Rating:
10
Opeth - Morningrise
24 June 1996


01. Advent
02. The Night And The Silent Water
03. Nectar
04. Black Rose Immortal
05. To Bid You Farewell
06. Eternal Soul Torture [2000 reissue bonus]


Actually, many people know Opeth. It is a love it or hate it band. You can love how the music flows without following typical structures. You won't expect those heavy riffs after the relaxing acoustic break. But you can hate how each song looks like some random riffs put together. Well, this review is from one who does love, at least, this album.

Well, I think we all know Opeth. Mostly long songs (in this album, we can say every song is long, the shortest is 10 minutes!), in which some riffs, which usually repeat for quite a while, make the music and don't follow the typical structure that other songs have. Don't expect a chorus or melodies to sing along with; just the music and the atmosphere it leaves. It is first progressive, not only for the already mentioned song structure but the technicality of each of the band members. You can find no weak point here because there isn't an instrument that shines more than the others. Even the bass, an instrument that is almost impossible to hear in extreme music is very easy to listen to here. The music is, either heavy, with growls, or acoustic with clean voices. Mostly midpaced or a bit slow. It isn't too much fast music here, but there are some riffs you can headbang to.

Even at first you will think of the album as a whole, later you will be able to separate each of the songs because each one is a piece of art by itself: the amazing riffs of "Advent," the epic closure of "The Night And The Silent Water," the magic (and amazing solo) of "Nectar," the epic (and the song that has one of the best guitar solos, or maybe the best) "Black Rose Immortal," the beautiful mostly-acoustic ballad "To Bid You Farewell."

I recommend this album to people who love music, because if they like what they play, they will love it. I can't think of any other bands that can play better than them this kind of music. But those people who just like heavy music and get pissed by the acoustic breaks, or that can't find a chorus to sing in the shower, sorry, but you have lost the opportunity to really enjoy life. This is, indeed, magic.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Opeth
Album: Morningrise


 


written by Talvi | 22.07.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
marco

Rating:
10
Before we get to this album, I would like to get an answer to a rather difficult question. Exactly what is Opeth's style ? The riffs are similar to progressive, but Opeth also has death vocals mixed with clean ones and acoustic guitars, plus on top of that the whole album has a dark atmosphere that surrounds the listener each time he/she listens to it. Here you will find everything, aggression and emotion, calm and anger, heaviness and mellowness, everything in one song, yet never sounding like different parts, but always in a flow.

Read more ››
published 18.09.2003 | Comments (6)

Guest review by
ToMegaTherion

Rating:
9.0
Many questions have been asked of the style and coherence of Opeth's music. Yet despite the debate and questioning Opeth remain one of the world's leading metal bands. The first of a long line of excellent albums by Opeth was released following their debut Orchid the year before. Morningrise is often regarded as the defining album for the band with a diverse range of sounds, often confusing in composition but nevertheless contrived expertly. It is an epic album full of epic songs, with elements of Death Metal and acoustic blues to mix things up. The album progresses and weaves through a barrage of riffs, solos and an undying unprecedented patience and passion for the music expressed by Mikael Akerfeldt.

Read more ››
published 01.10.2009 | Comments (20)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 28  
Users visited: 178  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 05.08.2006 at 13:07  
Great review!
Damnated - 05.08.2006 at 13:12  
Great review, this is my fav album of Opeth. your 10 is a good rating
Talvi - 06.08.2006 at 15:31  
Yes, well, I don't want to look like a fanboy, having 2 reviews with a 10 rating... but I only have 3 albums in mind I'd rate with 10
Passenger - 09.12.2006 at 02:24  
This is not my favourite Opeth album, but anything this band does is great, and everyone has his own personal favourite. Good review.
Bitch Boy - 28.05.2007 at 06:15  
It's a very good album indeed but not Opeth's best for me, I wouldn't have given the production a 10.
Talvi - 29.05.2007 at 00:09  
Written by Bitch Boy on 28.05.2007 at 06:15

It's a very good album indeed but not Opeth's best for me, I wouldn't have given the production a 10.


You are right. I would recheck all of my ratings if I could.
Doc Godin - 16.02.2008 at 08:16  
Its great....not 10 great though. Then again I really dont consider anything (anymore) worth a 10. Im not a big fan of the bass sound on it.
Mr. Doctor - 16.02.2008 at 13:58  
Kinda too overrated... but this album is for me a 9,5...

The best album by Opeth IMO...
It just kick as the rest.
It's more beautiful
I'm with Dr.Rock... I don't believe in perfection, so that's why this album can't be a 10.
BloodTears - 17.02.2008 at 11:58  
Its not my Opeth's favourite, by no means but it indeed a wonderful piece. I don't think it deserves such a high rating either.

I still prefer my "Orchid" and "My Arms, Your Hearse" and "Still Life". Although it must be said that morningrise has beautiful passages, the lyrics are superior as always and the arrangements are quite good.
Talvi - 17.02.2008 at 12:33  
To all that say that this doesn't deserve a 10: I agree, and I don't like any rating from my old reviews, so stop with it please.
BloodTears - 17.02.2008 at 23:51  
Written by Talvi on 17.02.2008 at 12:33

To all that say that this doesn't deserve a 10: I agree, and I don't like any rating from my old reviews, so stop with it please.


I didn't mean to bother you, sorry.
Talvi - 18.02.2008 at 01:10  
Written by BloodTears on 17.02.2008 at 23:51

Written by Talvi on 17.02.2008 at 12:33

To all that say that this doesn't deserve a 10: I agree, and I don't like any rating from my old reviews, so stop with it please.


I didn't mean to bother you, sorry.


Na, I'm sorry if I was so harsh. 3 comments in a row dealing with the same subject, that I said on my last comment, so well. You didn't bother ^^
BloodTears - 18.02.2008 at 11:13  
Written by Talvi on 18.02.2008 at 01:10

Written by BloodTears on 17.02.2008 at 23:51

Written by Talvi on 17.02.2008 at 12:33

To all that say that this doesn't deserve a 10: I agree, and I don't like any rating from my old reviews, so stop with it please.


I didn't mean to bother you, sorry.


Na, I'm sorry if I was so harsh. 3 comments in a row dealing with the same subject, that I said on my last comment, so well. You didn't bother ^^


People usually talk about the rating when they comment on reviews. But I'm glad you're ok
Introspekrieg - 18.02.2008 at 13:20  
Written by Doc Godin on 16.02.2008 at 08:16

Its great....not 10 great though. Then again I really dont consider anything (anymore) worth a 10. Im not a big fan of the bass sound on it.


Damn, the bass sound is what I miss the most. No other Opeth album come close, except maybe Still Life. This was my first Opeth album a few years ago and I listened to it non-stop throughout the winter, a few camping trips included. Listening to "Nectar" under the starlit forest canopy changed my whole perspective on life...
Doc Godin - 20.02.2008 at 07:09  
Written by Introspekrieg on 18.02.2008 at 13:20

Written by Doc Godin on 16.02.2008 at 08:16

Its great....not 10 great though. Then again I really dont consider anything (anymore) worth a 10. Im not a big fan of the bass sound on it.


Damn, the bass sound is what I miss the most. No other Opeth album come close, except maybe Still Life. This was my first Opeth album a few years ago and I listened to it non-stop throughout the winter, a few camping trips included. Listening to "Nectar" under the starlit forest canopy changed my whole perspective on life...

Strange, Still Life had my favorite bass sound, very jazzy.
ß - 23.02.2008 at 04:26  
Alright cd not really a huge fan of Morningrise and same goes with MAYH and Orchid. But I enjoy basically everything after Still Life.
Evil Chip - 06.03.2008 at 00:11  
Amazing Review, Opeth is an unique band and this album for me may not be their best but its a music masterpiece still.
Elio - 03.07.2008 at 20:35  
this is not my favourite opeth album, but nectar O.O to it's between 8.5 and 9...to me the best are orchid and still life which I give 10
AngelOfDisease - 16.02.2009 at 23:45  
Probably my favorite Opeth album along with BWP...
this is the album that got me into them
Ellrohir - 17.02.2009 at 00:19  
For me the best album by them
Xeros612 - 23.03.2009 at 14:38  
This has to be my personal favorite of the Opeth albums. Great sound, epic lengths, plus it's lacking one of the elements of more modern albums that I don't particularly care for.(The church organ.... just doesn't sound good IMO)

However, I really don't think we need people coming in and complaining about the rating one person gives to an album.
Uirapuru - 08.06.2009 at 09:44  
Good album. Much better than Orchid. ''The Night And The Silent Water'' is my favorite track.
Solstafir! - 13.09.2009 at 14:38  
"Advent" is a phenomenal opener to a slightly different sounding Opeth...
The production really kind of repelled me at the start but I found myself playing it quite regularly...
Great album!
Array - 18.01.2010 at 20:35  
Perfect. Wouldn't change a thing.
advent - 18.09.2010 at 03:50  
Written by Talvi on 17.02.2008 at 12:33

To all that say that this doesn't deserve a 10: I agree, and I don't like any rating from my old reviews, so stop with it please.

Nothing to be shame of here, i think it deserves the rating, it's perfection to me
BlankFile - 21.02.2011 at 19:14  
Advent Advent Advent.... Im hipnotized. This is one of the best albums ever released by a Metal band. Its pure dark magic! Perfection yes.
musclassia - 26.06.2011 at 02:26  
Every time I listen to it, Advent sets things off well, and then The Night And The Silent Water and Nectar remind me why this is the best Opeth album, and by the end of Black Rose Immortal I am just in awe - that song beats anything Opeth has done before and since, and theyve done a whole heap of amazing stuff in that time.
JaviML - 01.01.2014 at 04:42  
As many of the comments before, I wouldn't give a rating of 10 in production. I feel it lacks deepness, although you can hear the bass, it doesn't seem to fill the sound, which leaves the guitars kind of dry (really don't know if that makes any sense).
In The Roundhouse Tapes, The Night And The Silent Water sounds incredible, one of my favorites in that album.
Can't argue with the fact that originality, songwriting and performance deserve perfect score.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Opeth - Morningrise 5.5 30.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Opeth - Morningrise 5.5 01.10.2009 by Introspekrieg
Albums Opeth - Morningrise 4.5 22.01.2010 by advent
Albums Opeth - The Devil's Orchard - Live At Rock Hard Festival [Live] 3 11.08.2011 by AXA
Albums Opeth - Damnation 3 11.03.2011 by Introspekrieg



Hits total: 8049 | This month: 69