Forteresse - Thèmes Pour La Rébellion review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.7

44 users:
8.41
Band: Forteresse
Album: Thèmes Pour La Rébellion
Release date: June 2016


01. Aube De 1837
02. Spectre De La Rébellion
03. Là Où Nous Allons
04. Par La Bouche De Mes Canons
05. Le Sang Des Héros
06. Forêt D'Automne
07. Vespérales
08. Le Dernier Voyage


Independence and black metal. Name a more iconic duo. I'll wait.

Returning after a relatively lengthy silence, having been on a steady bi-annual schedule until 2011's Crépuscule d'octobre, Forteresse returned in peak form with another 8 songs of pro-Québécois separatist ideology, providing listeners with a (French-Canadian) history lesson dating back to the mid-1800s to go along with their unique take on the melodic/atmospheric black metal sound. Focusing on topics such as culture, war, and systemic bias favoring the majority -- thereby casting the minority into a second-tier class of life form -- Thèmes pour la rébellion is an emotional ode to those French ancestors who gave their lives fighting for a cause they believed in: anti-oppression.

Overlooking the politically-charged nature of the band, which is difficult to do when such a band would never exist without their members' beliefs, one can still find plenty to unpack musically. To contextualize that, however, it should be noted that typical Forteresse albums spend a significant amount of time building up to build ups, establishing an overall depressive mood with accessible, yet daunting melodies. There's still a depth of content to explore, but in a more subjective manner due to the focus on atmospheric setup, and so the audience is left in an interpretive position -- for better or for worse. After all, intended messages don't always fall on receptive ears.

Now this may seem a well-known observation by fans of the band, and it's a fact that should become quickly apparent to newcomers curious about their style, but this Québécois quartet are extremely theme-oriented and thus create their albums with a specific sound in mind, as if preconceived prior to writing. Just like book series are comprised of novels unique to themselves but fitting within the context of the big picture, every Forteresse release fits neatly as another chapter to add to their continuing story. This album is far more straightforward in its aggression and spite, but it holds its place in the band's growing history and brings with it an added freshness, incorporating a more epic approach with the soaring guitars to go alongside the accustomed harrowing shrieks and relentless blasting drums.

On its own, Thèmes pour la rébellion is an excellent black metal album, rapid-paced yet somber, and never straying far from the hate and anger you come to expect dating back to the genre's origins. As a Forteresse album, this is their magnum opus, and anyone with a vague interest in the band should be eagerly awaiting what the future brings.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 15.09.2019 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 34 users
15.09.2019 - 14:15
nikarg
Old Nick
Listening while reading. Great stuff.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 18:31
Czerny Reiter
Although I harbor a lesser appreciation for this album, I must point to Là Où Nous Allons as the definite highlight, a tremolo-charged epic if there ever was one.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 19:21
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by nikarg on 15.09.2019 at 14:15
Listening while reading. Great stuff.

I haven't listened to enough black metal yet from 2016 but I imagine this will count among my personal favorites even after I've caught up.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 19:23
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Czerny Reiter on 15.09.2019 at 18:31

Although I harbor a lesser appreciation for this album, I must point to Là Où Nous Allons as the definite highlight, a tremolo-charged epic if there ever was one.

That and Vespérales are my favorites. This more melodic approach suits their style well.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 21:36
Bad English
Masterchief
Band beliefs what are those, example
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 21:43
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Bad English on 15.09.2019 at 21:36
Band beliefs what are those, example

They fall in line with Quebec separatists who believe in secession from Canada.

You can read up on it here.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
16.09.2019 - 10:48
Bad English
Masterchief
Idiots same as cstslans, brexit, yvesson like that idea
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
01.11.2019 - 15:39
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
This album RIPS. Awesome melodies and energy. Tabarnak.
----
Checkout my band here!
Loading...
01.11.2019 - 16:54
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 01.11.2019 at 15:39

This album RIPS. Awesome melodies and energy. Tabarnak.

That sense of melody has always been the foundation of their sound but this time around they reached new heights and I'm so happy they did. The five year wait after Crépuscule d'octobre was absolutely worth it.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
01.11.2019 - 16:57
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.11.2019 at 16:54

That sense of melody has always been the foundation of their sound but this time around they reached new heights and I'm so happy they did. The five year wait after Crépuscule d'octobre was absolutely worth it.

I really like bands that stay consistent to a theme as well, not that it has anything to do with the music, but it makes my brain happy in some way
----
Checkout my band here!
Loading...
01.11.2019 - 17:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 01.11.2019 at 16:57

I really like bands that stay consistent to a theme as well, not that it has anything to do with the music, but it makes my brain happy in some way

I think concept albums add another layer of interest for the listener and helps keep the songwriting more focused and uniform. Some albums tend to meander and wander too far off course making for a disjointed overall feeling, though can yield better individual standout tracks.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...

Hits total: 486 | This month: 54