Rating:
6.0
Edguy - Rocket Ride
20 January 2006


01. Sacrifice
02. Rocket Ride
03. Wasted Time
04. Matrix
05. Return To The Tribe
06. The Asylum
07. Save Me
08. Catch Of The Century
09. Out Of Vogue
10. Superheroes
11. Trinidad
12. Fucking With Fire (Hair Force One) [bonus]
13. Land Of The Miracle [Live In Brazil] [bonus]


Over the past years, the name Edguy has stood for first-rate power metal, their last couple of albums all being masterpieces. Unfortunately, this era seeme to have ended for now as their latest release is far from the greatness of its predecessors. Rather, "Rocket Ride" is somewhere between light and shadow, and unfortunately the shadow has gained the upper hand. This contrast is best shown by comparing the first two songs.

On the one hand, "Sacrifice" is fantastic. The album's longest piece at 8 minutes features frequent changes between soft and heavy parts, bound together in a magnificent arrangement with wonderful melodies and a great chorus. A clear display of Tobias Sammet's musical genius that evokes high hopes for the remainder of the album - which are immediately crushed:

The title track, coming next, must be one of the worst Edguy songs ever. Well, hard rock fans might like it, but it's absolutely not power metal. The riff in particular I'd never expected to hear on an Edguy release. It sticks out like an alien element. Terrible.

The rest of the album confirms this tendency. A few songs are quite good - the catchy "Superheroes" and the energetic "Fucking with Fire" (which is officially a bonus track) stand out positively - but most of the rest is mediocre or worse. "Save Us" ranks among Edguy's weakest ballads, "Catch of the Century" is overly repetitive, "Trinidad" is bonus material at best. And while "Out of Vogue" and "Wasted Time" represent the classical Edguy power sound, they can't hold a candle to the likes of "Tears of a Mandrake" and "King of Fools." Tobi's well-known antics - he sings a guitar solo in "Return to the Tribe" and throws a screaming fit at the end of "Catch of the Century" - are funny, but don't increase the album's quality by any margin.

Overall, most of this album just doesn't reach the standards Edguy have set in the past; it lacks much of the energy and catchiness that their releases used to thrive with. As many songs don't even feel like power metal, a dreadful question comes up: Are Edguy abandoning the music they have perfected for so long, and turning hard rock? Or are they just experimenting?

I certainly hope it's the latter.

Rating: 6 - maybe the worst Edguy album of all time, this is by no means a worthy successor to the supreme "Hellfire Club."


Band profile: Edguy
Album: Rocket Ride


 


written by Dragonheart | 23.08.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 20  
Users visited: 107  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 23.08.2006 at 23:42  
i agree with most of all this
i do like hard rock and everything as well though so maybe i like the album more then other people
i do like the album but i agree it is nothing on the last four albums before it at all
Promonex - 24.08.2006 at 18:47  
Very true and well-written review. And for some reason that "guitar" solo in 'Return to the Tribe' reminds me of that annoying Crazy Frog; with the main difference that Tobi's solo isn't annoying, but actually quite cool.
steiner - 25.08.2006 at 13:26  
Not a bad cd but any decent 80s mtv metal band could release this stuff Edguy are capable of much more.
Hokusai - 30.08.2006 at 08:05  
True true. This is nothing to the all mighty Theatre of Salvation... I was really disappointed... I mean, I also like hard rock... but this is not Edguy
BlankFile - 30.08.2006 at 18:26  
Well , i guess Toby decided to introduce more of that mid tempo songs, instead of the traditionall Power and Fast songs that simbolizes Edguy material and other bands of the genre. And i don´t think Toby is in the mood for changing this style in a short date... In fact he did an interview, saying that the next Edguy album will have more... Hard Rock and Ballads... So my theory about Edguy is that, the band is surely changing for another route, the non-metal route i guess... But non the less, i think Rocket Ride is a catchy album, easy to listen, but the quality of it cannot be compared, no at all, to albuns like Theather of Salvation, Mandrake and Hellfire Club < Masterpieces i mean.
Stay Metal Dudes! |m|
Cloud Strife - 01.09.2006 at 23:27  
Really

Tobi is "genial".
This is the max he can do? No
But it's a good album
There're some better than it but it's good
Let's see, in a not-much-distant-future what he will do.
A hope anything a little better
Spyroid - 04.11.2006 at 20:13  
I don't mind that they've changed, they've release so much great power metal already. And they do hard rock as awesome as they do power metal. 8/10
Arcaliz666 - 25.07.2007 at 00:48  
This album It's not the sound that Edguy has us accustomed....
Infurnace - 03.09.2007 at 19:48  
I really like the album, although the sound is really different from the last albums. There are some really catchy songs on this album, and I simply love "Out Of Vogue". That one is brilliant!
Hyvaarin - 16.10.2007 at 14:34  
Actually, I think this is my favourite Edguy album. It took a lot of balls to take on this stylistic change, and they've pulled it off well. They seem perfectly at home playing this kind of hard rock/power metal.
Srdjan Glava - 08.05.2008 at 02:56  
i think this review is a bunch of crap...album is not a power... so?
its a great album not matter if it is power or hard rock or something like that...i love threir previous albums,all of them...and i think this style alternation is good for a change...
Spyroid - 28.10.2008 at 16:05  
By the way - the "awful ballad" isn't called "Save Us" - that's an old Edguy track
Kallis Helmi - 16.12.2008 at 17:36  
Written by Spyroid on 28.10.2008 at 16:05

By the way - the "awful ballad" isn't called "Save Us" - that's an old Edguy track

Neither. The ballad is called "Save Me" and the speed song is called "Save Us Now". "Save Us" is a Helloween song!
Uirapuru - 07.05.2009 at 09:22  
Another decent album from the guy name Ed . I always enjoy their albuns even not being much into Power metal stuff. ''Catch of the century'' is awesome.
Feirund - 28.05.2009 at 18:12  
Well, well, well - another of them reviews that doesn't really analyse anything that should be analysed. Rocket Ride may be Hard Rock oriented, but it's far better than the traditional boring-meaningless-talentless-waste-of-time-mainstream hard rock.
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 12:23  
I think it is not that bad album afterall...it just doesnt meet the "high standards" of some people...
Mountain King - 28.02.2011 at 17:45  
It deserves a 7.5. It's not bad at all. A lot better than Tinitus Sanctus!...
Angelic Storm - 01.03.2011 at 06:42  
Very interesting, and varied comments regarding this album! I myself, not having an aversion to hard rock, certainly don't hate the album for being overall, not power/speed metal. I find the overall quality of the album to be quite patchy. The opener "Sacrifice", is amazing and one of Edguy's best ever songs. Most of the other songs are not up to that one's extremely high standard though. "Trinidad" is absolutely ridiculous, but also catchy as all hell! lol Although "Superheroes" is probably the best known track from this album, I definitely see it as being one of the weakest. Quite why it's considered an Edguy classic is beyond me, but there you go.

Id give the album a 7.5, or an 8 if I was feeling generous. There are some very good songs on the album, but overall, the album just lacks that extra something it needs to elevate it to the classic status that most of Edguy's earlier albums rightfully hold. :\
mandrake88 - 28.12.2011 at 20:46  
One of the worst reviews I've ever seen. Not only a bad understanding about music but also a bad taste. 6.0 rating for this album is ridiculous, but i would give much less for the review !!!
RavenKing - 28.12.2011 at 21:33  
Written by Angelic Storm on 01.03.2011 at 06:42

Very interesting, and varied comments regarding this album! I myself, not having an aversion to hard rock, certainly don't hate the album for being overall, not power/speed metal.


Maybe it's because I have a total aversion for hard rock but there's no way I can stand this kind of crappy popmetal.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Edguy - Rocket Ride 6 06.02.2014 by R Lewis
News Edguy - New Album Tracklist Revealed 3 15.02.2014 by R Lewis
News Edguy - European Tour Dates Announced 3 27.08.2008 by Spyroid
Melodic metal forum Edguy 3 17.05.2006 by Daru Jericho
News Edguy - Working On New Album 3 07.04.2011 by corrupt



Hits total: 5618 | This month: 63