Bandcamp music player

Rating:
10
Opeth - Morningrise
24 June 1996


01. Advent
02. The Night And The Silent Water
03. Nectar
04. Black Rose Immortal
05. To Bid You Farewell
06. Eternal Soul Torture [2000 reissue bonus]


Before we get to this album, I would like to get an answer to a rather difficult question. Exactly what is Opeth's style ? The riffs are similar to progressive, but Opeth also has death vocals mixed with clean ones and acoustic guitars, plus on top of that the whole album has a dark atmosphere that surrounds the listener each time he/she listens to it. Here you will find everything, aggression and emotion, calm and anger, heaviness and mellowness, everything in one song, yet never sounding like different parts, but always in a flow.

The whole album consists of five wonderful songs and from those songs comes that unbeliavable energy that Opeth has as a progressive/death metal band. The shortest song on this brilliant album is 'Nectar' with ?only? 10:08 while 'Black Rose Immortal', which is my personal favourite song from them 'til today, lasts 20 minutes. All of these songs are perfect just the way they are.


Band profile: Opeth
Album: Morningrise


 


written by marco | 18.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Talvi

Rating:
10
Actually, many people know Opeth. It is a love it or hate it band. You can love how the music flows without following typical structures. You won't expect those heavy riffs after the relaxing acoustic break. But you can hate how each song looks like some random riffs put together. Well, this review is from one who does love, at least, this album.

Read more ››
published 22.07.2006 | Comments (27)

Guest review by
ToMegaTherion

Rating:
9.0
Many questions have been asked of the style and coherence of Opeth's music. Yet despite the debate and questioning Opeth remain one of the world's leading metal bands. The first of a long line of excellent albums by Opeth was released following their debut Orchid the year before. Morningrise is often regarded as the defining album for the band with a diverse range of sounds, often confusing in composition but nevertheless contrived expertly. It is an epic album full of epic songs, with elements of Death Metal and acoustic blues to mix things up. The album progresses and weaves through a barrage of riffs, solos and an undying unprecedented patience and passion for the music expressed by Mikael Akerfeldt.

Read more ››
published 01.10.2009 | Comments (19)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 122  
Search this topic:  


Ellrohir - 30.09.2009 at 11:00  
My most favorite album of theirs...
K†ulu - 21.12.2009 at 10:25  
I have been listening a lot to this album in the last couple of days and I found myself unable to define its genre. I don't think it is Death Metal. It has extreme vocals, but the music something else. There are certain folk moments, Dark Tranquility-like riffs, and a Black Metal feel to it. But then I wouldn't really call this Progressive either. Totally vague right now.
Mr. Doctor - 21.12.2009 at 13:26  
Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 10:25

Totally vague right now.


That's why nowdays I use two labels: Good Music and Bad Music
K†ulu - 21.12.2009 at 13:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.12.2009 at 13:26

Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 10:25

Totally vague right now.


That's why nowdays I use two labels: Good Music and Bad Music


Nonono, that's totally subjective... You can use Music-that-i-like and Music-that-i-don't-like labels.
Mr. Doctor - 21.12.2009 at 13:41  
Written by K†ulu on 21.12.2009 at 13:38

Nonono, that's too subjective... You can use Music-that-i-like and Music-that-i-don't-like labels.


Pfffff, what the F***... I decide what's good or not
Regolith - 27.09.2011 at 20:24  
Great album. Every single song is good. The recording qaulity is sub-par but, hey, it was '96. 'The Night and the Silent Water' is my personal favorite. The acoustic part is beautiful.
God Buster 鬼 - 25.02.2015 at 09:33  
Opeth's style is not consistant.
I would call
1) Morningrise, My Arms Your Hearse - Progressive Death Metal
2) Still Life, Blackwater Park - Post Death Metal
3) Damnation - Post Death Rock (correction : Post Rock)
mz - 25.02.2015 at 11:54  
Dima - 25.02.2015 at 12:09  
Zaphod - 25.02.2015 at 12:13  
Can we go back to using words?
RavenEffect - 25.02.2015 at 13:20  
Post Death Rock

God Buster 鬼 - 25.02.2015 at 19:53  
Written by RavenEffect on 25.02.2015 at 13:20

Post Death Rock



Oop ! I've realized that "Post Death Rock" was not a correct term to label it.
I would call Damnation a Post Rock album instead of a Progressive Rock album.
Ilham - 25.02.2015 at 19:59  
That's even worse. Stop trying. Game over.
God Buster 鬼 - 25.02.2015 at 20:04  
Written by Ilham on 25.02.2015 at 19:59

That's even worse.

To me it looks better !
I don't think Opeth produced any Progressive Metal album after My Arms, Your Hearse.
Zaphod - 25.02.2015 at 20:07  
Digging himself deeper and deeper.
Ilham - 25.02.2015 at 20:10  
Written by God Buster 鬼 on 25.02.2015 at 20:04

To me it looks better !

Do you even know what post-rock is? Have you even tried thinking about the absurd genres you keep inventing and wrongly attributing on this forum? Have you tried to even listen to one post-rock song?




Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.
musclassia - 25.02.2015 at 21:00  
Is there really any hope of trying to continue with someone who claims that the likes of Still Life, Blackwater Park and Ghost Reveries aren't progressive metal albums?
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2015 at 21:02  
GY!BE are fucking awesome. That is the only good thing that came out of this conversation.
God Buster 鬼 - 25.02.2015 at 21:09  
Quote:
Quote:

Do you even know what post-rock is? Have you even tried thinking about the absurd genres you keep inventing and wrongly attributing on this forum? Have you tried to even listen to one post-rock song?
Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.

No...no...no. We're off topic enough and I am not going to continue talking about this...

A musical style/ genre is a general direction and it can be presented in many ways, you can't show a single video to bring everything into conclusion.
For example, (If you would like to call Damnation a Progressive album) Genesis is a progressive band but their presentation is different from Rush, Camel or Opeth (Damnation), we name them progressive bands as the traits are are from the same root eventhough their presentations are totally different.

As for the defination of Post Rock. I don't really deny Damnation is a Progressive Rock album as there are progressive elements in there, but there are too many Post Rock elements involved, actually already overwhelming those progressive elements therefore I think Post Rock is a better label (with or without vocals is really not an important factor). There is no right or wrong but which is more appropriate in one's point of view.
Lit. - 25.02.2015 at 21:30  
>"We're off topic enough and I am not going to continue talking about this... "
>*Continues to talk about it.*

Ilham - 25.02.2015 at 21:41  
Lost cause (idiom): God Buster.
</off topic>
mz - 25.02.2015 at 22:19  
Written by Ilham on 25.02.2015 at 20:10


video

Here, take this as a lesson. Learn. You're lucky it's free. Oh wait no it isn't, it comes with a price: your credibility.


This is one of my all time favorite tracks. Thanks for bringing it up honey
deadone - 26.02.2015 at 00:01  
Clearly Opeth are Pure Unadulterated Passioncore.
RavenEffect - 26.02.2015 at 02:40  
Written by God Buster 鬼 on 25.02.2015 at 21:09

For example, (If you would like to call Damnation a Progressive album) Genesis is a progressive band but their presentation is different from Rush, Camel or Opeth (Damnation),


Lost it here. You do realise that Camel is probably Opeth's nrº1 inspiration band and the ammount of tribute they pay to them is staggering. There is TONS of Camel in Opeth's Proggier albums. Even Genesis is present in Damnation, the guitar style is very reminiscient of Steve Hackett.

Also, King Crimson doesnt have shit to do with Yes and they're both pillars in Prog Rock. What would you call them then? Flower Power Rock?

I'm begining to think you've never heard these bands in your entire life

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Opeth - Morningrise 5.5 05.08.2006 by dark awakening
Reviews Opeth - Morningrise 5.5 01.10.2009 by Introspekrieg
Albums Opeth - Morningrise 4.5 22.01.2010 by advent
Albums Opeth - The Roundhouse Tapes [DVD] 3 29.12.2010 by ramin
News Opeth - New Song Online 3 27.07.2011 by @gent_-_orange



Hits total: 4767 | This month: 27