Type O Negative - Dead Again review



Reviewer:
N/A

244 users:
7.91
Band: Type O Negative
Album: Dead Again
Release date: March 2007


Disc I
01. Dead Again
02. Tripping A Blind Man
03. The Profits Of Doom
04. September Sun
05. Halloween In Heaven [feat. Tara Vanflower]
06. These Three Things
07. She Burned Me Down
08. Some Stupid Tomorrow
09. An Ode To Locksmiths
10. Hail And Farewell To Britain

Disc II [Live At Wacken 2007] [2008 re-release DVD bonus]
01. Anesthesia
02. Christian Woman
03. Love You To Death
04. Kill You Tonight
+ The Profits Of Doom [video]
+ September Sun [video]
+ Interview


Could this be Type O Negative's best album thus far?

Can anyone believe that it has already been 4 years since the Drab Four have last released an album full of original material? Maybe Life Is Killing Me being a somewhat lackluster release (at least compared to the band's previous masterpieces) is to blame for time seeming to pass so quickly? Luckily for all of us fans of the Brooklyn miscreants, Dead Again is probably the best collection of songs that this band has ever recorded. Yes! This album is even better than Bloody Kisses, and although I doubt it'll propel Type O Negative to mainstream attention again, it is bound to become a classic amongst fans of gothic metal in its own right.

What makes this album so special? Basically, the band has selected all of the best elements from their previous albums and fused them together into a cohesive and exciting whole. It's all here - the long vampiric odes of Bloody Kisses, the Beatlesesque soundscapes of October Rust and World Coming Down, the uplifting and catchy melodies from Life Is Killing Me and even the growls and hardcore grooves from Slow Deep And Hard (and Carnivore). Innovation is therefore obviously not the calling card of this particular release but who cares when the songwriting is so damn good? TON are masters of their craft and they are able to seamlessly go from aggressive hardcore to melancholic goth metal. The band shows just as much finesse with their sludgy, Sabbath-inspired riffs and melodic choruses. Naturally, they has been doing this sort of thing for years but on Dead Again the songwriting is noticeably more inspired and appealing. Just check out the faux-power ballad "September Sun" with its IMMENSE refrain or the spiritually uplifting "Halloween In Hell" with excellent guest vocals by Lycia's own Tara Vanflower (and lyrics suggesting that rock gods such as Bon Scott and John Bonham all jam in heaven - a truly beautiful notion, no?). Songs like "Some Stupid Tomorrow" and "The Profit Of Doom" contrast clearly with these beautiful moments by offering heavy riffs, fast hardcore drumming and aggressive growls from Lord Peterus (something he hasn't done in years).

What else can I say? Musically speaking this is probably Type O Negative's finest moment. "Return to form" is such a cliché that is being thrown around by everybody but it really applies here. Lets hope these guys die again…. and again…. and again…


 



Written on 15.03.2007 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 183 users
15.03.2007 - 03:07
Baz Anderson
oooooo
this band are quite possibly the only gothic-y sort of band that I have the slightest bit of intrest in (sorry gothic fans)
I really enjoyed their last album but maybe I just enjoyed the parts that the already existing fans of the band didnt like..
oh well - lets give this one a go then!!
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 03:57
Firewalker
Well, the last album was a real crap, I hope you'll be ok 'cause I'm gonna buy the new album...

P.D Why did you put any "qualification" about the album?
(sorry for he bad english)

J.Nava (Mexico)
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 04:37
Opium
Account deleted
Written by Baz Anderson on 15.03.2007 at 03:07

oooooo
this band are quite possibly the only gothic-y sort of band that I have the slightest bit of intrest in (sorry gothic fans)
I really enjoyed their last album but maybe I just enjoyed the parts that the already existing fans of the band didnt like..
oh well - lets give this one a go then!!

What? No love for Moonspell all of a sudden?

I think I'll give it a spin, I sure hope it's worth its wait.
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 05:35
Richard
Are any of the lyrics about Rasputin, as there's a picture of him on the cover?
----
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 09:19
Susan
Smeghead
I gotta be honest, when the tempo picked up and the vocals came in on the first track I felt like I was listening to the Ramones for a second.

Good album overall though, and nice review
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 11:19
SETHULHU
the BALEETER
whern i first heard the album i was in a state of shock and disbelief, for two reasons.

this is either their best album they ever made, or the worst. i need to listen more and more to better judge. (but knowing me i will love it )

TON are finally back.
----
This site is great. FOR ME TO POOP ON.

reBubblefuckered !!!BAAAALEEETEEED!!!
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 12:31
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Richard on 15.03.2007 at 05:35

Are any of the lyrics about Rasputin, as there's a picture of him on the cover?

Hmm where are the lyrics I cant find them

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there
Buta lbum are about that time
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russia#Imperial_Russia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Russia#Imperial_Russia_since_the_Decembrist_Revolt_.281825.E2.80.931917.29]here

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Hope those articls help you understand album. even that part are one of fcukest and hardest and part of history , so boring that I didnt choose it in my uni
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 14:02
Thryce
Retired Staff
Written by Bad English on 15.03.2007 at 12:31

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Instead of reading long pages of Russian history, be more productive and go to this Wikipedia page

"The cover photo is a portrayal of Russian mystic Grigori Rasputin, and likewise the lettering is faux-Cyrillic font."

----
Your favorite band sucks.
Loading...
15.03.2007 - 14:17
Bad English
Masterchief
Written by Thryce on 15.03.2007 at 14:02

Written by Bad English on 15.03.2007 at 12:31

Hmm i dunno who are that guy, but album ist about Russia in 19th century till comunists start rulle 1918 its for shure, thay even use kyrlic there

Well yes its Rasputin in cover
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rasputin

Instead of reading long pages of Russian history, be more productive and go to this Wikipedia page

"The cover photo is a portrayal of Russian mystic Grigori Rasputin, and likewise the lettering is faux-Cyrillic font."




Well Russian history are long and complicated, full whit mistaced
About cyrlic think it invite ortodox monks when preach cristianity in some slavic countries, so thay take something from greek caracters and made kyrlic, nowdays it use Russia, Belarrusia, Ukraina, Bulgaria, Serbia, Bosnia and Macedonia.
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
16.03.2007 - 15:40
Opium
Account deleted
I heard the whole album minutes ago, very happy with the sound and I can most definitely say that "Dead Again" is a return to form for this band, mind you, I did like a few tracks on "Life Is Killing Me". I'd personally give this album an 8.5/10, not the best, although it is worth a good listen!
Loading...
17.03.2007 - 02:45
Nickwillnotbe
Hmmm so far, I think I like the album. Not as much as October Rust, but that album will never be topped for me. I much prefer it to Life is Killing me though. Nice mix of World Coming Down, October Rust, and even The Origin of Feces and Slow, Deep, Hard. Not bad. 8/10
Loading...
04.04.2007 - 00:25
Adalmetal
first time i heard this album, i thought that it was similar to life is killing me, wich i like but is not the best thing TON has made, but when i listened it a couples of times i realize that is better than life is killing me. And it really is a good album, though it may not be the best these guys have made, but still has good cuality. i'll give it a 8/10. A great album but not like World coming down, Bloddy kisses or October rust. Worth to listen...
----
Fulfilment lost in a lifetime of regret
Ornate peace would cover me
As I would die now...
For one last wish
Loading...
11.04.2007 - 21:59
Danny Thomas
Written by SETHULHU on 15.03.2007 at 11:19

whern i first heard the album i was in a state of shock and disbelief, for two reasons.

this is either their best album they ever made, or the worst. i need to listen more and more to better judge. (but knowing me i will love it )

TON are finally back.


i agree, im listening to it a second time through right now, and i think its already growing on me. there is a very good variety of songs on this album, and a few of them suprise me about halfway through.
----
Our children are dead. Burnt in the ruins that were left by war.
Loading...
09.05.2007 - 17:05
satanic_chick
Account deleted
uhh this album is good. bein waiting ages (more like years) for it to come out! Love all the tracks on the album, it kinda reminds me of Bloody Kisses album. Love the femals vocals in it, personally I would rate is a good 8/10!!
Got to say love Gothic metal
Loading...
23.05.2007 - 13:21
White Winter Sun
Laboratory's Rat
A video for "Profit of Doom" is available on Youtube.
Loading...
13.07.2007 - 10:32
Bad English
Masterchief
Finaly I hear it hehhe good album

Awsome album seems band put ewery music elements what thay had used into past albums, I hear here elements of ewery past song, ewery song lil' coppy hhehehhe also lyrics are good, but somehow i feel thay write them because thay need not because of lonly insiprations and lonlyness inspirated how into past
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
13.04.2010 - 20:11
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Somewhat different and a good comeback after two mediocre albums. But I would''nt say that this one is better than Bloody Kisses or October Rust.

Average/good album only.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...

Hits total: 8174 | This month: 32