King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard - Infest The Rats' Nest review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
N/A

45 users:
8.62
Band: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Album: Infest The Rats' Nest
Release date: August 2019


01. Planet B
02. Mars For The Rich
03. Organ Farmer
04. Superbug
05. Venusian 1
06. Perihelion
07. Venusian 2
08. Self-immolate
09. Hell


They fucking did it! King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard did a thrash metal album!

The aussie jam band that seems to bend their sound into a special concept in each album, from microtonal instruments, an album that loops forever, a boogie album, a collab with a jazz band, to a fucking spaghetti western one; the list goes on. Needless to say, their back catalog is quite impressive, both in size (they released five albums in 2017 alone) and in the surprising quality that a material spread over so many sounds would have. But even at their most exploratory, all of their albums clearly felt like King Gizz albums. And now they fucking did a metal album. And it's not just a slightly heavier version of their usual garage/psych jam rock, they even got the snobs at Metal-Archives to add them based on this album.

Sure, they dipped their toes in heavier sounds on previous albums as well, but Infest The Rats' Nest is definitely heavier than anything they've ever done before. The sound is a lot less jammy, the vocals are a lot rougher, the fuzz is a lot deeper, and the whole thing still feels as fun as ever without it feeling like a parody. After all what better style of music to present the end of times from climate change and corrupt rich than some punky and psychedelic thrash metal? [Maybe death industrial, but we may get something like that someday, you never know.] The sound throughout the album isn't consistently thrash, with some songs being closer to a punky Motörhead and others like "Superbug" are clear Black Sabbath worship.

And even at its thrashiest, there is a clear sense that it is a King Gizz album, with its slightly offbeat production and studio trickery that are clear indicators of their sound, not to mention the slightly jammy tendencies. There is a lot less of the latter, especially since King Gizz have chopped up their lineup for this record, with most members having little no contribution, leaving only a power trio behind, with guitarists and bassists changing on different songs. This does create a much more direct and muscular King Gizz album, with riffs and solos abound, threading fairly close to the material they homage. Sometimes too close.

It's fun. It's vicious. It's hopefully not the last time we see King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard flirting with metal.



They even made a fucking video game for it.


 



Written on 26.08.2019 by My opinion is objective, sorry if you don't agree, but you're wrong.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 139 users
26.08.2019 - 18:26
Eternity'sChild
Now this review made me really curious about that album. Didn't really follow the band, but have heard a bit of their stuff - maybe I should check out a bit of their back-catalogue after this one as well...
Nice read!
Loading...
26.08.2019 - 18:40
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Eternity'sChild on 26.08.2019 at 18:26

Now this review made me really curious about that album. Didn't really follow the band, but have heard a bit of their stuff - maybe I should check out a bit of their back-catalogue after this one as well...
Nice read!

My recommendation would be to try I'm In Your Mind Fuzz and Polygondwanaland and move on from there.
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
26.08.2019 - 20:17
musclassia
I only know Crumbling Castles by them (heard the rest of that album but wasn't that into it), but I saw theneedledrop's review of this and it piqued my attention. Will get round to giving it a listen sometime
Loading...
26.08.2019 - 20:28
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by musclassia on 26.08.2019 at 20:17

I only know Crumbling Castles by them (heard the rest of that album but wasn't that into it), but I saw theneedledrop's review of this and it piqued my attention. Will get round to giving it a listen sometime

My two album recommendation works for you too then
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
27.08.2019 - 08:29
JēkabsFiļi
I'm In Your Mind Fuzz and Nonagon Infinity are my favourites
Loading...
27.08.2019 - 08:48
Kursma
My album of the year at the moment. Combines quite a many things i grew up with, in a fresh concept. Don't think we have heard an album quite like this before. A psychedelic thrash metal record, that is. Great stuff. p.s. Flying Microtonal Banana is a classic album and should not be forgotten from the list of recommendations.
Loading...
27.08.2019 - 13:22
metalwolf
When I listened to this album last week I thought by myself "hmmm, this is worthy of a review on Metal Storm"... and there ya go!

I'm sure this'll turn up in the MS Awards coz the sound is great.
----
----------------------------------------------------------
Cthulhu for President! Why settle for the lesser evil?
Loading...
28.08.2019 - 03:31
Hrodebert
The love for this album makes me giggle a bit... It's sounds a bit like metallica st anger... And people hated that loools
Loading...
28.08.2019 - 11:08
wimplord
This album genuinely sounds like a 2010s non-metal band being influenced by 80s thrash metal, and doesn't sound like a thrash revival band trying to completely re-live the glory days. Even when the genre conventions are prominent, it still sounds original and fresh and surprisingly more exciting than orthodox new thrash. One of the good examples of how thrash metal should move on.
Loading...
29.08.2019 - 10:25
nikarg
Old Nick
I know you used the word thrash in the first sentence just to pique my interest; and it worked. I get vibes of Kill 'Em All and Motorhead among other stuff on this one, it's riffy (so just the way I like my music) and different. I'll spin it some more but my first impression is really good. And Superbug kicks ass.
Loading...
03.09.2019 - 21:15
WorpeX
Just listened to it after reading your review. Pretty good album overall, though after Superbug the album got pretty samey and lost some steam. Planet B, Mars For The Rich and Superbug are great tough.
Loading...

Hits total: 1414 | This month: 496