Rating:
7.5
HammerFall - Crimson Thunder
28 October 2002


01. Riders Of The Storm
02. Hearts On Fire
03. On The Edge Of Honour
04. Crimson Thunder
05. Lore Of The Arcane
06. Trailblazers
07. Dreams Come True
08. Angel Of Mercy [Chastain cover]
09. The Unforgiving Blade
10. In Memoriam
11. Hero's Return
12. Rising Force [Yngwie Malmsteen cover] [European bonus]
13. Detroit Rock City [Kiss cover] [US bonus]
14. Crazy Nights [Loudness cover] [Japanese bonus]


After Swedish power metal act Hammerfall's less than impressive 2000 release Renegade [not to mention the ridicule and bad reviews the album generated], the band have rethought their game plan of attack and come up with their fourth release Crimson Thunder. While the formula has hardly changed, there is a slight change of pace within Hammerfall's traditional power metal roots.

The pounding metal stomp of ?Riders Of The Storm? is a clearly indicative of where Hammerfall are heading these days. The song is definitely heavier sounding, and the actual tempo of the song in general is slowed down to allow the band to emphasis the riffs rather than show the speeds the band is capable of. ?Hearts On Fire? is up next, and is the first single lifted from the album. In truth though, this is possibly the worst representation of the album. The song is not so much awful, but it falls way below par in comparison the rest of the album. The blame lies clearly on the derivative and lack lustre chorus. ?On The Edge Of Honour? is a faster number that works well, while the title track ?Crimson Thunder? is an epic number that isn's as over the top as you would come to expect from Hammerfall. The pick of the album has to be the mighty ?Trailblazers?. The chorus is well thought out, and clearly shows that Hammerfall can come up with something original when they put their minds to it. The big ballad of the album, ?Dreams Come True? is well done, if a little dramatic. The first of two cover versions is [David T.] Chastain's ?Angel Of Mercy? [lifted from his 1986 album Ruler Of The Wasteland]. Hammerfall do the track justice, and show that Chastain's songs stand well in the face of passing trends. ?The Unforgiving Blade? and ?Hero's Return? are Hammerfall ?call to arms? standards, while the instrumental ?In Memoriam? never loses the interest of the listener. The second cover on the album, Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force [from 1988's ?Odyssey?] closes the album on a high point. Again, they perform the number like it was their own, and pull it off well.

Crimson Thunder lacks any real kind of innovation from Hammerfall, but is made up by pure melodic catchiness will meet fans high expectations.


Band profile: HammerFall
Album: Crimson Thunder


 


written by Justin | 18.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 69  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 22.06.2006 at 17:24  
I like this one. Made me get into Hammerfall.
ThunderAxe1989 - 22.06.2006 at 22:10  
@Nerval: same here! i remember i was about 15 and i was on vacation in Orlando, Florida and that's where i bought the record, when i listened to it when i returned home, wow! mindblowing! all ov their influences truly come out such as Accept, Helloween, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest.....nice! All Hammerfall albums are excellent, just the debut, "Glory To The Brave" was mediocre because in those days they were nothing more than a mere side-project. And i absolutely LOVE "Renegade" why on earth do so many people not like that album??!?!?! Please tell me, even if you have to bash it, for the love ov God i want to know cuz "Renegade" was a great album! "Crimson Thunder" sounds just like "Renegade" except the voice is higher and the Distortion (Guitars) is heavier. But yes, i think this album was nothing short ov excellent, i love it to death! Definately a gateway album for me! Not the first Power Metal i've ever ehard, but it's the album what GOT ME DEEPLY INTO Power Metal.

And obviously my "Crimson Thunder" album has the bonus U.S. Track (which is a KISS cover) since i bought it in Orlando....i actually knew nothing about the other bonus tracks until reading the review! wow! Thanks! ummm "Crazy Nights" must be a Loudness cover........who's song is "Rising Force"?
HellRaiz0r - 25.06.2006 at 01:04  
Nice album, but i still prefer legacy of kings.
ThunderAxe1989 - 16.11.2006 at 03:00  
oh....Yngwie Johann Malmsteen wrote "Rising Force" lol.....Guy I still can't find that "Crazy Nights" song, why !!?!?!
tulkas - 16.11.2006 at 04:35  
I love the song 'In Memoriam', the rest is just ok
ChromeStylus - 05.01.2007 at 02:08  
I would just like to say that since my first Hammerfall album was Chapter V, this album was a little lower than i thought it would be, however several of the songs are well done especially "the Memoriam"
Dan066 - 06.01.2007 at 19:29  
Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 16.11.2006 at 03:00

oh....Yngwie Johann Malmsteen wrote "Rising Force" lol.....Guy I still can't find that "Crazy Nights" song, why !!?!?!


Are you talking about that song by that japanese hair metal band Loudness? It goes like "rock and roll crazy niights!!"...i love that song;D. Anyway about the album, this album is awesome and it also made me get into Hammerfall. Great band, great album.
ThunderAxe1989 - 07.01.2007 at 00:06  
Written by Guest on 06.01.2007 at 19:29

Written by ThunderAxe1989 on 16.11.2006 at 03:00

oh....Yngwie Johann Malmsteen wrote "Rising Force" lol.....Guy I still can't find that "Crazy Nights" song, why !!?!?!


Are you talking about that song by that japanese hair metal band Loudness? It goes like "rock and roll crazy niights!!"...i love that song;D. Anyway about the album, this album is awesome and it also made me get into Hammerfall. Great band, great album.


Loudness were no part ov the whole glam thing, they were straight Heavy Metal, they just had big hair that's all. But yeah, HammerFall apparently did a cover of that song but I cannot seem to download it or find it to download
Arcaliz666 - 29.06.2007 at 22:14  
It's a great album. but Renegade and Legacy Of Kings was better.
4look4rd - 11.10.2007 at 00:31  
This album has the catchiest song ever written lol, Hearts on Fire...... HEARTS!
Daggon - 25.11.2008 at 20:47  
Written by 4look4rd on 11.10.2007 at 00:31

This album has the catchiest song ever written lol, Hearts on Fire...... HEARTS!


Yeah, also the cheesiest (does that word even exists?) song ever written, Hearts on Fire! Hearts On Fire!!! I wanna puke!
Hrothdane - 25.11.2008 at 22:39  
Written by Daggon on 25.11.2008 at 20:47

Written by 4look4rd on 11.10.2007 at 00:31

This album has the catchiest song ever written lol, Hearts on Fire...... HEARTS!


Yeah, also the cheesiest (does that word even exists?) song ever written, Hearts on Fire! Hearts On Fire!!! I wanna puke!


You have Rhapsody of Fire, Luca Turill, and Sonata Arctica in you favorite artists list and you are complaining about cheesiness O_o
Luciferion - 26.11.2008 at 00:55  
Wicked album. The title track was the first i ever heard from Hammerfall, totally got me into them
Daggon - 26.11.2008 at 04:24  
Written by Hrothdane on 25.11.2008 at 22:39

Written by Daggon on 25.11.2008 at 20:47

Written by 4look4rd on 11.10.2007 at 00:31

This album has the catchiest song ever written lol, Hearts on Fire...... HEARTS!


Yeah, also the cheesiest (does that word even exists?) song ever written, Hearts on Fire! Hearts On Fire!!! I wanna puke!


You have Rhapsody of Fire, Luca Turill, and Sonata Arctica in you favorite artists list and you are complaining about cheesiness O_o


Read my personal text for people complaining about Rhapsody Of Fire and Luca Turilli. And yes, I'm complaining about cheesiness (ok, ok, again, does that word exists?), nothing is more cheesy than Hearts On Fire. jejeje Cheesiness rules the world! (I love that word jaja).
Hrothdane - 26.11.2008 at 05:19  
Written by Daggon on 26.11.2008 at 04:24

Written by Hrothdane on 25.11.2008 at 22:39

Written by Daggon on 25.11.2008 at 20:47

Written by 4look4rd on 11.10.2007 at 00:31

This album has the catchiest song ever written lol, Hearts on Fire...... HEARTS!


Yeah, also the cheesiest (does that word even exists?) song ever written, Hearts on Fire! Hearts On Fire!!! I wanna puke!


You have Rhapsody of Fire, Luca Turill, and Sonata Arctica in you favorite artists list and you are complaining about cheesiness O_o


Read my personal text for people complaining about Rhapsody Of Fire and Luca Turilli. And yes, I'm complaining about cheesiness (ok, ok, again, does that word exists?), nothing is more cheesy than Hearts On Fire. jejeje Cheesiness rules the world! (I love that word jaja).


Haha, read my forum signature and look at my profile. My musical diet consists of inordinate amounts of cheese

I have no problem with Rhapsody of Fire, Luca Turill, and Sonata Arctica; I was just noting a logical inconsistency. However, I am quite aware that musical taste can have little to do with logic, and thats part of what makes it interesting.
Daggon - 02.12.2008 at 04:43  
Written by Hrothdane on 26.11.2008 at 05:19


Haha, read my forum signature and look at my profile. My musical diet consists of inordinate amounts of cheese



Ok, jaja, I can see that, Hearts on Fire was one of the first songs I listened from Hammerfall, and I love it jeje, even if it is cheesier than cheese itself (and I love cheese to jaja, ever heard Edguy's "But Here I Am"? I love that song jaja).
TheSVH - 18.07.2009 at 22:11  
Best album, hearts on fire made me lsiten to HammerFall it's their best song catchy as hell!
Ellrohir - 19.07.2009 at 00:26  
Heroe's return is just beautiful...cheesy, but beautiful
davidharris - 28.07.2009 at 18:48  
Didn't like this album at all... It sounds like a joke half of the time. Legacy of the Kings was cool, though
ErnilEnNaur - 16.02.2011 at 14:56  
Written by Guest on 28.07.2009 at 18:48

Didn't like this album at all... It sounds like a joke half of the time.


And not a funny joke either...
RavenKing - 17.02.2011 at 01:26  
Written by Guest on 16.02.2011 at 14:56

Written by Guest on 28.07.2009 at 18:48

Didn't like this album at all... It sounds like a joke half of the time.


And not a funny joke either...


Not that the first 3 Hammerfall albums were anything special but they were at least listenable.
I see this album as the point at which the band turned to utter crap.
Infernal Eternal - 05.06.2012 at 18:17  
Anders Johansson of Hammerfall used to be Malmsteen's drummer. That's why Rising Forse is in the album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums HammerFall - Crimson Thunder 6 15.10.2012 by M C Vice
News Hammerfall - New Album Finished 3 19.02.2011 by Yojimbo
Albums HammerFall - (r)Evolution 3 27.05.2014 by Lord_Agony
Reviews Arch Enemy - Anthems Of Rebellion 3 26.12.2006 by BloodTears
News Hammerfall - Guitarist Leaves The Band 3 02.04.2008 by Talvi



Hits total: 6018 | This month: 5