Trivium - The Crusade review



Reviewer:
N/A

414 users:
7.27
Band: Trivium
Album: The Crusade
Release date: October 2006


01. Ignition
02. Detonation
03. Entrance Of The Conflagration
04. Anthem (We Are The Fire)
05. Unrepentant
06. And Sadness Will Sear
07. Becoming The Dragon
08. To The Rats
09. This World Can't Tear Us Apart
10. Tread The Floods
11. Contempt Breeds Contamination
12. The Rising
13. The Crusade


Trivium baffles me. As much as I thought their original style was not particularly interesting to begin with, it is extremely strange for any band to simply throw their old sound out of the window in favor of something else. Yes, this is very strange indeed and yet this is precisely what the guys from Trivium did. To make matters even more complicated, the new Trivium sound is basically old-school thrash (with some heavy metal elements here and there), rooted especially firmly in bands such as Metallica and Testament. The hero worship here is at such a level that we are almost dealing with a tribute album. How does all of this pay off quality wise?

Well, here comes the part that baffles me. I simply don't know what to say about an album like The Crusade. As much as the thrash over here is quite passable, I just can't get over how uniquely unoriginal it is. Call it the Trivium touch or whatever, but once again the band has made an album that is largely unlistenable to me. Don't get me wrong, songs like "Entrance of the Conflagration" or "To The Rats" are actually quite exquisite thrash, with memorable song-writing, sharp rhythms and good riffs; however, the ghost of James Hetfield and co. leers ever so closely all the time behind all this decent music. Even the vocals are an un-mistakable rip-off. Of course, I still think this is an improvement over Trivium's previous formulaic and cliché-laden metalcore-ish sound. Still, it would have been much better if the band concentrated their efforts on a more original result.

In a world where context doesn't exist and solely on its own merits, The Crusade is a good and often great thrash album. Unfortunately, context is something that I just cannot ignore and so overall this album is a disappointment for me.


 



Written on 11.12.2006 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 56   Visited by: 322 users
21.04.2007 - 12:06
Basso
Account deleted
Written by Doc Godin on 21.04.2007 at 09:02

Written by kaos666 on 11.12.2006 at 17:59

So bad it's not even rated...I love it! Trivium are balls, why they are dubbed the saviors of metal passes me, I can be a savior of metal if they can! The review perfectly suits my opinion!

Who the hell dubbed them saviors of metal?


I think its kerrang or Metal Hammer or somethin similar......
Loading...
21.04.2007 - 14:27
kaos666
It was Kerrang, MH are a bit more decent...a bit!
Loading...
21.04.2007 - 22:16
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Guest on 21.04.2007 at 12:06

Written by Doc Godin on 21.04.2007 at 09:02

Written by kaos666 on 11.12.2006 at 17:59

So bad it's not even rated...I love it! Trivium are balls, why they are dubbed the saviors of metal passes me, I can be a savior of metal if they can! The review perfectly suits my opinion!

Who the hell dubbed them saviors of metal?


I think its kerrang or Metal Hammer or somethin similar......

What can you expect, Ive seen My Chemical Romance on the cover of metal hammer....not once, but twice!
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
14.05.2007 - 20:52
Angela-Metala666
Account deleted
Well i like it.. ^^ and besides, its wat i listen, why wud i bother to people who says triviums gay?

Didnt i not bothered wen ppl said metals gay wen i started listening to metal?
Loading...
12.06.2007 - 23:10
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Written by Doc Godin on 11.01.2007 at 08:55

Written by Guest on 11.12.2006 at 10:05

Great album... original unoriginal, in a times when nothing is original this album is something fresh and full of energy. I like it too much!!



Wow, looks like me and you are alone on this one, I absolutely love this album, and I hated Trivium with a passion before this came out, I mean i still vomit upon there first 2 albums but I was so pleasantly surprised with this one, its good.

Oh you idiot, you got tired of that album in like 2 weeks. I found it good for a short period of time but now that Im very tired of it I cant help but side with the mob.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
03.09.2007 - 23:29
Dan066
Account deleted
I am not a fan of Trivium, but why does everyone hate this band with a passion? If you don't like them, just don't waste your time listening to them. Why do you have to let everyone know how much you dispise them? People don't even give Limp Bizcuit this much shit. Anyway, about the new album, I pretty much agree with jupitreas, not very original and mediocre.
Loading...
03.09.2007 - 23:29
Dan066
Account deleted
I am not a fan of Trivium, but why does everyone hate this band with a passion? If you don't like them, just don't waste your time listening to them. Why do you have to let everyone know how much you dispise them? People don't even give Limp Bizcuit this much shit. Anyway, about the new album, I pretty much agree with jupitreas, not very original and mediocre.
Loading...
19.10.2007 - 01:01
Szron
7/10

Decent enough album, but I liked the previous ones better. The songs on Crusade are more catchy and diverse from each other and I guess that's a plus. Still, they lack the aggression and raw vocals of the previous releases (especially Ember).

I've seen the band live, but the sound engineering was awful. Never mind, I still had a blast in the moshpit.

For the people who dub them talentless - check out the Roadrunner United DVD, where Corey Balieu comes up to the studio, drops a mind-boggling killer solo (for In the Fire) with a smile on his face, and leaves for home afterwards. If that's not talent, then I don't know what talent is.
Loading...
19.11.2007 - 18:38
ER_Guyra
Written by Szron on 19.10.2007 at 01:01

7/10

Decent enough album, but I liked the previous ones better. The songs on Crusade are more catchy and diverse from each other and I guess that's a plus. Still, they lack the aggression and raw vocals of the previous releases (especially Ember).

I've seen the band live, but the sound engineering was awful. Never mind, I still had a blast in the moshpit.

For the people who dub them talentless - check out the Roadrunner United DVD, where Corey Balieu comes up to the studio, drops a mind-boggling killer solo (for In the Fire) with a smile on his face, and leaves for home afterwards. If that's not talent, then I don't know what talent is.


I totally agree with you, I really liked the first two albums. The songs in The Crusade are more versatile, and they have cool riffs (found more interesting Corey's than Matt's), but I think it wasn't what I expected after Ascendancy.

And yeap the solo from In The Fire totally rocks, they HAVE talent, but maybe they haven't put it all together yet.

I would like to see them live anyways, they haven't come to Mexico and I'm still waiting.
Loading...
25.11.2007 - 01:53
b0000mst1ck
the crusade gave me a revelation; trivium should just change their name to alcohollica and become a metallica cover band.
Loading...
29.01.2008 - 23:18
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
I personally like this album, it's a big improvement over the metalcore sound, as jupitreas says, but it's barely their 1st album as thrash metal. I seriously think it's a good beggining to get into the genre... IMO we should wait and see how the next album is gonna be.
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
10.05.2008 - 11:45
whitehouse3001
I do like this album, and I think it brings enough originality to the table to get at least an 8, but I thought as an exercise we could try to match each Trivium song up with its most similar Metallica counterpart. Here are a few to start with...

Ignition = Blackened?
Anthem (We Are The Fire) = Fuel
Unrepentant = Through The Never (although Unrepentant is much better)
To The Rats = Dyer's Eve? (maybe a stretch...)
Loading...
20.05.2008 - 08:45
metalgod5298
Almost every band on this site (or anywhere else) has copied, or been inspired by Metallica, in some way. Most of these comments are so ignorant I had to say something. Metalcore is the biggest crock of shit and I am so glad they got away from it. This album is killer all the way through and all these posers above need to be on a different site. The vocals are what set it apart from the rest. I'm so sick of these good bands that ruin their music with stupid growling all the f***ing time. Growling doesn't = balls; it = no future. Trivium is the future of metal.
Loading...
05.07.2008 - 17:59
arwestromen
7/10 I don´t see anything wrong with this album, it got good riffs and diecent vocals, who gives a shit if they´re not original...give me ten bands (max ten years in existense) who have a original heavy sound.
----
Don't fuck with sweden
We gave you IKEA
Loading...
25.08.2008 - 12:34
Helloween
Hey Trivium,turn your backs on your enemies and all those motherfuckers rot in their jealousy.The Crusade is amazing
Loading...
26.09.2008 - 10:04
ioannisk
The album has some really nice songs but in general they got me tired quite soon. I don't understand how a really good musician like mathew heafy, that has proven himself in roadrunner united with amazing songs like in the fire and dawn of a golden age, can't write something equally memorable and impressive with his own band.
Generally i would give the album a 6.
Loading...
30.09.2008 - 02:30
Nicko's Nose
This album is so fucking underrated! I'm sure that most of the "metalheads" that hate Trivium hate them only because they're not not tr00 metal!!!1!eleven! or for another reason that has nothing to do with the quality of their music. Its incredible how fucking close minded some "metalheads" are... Trivium could release the best metal album ever and a lot of "metalheads " would hate it simply because... Its Trivium.

Anyway, back to The Crusade, I don't think that it sounds that much like Metallica, ok, a lot of the riffs remind of Metallica, but saying that you could listen to a song from it and think that its a Metallica song is fucking stupid... The choruses don't sound like Metallica's choruses at all for example.

8/10
Loading...
28.04.2009 - 20:20
Xeros612
Decent enough album, though I still refuse to classify it as thrash. As with the rest of their discography, I say thrash-influenced metalcore. The vocals are much improved here, lacking Heafy's "bleh" screams for the most part, plus all the songs are catchy and with good solos. I give it a solid 7/10 myself. EDIT: After a relisten, I'm upping it to a 9. Solid album.
Loading...
14.08.2009 - 01:23
Vitriolic Hate
Chaos Reaper
It's ok album when it came & out putted in CD player i was dissapointed with the lack of harsh vocals but it grew on me from time to time! yeah it's not original but not Metallica....
Loading...
18.12.2009 - 03:34
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
I heard a rumor that this albums is suposed to be a tribute to teh whole Bay Area Thrash scene...
It's a pretty decent thrash metal album, IMO.
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
22.07.2010 - 04:49
frewq
¡Excelent Album!
Loading...
28.09.2010 - 07:05
Moose
Sweet album! A lot better than people say.
Loading...
06.01.2011 - 14:56
jimmy
Love this album. i hate hearing the complaints about it all the time. for years people were complaining that they wanted thrash that was more like old school metallica, megadeth and testament. well now they have it and they bitch that it sounds like old school metallica, megadeth, and testament. wtf? make up your minds already!!! either you like the SOUND or you dont, but dont rag on the album because it reminds you of something else. it's trus that the influences are there. you can clearly hear bits of metallica, testament, and even armored saint in there, but that in no way makes this a bad album, or a bad band.
simply put, this is a great 80's thrash (sounding) album and a lot of fun to listen to. it's certainly better than anything that metallica has released since 1992.
Loading...
09.01.2011 - 22:20
LucasCollins93
To me, This albums sounds nothing like Metallica. It sounds like TRIVIUM. I don't hear any Hetfield in Heafy's voice, it sounds like Heafy. Lars Ulrich only wishes he could drum like that. Kirk Hammett couldn't even play like that in his dreams. Of course it sounds thrashy, but just because a band has thrash influence doesn't mean that they sound like Metallica. A few of the songs on The Crusade have a Metallica flavor but only a couple parts resemble them. Don't get me wrong, I love Metallica, but Trivium is much better and far more creative. I'm really growing tired of people whining like babies and complaining that this album sounds just like Metallica. I respect your opinion and you are entitled to it, but I just don't hear the Metallica sound that you described.
Loading...
09.09.2012 - 18:35
Lit.
Account deleted
Written by Jaeryd on 08.09.2012 at 21:48

You want a crappy rip off of old thrash metal bands? Go for Havok.

Fixed.
Loading...
27.11.2012 - 05:00
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Thedude117 on 27.11.2012 at 04:48

Anyone who says Trivium is unoriginal and boring should go listen to Shogun.

Not to be a total douchebag, but this isn't Shogun.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...

Hits total: 9918 | This month: 31