Pensées Nocturnes - Grand Guignol Orchestra review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

19 users:
7.74
Band: Pensées Nocturnes
Album: Grand Guignol Orchestra
Release date: February 2019


01. Un Trop Plein D'Rouge
02. Deux Bals Dans La Tête
03. Poil De Lune
04. L'Alpha Mal
05. L'Etrangorium
06. Les Valseuses
07. Gauloises Ou Gitanes ?
08. Comptine À Boire
09. Anis Maudit
10. Triste Sade


Never forget to spice up your musical journey with honest and pure silliness.

First of all, I'd like to say that my first contact with this French project started with their debut, Vacuum, which I still hold dear to the point that I became quite disappointed with the immediate change in style, starting with their sophomore album, Grotesque. The project moved from harrowing and uniquely depressive black metal to an avant-garde, burlesque and jazzy soundtrack of nightmares… It took me a while to get used to the change, considering my strong love for their debut, but I enjoyed the following albums and accepted them for what they were.

Grand Guignol Orchestra, however, was instant, unfiltered and lovely fucking fun. It's hard to accurately pinpoint what makes Pensées Nocturnes' latest album their best since their debut to me. It just seems to one-up all the good aspects: It's more engaging and fun. It's probably the album in which the band is most committed to their crazy art and fully embraces the hilarious madness. It does not feel forced at all and the songwriting is clearly way more on point this time. While I fully enjoy the previous outputs, I completely understood those who felt the band had become too disjointed to be enjoyable. This time, the kaleidoscope of musical elements that make Pensées Nocturnes' sound are approached under a more homogeneous filter. It's still a highly volatile and unpredictable album, but every surprise is more entertaining instead of feeling oddly written.

There is a clear return of savage undertones as well and it is by far their most aggressive output since Grotesque. The romantic and elegant aspects of the previous two albums has developed into a more intense and hard-hitting sound. Some of the most extreme sections reminded me of later Peste Noire albums (without the awkwardness of enjoying the work of a dubious individual, that is) but with the infectious jolly good time of acts like Diablo Swing Orchestra. One example of this new-found extremity lies in the vocal arrangements. The ferocity of Vaerohn's growls and howls astonished me as I had not heard such a brutal display of madness in quite a while. There is also plenty of charismatic fun in his clear vocals, recalling circus leaders pumping up the audience.

Without a doubt, Grand Guignol Orchestra marks a new chapter for Pensées Nocturnes as it shows the band at its most mature, aggressive, delightful, and of course… at its funniest! Don't fight the ridicule and get trapped in the silly, devoted madness that these clowns want you to be a part of!


 



Written on 18.03.2019 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 59 users
18.03.2019 - 13:38
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Sold, great review. I haven't been keeping up with this project since the 2013 album (so I think there's one before this that I'm still missing?), but was always a fan of the crazy, jazz circus Avant-garde type black metal sound. I believe I saw Joe mention a while ago as well that this is better than the latest Sigh album too, so with a claim that bold I'm definitely interested.
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
18.03.2019 - 15:06
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Apothecary on 18.03.2019 at 13:38

I believe I saw Joe mention a while ago as well that this is better than the latest Sigh album too, so with a claim that bold I'm definitely interested.

I didn't feel like making too much "controversy" while writing, but to be honest... I kind of agree with him. This album just grabs me better and just makes me smile a lot. Sigh might be a more serious take on this type of crazy metal. Definitely try to check out the one before this one. To get a better grasp of how they have evolved and improved in terms of songwriting.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
18.03.2019 - 15:16
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.03.2019 at 15:06

Definitely try to check out the one before this one. To get a better grasp of how they have evolved and improved in terms of songwriting.

Will do, Squad Commander
----
Now who should I call? Should I call Mr. Strawberry?
No, I don't think I'll call Mr. Strawberry. I don't think he's taking calls.
Loading...
18.03.2019 - 19:32
SatanicBlood
I listened to this album thinking I was going to hear Grotesque-esque tones. Boy was I wrong but in a great way.
I completely agree that some of their earlier works felt disjointed, unsure of what they wanted to do, but this album is fucking fun. I love it.
But I wish they would have brought back the cuckoo clock one more time.
----
http://idolatryblackmetal.bandcamp.com

Canadian black metal
Loading...
18.03.2019 - 23:25
nikarg
Old Nick
The Peste Noire reference obviously made me check this out. It's fun, not my style but definitely fun. I do prefer Sigh though..
----
Instagram
Loading...
20.03.2019 - 12:55
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
@Mr.Doctor, Dude, it was the exact same feeling for me with the transition away from Vacuum. I think that CD is still in my shelf too XD. However, I do remember one stand out moment that never escaped me... the cuc-koo sound that comes on the second album haha! I'll give this one a listen on youtube. Good review, man!
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...
20.03.2019 - 20:09
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by TheBigRossowski on 20.03.2019 at 12:55

@Mr.Doctor, Dude, it was the exact same feeling for me with the transition away from Vacuum. I think that CD is still in my shelf too XD. However, I do remember one stand out moment that never escaped me... the cuc-koo sound that comes on the second album haha! I'll give this one a listen on youtube. Good review, man!

What the heck?! The Dude is alive? Great to see you! xD
Thanks for the kind words! This album is closer to Grotesque in terms of aggression but I honestly prefer this one in terms of overall songwriting and enjoyment.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.03.2019 - 21:38
TheBigRossowski
Dudeist Priest'
Yep. The Dude (still) abides, man. And I even live here in the Netherlands now, though unfortunately I won't make it to Roadburn .
----
That rug really tied the room together, did it not?
Loading...

Hits total: 1193 | This month: 42