Bandcamp music player

Rating:
6.4
Skinless - Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead
2006


01. Overlord
02. A Unilateral Disgust
03. Deviation Will Not Be Tolerated
04. Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead
05. Spoils Of The Sycophant
06. Endvisioned
07. Execution Of Reason
08. Wicked World [Black Sabbath cover]


I hate bands with that old "Look at me, I am gore because I have blood on my logo" vibe going on; for me those bands are just wannabes trying to reach something already achieved by someone else you know? Skinless is one of those bands, I was really curious about their new album though, as some reviews had words like "Groundbreaking" and "better and more brutal than ever". Now, this is just what I think of this album.

Well, it is not groundbreaking at all; in fact this album is just a piece of the same pie, you'll get a bunch of dudes trying to be cooler than Mortician and more brutal than Torsofuck by adding audio clips and down-tuned bass-lines. Yes their music is quite catchy, but their songwriting totally sucks; why the fuck do we need groove and catchiness when the whole structure sounds more disorganized than a pile of dinosaur crap (see Jurassic Park man!), the band doesn't sound tight, on the contrary, they sound unassembled and really rigid with their instruments and that's a big turn-off.

So this band is not original by any means, their songwriting skills are 0.1% accurate and their whole concept is cheesy as a Dr. Seuss book. Hey they still can be brutal you know? That's the only thing I give to this album, the amount of brutal riffs are enough for any Beheaded fan to be happy, they deliver brutality all over the place indeed, the drumming is diarrhea-fast and the vocals are average, yet brutal, grunts. So this is were the album gets some points, if you are looking for unstructured brutality filled with gaps and a bad execution…look no further as Skinless did this album just for you.

I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings, I can picture some Skinless aficionado crying while reading this review, but sorry my friend, this is just another average band releasing an average album with insanely average music. I can recommend you too go for good brutal bands like Devourment, Dripping or Prostitute Disfigurement, at least those names are not boring as the old "let's see how many red cars pass along the highway" game.

Seriously, this band is presenting low-quality brutal death metal, don't buy this album and spend your money in better things…like hookers for example

Best Tracks: "Deviation Will Not Be Tolerated"

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Skinless
Album: Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead


 


written by Herzebeth | 18.06.2006



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 115  
Search this topic:  


Mariusz - 19.06.2006 at 02:36  
Skinlees - they have the old school death metal sound, good sound and good stuff for me.
ThunderAxe1989 - 19.06.2006 at 03:05  
If i actually liked brutal death metal, i would be a huge fan ov theirs!

dude if you claim to think so little ov the band, then howcome at the end, you have them such good ratings out ov 10?
Shadowthrone - 23.06.2006 at 11:08  
yeah
Cryptorium - 25.06.2006 at 01:43  
they deserve a 0 out of 10
Dangerboner - 25.06.2006 at 06:40  
I'll be happy if I never hear their attempt at a Black Sabbath cover.
Stigmatized - 16.07.2006 at 16:49  
Written by Dangerboner on 25.06.2006 at 06:40

I'll be happy if I never hear their attempt at a Black Sabbath cover.


Damn, is this band really that bad?
Puff - 08.10.2006 at 19:55  
I think they are pretty good. Not original, but good.

And they are great live.
spirit_inblack - 08.10.2006 at 22:36  
I think that Skinless are a decent band with some good tunes. Very intense live. Like pyroleprechaun said they are not horrible, but their not great.
Hybrid_Killer - 30.01.2007 at 14:31  
I'm not sure what you guys are hearing lol, but this sounds real good to me.

The riffs and vocals are very well done.

A very good listen imo.
Xtreme Jax - 30.01.2007 at 15:15  
Didnt mind them live personally, though dont find them very orginal.

Not bad, worth the 6.4
grind_vengeance - 25.02.2007 at 03:03  
Definitely pretty fuckin heavy, but not necessarily that original.

Then again, who really is nowadays? Everyone's imitating someone - some bands just make the unfortunate decision of choosing the same sound to imitate as a lot of other bands did.
Mental_Orgasm - 08.04.2007 at 13:24  
wtf?! this cd is fukin mad, top death metal if u ask me
DoomGuard - 16.01.2008 at 06:54  
Totally disagree with this review, one hundred percent

this album is amazing, i actually talked to the guitarist when they came to Fort Worth and he said they didn't wanna try and be fancy on this album...

This was definately the most brutal album of '06 unless u can show me something even more brutal
munson - 09.04.2009 at 08:18  
While not very original, and pretty simple, this album is awesome. You're really going to criticize them that much for not being original and writing fairly simple music? Sort of lame. For this style, I think this album is near the top. Album gets an 8 from me.
blackwreath - 12.09.2009 at 12:00  
Overlord is one hell of an opener if you ask me.

And i'm not being biased just because i'm a Planet Of The Apes fanatic.
Tatras - 03.02.2011 at 20:45  
Great album. Pointless review. You don't like this kind of metal, don't review it. I mostly don't like black metal so i am not rating it.
Boxcar Willy - 28.08.2011 at 19:13  
I like this album... its not great but worth like a 7
Butters49 - 13.10.2011 at 05:28  
Quote:
I hate bands with that old "Look at me, I am gore because I have blood on my logo" vibe going on; for me those bands are just wannabes trying to reach something already achieved by someone else you know?


this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.
Troy Killjoy - 13.10.2011 at 06:06  
Written by Butters49 on 13.10.2011 at 05:28
this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.

You're talking about Herz man... That's far from the dumbest thing even he ever said.
Absak - 11.11.2011 at 15:37  
He said this album is more boring than the posterboy for overrated brutal death metal, Devourment (they might be the most influential slam band, but damn, they are boring). What the hell is that about? I'd give this at least an 8 though.
Troy Killjoy - 11.11.2011 at 19:41  
This is a pretty good album, but it doesn't hold a candle to Devourment.
Boxcar Willy - 18.03.2012 at 19:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.10.2011 at 06:06

Written by Butters49 on 13.10.2011 at 05:28
this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.

You're talking about Herz man... That's far from the dumbest thing even he ever said.



Oh man that was funny.
CivilSavageFan - 06.08.2012 at 03:42  
You know what i hate Herzebeth?
fucking assholes that think every band's album/songs should be a god dam symphony written by god Odin's dick to be considered a good band.
skinless is an awesome band. When im driving down the road sometimes i like to listen to some head banging shit. And skinless was a good headbanging band. Period. They threw good shows and im a little upset they disbanded.

You wanna rip on a band. Laugh at that retarded austrian death band that wants to be cool like arnold shwartz.
They are fucking garbage. I feel like kicking an arab in the dick every time i hear that shit. =)
Troy Killjoy - 06.08.2012 at 04:19  
Written by CivilSavageFan on 06.08.2012 at 03:42
You know what i hate Herzebeth?

Judging by that post, I'm assuming you have a strong hatred for a lot of things. Way to overreact to a different opinion.
RottingDeathHead - 18.01.2013 at 20:53  
Damn wish I wasnt broke I'd actually go out and buy this album
caisnore - 26.10.2013 at 18:24  
Been listening to skinless for a long time now and i disagree with the review comopletely. This isn't my favorite skinless album but it's still listen to casually and bullshit with friends and just stop mid conversation and be like "this is fricken heavy and awesome" I give it about an 8 or 9

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ganon - In The Dead Of Sleep 6 06.10.2006 by
Reviews Circle Of Dead Children - Psalm Of The Grand Destroyer 6 27.07.2010 by vezzy
Reviews Fuck I'm Dead - Bring On The Dead 6 15.10.2008 by Introspekrieg
Articles Horror Review #1 "Night Of The Living Dead" by George A. Romero 5 15.10.2007 by Herzebeth
Reviews Human Artifacts - The Principles Of Sickness 4.5 26.05.2007 by Dangerboner



Hits total: 6219 | This month: 45