Iron Maiden - Powerslave review



Reviewer:
10

2218 users:
9.13
Band: Iron Maiden
Album: Powerslave
Release date: September 1984


Disc I
01. Aces High
02. 2 Minutes To Midnight
03. Losfer Words (Big 'Orra)
04. Flash Of The Blade
05. The Duellists
06. Back In The Village
07. Powerslave
08. Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
+ Aces High [video] [1998 re-release bonus]
+ 2 Minutes To Midnight [video] [1998 re-release bonus]

Disc II [1995 reissue bonus disc]
01. Rainbow's Gold [Beckett cover]
02. Mission From 'Arry
03. King Of The Twilight [Nektar cover]
04. The Number Of The Beast [live]


This has to be one of Iron Maiden's best albums of all. It has everything from a fast and furious metal assault such as "Aces High", to an instrumental song such as "Losfer Words".

It all starts off with "Aces High", a song about WWII dogfights. A good heavy metal song with a good amount of guitar solo's and superb lyrics. It has a memorable tune that you keep rocking to in your head for hours. Next comes another classic song "2 Minutes to Midnight". Slower than the previous song, the guitars are very tight while the rhythm is powerbul as Dickinson sings away. The many guitar solos in this kick some metal ass. Next comes "Losfer Words" one of the four instrumental's that Iron Maiden has done. Not as great as the other's but definitely worth the time to listen to. The drums keep a constant sound with some nice guitar and bass in there also. The next song is a definite killer; "Flash of the Blade" starts off with a nice guitar solo then picks up into a nice beat. A great song about being a swordsman and it rocks to the very end. The next is "Duellists" a kind of cross bread between "Flash of the Blade" and "Powerslave" a bit, definitely worth listing to but not as great as the others. Another metal assault is "Back in the Village"; this song is good all around a nice blend of drums and guitar. "Powerslave", well what can I say, its killer, lyrics about an evil Egyptian god and great music to fallow it up, an instant classic. The last song on the list is "Rime of the Ancient Mariner", this song pounds with base, the drums flowing and the guitar sounds ever so killer.

Iron Maiden has a real masterpiece here, if you don't have it, go buy it, you won't be disappointed...

Written by Deadly Sin | 18.09.2003


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 54   Visited by: 268 users
15.06.2008 - 07:37
Samuel550
Account deleted
lol No need to feel sorry for us, peasant. We are perfectly capable of thinking outside our own box unlike people like you who have to waste time by making worthless, biased comments that only show your too ignorant and stupid to appreciate heavy metal much less this great album. I feel sorry for maggots like you who can't figure out what good music is. Oh well, more metal for me .

Detractors are hopeless.
Loading...
06.07.2008 - 20:41
Fat & Sassy!
Nomcat
The album that really got me into metal. Every song is ROCK SOLID, never letting up on the good ol' AWESOMENESS.

I'm not sure what everyone's deal is with Back In the Village... It's a killer track that pumps me up every time I hear it.
----
"Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST..." ____Frank Zappa
Loading...
20.07.2008 - 18:32
gerrard888
Account deleted
maiden rules yet again! first 2 tracks are great last 2, well i have no words to discribe them 9.5/10:yes:
Loading...
28.11.2008 - 12:04
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
This is why Maiden are my favourite band great album 9.5
Loading...
01.03.2009 - 03:02
AngelOfDisease
Written by Dangerboner on 06.11.2006 at 23:32

What turns me off about this album is that the guitarist directly copied Mercyful Fate's guitar riff in Curse of the Pharoah for their 2 Minutes to Midnight song. Sorry, I bitch about that every time this album is mentioned.

And that's actually the same riff as Welcome to Hell by Venom haha
I always bitch about that but I love the song
Loading...
01.03.2009 - 03:04
AngelOfDisease
Written by Dangerboner on 02.01.2007 at 06:36

Oh, and I can't comment about Venom because I never listen to them.

Should have read this before...
Loading...
14.05.2009 - 10:43
Dark Cornatus
Powerslave
This is a weak review, and the album should never be rated over 9 if half of it is filler. Three off the songs are in my all time Maiden favourites, (tracks 1, 7 and 8), but its really not consistant. Id give it an 8.5 considering its got some of their best material. My favourite album is still Somewhere In Time though, there are no 'masterpiece' songs, except i regard Somewhere In Time as close to one, but they are all great to listen to.
Loading...
24.05.2009 - 10:54
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
What a great variation in the lyrics and thematic. Really improoves the quality of the album. Egyptians and sea-mans turns the atmosphere in a historic epic. Awesome.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
15.08.2009 - 03:03
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
I have had a recent change of mind on this album. Used to have it as an 8/10 and thought it was a bit overrated. It seemed like the production was somewhat hollow. Maybe "tinny" I guess with little kick on the low end. I also put a lot of stock into the fact that I loved many aspects of NOTB more than on this album (such as the opener Invaders, which I believe is better than Aces High and is IMO that songs template) But I had never really appreciated "Mariner" until recently when I watched "Somewhere Back In Time" and saw them play it live. It sounded great! Enough so to make me re-visit this album. "Aces High" was still a solid opener, the epic chorus and solo on "2 Minutes" was still present. "Powerslave" is one of their strongest songs for sure. But, this time I took in "Mariner" and realized how influential it was on the closer for their following album SIT. It was the first, and much more original epic than "Alexander the Great" was. And not only that but it is a good song. 9/10, great album.
----
Loading...
16.09.2009 - 19:32
Angel Of Mercy
Good album, not as good as Brave New World. But still awesome!
----
Your time will come.
Loading...
18.09.2009 - 04:39
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
The interesting thing for me about this album is I think the songs sound better on "Live After Death"...especially Rime...
----
rekt
Loading...
25.09.2009 - 14:06
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
This, SSOASS and Dance of Death are best Maiden albums
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
25.01.2010 - 22:44
Brogkul
My favorite Maiden album, with my 2 favorite Maiden songs, "Losfer Words (Big 'Orra)" and "Duellists".

I don´t get why this album gets all the bashing. It´s a classic for me, with no fillers at all.
----
"The Sly One"
Loading...
26.01.2010 - 17:52
thewall30
This album is everything an album should have! Its one of those timeless albums! I would say this is their best, although there others are amazing as well...
----
Loading...
24.10.2010 - 14:59
Captain Obvious
Pretty poor review, I don't know about everyone else but I personally think that song-by-song reviews are just dumb and boring.

But what irritates me most about your review is the 10 rating, that's just way too low.
----
Did you ever notice that the people who tell you to get a life are normally people who should be dead in the first place?
Loading...
31.10.2010 - 10:07
maidenrules
Written by Guest on 13.06.2008 at 22:39

Written by VPeter on 11.06.2008 at 17:44

a very boring album, but then again it is Heavy Metal and most Heavy metal is boring.
the only 2 songs I find okay are "powerslave" and "Rime Of The Ancient Mariner"
the rest is soulless stuff without any feeling or heart.


Please fuck off and go put on a White Stripes CD or something and leave Heavy Metal for the real listeners, especially regarding classic albums like this.

Peasant.

i love this album but the white stripes are very good too, jack white is one of the most talented guitar players of our age!
Loading...
09.06.2011 - 10:02
Guib
Thrash Talker
@At the people bashing eachother sine 2006 about this album: Laughable really...

Great album, one of my favorite by the band along with piece of mind and killers. Great job maiden
im just sad that their more recent stuff is not as good as it could be. anyways Powerslave's a great release.
----
- I love my technical, melodic, my thrash, agressive and fast paced, my sludge, well thought, my heavy, heavier and my metal, ever-growing -
Loading...
26.07.2011 - 02:47
BeastOfMetal456
Account deleted
Written by Arian Totalis on 07.11.2006 at 00:15

I don't really think that the review is that well done really, all it is is this persons oppinion of the various songs from the album, and doesn't really have much technicality involved in it. However, either this or "Piece of Mind" are my favorite maiden albums, I can't decide, but in either case, I approve of the rating. Long live Maiden!!

I agree bout the review not being that good. An epic album like this one deserves a better review. Perhaps you can do us one? :p
Loading...
12.10.2011 - 23:52
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
Http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Powerslave#cite_note-Metal_Storm-3


Have You Guys Noticed This?
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 02:09
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 12.10.2011 at 23:52
Have You Guys Noticed This?

We're working on that. Wikipedia isn't supposed to have links to unofficial reviews...especially ones written so long ago.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 02:25
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.10.2011 at 02:09

Written by Guest on 12.10.2011 at 23:52
Have You Guys Noticed This?

We're working on that. Wikipedia isn't supposed to have links to unofficial reviews...especially ones written so long ago.


You mean, "unociffical reviews" is the guest reviews?
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 02:40
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 13.10.2011 at 02:25
You mean, "unociffical reviews" is the guest reviews?

Exactly. Only Staff reviews are official (and some Elite reviews - anything without the guest review disclaimer) and they shouldn't be linking to reviews on our site that pre-date 2009.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 03:13
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.10.2011 at 02:40

Written by Guest on 13.10.2011 at 02:25
You mean, "unociffical reviews" is the guest reviews?

Exactly. Only Staff reviews are official (and some Elite reviews - anything without the guest review disclaimer) and they shouldn't be linking to reviews on our site that pre-date 2009.


I got it!
Loading...
20.12.2012 - 20:22
LICH
Dude no offence but you need to check your grammar for this review.
Loading...

Hits total: 12263 | This month: 33