Rating:
4.0
Trivium - Ascendancy
2005


01. The End Of Everything
02. Rain
03. Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr
04. Drowned And Torn Asunder
05. Ascendancy
06. A Gunshot To The Head Of Trepidation
07. Like Light To Flies
08. Dying In Your Arms
09. The Deceived
10. Suffocating Sight
11. Departure
12. Declaration
13. Blinding Tears Will Break The Skies [2006 reedit bonus]
14. Washing Away Me In The Tides [2006 reedit bonus]
15. Master Of Puppets [Metallica cover] [2006 reedit bonus]
16. Dying In Your Arms [video mix] [2006 reedit bonus]


The word trivium is an academic term from the middle ages used to describe the three subjects that were taught in universities at that time. It also serves as the root for the word trivial and indeed, Trivium more that lives up to its name as not only is it trivial, it is also mundane and superficial.

Trivium is yet another in the ever growing line of bands that sound like Killswitch Engage ie. - they play the commercial hybrid consisting mainly of metalcore and having some elements of thrash metal and Gothenburg melodic death metal. We all know the drill - growled/screamed verses, refrains sung in an off-key and whiny manner and an almost inhuman, sterile production which makes the whole thing seem like it was designed and not composed. Every record label these days must have one of these little bands in their arsenal and Trivium is reportedly Roadrunner's secret weapon. Well, RoadRunner must be keen to shoot blanks...

All the tracks on this album follow the exact same formula. Hear one and you've heard them all. Therefore, all you actually need to hear to know everything about Trivium is the song "Drowned And Torn Asunder". It happens to be the most impressive use of the afore-mentioned formula on this album. The other 'highlight' that you might find interesting (albeit only during your first listen as it will get old quickly) is "Dying In Your Arms" where Trivium sounds a little like Icon/Draconian Times era Paradise Lost. The album closer "Declaration" is a whopping 7 minutes long and this proves to be way too long for this sort of music as the track is a snorefest.

Bands like Trivium trivialize another thing in todays world: the musicians' abilities. The music on Ascendancy is executed with great precision and the production is so clear that it is impossible to find a single flaw in the entire album. It sounds perfect. Too perfect. The result is that the technically apt playing is simply not impressive. It makes you think - just how many takes did the band need to make the music sound like this? And how much was cleaned up in the studio? Besides, all of these bands sound almost exactly the same and there is really no telling the difference between Trivium's drummer and guitar players and those of other bands in this genre. For all I know, these could be the same people playing under different pseudonyms. Seems like there is no place for uniqueness here. Thus, any sort of technical and musical abilities that the musicians might have are completely lost in the superficiality of the whole product, which this album too obviously is.

The bottom line is that what record companies these days don't realize is that this is Rock music and its fans can feel if its honest and sincere or not. These fans will find listening to Trivium as empty and pointless an experience as it was for me. No, actually - who am I kidding? The masses will eat it up since they know no better and they have by now been totally brainwashed by the commercial media... Sad but true.


Band profile: Trivium
Album: Ascendancy


 



Written on 11.05.2005 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 68  
Users visited: 265  
Search this topic:  


TerminatorDrums - 09.08.2009 at 03:04  
This album rocks, dude, what's wrong with you?
Panterica - 11.08.2009 at 16:15  
I don't get it, why every metalcore band immediately tagged as commercial music and media controlled? This album is very good.
Lord_Regnier - 15.08.2009 at 14:34  
Written by Panterica on 11.08.2009 at 16:15

I don't get it, why every metalcore band immediately tagged as commercial music and media controlled? This album is very good.


Because it sounds so fucking gay.
+{Jonas}+ - 18.12.2009 at 03:25  
Written by Xeros612 on 28.04.2009 at 20:14

Solid album. It's metalcore, so of course I don't expect much, but Trivium is one of the few metalcore bands I can actually stand, even if Heafy has a sucky scream voice(as with most metalcore vocalists).

EDIT: Actually, after re-listening, his scream voice is actually pretty good. Very catchy.


Same here, although I agree on teh production part of the review, it's too perfect.
Umideath - 26.01.2010 at 20:14  
Master of Puppets >>>>> Exactly MetallicA m/
Sword_Chant - 31.08.2010 at 12:31  
Written by Nicko's Nose on 01.10.2008 at 01:30

Trivium could release the best metal album ever and a lot of "metalheads " would hate it simply because... Its Trivium.


Exactly what I was thinking! If this was the first metal CD someone heard without knowledge of the bands hate base, it would be seen differently.

This was the first metal album I ever bought. (no doubt I will have people saying 'poor brainwashed guy') But to all you people, since then I have discovered almost every genre of metal and alot of other incredible underground bands - because of Ascendancy. You could at least kudos that, right? But besides any of that, this album is actually pretty good. Surely it's got good about it - otherwise I would have been put off discovering many other metal music after listening to this. It was seen as the bands breakthrough album anyway. I know it's not 'the best thing in metal', far from it. But it's still technically a good album. Yeah, somewhat over inspired, but what band isn't at some part of their musical career?

I know my opinion won't change any one elses here; I guess that makes me someone of the minority that actually found something great in Ascendancy (and behind the image). On a last note, the new album Shogun has been rated 8/10 based on all votes - that's the highest i've seen on this site for anything Metalcore
Uirapuru - 12.10.2010 at 10:16  
These fucking metalcore screams are gonna kill me someday... -_-... God this sucks...
LucasCollins93 - 09.01.2011 at 22:38  
Quote:
Exactly what I was thinking! If this was the first metal CD someone heard without knowledge of the bands hate base, it would be seen differently.

This was the first metal album I ever bought. (no doubt I will have people saying 'poor brainwashed guy') But to all you people, since then I have discovered almost every genre of metal and alot of other incredible underground bands - because of Ascendancy. You could at least kudos that, right? But besides any of that, this album is actually pretty good. Surely it's got good about it - otherwise I would have been put off discovering many other metal music after listening to this. It was seen as the bands breakthrough album anyway. I know it's not 'the best thing in metal', far from it. But it's still technically a good album. Yeah, somewhat over inspired, but what band isn't at some part of their musical career?

I know my opinion won't change any one elses here; I guess that makes me someone of the minority that actually found something great in Ascendancy (and behind the image). On a last note, the new album Shogun has been rated 8/10 based on all votes - that's the highest i've seen on this site for anything Metalcore


^ My thoughts exactly.
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.01.2011 at 23:02  
Hmm, to the guy that thinks Shogun is the highest rated metalcore album on here he should probably check the SikTh, Between The Buried and Me, Protest The Hero, Cave In, Ion Dissonance, Burst etc. profiles
godisdead - 05.03.2011 at 02:55  
I think that this was a pretty good album from a pretty bad genre and I actually like the band it seems to me that everyone is hating without listening too the music. I really like their thrash influences and I think that they are doing good.
MechanisT - 16.03.2011 at 23:32  
This is one of those rare metalcore albums that I can actually say I like. Maybe I have a fondness for it since because I discovered it in my teens, when I though Cradle of Filth was the most extreme thing I've ever heard. Regardless, this a very good album.
Void Eater - 17.03.2011 at 09:07  
Unlike most people here, I can tolerate the shouts just fine; its the boy band worthy cleans that kill this album. Decent enough riffs, but those cleans... Gah, ear rape I remember back when I was first getting into metal and checking out the song "Dying in your arms", and thinking, "What the fuck, this is metal?" I do like the song rain though.
kpu27 - 27.07.2011 at 02:18  
I actually enjoyed this album very much, everytime i play it, its pretty descent , but i guess this guy has good points, nevertheless opinions are opinions
Void Eater - 31.07.2011 at 08:36  
Written by Nicko's Nose on 01.10.2008 at 01:30

The only reason why most of you hate Trivium is because they aren't tr00 metal!1!!eleven or for another reason that has nothing to do with the quality of their music.

Its incredible how fucking close minded some "metalheads" are... Trivium could release the best metal album ever and a lot of "metalheads " would hate it simply because... Its Trivium.

Boxcar Willy - 01.01.2012 at 06:42  
Written by Void Eater on 31.07.2011 at 08:36

Written by Nicko's Nose on 01.10.2008 at 01:30

The only reason why most of you hate Trivium is because they aren't tr00 metal!1!!eleven or for another reason that has nothing to do with the quality of their music.

Its incredible how fucking close minded some "metalheads" are... Trivium could release the best metal album ever and a lot of "metalheads " would hate it simply because... Its Trivium.



Boxcar Willy - 01.02.2012 at 06:41  
Written by Void Eater on 17.03.2011 at 09:07

Unlike most people here, I can tolerate the shouts just fine; its the boy band worthy cleans that kill this album. Decent enough riffs, but those cleans... Gah, ear rape I remember back when I was first getting into metal and checking out the song "Dying in your arms", and thinking, "What the fuck, this is metal?" I do like the song rain though.

This.

I remember being a n00b to metal, and listening to "Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr"

I still enjoy this from time to time.
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2012 at 04:58  
Written by Thedude117 on 27.11.2012 at 04:39

I don't get it, if you hate Trivium so much, why post a review at all?


He posted the review, simply because he can. He's also a staff reviewer, so he gets sent review requests.
Swamphell - 12.04.2013 at 20:09  
I guess the reviewer didn't listen to the album because he didn't mention any thing about it, he just give his opinion about trivium and that is wrong ...

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Trivium - The Crusade 6 11.12.2006 by Talvi
Albums Trivium - Ascendancy 4.5 26.02.2010 by Novas
Reviews Killing Joke - Brighter Than A Thousand Suns 3 12.05.2008 by DerRozzengarten
Reviews Centaurus-A - Side Effects Expected 3 09.04.2009 by Visioneerie
Reviews Skinny Puppy - Mythmaker 3 19.06.2007 by Icewings



Hits total: 8246 | This month: 63