Rating:
3.0
Chuck Schuldiner - Zero Tolerance II


Demo 'Death By Metal' 1985
01. Legion Of Doom
02. Evil Dead
03. Beyond The Unholy Grave
04. Power Of Darkness
05. Death By Metal

Demo 'Reign Of Terror' 1985
06. Corpse Grinder
07. Summon To Die
08. Zombie
09. Witch Of Hell
10. Reign Of Terror
11. Slaughterhouse

Bonus Live-songs "After Dark Club" - Texas 1990
12. Living Monstrosity
13. Pull The Plug
14. Zombie Ritual
15. Altering The Future
16. Left To Die
17. Spiritual Healing
18. Defensive Personalities
19. Mutilation


Why do I have to review this? First I find the Karmageddon's intentions to release this Zero Tolerance II (after the first crappy Zero Tolerance a few months ago) extremely dodgy. As most know, there's a disagreement between Chuck Schuldiner's family and Hammerheart Records (now Karmageddon Media) over the release of Chuck's album with Control Denied. So, as they don't have any album to release, they gave us first Zero Tolerance, with bad demos of Control Denied, and now Zero Tolerance II, with bad demos of Death. If that's not just to capitalize on the love of Chuck's fans, then tell me what is it?

We have the Death By Metal demo from 1984. That sounds like an old tape the label tried to remaster but obviously they failed. Can you hear the vocals, the drums, the bass? No? Me neither. I only hear what could have been good riffs had they only been properly recorded. Other than that it's just noise. The next five songs are from the Reign Of Terror demo from 1985. You want to know what it's like? Read the above. It's exactly the same, if not even worse. I could have recorded something like that in my toilets for all it's worth. I won't say more about these demos because it makes me sick.

The last seven tracks were recorded live in 1990. Again, this is not a proper recording. It sounds like a bad bootleg. So yeah, there are good tracks here, 'Living Monstrosity', 'Zombie Ritual', 'Spiritual Healing' and stuff, but it's just so badly recorded that it tears my eardrums. No interest.

I'll keep it short: even if you are a die-hard Death fan, you don't need this. You should avoid this Zero Tolerance II like the plague, and just remember Chuck's legacy.


Website: http://www.emptywords.org


 


written by Collin | 26.08.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 48  
Search this topic:  


BreadGod - 31.12.2008 at 00:03  
I definitely agree with the fact that it was unethical and downright despicable to capitalize on the death of Chuck. I'd rather download the Death demos than to support these Karmageddon assholes.
LeChron James - 31.12.2008 at 01:27  
This sounds absolutely awful. post mortem compilations are never a good idea. capitalist bastards.
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.12.2008 at 15:14  
Written by BreadGod on 31.12.2008 at 00:03

I definitely agree with the fact that it was unethical and downright despicable to capitalize on the death of Chuck. I'd rather download the Death demos than to support these Karmageddon assholes.


Actually Chuck's mum tried to capitlize on his death by not allowing the release of the Control Denied album cause she wanted it to be released by a big label, although the recordings belonged to Karmageddon.

I always find it funny how peoplethink they know how it is just by not listening to the facts of the matter.
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.12.2008 at 15:17  
Written by LeChron James on 31.12.2008 at 01:27

capitalist bastards.


Calling Karmageddon capitalist bastards is the funniest thing I have read in a long while. This just shows you don't know the label and the people behind it. Hell, Karmageddon and it's owner (of course ex-owner since Plastic Head now releases the Karmageddon/Hammerheart back catalogue) are immensely PRO downloading. You really think that stuff such as this sells a lot? You'd be lucky to sell 2,000 copies at most of these sorts of compilations.
K†ulu - 31.12.2008 at 15:22  
I think since there is a separate Chuck Schuldiner profile, "Zero Tolerance" and "Zero Tolerance II" should be deleted from Death discography, or vice versa, Chuck Schuldiner profile should be deleted, and this review can moved to Death discography, which I actually think is more reasonable.
LeChron James - 01.01.2009 at 04:50  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.12.2008 at 15:17

Written by LeChron James on 31.12.2008 at 01:27

capitalist bastards.


Calling Karmageddon capitalist bastards is the funniest thing I have read in a long while. This just shows you don't know the label and the people behind it. Hell, Karmageddon and it's owner (of course ex-owner since Plastic Head now releases the Karmageddon/Hammerheart back catalogue) are immensely PRO downloading. You really think that stuff such as this sells a lot? You'd be lucky to sell 2,000 copies at most of these sorts of compilations.

theres a difference in being pro downloading and trying to sell something at the expense of a deceased individual. the reason only 2,000 of these things sell is because on top of being a compilation album, its a BAD gimmick to try and persuade hardcore death fans to invest in KVLT merchandise. and if they really are pro-downloading, they'd give this away for free, which is the only price most people would be willing to pay for it.
Galar - 06.01.2010 at 09:00  
The bottom line is that this is a proper rating for the compilation, and just wait till the new control denied comes out

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Catamenia - Halls Of Frozen North 4 16.04.2007 by Sunioj
Metal arena Chuck Schuldiner VS Dave Mustaine 3 15.10.2007 by Lord TJ
Events LTU, Vilnius - Chuck Schuldiner Tribute Show 3 07.12.2006 by
News Evile - Guitarist Pays Tribute To Chuck Schuldiner 3 09.12.2008 by Marfere
Events AUS, Sydney - Chuck Schuldiner Tribute Gig 3 07.12.2007 by BurbotsRevenge



Hits total: 3710 | This month: 30