Napalm Death - Scum review



Reviewer:
8.4

219 users:
7.82
Band: Napalm Death
Album: Scum
Release date: July 1987


01. Multinational Corporations
02. Instinct Of Survival
03. The Kill
04. Scum
05. Caught In A Dream
06. Polluted Minds
07. Sacrificed
08. Stage Of Power
09. Control
10. Born On Your Knees
11. Human Garbage
12. You Suffer
13. Life?
14. Prison Without Walls
15. Point Of No Return
16. Negative Approach
17. Success?
18. Deceiver
19. C.S.
20. Parasites
21. Pseudo Youth
22. Divine Death
23. As The Machine Rolls On
24. Common Enemy
25. Moral Crusade
26. Stigmatized
27. M.A.D.
28. Dragnet


Classic Monster of Earache Records, Highly Recommended

1987 was the year of Grindcore according to some experts; bands like Agathocles, Extreme Noise Terror and Carcass were haunting the scene with some Demos and EP's by then; but there was a band that was already smothering some ears with a Full Length CD called simply "Scum", a band so tense and so ahead of its time that scared the living *Bleep Noise* out of your parents, and even the people that called themselves "Extreme" in those days had to breathe for a second and say "What the Hell was that?". The name ladies and gentleman, is Napalm Death .

I won't argue about this being the first Grindcore album ever released, I really don't care you know? The true fact is that "Scum" was the first album that ever shocked so many people back in the old days, and that reality is bigger than anything else. The whole album is chaotic as only hell can be; the lyrical content is, to this day, one of the edgiest opuses in the music business and finally even the artwork is powerful for crying out loud. How can you not love an album that screams against everything that you hate, that spits blood on everyone that you despise and that talks about everything that you are prohibited to speak?

Yes the production is very raw, the music is very brutal and the songs have the power to make your eardrums burst after hearing them; who cares about those things when you have something that goes beyond rebellion stamped in strong chords and shivering screams? I can only imagine what the 80's people thought when they heard the bizarreness of "You Suffer", the aggression of "Pseudo Youth" or the noisy structures of "Divine Death".

This release is actually a hard pill to swallow, the weak ones won't understand its greatness and they will turn their heads in disgust…but the ones who enjoy, understand and know all about their attitude will be praising this album everyday for the rest of their lives.

Best Tracks: Every Song Is Great


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 10
Production: 7

Written by Herzebeth | 02.09.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 158 users
02.09.2006 - 07:06
LethargyMan
Anybody who doesn't like this album is a racist...

... there... I said it.
----
Ense petit placidam sub libertate quietem.
By the sword we seek peace, but peace only under liberty.
Loading...
11.08.2008 - 00:15
Metal Freak
Written by LethargyMan on 02.09.2006 at 07:06

Anybody who doesn't like this album is a racist...

... there... I said it.


That may be taking things a bit far, but this album seriously kicks ass...and I'm not even that big of a grindcore fan.
----
"Religion is an insult to human dignity. With or without it, you'd have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things, but for good people to do evil things, that takes religion."
--Steven Weinberg
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 14:39
iaberis
Advice Troll
It's quite catchy and melodic but the songs are too short to enjoy... I might like it better if they lasted longer.
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 16:35
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
If you don't like the catchy riff in the beginning of "Instinct Of Survival"
Die... Just fucking die

Awesome album, really really catchy. I gonna buy it someday.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 17:29
iaberis
Advice Troll
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2008 at 16:35

I gonna buy it someday.

It's a waste of money in my opinion
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 17:33
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by iaberis on 03.11.2008 at 17:29

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.11.2008 at 16:35

I gonna buy it someday.

It's a waste of money in my opinion


Well, I'm atm into this kinda stuff so I don't have a problem at all ... I have downloaded it several weeks ago and still think I gonna buy it someday.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.06.2009 - 21:12
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
This album is in my blood it's so fuckin raw just love it
Loading...
12.12.2009 - 00:08
silenius
Amazing goddamn album, one of the first extreme albums i got my hands on
Loading...
06.04.2010 - 13:33
Growing
10 for originality?Maybe when it comes to vocals but for the instrumental part is still pretty thrash-metal inspired.
Loading...
06.04.2010 - 18:07
soadbyob
Account deleted
Favorite Napalm Death album, hell, favorite Grindcore album
Loading...
12.05.2010 - 03:55
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
''Best Tracks: Every Song Is Great''

This is indeed the best track!
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 05:52
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
These guys have a lot of stage energy, but im still not a fan..
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
10.12.2011 - 15:35
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Growing on 06.04.2010 at 13:33

10 for originality?Maybe when it comes to vocals but for the instrumental part is still pretty thrash-metal inspired.


This is one of the very first examples of grindcore, probably evebn the first one (although this is up to debate) a LOT of bands still use this album was blueprint to make grindcore music... The originality rating here is totally justified considering how big this album is within the genre since it pretty muched created it.

Also... There is as much Punk as thrash in this little beast of an album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 5967 | This month: 36