Heavenly - Virus review



Reviewer:
8.6

174 users:
8.66
Band: Heavenly
Album: Virus
Release date: September 2006


01. The Dark Memories
02. Spill Blood On Fire
03. Virus
04. The Power & Fury
05. Wasted Time
06. Bravery In The Field
07. Liberty
08. When The Rain Begins To Fall [Jermaine Jackson And Pia Zadora cover]
09. The Prince Of The World
10. The Joker [Japanese bonus]
11. Spill Blood On Fire [Japanese version] [Japanese bonus]


Virus is already the 4th album of the French Heavy/Power Metal band from France, Heavenly. Their two previous albums were famous successes in Japan and yes, they also got some positive words across Europe and France even if I cannot say that Heavenly never reached the recognition point of Manigance or Adagio. But it should change, at least I hope so, because without a doubt "Virus" is their best production.

I remember the three previous albums of the band, it was good powerful Heavy Metal on a side. Really Heavenly found the way to produce three first good albums. But to be honest I don't consider them unforgettable albums (one more time I'm not saying that they were bad but…). With "Virus", it will probably be different, because for sure if we still have good music we also have this time pure hits. I don't know if it's coming from the new members but I think that we have some real strong musical performances now and the songs are not only catchy, they have power and great melodies that will stay for good in your heads.

"The Dark Memories" or "Spill Blood on Fire" for example are two classy songs, which mix the melodies of Heavy Metal and the blasts of Power with a lot of ability . Plus, at times, it sounds a bit like the last Adagio; we're not so far away from Progressive Metal. The Keyboards or the fast technical Guitars soli are really complex and not so basic. The performance of the singer is really good so obviously if you add all those different points together you can only get a really good album.

The production is also really good, the demonic artwork is really nice and you'll (a bit like with Adagio one more time) have the luck to listen to a really good and funny cover of the 80's Hit "When the Rain Begins to Fall". "Virus" is full of good things, the production work was done by Philip Colodetti and Mika Jussila but you'll also be able to find three guests: Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), Tanja of Lullacry and Kevin Codfert (Adagio)… Nice right? Heavenly found a way to release an album that will probably launch their career on the "starway" (at least in Europe).

More direct but more complex too, "Virus" is THE album that was missing in the discography of the French combo. If you liked the band or not but if you just like good Heavy Metal and want to listen to nice catchy songs, I really recommend to buy this new album. "Virus" is without a doubt the best album of the French combo and I'm sure that a lot of people will remember this great musical performance. A must…


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8

Written by Jeff | 12.11.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 117 users
12.11.2006 - 15:26
annodomini
this album is really grate and dont dissapointing but... Dust to Dust to were much better... Dust to Dust is something magical and i cant imagine that someone will ever release better heavy/power metal album... But virus is also very good...best song for me is Liberty
----
there is nothing left to die for...
Loading...
12.11.2006 - 17:14
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
I've heard some other songs, and the singer is great! Have to check this one out
Loading...
12.11.2006 - 22:05
Devil Child
Account deleted
I just got the second album from Heavenly, "Sign Of The Winner" and it's great power metal, I really like it, I have to get more stuff by them and this album seem to be great too. I just heard recently the song on their new website "Spill Blood On Fire" and this song get stuck in my head since the first listen.
Loading...
12.11.2006 - 22:56
PyRaMaZe
Account deleted
Nice review for a nice album,

I bought this album thinking I would love it and ended up loving it,
Loading...
13.11.2006 - 00:05
rlagksquf
i'll give it 7.5/10, the 3rd album "dust to dust" was a bit better in my opinion
Loading...
14.11.2006 - 04:06
rubyeye
Personally, I'm attracted more to this album because the songs are far more memorable & catchy. Compositionally, they are more melodic and complex plus there is some variety in style between each track. I've read lots of praise for "Dust to Dust", but that album just doesn't have the replay value "Virus" has. For me, "Virus" is the album which finally made me a fan of this band. Hopefully, they will continue to progress with future releases.
Loading...
09.03.2007 - 08:39
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Written by rlagksquf on 13.11.2006 at 00:05

i'll give it 7.5/10, the 3rd album "dust to dust" was a bit better in my opinion


i agree. dust to dust was better. i saw the video for "throw blood on fire" and i was nauseated by how soft and womanly it was. dust to dust featured boss drummer max pilo and his phenominal double bass control. from the little i saw from the video, the music was that of Rhapsody's "march of the swordmaster". which is, in my opinion, the most atrocious and cheesy song in the history of recorded sound
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
01.04.2007 - 21:15
Kincaid
There are some bands which successfuly prove that they become better with every album... Heavenly is one of the best examples for those kind of bands, Dust to Dust was great but Virus is much way technical and powerful. I really loved it!!!
Loading...
03.05.2007 - 02:10
facayu
Account deleted
woooow this album is SUUPEEEERRR
best song for me :Wasted Time
Loading...
17.09.2007 - 06:00
Rusher
What an amazing album! Well, I think all albums they've released are great but, with this one, they really reached another level of excellence! Anxiously waiting for their next release...
Loading...
01.04.2008 - 17:59
Unconsecrated
Perpetual Ascent
The only Power Metal album that i can hear without get bored. I'll have to hear their previous albums
Loading...
24.05.2008 - 12:01
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
For me this is their worst work some far. Truly a letdown. I just hate the drums on Virus, which resemble a little bit the drums on Nightwish's I Wish I Had an Angel.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
10.06.2008 - 06:11
WorpeX
Such a great album. I like this one more than Dust to Dust personally... for me, Dust to Dust really didn't have any songs that stood out (Although as a whole, the album is great). On virus, I can easily point to some songs and be like, "Ya, that song is fucking amazing".

My favorite tracks are: Spill Blood on Fire, Wasted Time, When the Rain begins to fall and Dark Memories
Loading...
01.03.2009 - 14:10
The Shape 1973
Where are Heavenly now, not heard anything from them in a long time now.
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...
29.10.2010 - 12:11
Mountain King
K i K o
Written by WorpeX on 10.06.2008 at 06:11

Such a great album. I like this one more than Dust to Dust personally... for me, Dust to Dust really didn't have any songs that stood out (Although as a whole, the album is great). On virus, I can easily point to some songs and be like, "Ya, that song is fucking amazing".

My favorite tracks are: Spill Blood on Fire, Wasted Time, When the Rain begins to fall and Dark Memories


Agree i just want to add "Prince Of The World"...
Loading...
19.05.2011 - 16:56
Pyramid God
Really good album IMO. Powerful geeetars and vox. Bonus points for the Jermaine Jackson tribute (no one cares about Pia Zadora).
Loading...
31.12.2011 - 13:11
Wes
Wonderful review and album. The Prince of The World makes this album worth buying for me.
Loading...

Hits total: 8851 | This month: 36