Moonspell - Sin / Pecado review



Reviewer:
9.0

354 users:
7.94
Band: Moonspell
Album: Sin / Pecado
Release date: February 1998


01. Slow Down!
02. HandmadeGod
03. 2econd Skin
04. Abysmo
05. Flesh
06. Magdalene
07. V.C. (Gloria Domini)
08. EuroticA
09. Mute
10. Dekadance
11. Let The Children Cum To Me...
12. The Hanged Man
13. 13!


"Não há duas sem três" is a popular Portuguese proverb and basically, though it has no direct translation to English, means that if you have two, you'll have three. What do I mean with this saying? I mean that after two masterpieces we had to be blessed with a third one.

"Sin/Pecado" is very different from the previous albums, but Moonspell has taught us that that is positive and that we don't have to fear change. This is the most calm Moonspell album, still influenced by Doom Metal but more centered in the Gothic Metal environment, giving this album a newer, more emotional and beautiful athmosphere. For this reasons the rough vocals aren't as used as in "Wolfheart" or "Irreligious" and clean vocals make most of the album, showing us another side of Fernando Ribeiro's singing capabilities.

"Slow Down" is a small introduction and preceds the excellent "handmadeGod", which shows a great combination between keyboards and guitars. "2econd Skin" has a catchy chorus and great guitars. "Abysmo" follows the same logic. "Flesh" has an oriental sound and works as an introduction to the fantastic "Magdalene", where we clearly hear an electronic touch. "V.C. Gloria Domini" reveals great guitars and keyborads. Next track, "EuroticA", has electronic elements all over it, and Fernando Ribeiro practically seems to be speaking, which gives an amazing and very different environment. "Mute" has a nice chorus, great guitars and keyboards. Track ten is "DeKadence" and has some of the best lyrics of this album and sounds great as well. "Let The Children Cum To Me..." is another excellent track, with a nice melody, mainly thanks to great guitar work. "The Hanged Man" is the last "real" song on this album, as "13!" is just some seconds of an electronic sound, a nice way of ending the work.

The poetic lyrics are all in charge of Fernando Ribeiro and again this is another perfect aspect, texts that you wont get from any other band. It's erotic, irreligious, beautiful, controvertist, original, it's amazing.

All the elements in this album fit perfectly in every single second of music here. "Sin/Pecado" is the highest expoent of a melodic, melancholic, sad, relexing but still Metal complex combination suprebly executed. An album that no Gothic Metal fan should miss, even though it's not Moonspell's best work.

Written by Passenger | 01.04.2004


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 21   Visited by: 101 users
23.12.2008 - 12:31
poss
PERFECT!!! Really emotional....
Loading...
02.01.2009 - 17:14
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
An Average album for me 6.5
Loading...
02.01.2009 - 20:28
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
02.01.2009 - 21:06
SlaytallicA
Lycanthropy
In fact, for me this is the worst album from them!
----
One Pound Of Flesh, No More No Less, No Cartilage, No Bones, But Only Flesh...
Loading...
03.01.2009 - 00:28
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.

You just have to keep your mind open Ironically, contrary to basically everyone else, Sin/Pecado is the Moonspell album I keep going back to, and I'm a big Moonspell fan. I don't think I've listened to any of the others as many times. Everyone will probably disagree with me, I read other comments and reviews of this album and I understand why people feel this is a letdown, but there's something about it, a calmness, a certain eroticism that I just love and can't get tired of. Years pass by and this album sounds fresh every time I listen to it. Today I'd rate it higher. I'd rewrite this review, but it'd probably be too long because I'd feel the need to defend this album so much, and I don't want to have (another) review rejected because of length (by the way, there should be a minimum, but it's ridiculous that this site restricts a reviewer's creativity like that, there should be no maximum length for reviews).

Thanks for all your comments.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
03.01.2009 - 22:08
Stigmatized
..........
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.


Whatever man, we get it. Every comment you make on every band and album is correct and no one else has any say in the matter.
Loading...
03.01.2009 - 22:11
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Stigmatized on 03.01.2009 at 22:08

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.


Whatever man, we get it. Every comment you make on every band and album is correct and no one else has any say in the matter.


Nope, I am just stating my opinion. Posting is stating opinions. No one is wrong or right. I refuse to put IMO after every single post cause it is bleedingly obvious that it is my opinion. Am I not allowed to disagree with reviews? IMO (yes I know I am using it now) it is more interesting to read posts by people that disagree with reviews then a post that just says "I agree, good review"
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.01.2009 - 22:47
Southern Wind
Account deleted
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.


I see we have two disagreements in a row... for me Sin/Pecado is the best Moonspell album, and the only one I have a truly respect for. Its darkwave feel is amazing and also somehow sinister, without the pretentiousness of their later releases or that bitchiness of their first two full-lenghths... I'm not a Moonspell fan, but I truly love this album.
Loading...
03.01.2009 - 22:54
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 03.01.2009 at 22:47

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.


I see we have two disagreements in a row... for me Sin/Pecado is the best Moonspell album, and the only one I have a truly respect for. Its darkwave feel is amazing and also somehow sinister, without the pretentiousness of their later releases or that bitchiness of their first two full-lenghths... I'm not a Moonspell fan, but I truly love this album.


I especially love that bitchiness of the first two releases (btw, nice description for the sound there) I can't really stand the pretentiousness of their later releases either. But I don't like the darkwave feel to Sin/Pecado since I have never liked darkwave at all.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
04.01.2009 - 02:05
Hamird
HIV+
Written by Guest on 03.01.2009 at 22:47

I see we have two disagreements in a row... for me Sin/Pecado is the best Moonspell album, and the only one I have a truly respect for. Its darkwave feel is amazing and also somehow sinister, without the pretentiousness of their later releases or that bitchiness of their first two full-lenghths... I'm not a Moonspell fan, but I truly love this album.


No to be agree about their first two albums, but I also think that Sin/Pecado is the best full-length album.. (of course I like Under the Moonspell the most, that's piece of art in my opinion.)
But here in Sin/Pecado you see a great atmosphere, from the beginning to the end. I found Magdalene and Dekadance very special.. And my favorite track on the album, Eurotica.. And of course Hanged Man.. They are all great great songs of Moonspell in my opinion..
And that's end of my favorite works of Moonspell.. Butterfly Effect, Darkness n Hope, Antidote, Memorial and Night Eternal... Non of them were as well as Sin/Pecado for me..
Loading...
17.05.2009 - 21:25
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Abysmo is a great song but ALL the other sound like shit in my ears i do not like them.
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
01.06.2009 - 15:39
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
It is a weird tracklist.. I liked this album, but don't think 9 is a fair rate. ''Abysmo'' and ''The HangedMan'' (amazing acoustic riffs include) are beautiful songs, but to me these two tracks carry the whole album alone, since the other I can barely remember after listen.
Prefer the two first albums.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
15.10.2009 - 12:20
Slayer666
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.01.2009 at 20:28

I find this album to be worth a 5.5 or 6 at most. This was such a letdown after the previous two masterpieces Wolfsheart & Irreligious. Although Moonspell did pick themselves up a bit after this horrible sin against their brilliant music which once was they were never able to redeem themselves fully. They are now stuck in that 7 zone. A zone which will have the fanboys and fangirls lap it up like mad and leave the unbiased listener disappointed cause they know what Moonspell could do back in the day when they still mattered and didn't go through the motions which started with Sin/Pecado.

Huh? Really? I would have expected you to like this one, since I'm more-or-less familliar with your musical taste.
I wouldn't say this is that much worse that their 2 previous releases. However, it's not as good and the style has changed a lot. And the names of most songs are atrocious (Let The Children Cum To Me)... Overall, Abysmo, handmadeGod, 2econd Skin, Dekadence are really good, and the rest are solid. 8 from me.
Loading...
26.11.2009 - 22:12
advent
This album is the reason why i like moonspell...outstanding for me specially the hanged man....maybe the 2 previous albums are somehow better but this album has it special place among them.
Loading...
06.07.2010 - 02:57
Morphis
Back on 1998, this album was the biggest letdown in the portuguese metal scene.

History apart, even now for me this release is no better than an average album.
Loading...
08.07.2010 - 15:50
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Passenger, I think you have a great taste in music, I've told u that before I think, but this album isn't a 9 for me at all. I understand why some people like it but it totally isn't my thing and Moonspell sound like they were trying stuff with this album that really didn't work for them.

U can say that the overall atmosphere is still Moonspell but uninspired Moonspell I would say.

Different opinions are welcome too I hope.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
09.07.2010 - 16:45
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Thanks for the compliments BloodTears, you also have great taste, and of course different opinions are always welcome I can hardly believe I wrote this review 6 years ago and (although I'd probably write it a bit differently) I still think this album is incredibly emotional and multi-layered, as a whole it affects me deeply, like few albums in any style, from any band manage to. I do like their other albums a lot, and I like Gothic Metal in general, but this one is so different, unique and intimate. It's one of those things that really has no explanation, I just love it.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
28.07.2010 - 02:52
Darkside Momo
Retired
Ah. This album was quite a letdown at first for me, being so calm and just goth...
But it really grew on me, and it's one of my favorites.
And I also believe it's one of their best, but maybe not the best suited for a purely metal audience...
----

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you" - Ray Bradbury

"I've lost too many years now
I'm stealing back my soul
I'm awake now"
Abney Park (Letter Between A Little Boy & Himself As An Adult)
Loading...
05.09.2010 - 21:44
dark_mar
10 for me.
Loading...
21.10.2011 - 15:25
Slayer666
Written by BloodTears on 08.07.2010 at 15:50

Passenger, I think you have a great taste in music, I've told u that before I think, but this album isn't a 9 for me at all. I understand why some people like it but it totally isn't my thing and Moonspell sound like they were trying stuff with this album that really didn't work for them.



Kind of a very late response, but I have nothing better to do at the moment.

I used to think like this too, some year or two ago, when I was almost exclusively into metal. But since then, I've gained a whole lot more appreciation for it, enough to even say it's almost on par with the brilliant Irreligious and Wolfheart. Pretty much a perfect darkwave/rock album, you just need to appreciate all the little details that were put into it.
Some even call it Moonspell's finest, at least as far as musicianship and compositions concerned.
Loading...
21.10.2011 - 16:29
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Slayer666 on 21.10.2011 at 15:25

Written by BloodTears on 08.07.2010 at 15:50

Passenger, I think you have a great taste in music, I've told u that before I think, but this album isn't a 9 for me at all. I understand why some people like it but it totally isn't my thing and Moonspell sound like they were trying stuff with this album that really didn't work for them.



Kind of a very late response, but I have nothing better to do at the moment.

I used to think like this too, some year or two ago, when I was almost exclusively into metal. But since then, I've gained a whole lot more appreciation for it, enough to even say it's almost on par with the brilliant Irreligious and Wolfheart. Pretty much a perfect darkwave/rock album, you just need to appreciate all the little details that were put into it.
Some even call it Moonspell's finest, at least as far as musicianship and compositions concerned.


I didn't even remember this comment

I listen to all kinds of things besides metal, including goth, so maybe if I listened to it now, my opinion would be different. I might try doing that. I do respect Moonspell for doing what the hell they want musically but at this point I can't say much more, I haven't listened to this album in a long time.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...

Hits total: 6319 | This month: 21