Rating:
5.0
As I Lay Dying - Frail Words Collapse
2003


01. 94 Hours
02. Falling Upon Deaf Ears
03. Forever
04. Collision
05. Distance Is Darkness
06. Behind Me Lies Another Fallen Soldier
07. Undefined
08. A Thousand Steps
09. The Beginning
10. Song 10
11. The Pain Of Separation
12. Elegy


When a friend recommended this band told me "man you have to listen As I Lay Dying, it sounds like ZAO and stuff" I thought; well ZAO is pure crap but man they are not in Metal Blade Records like As I Lay Dying so let's give this guys a chance.

So this is a Warning do not go and buy albums just because a friend told you the band was great, As I Lay Dying is a weird combo of a lot of genres, Emo, Alternative, Hardcore, Metalcore, Industrial, Pop, and some other genres I don't know; but that's not the entire point, the band is mediocre as a raw sunny side up breakfast, The guitars are monotonous, The vocals Oh My God the vocals are incredibly lame, the bass is so low-tuned that reminds me of Korn, the drumming is actually not as bad as the other instruments but well I feel Jordan Mancino can do better than that, and the lyrics are childish "how can I bear this any longer…I'm dying inside, emptied before you take me into your arms…" I mean what are we like 10?.It just takes one hear to tracks like "Song 10" or "Undefined" to feel the awful performance, and dull execution.

I really do not know why Metal Blade Records signed "As I Lay Dying" why insulting bands such as "Vader", "Vomitory", "Cattle Decapitation", "Flotsam & Jetsam", "Gorerotted", "Goatwhore"? for money, publicity, what?. I don't know what pisses me more the fact that this band is bad or the fact that they are signed with Metal Blade.

Anyway not everything is bad in "Frail Words Collapse" the production is actually very good indeed, and so the cover art (the skull is really cool), the mixing and engineering of the album is incredibly clean (even those seconds of distortion and static sound clean), and I can guess why, bands like this are meant or made for guys who do not stand or do not like pure metal, so they try to sound twisted, brutal, and hard but with terrible execution and worst final product, the labels invest a lot in the production because they are aware of the band's lack of technique.

The formula applies here, do not judge an album (or a book) because of it's cover, you will be disappointed, I will rate this album with a reasonable 5 because of the great production and the ok drumming. When I hear a bad album I usually do not make a review of it, but in this case I made it because it's more a warning than a review, DON'T BUY THIS ALBUM.


Band profile: As I Lay Dying
Album: Frail Words Collapse


 


written by Herzebeth | 01.12.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 128  
Search this topic:  


muerbi - 30.09.2006 at 16:55  
buy this album
if you like metalcore (apparently herzebeth doesnt) this is the most melodic album of AILD
Dangerboner - 01.10.2006 at 03:21  
I agree with Herz. This album is not good. I was in a similar situation due to the fact that I bought it because a friend recommended it to me. Waste of $20
Sepulchral Oath - 20.10.2006 at 20:06  
Written by Dangerboner on 01.10.2006 at 03:21

I agree with Herz. This album is not good. I was in a similar situation due to the fact that I bought it because a friend recommended it to me. Waste of $20


Where did they charge you $20 for it??? I wouldnt even buy this cd for $5.
Dangerboner - 21.10.2006 at 01:19  
Some expensive store that closed. I bought it years ago and without hearing them first.
cruel pain - 07.05.2007 at 15:49  
itz not dat bad....!!!!
BlueMobius - 04.08.2007 at 21:14  
There are worse albums out there.
FOAD - 26.08.2007 at 14:18  
Written by BlueMobius on 04.08.2007 at 21:14

There are worse albums out there.


That still doesn't change the fact that this one is awful.
BlueMobius - 27.08.2007 at 17:18  
Written by Guest on 26.08.2007 at 14:18

Written by BlueMobius on 04.08.2007 at 21:14

There are worse albums out there.


That still doesn't change the fact that this one is awful.



yes, its not the best album, but they have improved since that album, imo. Their latest album, which the whole album may still be up on their myspace is pretty decent. They actually solo and put in some cool harmonies.
Guib - 06.10.2010 at 09:47  
Lol I Actually don't understand this review at all
I mean if you don't like Metalcore don't review on it

I'm what even you would call a true metal lover I enjoy alot of different metal genres and bands
from the Hair Metal era up to Technical Death Metal and I don't see how AILD is bad
Beside, you said the vocals were lame, explain that to me because Tim Lambesis does a damn great job
on the vocals and that for every single As I lay albums...

I mean you might not like the genre, but the band is great and they evolved and became even
better with each albums. You also mentioned the lack of skills and bad technique but I bet
you've never even saw an AILD show am I right ? Total lack of credibility and clearly not objective

Album Highlights: For those who appreciate the band

- 94 Hours
- Forever
- The Beggining
- Collision
- The Pain Of Separation

( and like my signature says, Diversity is the key... don't be so obtuse )
Love the music not the genre...
jin192 - 14.12.2010 at 11:06  
What a shit review, i think this is a good album
Boxcar Willy - 10.01.2012 at 05:55  
O.o

WTF.

this is a clasic metalcore record. I shall not have its name slandered.
Dogsbreakfast - 23.03.2012 at 03:55  
Hmmm... I will see these guys this year as part of Rockfest in Montebello, QC. Right now, I am not sure if I should run towards the stage or run towards the hot-dog stand.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums As I Lay Dying - Frail Words Collapse 9 17.11.2013 by qlacs
Reviews As I Lay Dying - An Ocean Between Us 5.5 26.09.2011 by Întunecatul
News Metal Storm - As I Lay Dying Contest Winners 4.5 15.10.2012 by errorcode99
News As I Lay Dying - To Enter Studio Next Month 4.5 30.09.2009 by SyBReeD
News Tim Lambesis - To Stand Trial On Charge Of Hiring Hitman 4.5 17.09.2013 by wintress



Hits total: 3617 | This month: 42