Emperor - Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk review



Reviewer:
2.0

959 users:
8.90
Band: Emperor
Album: Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk
Release date: July 1997


01. Alsvartr (The Oath)
02. Ye Entrancemperium
03. Thus Spake The Nightspirit
04. Ensorcelled By Khaos
05. The Loss And Curse Of Reverence
06. The Acclamation Of Bonds
07. With Strength I Burn
08. The Wanderer
09. In Longing Spirit [reissue bonus]
10. Opus A Satana [reissue bonus]
11. The Loss And Curse Of Reverence [live] [reissue bonus]


In our lives, sometimes we are unlucky enough to meet bastards who make us feel that, for certain, hell must be real and such characters are subject to eternal damnation. Think of all liars, charlatans and philanderers that you have met, who swindled money out of you, stole shit from you or subjected you to all sorts of lies and betrayal. Now, with the feeling of rage bringing your blood to the boil, think that there can be a bunch of worse people and there, my friend, you meet Emperor and their sophomore album.

The initial minute of "Alsvartr (The Oath)" is the only thing worth wasting your time listening to. A deceptively sweet atmospheric introductory part that deceives you into eating the shit and fraud that is to follow. Everyone who rants and raves about how good this album is, is a lying piece of shit who has never listened to this garbage beyond the first minute of the introductory song. If you love yourself and are a normal lad, quit listening to this album after the first minute of "Alsvartr (The Oath)" and end all relations with people who claim that this album is worth a rating of anything more than 1/10.

This album is the very definition of over-hyped and an album that people only like because it is cool to do so. As a metal newbie years ago, I can't believe I used to pretend to love this album just to appear kvlt and necro. This is the very definition of what non-metalheads mean when they say that heavy metal is nothing but noise. The sound mixing in this album is very poor and not in the cool atmospheric way that Transilvanian Hunger is. Every instrument on this album is played at maximum volume and each and every one of them is competing for your attention. If you have sixteen ears then you can find this piece of album tolerable, but for normal folks with two ears, the blazing synths, up-tempo guitars and relentless drumming all screaming for your attention are simply unbearable and headache-inducing. Minute 04:30 of "The Loss And Curse Of Reverence" demonstrates an example of the headache-inducing wall of noise that this album is full of and I don't hate myself enough to dig up for more examples.

Symphonic metal as a genre is something I have never been able to come to terms with as a member of the heavy metal umbrella. The most annoying bands play this type of genre (Dimmu Borgir, Carach Angren) and to think that a band that is hailed as a black metal legend could desecrate the very soul of black metal and wank around with synths, keyboards and choir effects is preposterous.

The cacophony of noise does tend to reduce on some songs like towards the end of "Thus Spake The Nightspirit" only to reveal basic black metal shrieks and pretty predictable goth-like clean passages. This album is devoid of interesting riffs, barely creates an interesting atmosphere and only excels in the overuse of synths and in giving you migraines.

If you have never listened to this album, I truly envy the peace of mind that you possess.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 3
Songwriting: 2
Originality: 4
Production: 2

Written by Maasai Mara | 26.03.2019


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
dark awakening
Rating:
9.6
I started listening to Emperor with the last work of the band: Prometheus. Yes, that album was good, but there were too much "addings" that shouldn't be found in a Black Metal album in general. I appreciate the progressive elements though in some parts of the disc. Hearing this I was a little sceptic about the other Emperor works, but at the same time curious.

Read more ››
published 07.02.2007 | Comments (23)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 42   Visited by: 262 users
03.04.2019 - 05:58
Rulatore
Everybody making fun of the review, but I wholeheartedly agree with this statement here

Quote:
The sound mixing in this album is very poor and not in the cool atmospheric way


I'll give him the benefit of the doubt cause I absolutely can't stand the production here, is one of the worst out there for such a loved album and makes me think that there's a bit of truth in what he says (that is cool to like this album). I dont see a complain about the songwriting in particular, so I can see where he's coming from.

Hearing the songs from this album played live (the double live album) really shows how much potential this record have, but that shitty production really makes it hard to appreciate the songwriting here
Loading...
03.04.2019 - 23:04
Maasai Mara
Written by Daniell on 02.04.2019 at 14:29

You just couldn't stay away, could you?


Stay away from what. I don't understand whatever it is that you are implying.
----
You are not metal enough until you visit Kenya. The cradle of mankind, where man learnt first to work with stones and first enjoyed the sounds produced by banging stones which later influenced metal in all its sounds and genres.
Loading...
03.04.2019 - 23:07
Maasai Mara
Written by Rulatore on 03.04.2019 at 05:58

Everybody making fun of the review, but I wholeheartedly agree with this statement here

Quote:
The sound mixing in this album is very poor and not in the cool atmospheric way


I'll give him the benefit of the doubt cause I absolutely can't stand the production here, is one of the worst out there for such a loved album and makes me think that there's a bit of truth in what he says (that is cool to like this album). I dont see a complain about the songwriting in particular, so I can see where he's coming from.

Hearing the songs from this album played live (the double live album) really shows how much potential this record have, but that shitty production really makes it hard to appreciate the songwriting here



. This is exactly what the review is saying but perhaps my style of communication or the blind love for this piece of noise is why most folks think this is a troll review.
----
You are not metal enough until you visit Kenya. The cradle of mankind, where man learnt first to work with stones and first enjoyed the sounds produced by banging stones which later influenced metal in all its sounds and genres.
Loading...
04.04.2019 - 15:36
Daniell
_爱情_
I agree with you on one point - the production is wilfully bad.
Loading...
11.10.2019 - 19:52
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
This reminds me of one of my shitty controversial reviews from years ago and I absolutely love it.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
12.10.2019 - 11:04
Zap
Phlegmish
I like it too actually, it's pretty well written, funny, it actually says why the reviewer doesn't like it (something a lot of extreme reviews like this miss) and I even find myself agreeing on some points. Hah!
----
And the tears that we will weep today
Will all be washed away
By the tears that we will weep again tomorrow
Loading...
26.12.2019 - 16:52
infernalius
I like the part where the reviewer say: " end all relations with people who claim that this album is worth a rating of anything more than 1/10." and then he gives the album a 2/10.
Loading...
26.12.2019 - 17:32
Metren
Donkey Hotte
Written by infernalius on 26.12.2019 at 16:52

I like the part where the reviewer say: " end all relations with people who claim that this album is worth a rating of anything more than 1/10." and then he gives the album a 2/10.


Albums can be rated 1-10 as far as the general user score is concerned, however when writing a review for MS, the lowest score available is a 2.
----
I am not nor have I ever been a musician or a member of a one-man band, especially a band that has a name that starts with "D".
Loading...
26.12.2019 - 19:43
infernalius
Fair enough ... but he could vote this part diferently right? Rating breakdown Performance: 3 Songwriting: 2 Originality: 4 Production: 2.

But it won't make any diference though ... my point is, the guy is just a troll, go see his album ratings ... Blackwater Park - 1, Lotus from Soen - 1, just downvoting to a minimum any album that is highly rated and he doenst agree with lol.

Anyway, who cares? It's just the internet, being the internet.
Loading...
10.01.2020 - 19:39
Maasai Mara
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Written by infernalius on 26.12.2019 at 19:43

Fair enough ... but he could vote this part diferently right? Rating breakdown Performance: 3 Songwriting: 2 Originality: 4 Production: 2.


Meh, i gave them those ratings merely for the effort and calories they spent when conjuring this wall of noise when those aspects are separated. However, when looking at the album from a wholesome point of view then the best i can give it will always remain a 1.

But it won't make any diference though ... my point is, the guy is just a troll, go see his album ratings ... Blackwater Park - 1, Lotus from Soen - 1, just downvoting to a minimum any album that is highly rated and he doenst agree with lol.


I hate fucking prog metal. Just like the other bitter prog fanboys i have answered before, you have simply selected the albums that you like and I consider piles of crap. Of course there are albums that i have scored highly and you have scored them low. Troll, it's called having different tastes.

Anyway, who cares? It's just the internet, being the internet.

Meh, if you were not another troll like me you could have argued out on the production and quality of the sound which are my main reason for scathing this album.
----
You are not metal enough until you visit Kenya. The cradle of mankind, where man learnt first to work with stones and first enjoyed the sounds produced by banging stones which later influenced metal in all its sounds and genres.
Loading...
21.01.2020 - 20:25
infernalius
A fuck, i shall not give.
A troll, i shall not feed.
A discussion, you shall not have.

- Master yoda
Loading...
22.07.2020 - 22:31
sgtrobo
I disagree almost entirely with everything the reviewer wrote (aside from the production), but full points for a creative and entertaining review
Loading...

Hits total: 3349 | This month: 11