Whitesnake - Live In The Still Of The Night review


16 users:
Band: Whitesnake
Album: Live In The Still Of The Night
Release date: 2006

01. Burn
02. Bad Boys
03. Love Ain't No Stranger
04. Ready An' Willing
05. Is This Love
06. Give Me All Your Love
07. Judgement Day
08. Blues For Mylene
09. Snake Dance
10. Cryin' In The Rain (Pt. 1)
11. Drum Solo
12. Cryin' In The Rain (Pt. 2)
13. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City
14. Don't Break My Heart Again
15. Fool For Your Loving
16. Here I Go Again
17. Take Me With You
18. Still Of The Night
19. Credits Special features

Special Features:
- Behind-the-scenes documentary (14:15)
- Photo Gallery
- Bonus CD (59 minutes)
20. Burn
21. Give Me All Your Love
22. Is This Love
23. Love Ain't No Stranger
24. Judgement Day
25. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City
26. Fool For Your Lovin'
27. Here I Go Again
28. Take Me With You
29. Still Of The Night

Whouchh !!! Damn I'm not the first fan of the Whitesnake but shit (sorry for this bad word) we're in front of something my friends. Recorded live in London, during the Whitesnake's tour 2004, "Live… In The Still Of The Night" is one of the best DVD that I've ever seen. Why? Haha well just read this little review and you'll understand, if you like the band, or just like Hard Rock in general that you cannot miss this release (or shame one you in that case…).

First, just have a look on the set list? Do I have to add something honestly? All the hits are there, from the ballad "Is This Love" to "Cryin' In The Rain" or "Take Me With You" all the hits of the band are there. Yes, "Live… In The Still Of The Night" is like a super best-of, but recorded live and with the video evidently.

Same with the line up, Mr David Coverdale, even if he is not so young now, is always a really good and charismatic singer. The others musicians are just cream and I will just ask you to bow the magician, Doug Aldrich, an amazing guitarist who proves here that he is one of the best, with Coverdale like with Dio. If you like music actually, you'll take something in your heads, just hope two really great soli, one of guitar by Mr Aldrich and one other with the drums by Mr Aldridge, the both are long, impressive and classy.

But let's talk about the DVD now. I have "only" a review version, understand that I only have a 4:3 picture format DVD with stereo sound, but let me tell you that it kicks ass. On the normal version you'll be able to find 4 sounds: Stereo, 5.1 SRS Circle Surround, 5.1 Multi-channel and 5.1 DTS) and 16:9 picture format, nothing to add. The live was recorded in high definition with 13 cameras and mix black/white and colour. The director was Hamish Hamilton who already worked with U2, Madonna… Well you won't only see the bands but also an amazing crowd (yeah !!! we can hear them !!!) so at the end really it's only perfection, the best line up, the best set list, the best sound.. it's great…

My only regret actually comes from the extras. There is only a little documentary and a photo album. Nothing great but on the other hand if you want to see a great live, at least you have it so who care of the bonuses?

If you're a fan of the Whitesnake, if you like Hard Rock in general "Live… In The Still Of The Night" is a MUST. Really it's hard to find a lot of better DVD so run to your record shop and buy it god damn!!! "Live… In The Still Of The Night" is an amazing DVD !!!

Written by Jeff | 17.02.2006



Comments: 7   Visited by: 23 users
06.06.2006 - 02:26
Lord of the Mosh
I have one comment aobut this DVD: DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!
This DVD is censored - multiple instances of the F word being muted out - and no true fan of any music genre (especially metal) should support censorship in any form. I have already personally sent multiple emails to the band, the studio, the production company, the retailer where I purchased this DVD, and even the band's PR firm urging them to issue a public apology to fans and offer an uncensored version to those of us who wish to have one.
Despite everything good about this DVD (and Jeff's review is spot-on - this DVD kicks ass) we should not be supporting censorship. If there had been a version with an explicit lyrics sticker and another one marked as "edited for content" I would be okay with this - but to censor it outright with no notification to the consumer is outrageous behaviour that cannot be tolerated.
18.07.2006 - 05:00
Vinnie R.
Chido Chido
but is withesnake, c'mon i like a lot!
20.08.2006 - 23:43
Jason W.
@Lord ofthe Mosh, yes, I am with you 100% on this. The censorship really destroys parts of the DVD, and, while I still am happy about the purchase, I have a bitter taste in my mouth because of it. This is a near 10 DVD and it's ruined by a pathetic record company's decisions.
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
22.08.2006 - 11:24
Freaky Admin
It's weird, because on my preview version (European) I didn't find any censorship on it
Come with us to Hellfest 2011!
22.08.2006 - 17:43
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Jeff on 22.08.2006 at 11:24

It's weird, because on my preview version (European) I didn't find any censorship on it

May it is only censored for the US market and not for the "normal" european market.
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

22.08.2006 - 23:36
Jason W.
Well if that's true then I feel used I did check out the amazon.de website and it's distributed by a different company, but I don't know if that's what the difference is. The censorship is subtly done, but anyone paying attention to it closely will notice it on the (presumably) NTSC version...
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
06.12.2012 - 19:08
Fantastic concert1!

Hits total: 10812 | This month: 18