Rating:
8.4
Immortal - Pure Holocaust
1993


01. Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss
02. A Sign For The Norse Hordes To Ride
03. The Sun No Longer Rises
04. Frozen By Icewinds
05. Storming Through Red Clouds And Holocaustwinds
06. Eternal Years On The Path To The Cemetary Gates
07. As The Eternity Opens
08. Pure Holocaust


A lot of people think that black metal is a style based only on violence and absence of harmony, that there isn't a connection between the music and the lyrics, and that it's only Satanic stuff. These people are wrong and albums like "Pure Holocaust" are the proof. Norwegian Black Metal band Immortal (R.I.P.) has made history in its genre, changing the style after 1997 into a kind of Thrash/Black that brought the band under the lore of the Label Nuclear Blast. But I'm not here to tell the story of one of the greatest bands ever, so let's review the second work of the Norwegian black metallers.

After the debut album "Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism," which was created by Abbath and Demonaz (at the time thy were both about 17 years old), they decided to make something stronger and nearer to what is a "frozen tempest chaos." This project would be reached only with "Battles In The North," but "Pure Holocaust" is a passage-point and it's really important for this band. Each song shines of its own frozen and cold light. At the first listening the album sounds like a tempest that brings us into the world of Blashyrkh on which the lyrics of this band are based (and it's also the beautiful lyrics that make this album so great). "Unsilent Storms In The North Abyss" is the beginning. The first notes are really catchy, then the true riffing of the band (cold and fast) starts, Abbath is greater than ever. Another great song is "Frozen By Icewinds" which has a quite slow guitar introduction; riffs are mighty (great is the work of Erik on the drums), the song finishes with a great solo by Demonaz which makes this song one of the classics of this band. Another great piece of this album is "As The Eternity Opens" which gives the impression of infinity. All the other songs are great, I nominated only the best.
Though this album is not the best of this band, I think that deserves to be bought for all the black metal fans.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 7


Band profile: Immortal
Album: Pure Holocaust


 


written by dark awakening | 16.06.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 24  
Users visited: 169  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 20.07.2006 at 19:25  
That's really a good album!
RavenLord - 20.07.2006 at 20:45  
Hmmm...the review's a bit brief (not bad, but could do with a bit more detail of the songs), but the verdict is correct. Pure Holocaust is truly a seminal BM album, and yet doesn't get caught in the cliches of the genre (satanism, loss of all riff/melody structure to production etc.); a damn good LP!
Invoked - 24.09.2006 at 04:56  
I disagree, BITN was good but definately not better. "Pure Holocaust" is Immortal at their finest moment. Their playing and songwriting talents are unmatched in the hectic world of black metal.
Ulven i Manden - 30.11.2006 at 23:23  
"Pure Holocaust" is pure Black Metal... it shines bright, black light...
Great, strong and fast album with amazing, dark songs...
One of my favourite Immortal LP...
IhsahnFan - 27.12.2006 at 20:30  
Great album!
Paganblood - 06.01.2007 at 15:32  
good review, but imo rating 9 would have been better.
Metalhead2 - 18.04.2008 at 12:35  
yeah awesome album but too low rating
-DC-002- - 24.04.2008 at 12:41  
any album with Darth Vaders theme in the title track gets a 10 from me. Plus its my favorite Immortal Release.
the napalm rain - 16.12.2008 at 20:33  
Pure Holocaust means so much... I'm getting lost when I listen the song "as the eternity opens". Abbath's and Demonaz's song writing ability is really creative. I don't know why the reviewer gave to the production 7.. For the studios and recording systems in those years I think its perfect.
dark awakening - 16.12.2008 at 21:38  
Written by the napalm rain on 16.12.2008 at 20:33

Pure Holocaust means so much... I'm getting lost when I listen the song "as the eternity opens". Abbath's and Demonaz's song writing ability is really creative. I don't know why the reviewer gave to the production 7.. For the studios and recording systems in those years I think its perfect.

There are albums produced 5-6 years before than this that have a far better level of production.
the napalm rain - 16.12.2008 at 22:56  
I'm also sad for the people which put videos about Immortal on youtube especially "call of the wintermoon" they can't imagine anything, they don't hear what the songs tell... these idiots only watch and humiliate.
Daggon - 03.03.2009 at 06:32  
The first album I listened from Immortal and still is one of my favorite BM albums, it is just too good, I don't have any problems to listen this again and again yeah!!!
Uirapuru - 23.05.2009 at 04:18  
After listening to the excellent ''Diabolical Fullmoon Mysticism'', this one seems a little worse. But still a very good piece of Black metal. This album is way brutal than many other from the band, but at the same time present the cold/horror atmospheric feeling that makes Black metal so great. Very good.
Lord_Regnier - 23.05.2009 at 04:41  
Excellent album. I couldn't tell if it's my favorite, simply because I like all Immortal albums.

There's a mistake in the review. Erik Brodreskift (Grim) didn't play drums on "Pure Holocaust", even if he appears on the cover. Drums were played by Abbath. When Erik joined Immortal, the album was not released yet but the recording was already done.
Smurfophagist - 06.06.2009 at 19:12  
Nice review, but I think that the rating is a bit low. This is a black metal masterpiece.
SatyriconChick - 12.11.2009 at 23:45  
First Immortal album I ever got. Awesome stuff, probably enjoyed it better than Battles In the North.
Vitriolic Hate - 03.12.2009 at 22:39  
Good album
qlacs - 11.08.2010 at 13:27  
Songwriting: 9
originality: 9
Just imagine yourself in 1993, when most black metal bands still played bad stuff (Satyricon and Dimmu B just debuted, Emperor is nowhere, Marduk sucked, Transylvanian Hunger and De Mysteriis Dom Satanas was released only in 1994), and this album comes up with a disturbing title like this.
RavenKing - 11.08.2010 at 13:57  
Written by qlacs on 11.08.2010 at 13:27

Satyricon and Dimmu B just debuted


Satyricon released their best stuff in their early days, before they turned to black'n'roll shit.
As for Dimmu, I never liked anything from this extremely overrated band.
Necronus - 11.08.2010 at 21:13  
Quote:
black'n'roll


Please tell me that's not an actual genre.
RavenKing - 12.08.2010 at 00:19  
Written by Necronus on 11.08.2010 at 21:13

Quote:
black'n'roll


Please tell me that's not an actual genre.


It's a term used for some stuff like modern Shittyricon and Darkthrone's crust punk era.
Troy Killjoy - 12.08.2010 at 07:49  
Written by Necronus on 11.08.2010 at 21:13

Quote:
black'n'roll


Please tell me that's not an actual genre.


You know it is!

I reviewed a black'n'roll band a while ago called LIK. Their discography page has links to all three of my reviews.

And ya, some people use the term loosely when referring to modern/popular melodic black "metal".
BeastOfMetal456 - 17.09.2011 at 14:55  
Great album, and yes, I agree about the production... This album could use a re-master. And I personally prefer Battles.
@gent_-_orange - 14.04.2012 at 01:36  
Written by Guest on 17.09.2011 at 14:55

Great album, and yes, I agree about the production... This album could use a re-master. And I personally prefer Battles.

Ceremonial Hymns Of The Purest Blasphemy.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Immortal - Pure Holocaust 6 17.09.2011 by
Reviews Dark Tranquillity - The Mind's I 5 30.07.2006 by dark awakening
Reviews Summoning - Dol Guldur 5 26.08.2006 by dark awakening
Reviews Riverside - Second Life Syndrome 4.5 16.10.2007 by BloodTears
Reviews Dark Funeral - The Secrets Of The Black Arts 4.5 11.07.2006 by Susan



Hits total: 7214 | This month: 41