosfere, kosmos, nature, heaten, paganissm, and many elements

It's amazing that there's so much diversity in black metal and it still is evolving, though I like some sounds more than others

Yes its True and gengres has future
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 13:23
Discordant666
I always look for new black metal with diffrent elements, in that way its the most intresting genre
----
Enigmatical - Transmission I
^Alien Black Metal Techno^
Loading...
04.03.2019 - 20:20
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Discordant666 on 04.03.2019 at 13:23

I always look for new black metal with diffrent elements, in that way its the most intresting genre

true
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
05.03.2019 - 22:10
MetalManic
Written by Mercurial on 04.03.2019 at 11:53

Written by RaduP on 04.03.2019 at 11:52


I've come to accept the fact that if a more underground album is really good, it has a 6-7 rating. If it's any bigger than that, it's wack.

I've noticed that this year. I guess 7 is the new 9.
Seems the MS readers have taken the rating system into their own hands since the the MS staff abandoned it
----
MetalManic
www.MetalManic.com
Loading...
05.03.2019 - 22:42
Mercurial
Quote:
Written by MetalManic on 05.03.2019 at 22:10

Seems the MS readers have taken the rating system into their own hands since the the MS staff abandoned it

Could be the first stage in an uprising. Make all the reviewers feels worthless by downvoting albums with positive reviews, wait till all the staff quit over depression, then jump into their shoes. Profit.
Loading...

Hits total: 1023 | This month: 1023