Skinless - Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
6.4

64 users:
8.30
Band: Skinless
Album: Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead
Release date: 2006


01. Overlord
02. A Unilateral Disgust
03. Deviation Will Not Be Tolerated
04. Trample The Weak, Hurdle The Dead
05. Spoils Of The Sycophant
06. Endvisioned
07. Execution Of Reason
08. Wicked World [Black Sabbath cover]


I hate bands with that old "Look at me, I am gore because I have blood on my logo" vibe going on; for me those bands are just wannabes trying to reach something already achieved by someone else you know? Skinless is one of those bands, I was really curious about their new album though, as some reviews had words like "Groundbreaking" and "better and more brutal than ever". Now, this is just what I think of this album.

Well, it is not groundbreaking at all; in fact this album is just a piece of the same pie, you'll get a bunch of dudes trying to be cooler than Mortician and more brutal than Torsofuck by adding audio clips and down-tuned bass-lines. Yes their music is quite catchy, but their songwriting totally sucks; why the fuck do we need groove and catchiness when the whole structure sounds more disorganized than a pile of dinosaur crap (see Jurassic Park man!), the band doesn't sound tight, on the contrary, they sound unassembled and really rigid with their instruments and that's a big turn-off.

So this band is not original by any means, their songwriting skills are 0.1% accurate and their whole concept is cheesy as a Dr. Seuss book. Hey they still can be brutal you know? That's the only thing I give to this album, the amount of brutal riffs are enough for any Beheaded fan to be happy, they deliver brutality all over the place indeed, the drumming is diarrhea-fast and the vocals are average, yet brutal, grunts. So this is were the album gets some points, if you are looking for unstructured brutality filled with gaps and a bad execution…look no further as Skinless did this album just for you.

I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings, I can picture some Skinless aficionado crying while reading this review, but sorry my friend, this is just another average band releasing an average album with insanely average music. I can recommend you too go for good brutal bands like Devourment, Dripping or Prostitute Disfigurement, at least those names are not boring as the old "let's see how many red cars pass along the highway" game.

Seriously, this band is presenting low-quality brutal death metal, don't buy this album and spend your money in better things…like hookers for example

Best Tracks: "Deviation Will Not Be Tolerated"


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 9

Written by Herzebeth | 18.06.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 26   Visited by: 128 users
19.06.2006 - 02:36
Mariusz
Account deleted
Skinlees - they have the old school death metal sound, good sound and good stuff for me.
Loading...
19.06.2006 - 03:05
ThunderAxe1989
Irreligious
If i actually liked brutal death metal, i would be a huge fan ov theirs!

dude if you claim to think so little ov the band, then howcome at the end, you have them such good ratings out ov 10?
Loading...
23.06.2006 - 11:08
Shadowthrone
yeah
Loading...
25.06.2006 - 01:43
Cryptorium
Account deleted
they deserve a 0 out of 10
Loading...
25.06.2006 - 06:40
Dangerboner
:D
I'll be happy if I never hear their attempt at a Black Sabbath cover.
Loading...
16.07.2006 - 16:49
Stigmatized
..........
Written by Dangerboner on 25.06.2006 at 06:40

I'll be happy if I never hear their attempt at a Black Sabbath cover.


Damn, is this band really that bad?
Loading...
08.10.2006 - 19:55
Puff
The Forlorn
I think they are pretty good. Not original, but good.

And they are great live.
----
Loading...
08.10.2006 - 22:36
spirit_inblack
harshhead
I think that Skinless are a decent band with some good tunes. Very intense live. Like pyroleprechaun said they are not horrible, but their not great.
Loading...
30.01.2007 - 14:31
Hybrid_Killer
Account deleted
I'm not sure what you guys are hearing lol, but this sounds real good to me.

The riffs and vocals are very well done.

A very good listen imo.
Loading...
30.01.2007 - 15:15
Xtreme Jax
Psycroptipath
Didnt mind them live personally, though dont find them very orginal.

Not bad, worth the 6.4
----

Hellcunt Smurf
Loading...
25.02.2007 - 03:03
grind_vengeance
Account deleted
Definitely pretty fuckin heavy, but not necessarily that original.

Then again, who really is nowadays? Everyone's imitating someone - some bands just make the unfortunate decision of choosing the same sound to imitate as a lot of other bands did.
Loading...
08.04.2007 - 13:24
Mental_Orgasm
Account deleted
wtf?! this cd is fukin mad, top death metal if u ask me
Loading...
16.01.2008 - 06:54
DoomGuard
Totally disagree with this review, one hundred percent

this album is amazing, i actually talked to the guitarist when they came to Fort Worth and he said they didn't wanna try and be fancy on this album...

This was definately the most brutal album of '06 unless u can show me something even more brutal
Loading...
09.04.2009 - 08:18
munson
While not very original, and pretty simple, this album is awesome. You're really going to criticize them that much for not being original and writing fairly simple music? Sort of lame. For this style, I think this album is near the top. Album gets an 8 from me.
----
http://www.last.fm/user/munson3210
http://www.theheaviestmatteroftheuniverse.com
Loading...
12.09.2009 - 12:00
blackwreath
Overlord is one hell of an opener if you ask me.

And i'm not being biased just because i'm a Planet Of The Apes fanatic.
Loading...
03.02.2011 - 20:45
Tatras
Great album. Pointless review. You don't like this kind of metal, don't review it. I mostly don't like black metal so i am not rating it.
Loading...
28.08.2011 - 19:13
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I like this album... its not great but worth like a 7
----
forever bummed out // Sometimes Pro Motocross racer, check my instagram @tanner741
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 05:28
Butters49
Quote:
I hate bands with that old "Look at me, I am gore because I have blood on my logo" vibe going on; for me those bands are just wannabes trying to reach something already achieved by someone else you know?


this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.
----
"Sataaaaaaaaan. Yeah yeah!"
-King Diamond
Loading...
13.10.2011 - 06:06
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Butters49 on 13.10.2011 at 05:28
this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.

You're talking about Herz man... That's far from the dumbest thing even he ever said.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.11.2011 - 15:37
Absak
He said this album is more boring than the posterboy for overrated brutal death metal, Devourment (they might be the most influential slam band, but damn, they are boring). What the hell is that about? I'd give this at least an 8 though.
Loading...
11.11.2011 - 19:41
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
This is a pretty good album, but it doesn't hold a candle to Devourment.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.03.2012 - 19:05
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.10.2011 at 06:06

Written by Butters49 on 13.10.2011 at 05:28
this is quite possibly the dumbest thing ever said.

You're talking about Herz man... That's far from the dumbest thing even he ever said.



Oh man that was funny.
----
forever bummed out // Sometimes Pro Motocross racer, check my instagram @tanner741
Loading...
06.08.2012 - 03:42
CivilSavageFan
You know what i hate Herzebeth?
fucking assholes that think every band's album/songs should be a god dam symphony written by god Odin's dick to be considered a good band.
skinless is an awesome band. When im driving down the road sometimes i like to listen to some head banging shit. And skinless was a good headbanging band. Period. They threw good shows and im a little upset they disbanded.

You wanna rip on a band. Laugh at that retarded austrian death band that wants to be cool like arnold shwartz.
They are fucking garbage. I feel like kicking an arab in the dick every time i hear that shit. =)
Loading...
06.08.2012 - 04:19
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by CivilSavageFan on 06.08.2012 at 03:42
You know what i hate Herzebeth?

Judging by that post, I'm assuming you have a strong hatred for a lot of things. Way to overreact to a different opinion.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.01.2013 - 20:53
RottingDeathHead
kingnothing_92@yahoo.com
Damn wish I wasnt broke I'd actually go out and buy this album
Loading...
26.10.2013 - 18:24
caisnore
Been listening to skinless for a long time now and i disagree with the review comopletely. This isn't my favorite skinless album but it's still listen to casually and bullshit with friends and just stop mid conversation and be like "this is fricken heavy and awesome" I give it about an 8 or 9
Loading...

Hits total: 7106 | This month: 16