Rating:
7.5
Iron Maiden - Killers
2 February 1981


Disc I
01. The Ides Of March
02. Wrathchild
03. Murders In The Rue Morgue
04. Another Life
05. Genghis Khan
06. Innocent Exile
07. Killers
08. Prodigal Son
09. Purgatory
10. Twilight Zone [1998 remaster bonus]
11. Drifter

Disc II [1995 reissue bonus disc]
01. Twilight Zone
02. Women In Uniform [Skyhooks cover]
03. Invasion
04. Phantom Of The Opera [live]


Fantastic successor Killers, you might think of it as Iron Maiden Volume II for the sound developed on the Iron Maiden album has not changed, just improved.

Starting off with the Instrumental Ides Of March you know from the first second you can expect something familiar, because the song is a different version from Samson's 'Thunderburst' (right, Samson was Bruce Dickinson's first band before Maiden). I always wondered why at live performances Ides Of March isn't used as intro for Wrathchild, the second album track, because it's obviously meant as intro for this song. But there is of course more to Killers than one song and an instrumental. In fact this album is as diverse as the predecessor using effects and clean sound in between. The Voice of Paul Di'Anno and the Metal parts come slightly more aggressive than on Iron Maiden. The production is a bit tighter. One will find the bass often highlighting the drums or playing the same fast lines as the guitars. 'Killers' is a killer album same as 'Iron Maiden'. Both are unique in sound and voice of Paul Di'Anno who had left Iron Maiden after this album. Both paved the way for Iron Maiden's further success. 'Killers' contains the two live classics 'Wrathchild' and the title track 'Killers'.

Leaving me with nothing more to say than this: If you liked Iron Maiden you shall not miss Killers! Both still deserve to be heard, both are unavoidable for a complete Iron Maiden collection, both are unique and uncomparable to the later albums.


Band profile: Iron Maiden
Album: Killers


 


written by Pierre Tombale | 16.11.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 129  
Search this topic:  


Stalker - 14.11.2007 at 18:18  
I think I like "Iron Maiden" better, but still, this is a great album, which has 2 great instrumentals on it.
Syk - 15.11.2007 at 10:09  
Agreed. Every song rocks really hard, my favs are Killers, Purgatory & Drifter. Brilliant
Magatouve - 08.12.2007 at 16:17  
What about Genghis Khan... why this instrumental is often overlooked, though I find it to be one of Iron Maiden's best. The drums and bass work is really amazing in this one.
Collin - 08.12.2007 at 17:05  
This is simply my favourite album of Iron Maiden. I like DiAnno's vocals better than Dickinson's, and every song here is a masterpiece of catchy songwriting. Only gems. This is worth so much more than a mere 7.5 IMO
Guib - 09.01.2008 at 06:30  
I love Di'Anno (even if i prefer Bruce) and i gotta say that this album is another Treasure by Maiden.

My fav songs are ''Murders in the rue morgue'', ''Wrathchild'' and ''Prodigal Son''. They are just mezmerising.

What about a little 9/10 for that masterpiece
Syk - 09.01.2008 at 10:12  
Written by Guib on 09.01.2008 at 06:30
mezmerising
Have you been deceived by System of a Down? As far as I know, gizmo is the only instance where _zm_ exists in the English language
In fact, the word comes from a physician named Mesmer... sorry to steal your attention, that probably wasn't as interesting for anyone as it was for me

Purgatory has won over as my favourite on the album. 10/10!
BloodTears - 09.01.2008 at 14:32  
Oh I cant believe I didnt post here. Well let me tell you that this album is a classic. I prefer the "Iron Maiden" album I admit but this one is quite good. And I also like Di'Anno's vocals.

Murders in the rue morgue... never gona find me!

I like that they inspired themselves in Poe's tales to write their lyrics.
Metalhead2 - 18.05.2008 at 00:49  
so ridiculously low ratings for Iron Maiden and Killers their best albums.
IronBlackZepp - 19.05.2008 at 04:53  
No Iron Maiden and Killers are not Maidens best, but they are great and the ratings for them are low on reviews. This album is the first with Smith, who is just as great as Murrey. No epics on this album but it is damn soild.
Spyroid - 17.07.2008 at 01:24  
Written by Syk on 09.01.2008 at 10:12

Written by Guib on 09.01.2008 at 06:30
mezmerising
Have you been deceived by System of a Down? As far as I know, gizmo is the only instance where _zm_ exists in the English language
In fact, the word comes from a physician named Mesmer... sorry to steal your attention, that probably wasn't as interesting for anyone as it was for me

Purgatory has won over as my favourite on the album. 10/10!


I laughed my ass of at this
gerrard888 - 20.07.2008 at 18:23  
for me iron maiden was better but this album rocks!!!!!!!!!! 8.5/10
Elio - 20.08.2008 at 17:17  
man this album is very good. there are a lot of brilliant songs such Wratchild, Murders and Drifter, not talking about the instrumental yay!
IronBlackZepp - 28.09.2008 at 22:00  
Ya this album deserves so much more then a 7.5. It is one of the bands best, well, Iron Maiden has a lot of great albums, so I guess this one would rank lower on the list, but it is still absolutly great. I really enjoy songs like Killers, and Wrathchild. This and the first album are a little different for Maiden, but they are very unique.
LeChron James - 30.09.2008 at 04:16  
i think di anno's voice works very well for this and the previous album. it wouldnt have sounded right come the release of "Number of The Beast". could you imagine him singing "Children of The Damned"?
LeChron James - 30.09.2008 at 04:18  
i think di anno's voice works very well for this and the previous album. it wouldnt have sounded right come the release of "Number of The Beast". could you imagine him singing "Children of The Damned"?
LeChron James - 30.09.2008 at 04:18  
i think di anno's voice works very well for this and the previous album. it wouldnt have sounded right come the release of "Number of The Beast". could you imagine him singing "Children of The Damned"?
Uirapuru - 19.10.2008 at 12:24  
Nice album.. better than i've though, 10 times better than ''Iron Maiden''
Elio - 19.10.2008 at 13:40  
Written by Uirapuru on 19.10.2008 at 12:24

Nice album.. better than i've though, 10 times better than ''Iron Maiden''

10 times better? why do you say that?
Uirapuru - 19.10.2008 at 21:00  
Written by Elio on 19.10.2008 at 13:40

Written by Uirapuru on 19.10.2008 at 12:24

Nice album.. better than i've though, 10 times better than ''Iron Maiden''

10 times better? why do you say that?


ok ok ... maybe 10 times better is an exaggeration, but i really found this album a lot better than the previous. I'm not analyzing the quality of the lyrics, riffs or anything. Despite being kinda similar, i was really excited listen to this album, while the other didn't awake any kind of feeling... its just personal taste, it doesnt mean that its true.
Elio - 20.10.2008 at 15:14  
Written by Uirapuru on 19.10.2008 at 21:00

Written by Elio on 19.10.2008 at 13:40

Written by Uirapuru on 19.10.2008 at 12:24

Nice album.. better than i've though, 10 times better than ''Iron Maiden''

10 times better? why do you say that?


ok ok ... maybe 10 times better is an exaggeration, but i really found this album a lot better than the previous. I'm not analyzing the quality of the lyrics, riffs or anything. Despite being kinda similar, i was really excited listen to this album, while the other didn't awake any kind of feeling... its just personal taste, it doesnt mean that its true.


Ah, I know what you mean but I still prefer the other one
Powerslavex - 28.11.2008 at 11:47  
I think Iron Maiden was better, anyway this album is really good like all Maiden's albums 8.5 would be fair
Winterthrone - 12.05.2010 at 02:15  
A far better production than on Iron Maiden makes it my personnal favorite of Maiden just before Powerslave and Iron Maiden!

Killer, behind you, my bloodlust defies all my needs!
Nyoink - 05.11.2010 at 22:01  
This album rocks my socks 10/10
Captain Obvious - 18.11.2010 at 16:59  
I gotta say this is my least favourite Maiden album of the 80's, don't get me wrong, this album is fucking brilliant! It's just not as brilliant as the masterpieces that came before and after it.

Favourite songs would have to be Murders in the Rue Morgue and Prodigal Son.

You know this may sound crazy, but I think this album was an influence on Brutal Death Metal lyric-wise, just read some of these lyrics: ''All I found was the butchered remains of two girls laying side by side'' or ''Scream for mercy, He laughs as he's watching you bleed''. So fucking badass
RavenKing - 27.12.2010 at 04:39  
My least favorite Maiden album from the 80s. I like the song "Killers" a lot but other than that most of the songs are forgettable and more or less boring fillers.
BeastOfMetal456 - 23.07.2011 at 01:38  
Written by RavenKing on 27.12.2010 at 04:39

My least favorite Maiden album from the 80s. I like the song "Killers" a lot but other than that most of the songs are forgettable and more or less boring fillers.

Same for me. But in addition to "Killers", I like the songs "Murders In The Rue Morgue" and "Wrathchild". The others are just not as memorable.
deadone - 24.03.2014 at 06:48  
Why such a low score for such a praised (by the reviewer that is) album?
Ace Frawley - 24.03.2014 at 11:02  
Just love the drumming on this album by the late Clive Burr.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Iron Maiden - Iron Maiden 7.5 15.10.2006 by Dam3k
Reviews Iron Maiden - Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son 7.5 06.10.2006 by
Reviews Iron Maiden - Dance Of Death 7.5 28.11.2008 by Powerslavex
Reviews Iron Maiden - No Prayer For The Dying 7.5 01.01.2007 by
Reviews Iron Maiden - Piece Of Mind 7.5 02.11.2006 by Valentin B



Hits total: 5890 | This month: 46