Rating:
8.0
Dimmu Borgir - Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia
2001


01. Fear And Wonder
02. Blessings Upon The Throne Of Tyranny
03. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
04. Hybrid Stigmata-The Apostasy
05. Architecture Of A Genocidal Nature
06. Puritania
07. IndoctriNation
08. The Maelstrom Mephisto
09. Absolute Sole Right
10. Sympozium
11. Perfection Or Vanity
12. Devil's Path [re-recorded version] [bonus]
13. Burn In Hell [Twisted Sister cover] [bonus]


The first time I listened to this album I was a little shocked - the sound has changed in many ways compared to the Spiritual Black Dimensions album. It's not necessarily a bad thing, but compaired to the other albums this one is just not as strong... This time more symphonic elements added, which made the album more melodic [obviously!] and less 'black'. For all the true black metal fans out there this album would probably find it quite disappointing. That's the same thing that happened after Cradle of Filth's "Midian".

The intro, Fear And Wonder, is a good song, thanks to Mustis - he is one of the best keyboard players out there. Blessings Upon The Throne of Tyranny follows, a great fast song, with some awesome drumming by Nick Barker. King Of The Carnival Creation is the first song where you can hear the clean vocals of ICS Vortex. I must say his clean vocals are totally amazing, some of the best I've ever heard. Another song that features clean vocals is Hybrid Stigmata - The Apostacy, my personal favourite. The biggest surprise on this album was the song Puritania - totally different, with some almost industrial elements, definitely not what I expected to hear from Dimmu Borgir, but the result is not that bad. The outro of the album is an instrumental track, Perfection of Vanity. The CD also features a bonus track, a cover of Twisted Sisters - it sounds good, but they didn't really changed much of the original.

Some people say Dimmu Borgir have sold out with this album, because it's more accessible and made some good numbers in sales. I don't think so - what really matters is that it's still a good album, it's only natural that the band evolves and changes its sound. It's also a perfect introduction into black metal - after that you can go digging deeper underground if you want. However, if you are not new to black metal, you better go find Dimmu Borgir's older albums.


Band profile: Dimmu Borgir
Album: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia


 


written by AntaeusM | 16.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 184  
Search this topic:  


Rider Of Theli - 15.07.2006 at 02:16  
I Love This Cd and Cant Wait to Get My Hands On There Older Stuff...DIMMU BORGIR:banger:
Dangerboner - 16.07.2006 at 03:51  
This is by far my favorite Dimmu Borgir cd. It's easily they're most aggressive release. I really like the symphonic elements added to it too.
Megadeth88 - 28.07.2006 at 10:39  
This was my favorite Dimmu Borgir album. But after a while this album got boring and I realized that their new stuff just isn't as good as their old stuff. I'm glad they evolved into something good, I'm just sad that it's not as good as the old Dimmu Borgir.
Dark Snake - 18.08.2006 at 03:35  
This is the best Dimmu Borgir album

Though it's next to Stormblåst (Re-recorded).

I like this Dimmu album 'cause of the symphonic that is added in most of the songs =) My favorite is Puritania and Architecture Of A Genocidal Nature
Black Serpent - 19.02.2007 at 17:45  
This I think is the 3rd best album Dimmu Borgir have ever made. (1st is Stormblåst and 2nd is Death Cult Armageddon) The instrumentals is great, and the change of "music-style" was also a good idea. They have come up with new and original (wich in some cases many think is sad or disappointing, but I think it's a good twist for Dimmu Borgir. Let's hope they stay like this and combining their old work.

Hail, Dimmu Borgri!
Paganblood - 10.03.2007 at 05:43  
yea, I like older Dimmu Borgir albums, but I think I should listen to this one as well.
Doc Godin - 29.04.2007 at 22:47  
The first Dimmu album I ever bought, and I quite like it, at some points I find it boring but overall its no a bad purchase. Appropriate rating I guess.
Goat-Christ - 30.04.2007 at 10:45  
First Dimmu Borgir album I heard. Love it.
shadow616 - 03.06.2007 at 12:25  
the best album of all theirs discography!
AnGina-- - 03.06.2007 at 19:31  
One of actually bought albums I own Nah, I like it, 8 is a fair and square rating. I love both the old and new dimmu. I guess i'd put PEM on a 4th place (1st EDT, 2nd Stormblast, 3rd SBD).
Leper Messiah - 01.07.2007 at 02:42  
This is a GREAT album. I'm not really into their old ''raw'' Black metal stuff. I preffer Dimmu Borgir far better with the symphonic elements.
Uirapuru - 30.03.2008 at 10:42  
amazing album.. it has everything a dimmu album deservesm, its black, fast and symphonic xD... fine by me. 8/10.
W-Lash - 30.03.2008 at 18:38  
Not bad but not as great as previous albums. It's a bit boring except "King Of The Carnival Creation" - probably the greatest Dimmu Borgir song.
Mr. Doctor - 24.04.2008 at 22:18  
it's better than "Spiritual Black Dimensions"...I found that the previous one was boring as fuck and it has to many average songs... but this one has an ok sound and all the songs are good in a way.

Maybe I will buy it...

Written by Dangerboner on 16.07.2006 at 03:51

I really like the symphonic elements added to it too.


I agree on that... Maybe that's why I think that this album kick the shit out of SBD [I don't like that album that much cause I see it's like a cd without strengh]

The symphonic intros of "Hybrid Stigmata-The Apostasy" and "Sympozium" are just brilliant...
Ellrohir - 01.05.2008 at 14:14  
Perfection Or Vanity is great song, but the rest was nothing special for me
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 16:13  
To me that album was great. I like more that style than the old Dimmu Borgir! Symposium is great!
Passenger - 30.12.2008 at 13:47  
Perfect balance between everything Dimmu Borgir has been and is now. Their best album by far.
Abattoir - 02.01.2009 at 20:06  
A very good album with lots of nice sounding songs. Especially Kings Of The Karnival Creation and Sympozium are the finest for me out of this album.
Lucifer123 - 27.03.2009 at 21:22  
It's them best album:wall:
Deadmeat - 28.03.2009 at 01:06  
After reading again that review i disagre with to things:
1. the rating should be higher.
2. is this a good introduction to black metal??? no. it is a great symphonic BM album but with so many blastbeats and symphonic moments IMO it is not what a "new guy" on BM should hear. some melodic BM should be better.
Lucifer123 - 31.03.2009 at 23:32  
Yes, it's really them best album!:banger:
SatyriconChick - 16.12.2009 at 03:34  
I've been listening to this album a lot lately. I'm beginning to think of it as my favorite DB album at this point.
I_Die_Often - 15.05.2010 at 00:43  
This is my favorite Dimmu release.
Absolute Sole Right is awesome, as is every other song here.
Really like the into on this disc, a fine start to the bombardment that lay ahead!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Dimmu Borgir - Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia 9 14.05.2010 by Astorethein
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - In Sorte Diaboli 5.5 11.07.2012 by Kamil
News Dimmu Borgir - German Release Parties & Signing Session 4.5 09.03.2007 by
Articles Dimmu Borgir, Amon Amarth - Nottingham, England, 29th September 2007 4.5 01.10.2007 by LeChron James
News Dimmu Borgir - Issue Statement Regarding Ex Members 4.5 03.09.2009 by Jiri



Hits total: 6329 | This month: 73