Rating:
8.0
Opeth - Orchid
15 May 1995


01. In Mist She Was Standing
02. Under The Weeping Moon
03. Silhouette
04. Forest Of October
05. The Twilight Is My Robe
06. Requiem
07. The Apostle In Triumph
08. Into The Frost Of Winter [2000 and 2003 re-release bonus]


Opeth's debut album Orchid released in 1995 is a keeper. It isn't mentioned much by Opeth fans but it is certainly a lost treasure. New fans will stray from the album as more reviewers simply write the album off as being 'brutal' and 'sloppy' or 'solid death metal' as what I have read. The thing is that Orchid is just as diverse as Blackwater Park or their latest release, Ghost Reveries. Presented in Orchid is what will become of Opeth on a grand scale: brutal, melodic, acoustic, alternative, emotional and heartfelt by placing melodic death metal alongside acoustic and clean electric guitar rock.

An equal range of guttural and clean vocals is still in full form on Orchid. They are more raspy and poorly produced, many of the lyrics unlistenable at times. They come across as loud roars and screams. Many reviews I've read have said that there are only death metal vocals on the album; apparently, they didn't listen to the album at all or at least didn't listen the whole way through. However, guttural death metal vocals do show up more then the clean and there is an imbalance on Orchid; that would mean that sizing the vocal diversity on this album up with a later release would be unjust. Orchid oddly contains more acoustic guitar trinkets then some later albums, played by themselves with no instrumental accompaniment.

Although Orchid is nothing like the band's further evolution into stunning masterpieces like My Arms, Your Hearse, Blackwater Park or the brilliantly dark acoustic Damnation, Orchid still needs to be mentioned in any topic of Opeth because their musical diversity can be traced back to this album. If Opeth put out a debut album which was just death metal, then Orchid could be written off as an album where they didn't know what they were doing and hadn't stretched out their musical wings. The thing is that Mikael Åkerfeldt and his gang knew exactly what they were doing right from the beginning and it really shows on their debut album Orchid.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 10
Production: 7


Band profile: Opeth
Album: Orchid


 


written by Kap'N Korrupt | 17.08.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 34  
Users visited: 274  
Search this topic:  


Passenger - 17.08.2006 at 21:30  
Opeth's best pre-Still Life album in my opinion.
Damnated - 17.08.2006 at 22:11  
I pretty much agree with Kap. I don't know why ppl label it as 'just another melo death album'. It's not. It has clear progressive elements, not as much as on the later albums, but it's not plain, simple, boring melo death
lordz - 17.08.2006 at 23:18  
This album is a classic although I hate long songs that strech over 10 minutes ... I will give these guys an exception
Kap'N Korrupt - 18.08.2006 at 01:17  
thanks for the comments guys...word needs to get out that this album is just as strong as their other stuff
ylside - 19.08.2006 at 01:24  
That's in my opinion the best album Opeth recorded up to now!
bangladesh - 12.10.2006 at 16:22  
The best Opeth album....it´s one step fordward morningrise, my 2nd. This album don´t have any average song, all the songs are fantastic. In the other albuns, (Except Morningrise and My harms) there are at least one or two songs that are not so good. This 3 firsts albuns are the best ones from Opeth and the 1st, Orchid, is the best album ever made from any band....8...have you eard the album???? or you only give a listen???? i believe in the 2nd because this whole album make that emotive feeling that only one or two songs from all the other albuns can make. that´s the reason for being the best.
Dreamwar_86 - 28.12.2006 at 08:45  
this album is so deep and so atmospheric i really enjoy it its one of my favorites , take a few listens to get into but its one of their best works
Kap'N Korrupt - 30.12.2006 at 21:08  
@InMist: Hey....chill....8/10 is good...that means that I like 80% of what they did...why the fuck would you think I didn't listen to the album...maybe instead of you telling me to listen to the album again, you should read my fucking review, not only the damn number...gawd...
Lokomotiv - 30.12.2006 at 22:37  
This is the only Opeth album I regulary listen to, since it's very haunting and I love its blackened atmosphere...
BloodTears - 31.12.2006 at 16:35  
It was the begining of magic. I agree that this album has not one bad song. We can see their agression since here. I think it has amasing lyrics as well. Its diverse and original like seems to be Opeth's trademark. This melodies just stay in your head, they are strong. Oh, and I love the bass in here. My love for this album grew over time. "My amrs, your hearse" was always my favourite album but "orchid" threatens to surpass it with time, i suppose.
spirit_inblack - 31.12.2006 at 20:21  
Not Opeth's best work, but it is better than some of their other albums. In the Mist She Was Standing is one of my top 5 Opeth songs. I love the riffs, but it would be better if there were more vocals. Silhouette has some beautiful piano work as well. One of my friends is trying to play it, but she is having a little bit of difficulty . I still like Morningrise better, but this is an essential Opeth realease.

@InMist everyone has their own personal thought about an album, and everyone's opinion should be respected. I find there are some flaws in Orchid, but if you think that it is Opeth's best album, i'll respect that. I won't go and get mad about your opinion. If everyone that listened to metal had the same opinion about every album, it would be boring.

[yay, 200th post]
lazarus - 20.03.2007 at 17:53  
Agree, they knew exactly what they wanted since the beginning and they did it
Dangerboner - 20.03.2007 at 21:16  
This has slowly become my favorite Opeth album. I like the piano song (track 3?) and I especially enjoy the clean vocals. Mikael doesn't sing often on this album, but when he does, it sounds pretty amazing.
Evil Chip - 08.03.2008 at 09:13  
Mikael Akerfeldt sounds amazing in this album.... well he always sounds good. Requiem is my favourite of this album.
Uirapuru - 24.03.2008 at 04:44  
i like their rythms.. but.. i've never seen whats so big about Opeth... why so much worship for this good/regular band (thats my opinion). Sure they have explendid guitar work, but only that is not enough. 10 minutes each song is such a exaggeration, i can easily get some sleep while listen to this album.
Besides all that, the album gets a 7 by me, for its legacy. Its not on my favorites list, but the band sure deserves a recognition for their success in the metal scene.
Shadowcross - 11.12.2008 at 02:07  
I think this is by far one of their best and musically divine albums... in essence perfect, 10/10 from me.
I agree with this review, how you say they knew what they wanted to do from the start.
Opeth is a special band in the way that they grow on most who listen to them, the appreciation needed can take years. It is the kind of music that you forget you are listening to, as it puts you in another place.
This is a very special album and should not be ignored by any fan.
If you really want to appreciate this, get really really stoned before listening to it, with the lyrics handy.
Warman - 11.12.2008 at 02:21  
"The thing is that Mikael Åkerfeldt and his gang knew exactly what they were doing right from the beginning and it really shows on their debut album Orchid."

EXACTLY what I believe too! Opeth did it right here with their debut. They actually almost peaked right away. Orchid can proudly stand together with all the other albums, actually hold its head up much taller than some of them (*coughs*"Ghost-Reveries"-and-"Deliverance"*coughs*). That they IMO already wrote their best song with "The Twillight is My Robe" (although they have a bunch of other songs equally good) says it all. At least for a big Opeth fan as myself.
Mr. Doctor - 11.12.2008 at 18:06  
Written by Warman on 11.12.2008 at 02:21

"The thing is that Mikael Åkerfeldt and his gang knew exactly what they were doing right from the beginning and it really shows on their debut album Orchid."

EXACTLY what I believe too! Opeth did it right here with their debut. They actually almost peaked right away. Orchid can proudly stand together with all the other albums, actually hold its head up much taller than some of them (*coughs*"Ghost-Reveries"-and-"Deliverance"*coughs*). That they IMO already wrote their best song with "The Twillight is My Robe" (although they have a bunch of other songs equally good) says it all. At least for a big Opeth fan as myself.


You can add Watershed to that () It's funny.. I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one that think that GR is fucking overrated.

This album is pure magic... and probably the darkest one. It's deadly serious. And the growls are out of this world... really haunting music.
Warman - 12.12.2008 at 00:08  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.12.2008 at 18:06

I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one that think that GR is fucking overrated.

It is overrated but I still like it though. It's a disgrace that the swedish Metal magazine "Close-Up" put it on the list of the "100 best albums 1991-2008" but left out Opeth's four first albums. And yes, Blackwater Park is on it.
Vitriolic Hate - 12.12.2008 at 13:03  
Melodic,Dark,Beautiful!!!
Mr. Doctor - 12.12.2008 at 16:18  
Written by Warman on 12.12.2008 at 00:08

Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.12.2008 at 18:06

I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one that think that GR is fucking overrated.

It is overrated but I still like it though. It's a disgrace that the swedish Metal magazine "Close-Up" put it on the list of the "100 best albums 1991-2008" but left out Opeth's four first albums. And yes, Blackwater Park is on it.


I also like that album... But it's not that good as people want us to think.
advent - 09.10.2009 at 03:02  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 12.12.2008 at 16:18

Written by Warman on 12.12.2008 at 00:08

Written by Mr. Doctor on 11.12.2008 at 18:06

I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one that think that GR is fucking overrated.

It is overrated but I still like it though. It's a disgrace that the swedish Metal magazine "Close-Up" put it on the list of the "100 best albums 1991-2008" but left out Opeth's four first albums. And yes, Blackwater Park is on it.


man you are so right. blackwater bark is a good one...but moringrise,orchid and still life are much much better.But i think the measure it by commercial success not by album quality unfortunately

I also like that album... But it's not that good as people want us to think.
drudkhsheepdawg - 28.11.2010 at 12:43  
Among the top 3 Opeth albums (along with Morningrise and Still Life)
BlankFile - 21.02.2011 at 19:12  
A magnificent debut album by one of the best metal bands around. Above all its a very solid effort, just a spectacular sample for what was coming later that is indeed even greater than this release. Just listen and see for yourself...
K†ulu - 05.06.2011 at 11:11  
Good review. Very true, Orchid is amazing and should not be overlooked in any case. This is an amazingly epic debut with great songwriting.
1Yossarian1 - 07.11.2011 at 16:11  
Great review, very well put.
Daniell - 08.11.2011 at 09:17  
Quote:
An equal range of guttural and clean vocals is still in full form on Orchid.


This is Opeth's debut, so "still in full form" seems out of place.
Troy Killjoy - 08.11.2011 at 09:24  
Written by Daniell on 08.11.2011 at 09:17
This is Opeth's debut, so "still in full form" seems out of place.

Maybe he means the bonus song specifically.
JCJen7 - 08.11.2011 at 10:11  
Written by Evil Chip on 08.03.2008 at 09:13

Mikael Akerfeldt sounds amazing in this album.... well he always sounds good. Requiem is my favourite of this album.

you mean the minute-long interlude song....?
DJ Cos - 27.07.2012 at 23:19  
Orchid is such a lost gem... they don't even play any songs from it live anymore.. such a shame coz it's not just Opeths best work alongside 'Morningrise', but maybe one of the most original, powerful and important debuts within any metal subgenre. 10/10
Array - 27.07.2012 at 23:44  
Written by DJ Cos on 27.07.2012 at 23:19

Orchid is such a lost gem... they don't even play any songs from it live anymore.. such a shame coz it's not just Opeths best work alongside 'Morningrise', but maybe one of the most original, powerful and important debuts within any metal subgenre. 10/10

"Lost gem" is reserved for bands a lot smaller than Opeth.
Uldreth - 28.07.2012 at 02:27  
Written by Array on 27.07.2012 at 23:44


"Lost gem" is reserved for bands a lot smaller than Opeth.

Considering how underappreciated and "underknown" this album is, not just in relation to Opeth's rest (and especially their post-BwP albums) but even without comparing it to other Opeth releases, I think the term is rather fairly used here.

This album is not without flaws, it can drag on and at times is really disjointed, yet despite even those flaws, this is easily some of the best shit Opeth has ever written.
Array - 28.07.2012 at 17:50  
Written by Uldreth on 28.07.2012 at 02:27

Considering how underappreciated and "underknown" this album is, not just in relation to Opeth's rest (and especially their post-BwP albums) but even without comparing it to other Opeth releases, I think the term is rather fairly used here.

It's well-known and the appreciation level is what it is. Simply, it's not lost at all.
Uldreth - 28.07.2012 at 19:14  
Written by Array on 28.07.2012 at 17:50


It's well-known and the appreciation level is what it is. Simply, it's not lost at all.

<ok>

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Andromeda - Chimera 4.5 24.11.2007 by b0000mst1ck
Reviews Andromeda - Extension Of The Wish 4.5 14.08.2006 by
Reviews Atheist - Piece Of Time 4.5 05.08.2007 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Atheist - Elements 4.5 09.08.2006 by Markku
Reviews Atheist - Unquestionable Presence 4.5 13.10.2006 by Unholy_Emperor



Hits total: 9453 | This month: 67