Rating:
8.6
In Flames - Reroute To Remain
3 September 2002


01. Reroute To Remain
02. System
03. Drifter
04. Trigger
05. Cloud Connected
06. Transparent
07. Dawn Of A New Day
08. Egonomic
09. Minus
10. Dismiss The Cynics
11. Free Fall
12. Dark Signs
13. Metaphor
14. Black & White


This is it. The infamous album. The album where In Flames definitely left the underground and joined the mainstream. The sound could be heard on the "Cloud Connected" single released prior to this album (which is strange because this is one of the least interesting tracks on the album) and caused quite a stir in the metal press. Some hailed the new sound, some hated it, but the fact (as seen from this time distance) is that the whole thing was exaggerated and the change isn't THAT drastic. It is just the next step in the speeding evolution of their music. Listen to any track from "Clayman" before these ones to see what I'm talking about.

The album sets sail with "Reroute To Remain," one of the best tracks, with some nice keyboard work lifting you up and throwing you right into the middle of the atmosphere which is found throughout the entire album. And it just keeps flowing. "System," "Trigger," "Drifter," "Egonomic," similar in style, but very diverse, so that there is no chance of repetitiveness. "Trigger," specifically, is a killer track with a fantastic chorus and is rightfully claimed to be one of the best In Flames songs ever! After a few tracks comes another great (often underrated) track, "Dismiss The Cynics," grooving all over the place. Then the album starts to settle down slowly coming to the last track, "Black & White," a more accessible (or mainstream-oriented, if you wish) track. It would also be fair to mention 2 acoustic pieces, "Dawn Of A New Day" and "Metaphor," nice compositions contributing to the previously mentioned atmosphere.

So, what taste does this one leave? Well, when I first heard it I thought "this is a fine piece of metal, what's all the fuss about?" and to be honest I'm not too clear about this even nowadays. This is no radical sellout, no revolutionary genre-change. In fact, I consider this album to be better than "Clayman." This is what In Flames wanted to do - these songs don't sound as if the band members sat down and said "OK, now we will compose a mainstream song!"... The only major change is that the band became much more present in the media with this release, mostly because they made videos for the most popular songs, which then acquired more plays on the radio, etc., but this has probably got more to do with the label than the band members. I cannot say that they don't sound more accessible, but if they made 5 copies of "The Jester Race" everyone would be complaining in the same way they do with Obituary, Deicide and Suffocation today. Don't be affected by the metal scene's narrow-mindedness. This album has sold really well and it isn't without reason. I'm not saying that it is the best In Flames album, the early works remain classic works, but this one merits your attention as well.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: In Flames
Album: Reroute To Remain


 


written by gojko88 | 21.01.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Haddonfield

Rating:
9.0
There are always going to be debates about whether In Flames have sold out or not. People are always going to slate the newer material whilst praising the older. Personally, I enjoy all their discography, I see their change as neither good nor bad, but just as a simple evolution. In the late 90s and early 2000s In Flames were probably my favourite band. Today, although I still enjoy listening to them from time to time, they have somewhat lost some of their appeal. However, one album sticks out and never ceases to amaze me, that one is Reroute To Remain.

Read more ››
published 16.11.2009 | Comments (16)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 121  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 21.01.2007 at 15:16  
You all can say everything about this album, but I think it's one of their best ever, it's so full of good riffs and great emotional atmospheres...
Maybe it's because it was my first In Flames album, anyway this one is very very good IMO...
matthioso - 21.01.2007 at 15:22  
Great review, absolutely great
I totally agree with you
-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 23.01.2007 at 03:34  
this is a guest review, so ill save my comments to: This album sucks, that is not the good old In Flames we all loved and what is up with the "emotional atmospheres"??
gojko88 - 23.01.2007 at 10:49  
No, it is not the old In Flames and it's time for people to get used to it. Besides, as i stated in the review, what would people's reaction be if they made 5 copies of The Jester Race? Imagine yourself as an adolescent. How much will you have changed in 2 years? And in 5? How about 10? I adore the early works, but that doesn't mean I have to hate everything else. It's OK not to like these albums, but it's not OK to attack IF because of it.
Spyroid - 26.01.2007 at 19:41  
Great review
SkAdI - 27.01.2007 at 18:41  
I do agree that reroute to remain is a great album but my opinion is that it isnt there greatest album I prefer The Tokyo Showdown - Live In Japan .But thats my opinion;D
gojko88 - 27.01.2007 at 22:18  
Well, I didn't say that it was their best album, did I?
TheCybershifter - 28.01.2007 at 21:38  
Great rewiew indeed.
uzi - 01.02.2007 at 20:43  
REROUTE TO REMAIN - The best album In Flames has yet made.
Elfstone - 04.02.2007 at 07:26  
i think in flames buried himself with this album...
ok i can understand them they crash the europe and now the target is all world....
yeah egoism,money thats all.....

in flames *banned*:thumbdown:
Muskot - 13.02.2007 at 23:52  
Despite the nu/mainstream/sellout/whatever influences people are complaining, this is still a damn good album. Though it doesn't beat Clayman. =)
iaberis - 05.03.2007 at 19:48  
There's a change in the sound but a band can't stay in the same sound for all their lives... I liked it and think it is a nice change...
BehindSpace336 - 06.03.2007 at 04:56  
I thought Reroute to Remain was a great album.. It was the first album I heard from In Flames. This album ALONE completely merged my musical taste from Nu Metal to real metal and I haven't gone back and never will. I have a huge respect for this album.
BlankFile - 05.07.2007 at 22:06  
Altough this album marks the change of the band´s sound drastically, i honestly think that is a listenable album.
it has its moments, but it doesn´t reach the quality and perfection of previous releases of the band.
deathovertime - 03.08.2007 at 01:06  
I think this is the best album In Flames have ever made so far. Trigger is certainly the best song they've done, but that is my opinion. I know a lot of people, and a few people who've made comments on here, will surely disagree with me.
Stigmatized - 28.09.2007 at 20:56  
I agree with the review. The style of their music definitely changed, but it wasn't THAT drastic.

This was my first metal album, and remains one of my favorites. It is also my favorite In Flames album. This is one of the few albums I'm able to listen to regardless of my mood, and those don't come around too often.
Collin - 29.09.2007 at 16:22  
I only though it was good back when it was released, but with time it has grown to be my second favourite In Flames album, after The Jester Race. I have nothing against sounding modern, and the songwriting is brilliant. I don't ask anything else.
Uirapuru - 22.04.2008 at 03:56  
after three masterpieces there is a bad album. I'm not saying that i dont like the new In flames, but this album is bad even compared with Soundtrack to your escape and Come Clarity.. ''System'' saves the album
Stuart - 16.11.2008 at 21:12  
Excellent review, you hit the nail on the head.
DanielViking - 17.11.2008 at 22:41  
Great critic... but i would give 9 to the album
Feng - 25.06.2009 at 18:23  
Completely agree with this - well written
Keiheji - 21.10.2009 at 12:40  
Written by gojko88 on 23.01.2007 at 10:49

... as i stated in the review, what would people's reaction be if they made 5 copies of The Jester Race?


Probably get the same reaction as people give Dragonforce lol
Good review, and great album. It was a good change of pace for the band
Kuroboshi - 06.01.2011 at 09:49  
Hmm, for me the album just seems so uninspired.. Egonomic and the title track is okey, and Dark Signs and Metaphor are real gems. But the rest is just kind of meh for me. Especially Transparent, Dismiss the Cynics, Minus.. What were they thinking??

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews In Flames - Reroute To Remain 7 16.11.2009 by Vitriolic Hate
Reviews In Flames - Subterranean 6.5 11.01.2007 by Katatronik
Albums In Flames - Reroute To Remain 6 11.05.2012 by JÄY
Reviews In Flames - Trigger 6 03.03.2007 by AnarChrist
News In Flames - Guitarist To Sit Out Upcoming Tour 3 03.02.2009 by flamey



Hits total: 6578 | This month: 8