Rating:
9.8
Metallica - Metallica
13 August 1991


01. Enter Sandman
02. Sad But True
03. Holier Than Thou
04. The Unforgiven
05. Wherever I May Roam
06. Don't Tread On Me
07. Through The Never
08. Nothing Else Matters
09. Of Wolf And Man
10. The God That Failed
11. My Friend Of Misery
12. The Struggle Within
13. So What [Anti-Nowhere League cover] [Japanese bonus]


Even though Metallica became more known to a wider audience in 1986 with the release of Master of Puppets, "The Black Album" (released in 1991) however, was the biggest break point for Metallica. It was praised by reviewers and musicians, it stunned many fans then and also now. With the "Black Album" their old thrashy sound was abandoned and Metallica was literally shot into superstardom. With commercial hits such as "Enter Sandman" and the widely known "Nothing Else Matters", Metallica's music became more and more accessible to radio stations and television. But as I said, I still believe it's a "must have". "The Black Album" was major break point in the rock music business and the influence of it and Metallica in general is just impossible not to notice. Not only does it differ musically from the previous four releases, this album is also lyrically much more personal and therefore occasionally softer. Still, Metallica hasn't lost their touch and the aggressive guitar sound is still there.

The immortal riff of "Enter Sandman", the gentle "Nothing Else Matters" and "The Unforgiven", and of course, the aggressive tunes of "Sad But True" and "Wherever I May Roam" - this albums offers a true hard rock journey. The production of the album was taken on a higher level with the coming of Bob Rock as almost the fifth member of Metallica. "The Black Album" gives you Metallica as an entity, with the perfect sound of the bass. Also James Hetfield's vocals became more arranged and accurate, which is for some a treat - some still prefer the distorted voice he used to have. The next thing added was the acoustic guitar, noticeable in the charming (I never knew this word could be used when talking about Metallica!) "The Unforgiven", which we heard before in smaller amounts in ''Fade To Black'' and ''One'' for example. Also, Michael Kamen did the orchestral part for "Nothing Else Matters". And there is one more thing I just have to mention - the drumming. Listening to "Of Wolf And Man" or the intro to "The Struggle Within" just unplugs my ears and brains from all the sounds other than Lars Ulrich's drums.

So when you come to the end of the journey through "The Black Album" you see that it's not all about Hammett's riff in "Enter Sandman" or the melancholy in "Nothing Else Matters". Each and every song is a small masterpiece that in the end creates "The Black Album". Whether you're looking for hard riffs, loud drums or something a bit more tender, this album has it. "The Black Album" has it all - and nothing else matters.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 10


Band profile: Metallica
Album: Metallica


 


written by AnGina-- | 07.10.2006


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
ScreamingSteelUS

Rating:
7.3
Like far too many people in this world, I was largely introduced to Metallica by their self-titled album, fueled by the super mega platinum #1 smash hit single "Enter Sandman." In fact, Metallica, known colloquially as "The Black Album" for its presumably Spinal Tap-inspired artwork, was, in fact, one of the first Metal albums that really resonated with me and warranted repeated listens. Even so, I cannot confess to having much of a sentimental connection with this album, because, after exploring the wide world of heavy metal and acquainting myself with REAL Metallica, it has become clear to me that this album is nothing special.

Read more ››
published 17.08.2012 | Comments (21)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 50  
Users visited: 262  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 09.10.2006 at 20:47  
One of the best album in the hystory of Music... No words can describe this extraordinary opus!
I'd have given a 10 also in songwriting. Anyway, good review, I agree with you
Dangerboner - 10.10.2006 at 00:13  
What a horrible album. These guys sold out so bad it's more laughable than sad. Even when I try listening to this without thinking about how much better they were back in the day (I'm still not really a fan though) I don't like it.
Ozman - 10.10.2006 at 08:29  
Written by Dangerboner on 10.10.2006 at 00:13

What a horrible album. These guys sold out so bad it's more laughable than sad.


well, this is where Bob Rock's influence was already too big. He even fucking co-wrote the songs and wrote the basslines. FFS the guy is a producer and should just stick to that. one thing has to be said, the sound of this album is extraoridnary and was copied by many a band afterwards.
K†ulu - 12.11.2006 at 10:55  
Man, Master of Pupptes was realesed in 1986... not in 1984. Correct that!!!
AnGina-- - 12.11.2006 at 12:39  
Oh my bad I'm really sorry, I know that MoP was born in the same year as me so I don't know how I could make such a mistake. I'll try to correct it, thank you.
Valentin B - 12.11.2006 at 13:46  
this is quite possibly the most controversial album in hard rock history. i personally think it is good but the commerciality is there: you can't deny it. nothing else matters is just so soft, it could have been performed by the backstreet boys and doesn't have 0.001% of the aggresion of, let's say... metal militia?
the same thing goes for the unforgiven, although the batman video for it is pretty cool.
and it has filler: holier than thou, the god that failed, my friend of misery
good tracks: enter sandman, sad but true, wherever i may roam, through the never, of wolf and man
tracks i wouldn't have put on the record: nothing else matters, the unforgiven, and the filler songs listed above
all in all i'd give it a 7
don't forget their debut, which i think is their best album: uber-thrash, monster riffs and that damn bass solo!
DLMokoma - 03.12.2006 at 13:43  
Most of the songs are really good and I love the bass melody in My Friend Of Misery. But this is also a sold-out record, for which I blame Bob Rock. I'd also compare this album to St. Anger.. Both aren't so metal, but not so far from it either. I think the Black Album is a gate away from metal, and St. Anger is the gate back in. But that's just what I think.
homas - 23.12.2006 at 13:19  
A True Sold Out Album .
The main problem with it , is that it is not a metal album anyway .
I think 7 is enough for it and no more .
Bitch Boy - 23.12.2006 at 22:58  
Here it is: many metalheads say that this was the first album of the sold out Metallica, but for me is one of the best of the band. It has many excellent songs: "Nothing else matters", "Sad but true", "The Unforgiven", "Enter Sadman"... But I think the rate is too high, I would give this one a 8
Mindheist - 27.12.2006 at 22:16  
Wearing their influences on their sleeves, Metallica play a generally Thrashy Hard Rock brand of Metal, with interwoven elements of classical music adding a nice shade of variety to their sound. Each track of the Black Album is compositionally rock-solid, well structured and distinct. With excellent guest musicians, the album is taken to another level.

Anyway, The Black Album is an album that Metallica should be proud of (and it's the case). I try to not take your intention with me, when i say that this period of professional skills is merely gone...But what Metallica fans should notice, is the support of this band, even after these several downfalls, because they need support to allow their music to truly shine and reach much wider, appreciative audiences throughout the world.

My Lady, i liked your review, so when you'll (perhaps) review the upcoming album...Think a lot of the Black Album and never let the neo thrashy influences deter your verdict.

Gordian Knot.
Warman - 20.06.2007 at 15:21  
Yes! I can deny that The Unforgiven is better than The Unforgiven II! The Unforgiven II remains as one of Metallica's best songs IMO, but The Unforgiven has become rather boring over the years.

But this is one of the most important albums for me, one of the first I heard and the second I bought. Without this I would probably not be me.
Noel Sonic - 01.07.2007 at 09:14  
To some degree, Metallica had changed to a rock band , not Metal band! The Unforgiven is good,but not like a Thrash Metal song. Nothing Else Matters is a love song.I don't think this album can be something equal to Master Of Puppets or Ride The Lightning.But they are trying to make something new,just like their first album.Will this change be something great in the future? Who Knows?
HELLilac - 05.08.2007 at 06:57  
This album got me into metal when I was still listening to Bon Jovi and Scorpions.

After that I found out there're TONS of better metal albums out there.

So yeah this album is good for all the metal newbies, mainly because it's just 50% metal.
BloodTears - 08.08.2007 at 13:14  
I'm just surprised this album has a 9.8 and and justice for all has a 5. here on metalstorm. Because comparing the two, "and justice for all" is miles away from this, much better on every level except in terms of production. But yes, I recognize people have opinions and they differ from mine. My perspective is this one, they are different albums obviously, meant to do different things but I still dont think this one is anywhere near "and justice for all".
gerrard888 - 03.10.2007 at 19:00  
Written by Dangerboner on 10.10.2006 at 00:13

What a horrible album. These guys sold out so bad it's more laughable than sad. Even when I try listening to this without thinking about how much better they were back in the day (I'm still not really a fan though) I don't like it.

how can you say that the album is horrible, i'm a maiden fan but i think the black album is one of the best albums ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Passenger - 04.10.2007 at 23:52  
Despite what many metalheads say, this is actually one of Metallica's only 3 albums worth listening, along with RTL and MOP.
DrunkenFuck - 05.10.2007 at 11:42  
I wouldn't consider this as merely a "hard rock" album. Sure there are songs like The Unforgiven and Nothing Else Matters, but don't forget songs like Enter Sandman, Through The Never and The Struggle Within, infact even Nothing Else Matters has a metal moment right were the solo begins.

Awesome record.
+{Jonas}+ - 20.10.2007 at 02:44  
Great album, one of the most controversial albums ever IMo. When the deffinitely "sold out" to many people. IMO this albums kicks ass, and it represents a turn poiunt intheir style, from their long hymns and agressive stuff to something more melodic,more personal. Still a great album, and deffinitely the first ,metal album I heard complete. it has a special place in my heart
ThrashMetal_Rulz - 04.11.2007 at 04:49  
The Black album is a great album, and the track Unforgiven is definetly in my "top 5 rock" songs list. IMO it's the only one of Metallica's "Post-MOP" albums that's actually good, and I heard it influenced quite a few bands.
While it is a good album, you really did overate it's final score. Just because an album's good doesn't mean it should get a near 10, because 9.8 means the album has to be "out of this world, fantastic, you never get bored of it after 50 years of listening to it, incredibly influential/groundbreaking". I'd give it an 8 - 8.2 .
K†ulu - 07.04.2008 at 23:17  
It's not a bad review, but what's up with the fucking mistakes... who reads it before it is approved and becomes an official review... Man... I can't read this to the end... And the Master of Puppets release year mistake is still not corrected... wtf?
K†ulu - 07.04.2008 at 23:31  
Quote:
well, this is where Bob Rock's influence was already too big. He even fucking co-wrote the songs and wrote the basslines. FFS the guy is a producer and should just stick to that. one thing has to be said, the sound of this album is extraoridnary and was copied by many a band afterwards.


I totally agree with the extraordinary sound... And by the way I have never heard a better sound of a bass guitar than on this album... it's unbelievable.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 18.04.2008 at 10:43  
give it a 10 and then nothing
AnGina-- - 18.04.2008 at 13:51  
Written by K†ulu on 07.04.2008 at 23:17

It's not a bad review, but what's up with the fucking mistakes... who reads it before it is approved and becomes an official review... Man... I can't read this to the end... And the Master of Puppets release year mistake is still not corrected... wtf?


I'm just an average idiot who can't spell and type, so who gives a fu*k about it... I don't.
AnGina-- - 18.04.2008 at 13:53  
Oh and btw, Metallica is one of the best rock albums IMO I own, that's why I gave it a mere 10. I didn't include it in wider range of rating in within the metal genre, but within rock.
IronBlackZepp - 18.05.2008 at 19:57  
This is an underrated album with Metallica fans, but generally people like it. No it is not as good as most of the 80's stuff but it deserves some credit.
Timelord - 02.07.2008 at 02:52  
I now call them "Lica" cause the metal has left the building. This record and everything after is garbage. How can you turn your back on what got you there in the first place. What made "Lica" successful to begin with was the raw brutal aggression. That disappeared when Bob Rock took over control of "Lica".
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 16:22  
Songs 1,2,4,5,8,9 are really good.. IMO Wherever I May Roam is a perfect song one of the best Metalicca ever wrote. But please listen the other 6. They all are 'filler' songs. I don't believe this is a good album to be the follower of ...And Justice For All. Yes this is something different in style but I don't know many people who like any of the other 6 songs. NONE!
Jessing - 14.12.2008 at 17:40  
I just love this album, the songs, the sound, everything...

tied with Mop & Rtl... I give it 10
DayFly - 21.03.2009 at 15:29  
Written by Ozman on 10.10.2006 at 08:29

Written by Dangerboner on 10.10.2006 at 00:13

What a horrible album. These guys sold out so bad it's more laughable than sad.


well, this is where Bob Rock's influence was already too big. He even fucking co-wrote the songs and wrote the basslines. FFS the guy is a producer and should just stick to that. one thing has to be said, the sound of this album is extraoridnary and was copied by many a band afterwards.


He did? I mean write the basslines already on this album?
Uirapuru - 01.06.2009 at 13:14  
Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.
Deadmeat - 01.06.2009 at 13:16  
Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:14

Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.

yeah but it has also some total silly songs right???
Uirapuru - 01.06.2009 at 13:24  
Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:16

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:14

Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.

yeah but it has also some total silly songs right???


Right. I usually stop the disc after ''Of Wolf and Man'', and sometimes skip the first Unforgiven. Its a good song, but Im already tired of listen to it.
Deadmeat - 01.06.2009 at 13:26  
Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:24

Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:16

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:14

Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.

yeah but it has also some total silly songs right???


Right. I usually stop the disc after ''Of Wolf and Man'', and sometimes skip the first Unforgiven. Its a good song, but Im already tired of listen to it.

i asked you that cause you said this is the best metallica album. if on your fav album, you stop it before the end, then on master of and ride the lightning what do you do???
Uirapuru - 01.06.2009 at 13:32  
Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:26

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:24

Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:16

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:14

Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.

yeah but it has also some total silly songs right???


Right. I usually stop the disc after ''Of Wolf and Man'', and sometimes skip the first Unforgiven. Its a good song, but Im already tired of listen to it.

i asked you that cause you said this is the best metallica album. if on your fav album, you stop it before the end, then on master of and ride the lightning what do you do???


Metallica is not my favorite band.. not even close actually.. So even their best works doesn't get me into so much.

Self-titled is absolutly the best IMO, it has the larger number of songs that I like. The albums from the 80ths are just good to me, since I'm not this genre, but respect and enjoy many of their works.
Deadmeat - 01.06.2009 at 13:34  
Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:32

Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:26

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:24

Written by Deadmeat on 01.06.2009 at 13:16

Written by Uirapuru on 01.06.2009 at 13:14

Very nice album. I love Metallica from the 90ths, sold-out really works when do excellent music . This album has so many immortal songs that it's hard to criticize.

Best Metallica album.

yeah but it has also some total silly songs right???


Right. I usually stop the disc after ''Of Wolf and Man'', and sometimes skip the first Unforgiven. Its a good song, but Im already tired of listen to it.

i asked you that cause you said this is the best metallica album. if on your fav album, you stop it before the end, then on master of and ride the lightning what do you do???


Metallica is not my favorite band.. not even close actually.. So even their best works doesn't get me into so much.

Self-titled is absolutly the best IMO, it has the larger number of songs that I like. The albums from the 80ths are just good to me, since I'm not this genre, but respect and enjoy many of their works.

well then it's ok i didn't get it well, probably because of the language!
terrorist - 19.06.2009 at 10:43  
Classic album,very simple but very good!!!!
SBGMetal - 28.11.2009 at 08:46  
The first metallica album i heard was justice... the second cd i heard was this one n i gotta say i didnt think it was the same band... such a downgrade imo... the vocals, drumming and guitar solos are not what they use to be... they shoulda concentrated on the music instead of $... talka bout spitting on cliffs grave
Lord_Regnier - 28.11.2009 at 13:59  
Sold out album. Pseudo-metal for noobs who barely started to listen to something else than pop music and haven't realized yet that there are tons of metal albums a hundred times better than this commercial garbage.
Angelic Storm - 14.07.2010 at 22:56  
This is surely the most controversial metal album of all time. Not just because of the fact that many felt Metallica had ''sold out'' with it, but because of the knock on effect it had on thrash as a whole. Megadeth, Testament, Overkill, Exodus, Sepultura, and a host of other thrash bands either slowed down/watered down and/or experimented with their sound in the wake of Metallica's self titled. Coincidence? Probably not. Metallica at the time, were undoubtedly the biggest thrash band around, and it definitely seems like a few other thrash bands followed Metallica's lead when they decided to streamline their sound. So some underground metalheads also think Metallica were responsible for the ''death'' of thrash metal. And immediately despised them for it. This hatred for Metallica still remains within sections of metal's underground community to this day. Metallica arguably didnt sell out. There's no way they could have known how huge the album would become. In an interview with James before tha album's release, I remember him saying they just wanted to streamline their sound. Make shorter, more compact songs. IMO they didnt sell out.

As for the album itself, well...it's a very good album, if not quite a classic like the first 4 were. Nor is it as adventurous as their next album ''Load''. The main thing the album suffers from, is pacing. All of the songs are mid-paced (with the exception of the slightly faster ''Struggle Within".) So it definitely lacks the excitement of their earlier albums. However, isolate most of the songs on their own, outside the context of the album, and there are quite a few gems here to savour. The massive mid-paced crunch of opener ''Enter Sandman", with its timeless signature riff is still regarded as a total classic song of metal, and rightfully so. It might not frighten me like it did when I first heard it as a kid, but its still a great song. lol

The creepy, almost doom-like slow burn of ''Sad But True'' is another highlight. Of course, its the two ballads that usually come in for the most scorn from the ''tr00 metal'' brigade, but I think they are both good songs. Especially ''The Unforgiven'' with its mournful, and expressive sound. (and a classic solo by Kirk Hammet) Id definitely class it as a classic Metallica song. xD Although they never quite put their foot to the accelerator in a ''Whiplash'' stylee, songs like ''Through The Never'', "Holier Than Thou". (I love the way this song seems to blast out during its immense intro!) and especially the charging closer "Struggle Within" provide some great headbanging moments.

Overall, I feel this album is probably overrated by some sections of metalheads, and unfairly maligned by many others. It may not be genre defining, groundbreaking, or as classic as their 80's output, but this is still a great album by Metallica. I dont like it quite as much as I did when I first heard it in the early 90's, but it still holds up very well today. xD
RavenKing - 15.07.2010 at 14:20  
Written by Angelic Storm on 14.07.2010 at 22:56

This is surely the most controversial metal album of all time. Not just because of the fact that many felt Metallica had ''sold out'' with it, but because of the knock on effect it had on thrash as a whole. Megadeth, Testament, Overkill, Exodus, Sepultura, and a host of other thrash bands either slowed down/watered down and/or experimented with their sound in the wake of Metallica's self titled. Coincidence? Probably not. Metallica at the time, were undoubtedly the biggest thrash band around, and it definitely seems like a few other thrash bands followed Metallica's lead when they decided to streamline their sound. So some underground metalheads also think Metallica were responsible for the ''death'' of thrash metal. And immediately despised them for it. This hatred for Metallica still remains within sections of metal's underground community to this day.



I'm what you call an "underground metalhead" (you can also call me an elitist if you want, I don't mind- better being an elitist than a self called self proclaimed metal fan who barely knows anything about metal other than the most mainstream bands like Metallica) and I can tell you I despise this album and hate Metallica for having released it. And I will always hate Metallica no matter what. Why?, you will ask. The reason is quite simple: this commercial and mainstream album made it obvious for all to see that a metal band could sell out and make a hundred times more money by releasing garbage the radio stations would play to death.
Yes, lots of Thrash bands became shitty after that and the metal scene started to be more plagued by sold out bands and posers. What Metallica did with this wretched piece of shit is to bring 'metal' to the mainstream, with the result that lots of bands softened to appeal to those self-proclaimed metal fans who are in fact nothing more than mainstream people who believe they're something else.

I agree with everything you're saying on the part I quoted. I happen to see it from the point of view of those who hate and despise Metallica and this album, however. I'm one of those who are convinced that metal should have always stayed underground and that it's way too corporated, commercial and mainstream nowadays. And I will always see things this way.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.07.2010 at 14:42  
Written by RavenKing on 15.07.2010 at 14:20

I'm one of those who are convinced that metal should have always stayed underground and that it's way too corporated, commercial and mainstream nowadays. And I will always see things this way.

I've literally never understood people who push this argument. You speak as if metal, by and large, is mainstream whereas the truth of the matter is only a small handful of bands are in fact so, and then that's usually bands of offshoot genres like nu-metal and metalcore, not the genre as a whole. If you ask me it sounds like you were once burned by the fact Metallica sold out and have had a grudge ever since.

If you're an "underground metaller" as you say (though I very much doubt it after perusing your recent posts, or we at least have a different idea of what constitutes underground), then you'd indeed know that there's more underground metal than either you or I could ever hope to listen to so once again, I will never understand why mainstream metal would be a problem for anyone. Naivete and cynicism are a terrible combination. Metal doesn't begin and end with Metallica.
Coolingsrock - 21.10.2010 at 18:11  
Keep the album at 7 to 7.5 and its realistic. 9.8 is just crazy talk in my opinion. Half a good album.
Captain Obvious - 29.11.2010 at 05:11  
I just want to say that metal was a mainstream genre long before this album came out, in fact, It's been mainstream since it started: Black Sabbath's first 2 albums were in the top 10 in Britain, the latter hitting number 1, with the song Paranoid becoming a huge hit worldwide. Let's not forget that all of maiden's 80's albums were top 10 charters (except for Killers) and had lots of radio airplay with songs like Run to the hills and the trooper. Should I also remind people of Priest's Breaking The Law and You've got another thing coming? I mean if those songs aren't shamelessly blatant attempts at commercialism I don't know what is. So when I see posts that say Metallica brought metal into the mainstream, I just shake my head (I'm looking at you ravenking).

But I do have to agree this was a sellout album. But I blame that on Lars, I mean, if the guy who founded the band isn't willing to improve on his drumming abilities, and then hires a mainstream producer, there's not much you can do about it, right? Nevertheless, I still think this album was pretty good, but I find that the non-radio hits were way better, ie The God That Failed and Holier Than Thou.

Also, this was the first metal album I ever owned (I'm sure I'm not alone on that one) so if weren't for nostalgia I'd give this album a 7 or 7.5.
Cuca Beludo - 20.09.2011 at 18:41  
Such a excellent review. Although I like MOP more than this, it was "The Black Album" that made me into Metallica. Thank you, anGina!
Berserker - 28.11.2011 at 19:15  
This was the first metal album i've ever had (bought it in 93 i think) and i've must listened it a million times. It gets obsolete after listening Cowboys From Hell, for example, but it's a good album for a person who's starting to listen metal because it doesn't have a very agressive atmosphere.
Valentin B - 22.05.2012 at 16:30  
Written by JohnDoe on 23.10.2006 at 17:05

A highly overrated album in my humble opinion. I used to enjoy it a lot back in 1991. I don't listen to it much these days. The only song that totally satisfies me is My Friend of Misery. Still, it's a very good album but it is not their best. As far as I'm concerned, they went downhill big time after this album, althuogh i enjoy Load. the rest is totally forgetable, for me at least. excuse my subjectivity.

Seeing how popular this album (and Metallica in general) still is around here I can see how you also thought this was awesome but changed your mind.

Imo this is a decent album, some great moments, some forgettable ones, but definitely a step down from Justice (which is almost my favorite Metallica album, second to Lightning).
JohnDoe - 23.05.2012 at 03:04  
Written by Valentin B on 22.05.2012 at 16:30

Written by JohnDoe on 23.10.2006 at 17:05

A highly overrated album in my humble opinion. I used to enjoy it a lot back in 1991. I don't listen to it much these days. The only song that totally satisfies me is My Friend of Misery. Still, it's a very good album but it is not their best. As far as I'm concerned, they went downhill big time after this album, althuogh i enjoy Load. the rest is totally forgetable, for me at least. excuse my subjectivity.

Seeing how popular this album (and Metallica in general) still is around here I can see how you also thought this was awesome but changed your mind.

Imo this is a decent album, some great moments, some forgettable ones, but definitely a step down from Justice (which is almost my favorite Metallica album, second to Lightning).


I wrote this almost 6 years ago.

Of course it was a step down from AJFA; this used to be called their worst back then , I never thought (back then) they could get worse than that but they did.
Valentin B - 23.05.2012 at 19:45  
Written by JohnDoe on 23.05.2012 at 03:04

Written by Valentin B on 22.05.2012 at 16:30

Written by JohnDoe on 23.10.2006 at 17:05

A highly overrated album in my humble opinion. I used to enjoy it a lot back in 1991. I don't listen to it much these days. The only song that totally satisfies me is My Friend of Misery. Still, it's a very good album but it is not their best. As far as I'm concerned, they went downhill big time after this album, althuogh i enjoy Load. the rest is totally forgetable, for me at least. excuse my subjectivity.

Seeing how popular this album (and Metallica in general) still is around here I can see how you also thought this was awesome but changed your mind.

Imo this is a decent album, some great moments, some forgettable ones, but definitely a step down from Justice (which is almost my favorite Metallica album, second to Lightning).


I wrote this almost 6 years ago.

I noticed that, but seeing as you're more into prog/classic rock I figured you feel the same about the album (now that the hype has died down a little bit and "being a rocker" doesn't equate to being a Metallica fanboy anymore)

and oh yeah, they got worse.. and with Lulu I really think/hope they hit the bottom.
JohnDoe - 25.05.2012 at 02:56  
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:


I wrote this almost 6 years ago.

I noticed that, but seeing as you're more into prog/classic rock I figured you feel the same about the album (now that the hype has died down a little bit and "being a rocker" doesn't equate to being a Metallica fanboy anymore)

and oh yeah, they got worse.. and with Lulu I really think/hope they hit the bottom.


I listened to their 80s albums and even their self titled album way too much back in the early 90s, that's why I rarely listen to them these days. Sometimes it's just for nostalgia reasons I play their classic albums. Not just because I discover new music or other music genres get my attention.
fanapathy - 23.10.2012 at 03:33  
I have never liked this album at all

But I truly appreciate how important it has been for bringing metal to the masses
I grew up when this hit the radio. People were listening to Dr Alban, 2 Unlimited and whatever the name of those eurodance techno bands. That was what was going on

And then bam. Enter Sandman. People started listening to Metallica and shortly after it was Fear of the Dark pretty much the same happened.

This was amazing and so many people would never have discovered rock/metal music and a lot of great albums would probably never have been made.

All that said I strongly dislike the sound of the album. I like only a handful of Metallica songs total and they're all before this. But thanks a lot for what influence this album has had

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Metallica - ...And Justice For All 4 29.09.2007 by Syk
Reviews Metallica - ...And Justice For All 4 15.12.2008 by Mindheist
Reviews Metallica - Death Magnetic 4 05.05.2009 by Vykintas
News Metallica - Start Working On New Album Later This Year 3 01.02.2011 by necrovamp
Albums Metallica - Making Magnetic [DVD] 3 13.06.2010 by K†ulu



Hits total: 5389 | This month: 71