Rating:
6.0
System Of A Down - Toxicity
4 September 2001


01. Prison Song
02. Needles
03. Deer Dance
04. Jet Pilot
05. X
06. Chop Suey!
07. Bounce
08. Forest
09. ATWA
10. Science
11. Shimmy
12. Toxicity
13. Psycho
14. Aerials


System of a Down created a huge hype for the nu-metal scene back in 2001 with an album called "Toxicity"; to this day the mentioned album is still a best seller in many stores and we can hear many people talking about the greatness of this album. I bought this album a while ago, I heard it a lot of times I liked it the first few listens, but after a while it bored me big time and then I even sold it to a weird kid with an emoish hairdo.

This is not a bad album at first sight, the first listens you'll find good guitar structures, catchy songwriting and even a lot of funny lyrics which, for example, talk about a guy who has a pogo stick and every single person wants to play with it but can't because there is just one pogo stick at the party with so many friends ("Bounce"). So as you might know, this kind of things are cool the first 3 times you read it, but when you hear it the fifth time or the sixth time it becomes really boring and idiotic.

The album fails in continuity, and this is the epitome of good albums you know? Most albums MUST have good schemes for you to hear it 50 times without a problem, SOAD was not able to achieve this task. Then the riffs are not powerful at all, the backing vocals are just hideous and really fucking annoying (f.e. "Needles") the drumming is monotonous, there's no strength whatsoever in the whole album and it becomes a "nerd"/idiotic/ridiculous release.

This album is not as good as many people think, there are good moments with schizoid riffs and crazy paces ("Psycho") but that's it, most features "good" decompose badly after a week or so. Not even "Chop Suey!", which was one of the most praised tracks in nu-metal history, manages to create a constant interest for the audience, just imagine the rest of the songs.

So this is an average nu-metal release, certainly I've heard better albums and also I've heard worse ones. Is it really that good? Not at all, it's totally disposable; I just keep thinking "why in the fuck didn't I download it first". This is exactly the kind of album which makes metal-heads hate nu-metal, it gets a lot of hype and everyone talks about how great it is, but in the end it's just a plain, average, middling and nerdy release, nothing more nothing less.


Band profile: System Of A Down
Album: Toxicity


 


written by Herzebeth | 30.04.2006



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 63  
Users visited: 365  
Search this topic:  


freetrader0000 - 29.07.2010 at 03:37  
I really like this album, though if I'm really not in the mood it can get repetetive and annoying for me. IMO its a fun album, but just fun.
spiritofvengence - 09.09.2010 at 00:27  
Written by 4look4rd on 26.06.2007 at 04:32

Thanks for the great review, finally some one that has a bit of musical taste, and see that "funny" doesnt mean "good," their music might be somewhat creative, but please what the fuck are they smoking to writte those shitty lyrics. And where the hell did does guys learn how to play/sing. Well this album pisses me off, and I cant believe how many people like it! Nu metal is already shitty enough, but when you add this kind of lyrics, you just cant be taken serious... And if you bought this album, please next time just buy a gun and kill yourself you'll be doing a huge favor to humanity. God, how can this kind of crap sell so much?


Same can be said about Iron Maiden
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.09.2010 at 00:40  
Definitely a review that looks a bit silly as time has gone on. This is a bona fide classic now. Not to mention that there's fack all nu metal on this record. Not that it'd be a problem if there was.
Doc Godin - 18.09.2010 at 00:49  
Written by spiritofvengence on 09.09.2010 at 00:27

Written by 4look4rd on 26.06.2007 at 04:32

Thanks for the great review, finally some one that has a bit of musical taste, and see that "funny" doesnt mean "good," their music might be somewhat creative, but please what the fuck are they smoking to writte those shitty lyrics. And where the hell did does guys learn how to play/sing. Well this album pisses me off, and I cant believe how many people like it! Nu metal is already shitty enough, but when you add this kind of lyrics, you just cant be taken serious... And if you bought this album, please next time just buy a gun and kill yourself you'll be doing a huge favor to humanity. God, how can this kind of crap sell so much?


Same can be said about Iron Maiden

Remember that time in grade 4 when you shit your pants in gym class? That was Iron Maiden's fault. Remember that time when you were 6 and your dog got hit by a car and your parents told you he ran away? That was Iron Maiden's fault. Remember that time when your parents told you you were adopted, and they're considering returning you to the orphanage? That was Iron Maiden's fault. Remember that time when your therapist told you about how you seem to be perpetually stuck in the mentality of a 12 year old? As you can guess, that was also Iron Maiden's fault.

Question; Have you ever made a negative post on here that doesn't contain the words Iron Maiden? Actually, scratch that, have you ever made a positive post on here that wasn't paranoid bitching?
Sword_Chant - 14.12.2010 at 19:50  
This album is good - I think the fact it was released in part of the 'Nu-Metal' era when Limp Bizkit, Linkin Park and Korn emerged all made them seem like SOAD were part of that same crowd and gave them a demeaning image. But musically they're much more 'metal'. I think the era this album was made was unfortunate, but for the album to be so commercially successful makes this album one hell of an achievement.

I have to commend this band, they're one of a few bands I know that speak about real issues around us... and that gives their songs a lot of lyrical content and meaning. My ears have evolved long since the SOAD days but every now and again I come back for the good memories and for something a little different. One last note, i'm glad they're back and might see them in 2011.

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.09.2010 at 00:40

Definitely a review that looks a bit silly as time has gone on. This is a bona fide classic now. Not to mention that there's fack all nu metal on this record. Not that it'd be a problem if there was.


I think I have to agree with this comment
Jacavada - 08.01.2011 at 20:22  
It has some great tunes,but it also has some fucking annoying songs.after the first 2 times I heard Bounce I couldn't stand it anymore.though, I think songs like ATWA,deer dance,chop suey and etc. were able to save the album.:banger:.
I don't think it's a real nu-metal record though,it's more alternative metal.
Cryzpin - 17.01.2011 at 23:43  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.09.2010 at 00:40

Definitely a review that looks a bit silly as time has gone on. This is a bona fide classic now. Not to mention that there's fack all nu metal on this record. Not that it'd be a problem if there was.

Second to that! This album is a great ride, much of inovation, great vocals, power and rage, total freedom of genres and standout classic in itself. Best of Systems.
KvltovKthvlhv - 26.02.2011 at 00:59  
I can't understand why this album gets consistently bashed, and labeled as nu-metal, i mean yeah it came out during that era, yes the guitars are downtuned, but historically new metal had a lot to do with rap influences and shitty repetitive riffs. This album is classic, if it could be considered nu-metal its one of the only good new metal bands. I have been listening to it pretty consistently since it came out, and i still find it to be a unique hell of a fun album, that brings a lot of good social commentary mixed with Serj's great since of humor, i respectfully but HIGHLY disagree with a 6 i would say at least an 8 or 9
The Benighted - 13.05.2011 at 04:59  
Very distinct album by a very distinct band. Probably their best album. Disagree with the review, but its all a matter of opinion, so...
godisdead - 17.06.2011 at 18:54  
You realize this is a political band? This albums deserves at least an 8.
Illog1cal - 25.05.2012 at 19:44  
When you listen to Death metal most of the time like me, the guitar riffs in albums such as this lose their impact and the songs can get very repetitive. However you have to realise that there a lot of saving graces on this album. Some songs definitely do get tiresome, such as 'Bounce', 'X', 'Forest', 'Atwa', however others are ingenious. The reason why they are ingenious is that the lyrical content is unparalleled, the first time I listened to Chop Suey I honestly had no idea it was about suicide. When you listen to the songs you at first think they are simple, but then you realise there is a much deeper meaning to some of them as the layers fall away. The same cannot be said for many bands unfortunately. Oh and btw this is not nu metal...
Cynic Metalhead - 25.05.2012 at 20:13  
Written by Guest on 25.05.2012 at 19:44

they are simple, but then you realise there is a much deeper meaning to some of them as the layers fall away. The same cannot be said for many bands unfortunately. Oh and btw this is not nu metal...


They are insane band.

Lyrically, they attack politicians, corrupt bureaucrats, crash down the whole corrupted political system, drugs and more importantly sexual intercourse( Violent Pornography!).
"Fuck the System" was their first track that i started listening to and honestly in 2003 it sounds great. I thought they will have a great career and gonna outstrip "LP" "Korn" "P.O.D." and many other Nu-Metal acts which the then ruling the charts.

This band has always favored for their controversial lyrical themes rather than music. You know...." Armenian Genocide of 1915 " and then "War" "Terrorism" and I was reading somewhere that now they will cover some "Afghan war" "Nato shit" and whatever. If i getta time I still give a couple of spins to their back catalog and enjoy the most.
Paw!! - 20.11.2012 at 14:43  
Best Alternative metal

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums System Of A Down - Toxicity 6 27.07.2011 by Cynic Metalhead
Reviews System Of A Down - Steal This Album! 5.5 16.02.2013 by Jaeryd17‍
News System Of A Down News On New Album 4.5 26.08.2013 by Captain Cumbeard
Albums System Of A Down - Demo Tape #1 [Demo] 4.5 17.09.2012 by
Albums System Of A Down - Steal This Album! 4.5 27.02.2012 by musicalkaratekid



Hits total: 6580 | This month: 63