Rating:
10
Emperor - IX Equilibrium
23 November 1999


01. Curse You All Men!
02. Decrystallizing Reason
03. An Elegy Of Icaros
04. The Source Of Icon E
05. Sworn
06. Nonus Aequilibrium
07. The Warriors Of Modern Death
08. Of Blindness & Subsequent Seers
09. Outro


After the 1997's metal monster "Anthems to the Welkin at dusk", the norwegian bloodhounds Emperor recorded what i call, the perfect follow up. Although "Anthems..." is a practically impossible album to be equaled, "IX Equilibrium" transforms the ideas of the last work in an excellent way, and takes them to a different level; The structure is quite more technical, and more brutal, but the intensity remains. The band's natural virtuosity acts by itself, and here we confirmate the thing that makes Emperor the best: Unity.

Emperor was able to articulate the thematics of the album uniformly, and gave the term "Concept album" a different view. The theatricality of Emperor is better reflected in the emotions of the album. Here it gives us a landscape of human nature, that, from everyone's view is quite exagerated, but from Emperor's view is essential.

Emperor is the only band that has suffered these kinds of changes over the years, and the only band that has accepted them, and made beautiful music with them. What else can i say? it's just Perfect.


Band profile: Emperor
Album: IX Equilibrium


 


written by Operalia | 21.11.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 139  
Search this topic:  


Warman - 17.06.2007 at 14:02  
One of my favourite albums, their second best after Anthems to the Welkin at Dusk. Very nice Symphonic stuff...
Baz Anderson - 17.06.2007 at 16:46  
probably my second favourite also..
I have it on right now.. hahaha - it is an utterly fantastic album
people who only like badly produced black metal and all that lot probably wont appriciate it - but people who do appreciate a wider range of music quite rightly love this album
BlueMobius - 04.08.2007 at 08:08  
I think this album is underated by a lot of Emperor fans. I agree with your review. I think this album is a great progression from Anthems.
erctus-seth - 23.02.2008 at 00:47  
good work... it deserves 9... "curse you all men!" and "sworn" ... Oh i hate them so much! (so lovely)
Uirapuru - 15.05.2009 at 11:16  
Althou I almost completly disagree with some points in the review, I don't think this is a bad album. Definetly the worst of all their releases, but still good in general view.
All in all, another decent emperial album.
Smurfophagist - 15.05.2009 at 12:27  
Way overrated IMO.
If any of their albums deserve a rating this high than it would be 'In The Nightside Eclipse'.
LeChron James - 20.07.2009 at 06:11  
Another crazy emperor album. goddamn
Reaper02 - 20.10.2009 at 21:57  
Full metal intensity from start to finish,blasted my speakers lol, record is made to quake the earth.

Long live the Emperor !!!!
Luneth - 13.02.2011 at 10:54  
Anthems is superior in my opinion, more symphonic and less intense. In some ways I don't like their 'brutal' side. 10 is far too high a score...more like 8-8.5

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Emperor - IX Equilibrium 4.5 02.01.2010 by Metallife
Reviews Emperor - Prometheus: The Discipline Of Fire And Demise 4 16.12.2006 by
Albums Emperor - Wrath Of The Tyrant 3 11.07.2010 by vezzy
Extreme metal forum Emperor 3 06.08.2006 by
News Equilibrium - Album Tracklist Revealed 1.5 28.04.2008 by Baz Anderson



Hits total: 4645 | This month: 55