Profetus - The Sadness Of Time Passing review



Reviewer:
8.5

16 users:
7.88
Band: Profetus
Album: The Sadness Of Time Passing
Release date: October 2019


01. The Sadness Of Time Passing
02. Nostalgia
03. Momentary Burial
04. Northern Crown
05. Tiarnia


If you can't run, you walk. And if you can't walk, you crawl.

Funeral doom titans Profetus have returned in grand fashion with their first release in five years. A quick summary of what needs to be said is simple: We are not worthy. The sheer emotional weight of this release deserves any and all praise levied upon it. Accordingly, there will be imagery and storytelling used to describe the process of what it's like to absorb such an immense offering.

With its monolithic tidal waves of uncomfortably drawn out crushing guitar riffs crashing repeatedly against the mountain of your innermost thoughts, this snail-paced work of extremity aims to corrode your most stolid defenses in its hour-long excursion through glacial landscapes and barren wastelands. The bombastic bass drums and splashing cymbals carry on endlessly through the bone-chilling breeze, ensuring everything in their domain is completely swathed in an inescapable sense of isolation. You're going to give in eventually, and The Sadness Of Time Passing is an abundantly patient and thorough device with which to dismantle whatever notions you have of feeling safe and secure, stripping you entirely of your will to fight back. After all, resistance is futile.

Where Profetus walk, death follows -- accompanied by a foreboding haunted church-esque organ that pierces into your skin and seeps into your veins, slowly spreading its frigid conscience through your bloodstream. This procession of suffering is painstakingly prolonged with an ever-present miserable precision: exact in its delivery, timeless in its performance. At no point is there even a hint of consideration for the languorous torture its subject is forced to endure, the naked body of a broken human left to struggle for breath in a cold, shallow pit, with the setting sun in the distance closing out any hope of surviving the night. The battle is over. All that remains is to give in and pray for salvation.

Standing over your frozen corpse, a small group of robed onlookers examine the carefully preserved remains. One steps forward and simultaneously removes the hood of its cloak, revealing a similarly discolored face. Opening its mouth, wretching, it bellows with the depths of a power granted by thousands of undead souls, growling and roaring like a mythical beast trying to break free its enslaved master from the chains of sorrow and regret with which have been spellcast to bind it for eternity. As the wraith-like projection of your consciousness is sucked from its former vessel and swirls into the chasm-like mouth of the monster, the ethereal chants of its master -- a fallen angel graced with divine beauty -- lures you in with her soothing, warming, disarming voice. The Sadness Of Time Passing has claimed yet another victim. Profetus only continue to grow stronger.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


 



Written on 29.10.2019 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.


Comments

Comments: 29   Visited by: 150 users
29.10.2019 - 11:14
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Def some of the best funeral doom this year
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 20:41
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
The funeral doom bands with Matti Mäkelä in them have always been some of the best the style has to offer, so this is definitely going on my "Must Listen To" list
----
Life was a commercial for itself, endlessly replayed.
Nothing changed, it just spread out farther and farther in the form of neon ooze.
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 20:57
Bad English
Masterchief
If you crawl, you toll a funeral bells
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 22:37
Kuroboshi
Best album title ever.
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 23:46
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Kuroboshi on 29.10.2019 at 22:37

Best album title ever.

And a great reflection of the music therein. One of the more apt titles out there for sure.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 23:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Apothecary on 29.10.2019 at 20:41

The funeral doom bands with Matti Mäkelä in them have always been some of the best the style has to offer, so this is definitely going on my "Must Listen To" list

Hard to tell if his genius extends beyond funeral doom or if it's confined to it, but his ability to literally drop masterpiece-level albums so casually is incredibly impressive. You'll for sure like this if you've enjoyed previous Profetus albums.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 23:50
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by RaduP on 29.10.2019 at 11:14

Def some of the best funeral doom this year

I haven't been able to explore much at this point but can't imagine anything else topping this.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
29.10.2019 - 23:59
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.10.2019 at 23:50

I haven't been able to explore much at this point but can't imagine anything else topping this.

Ataraxie and Quercus were great, but this tops both
----
Take off those stupid glasses and kiss me
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 01:22
BitterCOld
waltrsobchakheit
Love the album and review.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 04:03
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by BitterCOld on 30.10.2019 at 01:22

Love the album and review.

Thank you my friend. Was a little worried the more poetic, less prose approach wouldn't land well but the album speaks for itself anyway. Figured going on a doom-inspired vision quest wouldn't detract too much from a more factual review.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 04:05
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by RaduP on 29.10.2019 at 23:59

Ataraxie and Quercus were great, but this tops both

I need to re-listen to Ataraxie as I was left unmoved at first and still need to check out Quercus, which is an unfamiliar name for me.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 10:10
nikarg
Old Nick
Love the album and the review, too. Great stuff, Troy.

As Radu said, Ataraxie and Quercus are pretty good, even though I expected something better from Quercus after the amazing Heart With Bread. As far as extreme doom goes, my favourite ones this year are the releases by Eremit and Red Moon Architect. Profetus is up there, too.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 11:20
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Great review!

How do you compare this band to Ophis?
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 12:41
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.10.2019 at 23:50

Written by Apothecary on 29.10.2019 at 20:41

The funeral doom bands with Matti Mäkelä in them have always been some of the best the style has to offer, so this is definitely going on my "Must Listen To" list

Hard to tell if his genius extends beyond funeral doom or if it's confined to it, but his ability to literally drop masterpiece-level albums so casually is incredibly impressive. You'll for sure like this if you've enjoyed previous Profetus albums.


Profetus music and lyrics are primarily, if not solely, written by Anssi. The entire concept around Profetus on album and live is his brainchild. Matti joined the band after ...To Open The Passages In Dusk.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
30.10.2019 - 12:43
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 11:20

How do you compare this band to Ophis?


Can't compare the two at all. Ophis is 100% doom death and Profetus is 100% funeral. Ophis has bass guitar in it, Profetus doesn't/ Profetus employs keyboards to create organlike sounds, well, Ophis, doesn't have keyboards.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
30.10.2019 - 12:44
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.10.2019 at 23:50


Hard to tell if his genius extends beyond funeral doom or if it's confined to it...


I am guessing you're not familiar with his death metal band Corpsessed?
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
30.10.2019 - 12:47
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.10.2019 at 12:43

Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 11:20

How do you compare this band to Ophis?


Can't compare the two at all. Ophis is 100% doom death and Profetus is 100% funeral. Ophis has bass guitar in it, Profetus doesn't/ Profetus employs keyboards to create organlike sounds, well, Ophis, doesn't have keyboards.

Alright so completely different style. And so I stick to Ophis.
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 13:32
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 12:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.10.2019 at 12:43

Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 11:20

How do you compare this band to Ophis?


Can't compare the two at all. Ophis is 100% doom death and Profetus is 100% funeral. Ophis has bass guitar in it, Profetus doesn't/ Profetus employs keyboards to create organlike sounds, well, Ophis, doesn't have keyboards.

Alright so completely different style. And so I stick to Ophis.

Or you can try it anyways since there is no comparison to be had... So why prefering one over the other ?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 16:08
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.10.2019 at 12:41

Profetus music and lyrics are primarily, if not solely, written by Anssi. The entire concept around Profetus on album and live is his brainchild. Matti joined the band after ...To Open The Passages In Dusk.

You learn something new every day. I'll keep in mind to give that credit where it's due going forward.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 16:10
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 30.10.2019 at 12:44

I am guessing you're not familiar with his death metal band Corpsessed?

The name rings a bell from years ago but I can't recall whether it was something I enjoyed or not. Will have to investigate that again at some point.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 16:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 12:47

Alright so completely different style. And so I stick to Ophis.

As others pointed out, the two aren't much alike at all aside from their root doom genre, but Profetus is a worthwhile band to explore even if they don't sound like one specific band you're into.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 16:33
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by nikarg on 30.10.2019 at 10:10

Love the album and the review, too. Great stuff, Troy.

As Radu said, Ataraxie and Quercus are pretty good, even though I expected something better from Quercus after the amazing Heart With Bread. As far as extreme doom goes, my favourite ones this year are the releases by Eremit and Red Moon Architect. Profetus is up there, too.

Thank you my friend.

As for all these extreme doom suggestions in this thread...
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 17:35
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Quote:
Quote:

Or you can try it anyways since there is no comparison to be had... So why prefering one over the other ?


I only innocently meant that I like slow death doom style. :/
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 17:37
Angel N.
Evil Butterfly
Written by Troy Killjoy on 30.10.2019 at 16:14

Written by Angel N. on 30.10.2019 at 12:47

Alright so completely different style. And so I stick to Ophis.

As others pointed out, the two aren't much alike at all aside from their root doom genre, but Profetus is a worthwhile band to explore even if they don't sound like one specific band you're into.

Yeah sure . I just like Ophis a lot and I wanted to see if Profetus has anything similar to the music that I like...
----
The Fangirl.
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 19:20
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
The architecture of this review will hyperloop to your imagery scenes. So thereby, you should avoid reading such kind of reviews in office.
----
Loading...
30.10.2019 - 23:57
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 30.10.2019 at 19:20

The architecture of this review will hyperloop to your imagery scenes. So thereby, you should avoid reading such kind of reviews in office.

Not sure if compliment or
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
31.10.2019 - 00:22
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Glad to see you reviewing again (I'll have to read through the rest of your 2019 reviews). Gotta agree that this album is great, and possibly the best Profetus has been
----


get that bag
Loading...
31.10.2019 - 04:13
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Alex F on 31.10.2019 at 00:22

Glad to see you reviewing again (I'll have to read through the rest of your 2019 reviews). Gotta agree that this album is great, and possibly the best Profetus has been

It's been a minute but happy to be back in the thick of things, especially when it means being graced with the likes of a new Profetus album to digest. This is my personal favorite of theirs so far but they've all been A-level releases so you really can't go wrong.
----
I have no memory of this place.
Loading...
11.11.2019 - 01:58
MnetalEclipse
Account deleted
This album is by far their best work. their older albums were chores to sit through even by funeral doom standards. The other bands the members are in are much better particularly tyranny
Loading...

Hits total: 1706 | This month: 740