Kvelertak - Splid review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.2

82 users:
7.62
Band: Kvelertak
Album: Splid
Release date: February 2020


01. Rogaland
02. Crack Of Doom [feat. Troy Sanders]
03. Necrosoft
04. Discord
05. Bråtebrann
06. Uglas Hegemoni
07. Fanden Ta Dette Hull!
08. Tevling
09. Stevnemøte Med Satan
10. Delirium Tremens
11. Ved Bredden Av Nihil


Looks like black 'n roll is back on the menu, boys!

You remember Kvelertak, don'tcha? The blackened hardcore band from Norway? When I say "blackened hardcore," of course, I'm not referring to a filthy, grime soaked sound akin to bands like Celeste or Hexis. No, with Kvelertak things were always of a much brighter, melodic, and almost uplifting nature, a habit of theirs that more or less continues with 2020's Splid. Here they've undergone a notable lineup change with the coming of new vocalist Ivar Nikolaisen, who brings a noticeably wider range to the picture with a pleasantly diverse use of yells and more melodic cleans.

So what's new this time around with Splid? Well, perhaps I missed something with Kvelertak's previous material, but I can't ever remember the band sounding this fucking groovy. Indeed, with Splid things are a lot more riff heavy and catchy than usual, even displaying possible influences from stoner and sludge at points, and it somehow feels as though Kvelertak are having a lot more fun playing their music this time around. Tracks such as "Crack Of Doom" or "Faden Ta Dette Hull!" are absolute bangers, and can easily start to get stuck in one's head after a few plays. Additionally the production sounds a lot cleaner than usual on Splid. I specifically remember Kvelertak's past two albums sounding quite treble-heavy and abrasive, but here that approach has definitely been toned down in favor of a much more leveled, crisper sound that is overall a lot more pleasing to the ears.

While I will admit I haven't yet listened to all of their albums, Splid is quite likely my favorite Kvelertak up to this point, and it's a pretty big improvement over both Nattesferd and Meir. It's much bouncier and memorable than earlier Kvelertak material, and new Nikolaisen is proving to be a much better frontman for the band than the guy he replaced. Not that their past efforts were particularly lacking in energy, but Splid really feels as though it's injected Kvelertak with a new momentum, momentum that they'll hopefully keep riding into their future releases. If this is a sign of where the band is going from here, I am most definitely onboard.

Like fun, energetic, upbeat shit? Hop to it then!


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


 



Written on 13.03.2020 by Comforting the disturbed and disturbing the comfortable since 2013.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 136 users
13.03.2020 - 22:51
ickoriss
Good review. I agree that Ivar seems to be a more fun and diverse vocalist, but I'll always love that raw ferocity that Erlend brought to the table. I think 'Meir' will always be my favorite by the band, since it had just dropped when I discovered the band, but I think this is a close second. I think Kurt Ballou on production again gave the band it's lacking component that it was missing on the previous album. Overall, great disc and I'm glad to see the band back in top form.
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 22:53
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
I mean, seriously, how often is a "black metal" album actually fun?
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 22:53
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by ickoriss on 13.03.2020 at 22:51

I think Kurt Ballou on production again gave the band it's lacking component that it was missing on the previous album.

I wasn't aware that Ballou was involved here, but that makes a lot of sense as to why the sound is so nice. He has the magic touch for sure
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 22:54
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by RaduP on 13.03.2020 at 22:53

I mean, seriously, how often is a "black metal" album actually fun?

Melechesh?
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 22:59
RaduP
CertifiedHipster
Written by Apothecary on 13.03.2020 at 22:54

Written by RaduP on 13.03.2020 at 22:53

I mean, seriously, how often is a "black metal" album actually fun?

Melechesh?

Fun isn't precisely the first thing I think of when I think of Melechesh, but it is the first thing I think of when I think of Kvelertak.
----
- I've dreamt of that for years.
- Dying?
- Running.




2020 goodies
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 23:02
nikarg
Mod
You need to listen to the self-titled debut (from the review, I deduce you haven't yet). It's the grooviest and most fun thing they've done. This one is definitely better than the previous two (especially Nattesferd was boring as fuck) but it is not as good as Kvelertak.
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 23:25
ickoriss
Written by RaduP on 13.03.2020 at 22:53

I mean, seriously, how often is a "black metal" album actually fun?

Some of Zeal & Ardor's tracks are a lot of fun to me. They aren't a straight-up black metal band by any means, but it's definitely a big part of their sound.
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 23:27
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
So... You guys forgot to add the other band on this Split album
----
2016 - 2017
2018 - 2019
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 23:43
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by Karlabos on 13.03.2020 at 23:27

So... You guys forgot to add the other band on this Split album

Huh?
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
13.03.2020 - 23:44
Apothecary
PsyCHEdelic
Written by nikarg on 13.03.2020 at 23:02

You need to listen to the self-titled debut (from the review, I deduce you haven't yet). It's the grooviest and most fun thing they've done.

Yeah I noticed a lot of people commenting on the thread for that album saying it's their best. You are correct, I haven't yet gotten to that one, but I'll make a note to give it a whirl this weekend
----
Go tell that long tongue liar
Go and tell that midnight rider
Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
You tell em that God's gonna cut em down
Loading...
15.03.2020 - 06:28
Necrodamus
Really enjoyed this one. Much better than their last album, which was boring and uninspired in my opinion. Great return to form, and it actually gives their debut a run for its money as well.
Loading...
16.03.2020 - 05:24
tintinb
Kvelertak's 1985 is my favourite metal video of all time, I will be definitely looking forward to this.
Loading...
17.03.2020 - 11:59
BloodJuNkie
Of Rivia
This band has got so much talent and energy with the old and also the new vocalist. They never fail to impress!
Loading...

Hits total: 1965 | This month: 16