Rating:
8.5
Metallica - Kill 'Em All
13 July 1983


01. Hit The Lights
02. The Four Horsemen
03. Motorbreath
04. Jump In The Fire
05. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth
06. Whiplash
07. Phantom Lord
08. No Remorse
09. Seek & Destroy
10. Metal Militia
11. Am I Evil? [Diamond Head cover] [Elektra Reissue bonus]
12. Blitzkrieg [Blitzkrieg cover] [Elektra Reissue bonus]
13. The Four Horsemen [live] [Digital Download Only]
14. Whiplash [live] [Digital Download Only]


The history of the best Metal band began with this cd. In this album the bases of the thrash metal appeared for first time. By this time Metallica was surely the fastest band of the world, even faster than Venom [precursors of Black Metal style]. In this cd Metallica finds an own style which some years later will bring them to the top of Metal.

The musical quality of this cd is not very good, but the quality of composers of Metallica is incredible. Of course the musicians of the band at this time promised much : Dave Mustaine [later, founding member of Megadeth] and the disappeared God of bass Cliff Burton, apart the rest well known band: James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett and Lars Ulrich.

The 10 tracks of the album sprinkle blood, from the initial track "Hit the Lights" to the last one ?Metal Militia?. In this cd the Metalli-Hymn, ?Seek & Destroy? is the cardinal piece. I also have to mention the fantastic bass solo of ?[Anesthesia]-Pulling Teeth? song. I will define this cd in one word: electric.

If you are not into Metallica and you want to start listening to them, this is not a good album to start with, you must listen to the Black Album, because the garage sound of Kill ?em All is really crude, although Metallica was and is much more than a garage band, anyway a cult album, without a doubt.


Band profile: Metallica
Album: Kill 'Em All


 


written by Iced Iñigo | 22.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 43  
Users visited: 202  
Search this topic:  


Bulus - 12.08.2006 at 16:51  
Four horsemen definitely the best song in this album, it's a complex song.
BloodTears - 12.08.2006 at 20:02  
My favourite is seek & destroy and "whiplash", a very simple song that, makes me wana headbang everytime i hear it!
DLMokoma - 27.08.2006 at 17:46  
whiplash is my favorite. but every single track in this cd is awesome. and James vocals are really.. hmm... interesting
Peter515 - 01.09.2006 at 17:05  
My best song from this album is Seek and Destroy
yonga - 22.09.2006 at 19:24  
my favorite album from metallica. jump in the fire
BurbotsRevenge - 24.09.2006 at 03:27  
great album

fav songs: hit the lights and four horseman



brilliant
Valentin B - 12.11.2006 at 13:51  
i recall a time when metallica actually ruled.....
their best imo. it has aggresion, catchiness, fast thrash riffs, and every single song(excluding the bonus tracks, which i haven't heard) could be a single, except of course for anesthesia
9/10
angel - 30.11.2006 at 23:20  
seek and destroy and the four horsemen.
angel - 30.11.2006 at 23:21  
but also motorbreath, hit the lights, anasthesia.
ThrashMetal_Rulz - 14.01.2007 at 01:12  
The Four Horseman. It has amazing bass lines.
Bitch Boy - 15.01.2007 at 02:40  
"Seek and Destroy" is my favorite. By the way, Kirk wasn't part of Metallica at that time...
Warman - 20.06.2007 at 13:43  
Without doubt one of the most important releases of Metal, truly an amazing album!
theflyingmachine - 21.06.2007 at 05:23  
The album title is appropriate because it annihilates all other Metallica albums. Easily one of my favorite albums of all time. This should not have any score lower than a 10.
As for the sound quality, I think it adds to the atmosphere of the album. It isn't like some death or black metal where bad production essentially means unintelligible music...everything can be heard.
Opium - 21.06.2007 at 07:14  
While I do love this album to death, the reviewer is wrong in saying "In this album the bases of the thrash metal appeared for first time.", since Overkill are regarded as creating the first true recorded thrash song in existence. It's definitely NOT worth a 10, but is perfect in some ways, while others it is not. However, it also packs a tonne of energy into just one disc, which is still amazing, considering when it was made (although others who would rival this album emerged later).
Pinusar - 26.06.2007 at 00:14  
I agree with Opium that it has a lot of energy packed in one CD. It is indeed catchy, speedy metal, very good! Probably my favourite CD by Metallica, I could listen to such songs live and headbang anytime. My favourite song is probably Motorbreath, but also Seek and Destroy. This album also features Killer solos, for example on the song Seek and Destroy.
DrunkenFuck - 05.10.2007 at 10:52  
Four Horsemen, Motorbreath and Seek And Destroy are my favorite. They are all great of course, however the one I like the least is Jump In The Fire, though I wouldn't say it's bad either.
+{Jonas}+ - 20.10.2007 at 02:46  
I agree with this album. It sounds kinda noisy, the production is not very good, and that can be seen in the inside of the booklet, white pages, black letter. But it certainly kicks ass and it's one of the most agresive albums I've ever heard.
Angel Of Rage - 27.12.2007 at 19:11  
I think this album is great. It was an excellent beggining for Metallica. I enjoy most of these songs live. For example, Whiplash and Seek n' Destroy are the flags of this historic album.
RhysTerk - 04.01.2008 at 18:26  
Love this album, especially the tracks Metal militia and Seek & destroy.
deadset61 - 06.01.2008 at 21:42  
My favorite Metallica album ever. Favorite songs are Seek and Destroy, No Remorse, and The Four Horsemen. Cliffs bass solo track os pretty cool too.
Dark-Member Alex - 19.05.2008 at 01:36  
my favorite album of metallica and the most aggresive!!!
Phantomlord_mk - 20.07.2008 at 13:48  
Phantom lord and hit the lights my favourite songs from this album.
Elio - 08.08.2008 at 19:16  
i don't like the review since it's too simple in my opinion...this is a fuckin masterpiece!
Hit the lights wooooooow
Daggon - 15.09.2008 at 11:12  
Oh Anesthesia is fucking great, I can reproduce it with my lips haha sounds great, I love this album since I was 14 or 15 years old.
mega amarth - 04.12.2008 at 12:22  
The best thrash album ever with quality facrorize.

i love the songs: hit the lights - no remorse - seek and destroy which guided me to metallica
In Bone Factory - 25.12.2008 at 10:21  
The fastest metal task.
it makes me feeling neckache every time i listen to it especially the song hit the lights.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 25.12.2008 at 11:19  
Written by In Bone Factory on 25.12.2008 at 10:21

The fastest metal task.
it makes me feeling neckache every time i listen to it especially the song hit the lights.

Advice!: its not good for ur age to headbang as a young one! do it easier! neckache is the beginning, but brain disease will comin after.

but for me the song Horseman is the best song at this album
In Bone Factory - 25.12.2008 at 12:56  
Written by Guest on 25.12.2008 at 11:19

Written by In Bone Factory on 25.12.2008 at 10:21

The fastest metal task.
it makes me feeling neckache every time i listen to it especially the song hit the lights.

Advice!: its not good for ur age to headbang as a young one! do it easier! neckache is the beginning, but brain disease will comin after.

but for me the song Horseman is the best song at this album

you should be a prophet with such advices.anyway im still young dude
THE_BLACK_GOD - 25.12.2008 at 16:03  
Written by In Bone Factory on 25.12.2008 at 12:56

Written by Guest on 25.12.2008 at 11:19

Written by In Bone Factory on 25.12.2008 at 10:21

The fastest metal task.
it makes me feeling neckache every time i listen to it especially the song hit the lights.

Advice!: its not good for ur age to headbang as a young one! do it easier! neckache is the beginning, but brain disease will comin after.

but for me the song Horseman is the best song at this album

you should be a prophet with such advices.anyway im still young dude

huh! prophet I dont believe in any prophet, so how can I be a prophet myself! I said Advice cause it was fun, it was a friendly word. do what u wantm but nothin is more important than healthy body! hoops! dont use drugs too
Andresopeth - 27.03.2009 at 14:23  
Seek & Destroy and The Four Horsemen, The last one for me is the different song of the album a song that opens the path for their later creativity in Ride The Lightning!
Deadmeat - 17.05.2009 at 21:24  
With a better production this one would kill!!! great!!!
Uirapuru - 01.06.2009 at 12:54  
Not a big deal at all. If it wasn't for the historic fact that this is the debut album of one of the most successful metal bands of all time, it would'nt be an album that I was gonna search to listen.
Best songs: Whiplash, No Remorse and Seek And Destroy.
Andresopeth - 23.07.2009 at 16:43  
The Four Horsemen! but this album contains a lot of good songs is hard to pick just one!
wormdrink414 - 16.10.2009 at 07:42  
Favorite Metallica album hands down. The Four Horsemen is one of the greatest songs of all time.
Boxcar Willy - 26.11.2009 at 18:27  
Written by BloodTears on 12.08.2006 at 20:02

My favourite is seek & destroy and "whiplash", a very simple song that, makes me wana headbang everytime i hear it!

SO TRUE!!!!!
BloodTears - 26.11.2009 at 18:38  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.11.2009 at 18:27

Written by BloodTears on 12.08.2006 at 20:02

My favourite is seek & destroy and "whiplash", a very simple song that, makes me wana headbang everytime i hear it!

SO TRUE!!!!!


That is still true today.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 26.11.2009 at 19:49  
Hit The Lights, The Four Horsemen and Motorbreath. these are songs which I like the most from this album and then its Metal Militia.
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2009 at 17:29  
Written by BloodTears on 26.11.2009 at 18:38

Written by Boxcar Willy on 26.11.2009 at 18:27

Written by BloodTears on 12.08.2006 at 20:02

My favourite is seek & destroy and "whiplash", a very simple song that, makes me wana headbang everytime i hear it!

SO TRUE!!!!!


That is still true today.

damn straight!!!
Boxcar Willy - 27.11.2009 at 17:33  
Written by Guest on 21.06.2007 at 07:14

While I do love this album to death, the reviewer is wrong in saying "In this album the bases of the thrash metal appeared for first time.", since Overkill are regarded as creating the first true recorded thrash song in existence. It's definitely NOT worth a 10, but is perfect in some ways, while others it is not. However, it also packs a tonne of energy into just one disc, which is still amazing, considering when it was made (although others who would rival this album emerged later).

I agree this album is not perfect but it still is pretty damn good!!
derplo - 17.07.2010 at 07:21  
Delicious album. i wanna buy.
Death_95 - 11.06.2011 at 21:17  
The Four Horsemen and Metal Militia are the best.
Nemo Atkins - 18.06.2011 at 18:02  
I thought I might as well point out that Mustaine was not actually involved in the recording of this album (beyond song writing credits): he was fired a month prior to the recording and Kirk replaced him (if you don't believe me, I read it on Wikipedia). Not a criticism of anything, just a quick note for future reference for everyone.

The album itself is pretty good, although I don't particularly like it when I compare it to their later masterpieces Ride The Lightning (my favourite album by them) and Master of Puppets: the production is pretty messy, which can occationally ruin parts of songs (the opening of "(Anestheria) Pulling Teeth" slightly ruins the track for me) and the riffs can sometimes sound too similar. However, it's still got an awesome track listing and almost every track is pretty solid throughout.
Troy Killjoy - 18.06.2011 at 21:30  
Written by Nemo Atkins on 18.06.2011 at 18:02

(if you don't believe me, I read it on Wikipedia)

Just an FYI - Wikipedia is not a credible source.

I'm not agreeing or disagreeing what the information presented in this case, but it's funny reading "I read it on Wikipedia" as a legitimate argument.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Metallica - Kill 'Em All 7.5 20.02.2010 by MichaelMyers64
Reviews Metallica - Master Of Puppets 6.5 12.08.2006 by Bulus
Reviews Metallica - Ride The Lightning 6 22.07.2006 by vhaldemar
News Metallica - Riot 'Em All In Colombia 6 12.03.2010 by LeChron James
Albums Metallica - ...And Justice For All 4.5 20.03.2010 by



Hits total: 6121 | This month: 44