Visceral Disgorge - Slithering Evisceration review



Reviewer:
7.0

13 users:
6.77
Band: Visceral Disgorge
Album: Slithering Evisceration
Release date: September 2019


01. Slithering Evisceration
02. Fucked Into Oblivion
03. Architects Of Warping Flesh
04. Saprogenic Deformation
05. Absorbed By The Swarm
06. Siphoning Cosmic Sentience
07. Necrotic Biogenesis
08. Spawn Of Putridity
09. Transfixed In Torture


Responding to the death of a founding member is never easy, and the only options you have as a band are to continue, or quit, out of respect. Thankfully for everyone awaiting the return of Visceral Disgorge, they chose to overcome adversity and do what they do best: mash your earbuds to pieces.

It's been nearly a decade since the release of the band's debut, Ingesting Putridity, which garnered them a decent following for their similarity in style and quality to the likes of Putridity and Pathology, among a host of others. They did nothing to set them apart from the rest of the scene, nor did they mess with the tried-and-true formula fans of the slam/brutal death metal scene came to expect. It was paint-by-numbers in almost every respect, and sometimes that's exactly what you want from a band. No curve ball orchestra, no psychedelic or progressive oddities, just straightforward genre rigidity.

That same strict adherence to the original style is precisely what you get with Slithering Evisceration. It's the kind of album you understand immediately after a 90 second intro, and it's entirely unapologetic about offering nothing else for you to digest for the next 30 minutes. You'd never know the tumultuous journey these guys endured just to make it to this point, just as you'd never expect there was an eight-year gap between albums. They could have been recorded on the same weekend, albeit with different vocalists and more experienced personnel handling mixing and mastering duties.

Ingesting Putridity featured some more technical songwriting prowess and a more obvious emphasis on groove, but the thin production cheapened the experience, and Travis Werner's unrefined guttural secretions were more grating than immersive. This time around the sound comes across as more rich and thickly layered, but also not as inspired or fresh -- and that can just as easily be attributed to the unfortunate circumstances surrounding the writing of the album as much as it can to the aging of the band members themselves.

Overall, this is a solid, if unremarkable brutal/slam death metal album, but if you're one of those fans who has to consume each and every release the genre has to offer, this won't disappoint. Here's hoping that the Visceral Disgorge name lives on, for members past and present, and that future releases capture the ingenuity of the debut, with the maturity of this sophomore effort.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 15.09.2019 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 65 users
15.09.2019 - 23:22
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Thanks, I won't listen to it now
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
15.09.2019 - 23:33
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by RaduP on 15.09.2019 at 23:22
Thanks, I won't listen to it now

If you check out "Spawn of Putridity" it's a good summary of the entire album, just in case any amount of interest is there. It's just under 3 minutes long, so a pretty reasonable amount of time to cast an opinion.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
16.09.2019 - 03:05
nikarg
Old Nick
Written by RaduP on 15.09.2019 at 23:22

Thanks, I won't listen to it now

I streamed it a couple of days ago. Didn't make it to the end.
Loading...
16.09.2019 - 03:20
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by nikarg on 16.09.2019 at 03:05
I streamed it a couple of days ago. Didn't make it to the end.

The worst part is actually the end. I saw a 7 minute track and thought damn, they must have poured a bunch of new ideas into this one monumental progressive song deviating from their style completely, venturing into previously uncharted territory to challenge the likes of Tool or Opeth in terms of progressive songwriting. But no. It was about 3.5 minutes of slam death metal, 3.5 minutes of silence, and then a randomly sampled blurb from Aqua Teen Hunger Force.

----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
16.09.2019 - 21:49
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Troy Killjoy on 16.09.2019 at 03:20

The worst part is actually the end. I saw a 7 minute track and thought damn, they must have poured a bunch of new ideas into this one monumental progressive song deviating from their style completely, venturing into previously uncharted territory to challenge the likes of Tool or Opeth in terms of progressive songwriting. But no. It was about 3.5 minutes of slam death metal, 3.5 minutes of silence, and then a randomly sampled blurb from Aqua Teen Hunger Force.

Wtf I'm actually really curious to listen now for the Aqua Teen sample
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
16.09.2019 - 23:02
Coconut Racecar
I didn't like it and I was greatly disappointed. Given I'm no where near picky when it comes to slam, and death metal in general, I'd say this album was a pretty big let down. Wouldn't rate it higher than 5 but, I don't like to give albums negative ratings unless I REALLY don't like it.
Loading...
17.09.2019 - 00:40
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Coconut Racecar on 16.09.2019 at 23:02
I didn't like it and I was greatly disappointed. Given I'm no where near picky when it comes to slam, and death metal in general, I'd say this album was a pretty big let down. Wouldn't rate it higher than 5 but, I don't like to give albums negative ratings unless I REALLY don't like it.

That's fair, I could see it being a letdown especially to people waiting for Ingesting Putridity 2.0 and it's far from a masterpiece in the genre but I wasn't turned off or offended by it in terms of how bad it was. I've definitely listened to some 4 and 5 type of albums in this genre though so I can understand how someone would feel that way about this album.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
17.09.2019 - 00:43
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Apothecary on 16.09.2019 at 21:49
Wtf I'm actually really curious to listen now for the Aqua Teen sample

It's not integrated into the music at all and doesn't seem particularly relevant either. Plus it's at the very end in the final 30 seconds after 3 minutes of silence. I wouldn't suggest listening to the full album just for that but you do you lol
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
17.09.2019 - 05:24
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.09.2019 at 00:43

It's not integrated into the music at all and doesn't seem particularly relevant either. Plus it's at the very end in the final 30 seconds after 3 minutes of silence. I wouldn't suggest listening to the full album just for that but you do you lol

I listened to just that track in full actually and had quite a good laugh. It's just such a random arrangement having the slam death at the beginning, some weird ambient noises, about 2 minutes of total silence, and then that Aqua Teen sample at the very end.

Might be something I come back to now and then for a good chuckle, so thanks for that.
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
17.09.2019 - 07:36
Coconut Racecar
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.09.2019 at 00:40

Written by Coconut Racecar on 16.09.2019 at 23:02
I didn't like it and I was greatly disappointed. Given I'm no where near picky when it comes to slam, and death metal in general, I'd say this album was a pretty big let down. Wouldn't rate it higher than 5 but, I don't like to give albums negative ratings unless I REALLY don't like it.

That's fair, I could see it being a letdown especially to people waiting for Ingesting Putridity 2.0 and it's far from a masterpiece in the genre but I wasn't turned off or offended by it in terms of how bad it was. I've definitely listened to some 4 and 5 type of albums in this genre though so I can understand how someone would feel that way about this album.


Oh, I did not mean to insult your review so I hope you don't feel that way. Just stating that I very much disliked the album.

My favorite genre is generally a low skill and not well liked one. I therefore assume my taste in music is objectively bad so, it doesn't surprise me that you've given it a better rating than I would have. I'd just like to see some "better" ( more original or more exciting ) slam and brutal bands getting attention on Metal Storm since they're mostly neglected. Was hoping I'd see a review on Devourment's or Organectomy's most recent albums for example.
Loading...
17.09.2019 - 18:46
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Coconut Racecar on 17.09.2019 at 07:36

Oh, I did not mean to insult your review so I hope you don't feel that way. Just stating that I very much disliked the album.

My favorite genre is generally a low skill and not well liked one. I therefore assume my taste in music is objectively bad so, it doesn't surprise me that you've given it a better rating than I would have. I'd just like to see some "better" ( more original or more exciting ) slam and brutal bands getting attention on Metal Storm since they're mostly neglected. Was hoping I'd see a review on Devourment's or Organectomy's most recent albums for example.

No insult taken, I was only responding with my opinion like you. Sometimes that rating in the top right takes its own mini-review in the comments to explain or justify. A 7 may be a tad higher coming from me since I'm refreshed after taking a hiatus from metal for a few years, whereas maybe it would get a 6 if I had been listening to dozens of similar sounding albums, or maybe it would stand up to them.

As for suggestions, I can add Organectomy to the list for me to review. You wouldn't like my review of Devourment, however. That's an album I would give a 5 for sure.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...

Hits total: 901 | This month: 125