Lykathea Aflame - Elvenefris review



Reviewer:
10

169 users:
8.62
Band: Lykathea Aflame
Album: Elvenefris
Release date: October 2000


01. Land Where Sympathy Is Air
02. To Become Shelter And Salvation
03. Bringer Of Elvenefris Flame
04. Flowering Entities
05. To Give
06. On The Way Home
07. Shine Of Consolation
08. Sadness And Strength
09. A Step Closer
10. An Old Man And A Child
11. Walking In The Garden Of Ma'at
12. To Give [2002 version][2011 re-release bonus]
13. Shine Of Consolation [1999 version][2011 re-release bonus]


Classic Monster of Obscene Productions! Highly Recommended

So, I was looking for bizarre/Technical bands on the Internet, some guy told me to go for !T.O.O.H! and Lykathea Aflame, I actually don't recall his name, but thanks to that fellow I found 2 of the most talented bands in the metal scene, I reviewed the first name a couple of months ago, now, after a lot of people asked for this, it's time for me to Review "Elvenefris".

This album is the craziest release I've ever heard, the mayhem within "Elvenefris" is marvelous, but along this craziness and belligerence we can hear melodies and progressive patterns, "Lykathea Aflame" manages to combine both sides superbly. I can't think of any band doing all those things this band did in just one album; the music is really astonishing, nothing compares with what we hear in "Elvenefris", this is one of a kind indeed, you'll find yourself wrapped in progressive environments, aggressive overtones, breathtaking backgrounds and Brutal yet beautiful music.

All the tracks work in the most brilliant way, the musical structures come in different shades and tones, there is no boundary in this record; we can hear from the most brutal segment to the most awesome jazzy bit, all in just one song (Flowering Entities). Then we hear Progressive patterns in the most pure technique wrapping the atmosphere over and over again (Bringer Of Elvenefris Flame). This album literally has it all, have you ever heard those old words "Expect the Unexpected"? Well, "Elvenefris" fits perfectly with that saying.

As you can see this album is more than decent, what am I saying? This album is more than brilliant in many levels. So what's the catch and turn-off? This band is no longer active, they released "Elvenefris" and then they decided to quit…so that makes me angry, their music will stay underground forever I think, "Elvenefris" is the only thing they left behind for us to enjoy. Don't miss this album; you'll be missing one of the best releases metal music can offer.

I can't think of any cool last words to explain the greatness of this album, so in the band's words "Let Your Steps Be Blessed And Guided By Light" pretty cool huh?

Best Tracks: "Bringer Of Elvenefris Flame", "And Old Man And A Child", "On The Way Home", well actually every track is awesome.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

Written by Herzebeth | 22.10.2005


 


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 248 users
15.03.2007 - 21:53
Taktsekte
Your Ad Here!
Herzebeth, aren't you overrating this album a little bit too much? I tried to make it unsuccessfully grow on me. I really liked songs like "Flowering Entities" and "Sadness and Strength", which show a great guitarwork as well as interesting Prog patterns (as you describe them in your review), plus the ending song "Walking in the Garden of Ma'at" is really relaxing and memorable... but I still feel that this album lacks something. I started listening to Avantgarde / Post-Death / Progbrutalwhatever Death Metal with Fantomas and Maudlin of the Well, with whom I found 'that thing' which Lykathea Aflame somehow has a lack of. A broader instrumental register? More complicated harmonies? I don't actually know, but I would never give it a 10. For me, a 7 or 8 (I reckon it is a decent album indeed) would do.
Loading...
16.03.2007 - 01:11
Dangerboner
:D
This is a great album and I think it deserves a high rating. The creativity and muscianship on Elvinfris is astounding, and I even like the proggy parts.

I wonder how their new album will sound...
Loading...
16.03.2007 - 03:14
Stigmatized
..........
I'd give it a 9.5. I think it's great all around. It's just very different from everything out there.
Loading...
17.03.2007 - 12:55
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Heard this album for the first about a year ago, was in mp3 form on my crappy pc-speakers. Finally received the album last week (after long searches) and I was blown away for the second time! Good speakers are a must for this album.

Comments on the cd: This is just one hell of a recording! So much going on in one song. Just drooling at it. Since I received it, every morning when I cycle to school I think to myself: Damn, I want to be home already and listen to fuckin' Elvenefris!!!!!!!
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
13.12.2007 - 21:21
OminousDeath
Account deleted
Great Album, Definately Deserving of a 10. its a shame about the band, there music is Incredible
Loading...
18.09.2008 - 23:34
Lucas
Mr. Noise
It's available again on http://www.dis-order.com/. Be quick, act fast!
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
27.10.2008 - 01:46
Baz Anderson
Wow, I've just discovered this band - from what I have heard of a few songs from this album - this is going to be fantastic!
Loading...
02.02.2009 - 23:07
Elio
Red Nightmare
Holy shit this album is mindblowing! And I don't even like br00tal shit that much!
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
25.06.2010 - 06:47
Enias
Listening to this cd high is amazing, you heard a whole story of ruling an empire and shit.
Then you listen to it normally, love it, but don't see that whole empire thing. hahaha
Loading...
16.07.2010 - 23:35
Cryzpin
Fantastic album, really one of a kind. Very impressive drumming work. Great piece of atmosphere, intensity and rich creativity. An experience of itself.
Loading...
19.07.2010 - 01:41
@gent_-_orange
This is a pretty awesome album too bad they arent able to follow it up.
Loading...
27.05.2011 - 20:15
Tetravirulence
I once listened to Flowering Entities over and over again half a day
----
Metal News Community!! http://head-metal-bangers.blogspot.com

RIP Juhani Palomaki (1977-2010)
Loading...
19.01.2012 - 20:48
3rdWorld
China was a neat
If u haven't heard this album even after reading out this review, shoot yourself in the a'hole or throw yourself in the river.
Loading...
20.01.2012 - 23:22
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by 3rdWorld on 19.01.2012 at 20:48

If u haven't heard this album even after reading our this review, shoot yourself in the a'hole or throw yourself in the river.


I think you could use two things: a bit of manners and some English lessons. Not to mention your ridiculous nickname.

In other words, please behave.
Loading...
21.01.2012 - 04:38
3rdWorld
China was a neat
Written by Daniell on 20.01.2012 at 23:22

Written by 3rdWorld on 19.01.2012 at 20:48

If u haven't heard this album even after reading out this review, shoot yourself in the a'hole or throw yourself in the river.


I think you could use two things: a bit of manners and some English lessons. Not to mention your ridiculous nickname.

In other words, please behave.

I cant believe i got quoted for this. It clearly isn't offensive,demeaning or personally aimed at any individual or a group of people. It was meant to describe how essential this album is to the listeners of this genre and kvlt nature of it.It was meant to state that this album is insanely addicitive and you would be retarded to not check it out if you are a fan of this style of bands.

Btw,thanks for the advice and not sending an warning.
Loading...
21.01.2012 - 09:35
Daniell
_爱情_
I might have overreacted a bit No harm done and no hard feelings I hope
Loading...
19.05.2020 - 20:08
Metren
Dungeon Master
I've added this album to my G.O.A.T.s list. Apart from what everyone else has already said, the thing this album most stands out for is the use of major chords. It's a big part of what makes the album sound so refreshing and unique. 10/10
----
I am not nor have I ever been a musician or a member of a one-man band, especially a band that has a name that starts with "D".
Loading...

Hits total: 8505 | This month: 6