Elvenking - Wyrd review



Reviewer:
9.2

155 users:
8.29
Band: Elvenking
Album: Wyrd
Release date: April 2004


01. The Losers' Ball
02. Pathfinders
03. Jigsaw Puzzle
04. The Silk Dilemma
05. Disappearing Sands [Limited Edition bonus]
06. Moonchariot
07. The Perpetual Knot
08. Another Haven
09. A Fiery Stride [Limited Edition bonus]
10. Midnight Circus
11. A Poem For The Firmament


"Wyrd" is the second full-length album by Elvenking; a pearl in the musical sky of Italy. Though some fans may miss the vocals of Damnagoras, nothing bad can be said about this album which is, for sure, made with love and passion. Kleid did a fine job during the recording of this album and proved that he was a talented singer indeed.

"Wyrd" is warm and homelike, especially for people who are interested in medieval European culture and way of life. Since the first track to the last the album supports an atmosphere of folklore and fantasy. One may notice influences of renaissance music and Celtic and old Italian culture. These characteristics emerge remarkably well in acoustic solos and melodies. Everything is well combined with the fabrics of power metal creating a fine symbiosis.

There aren't any bad songs on this album. Each is good in its own way. There are songs like "Disappearing Sands," "Pathfinders," and "Moonchariot" which tear the spirit of the listener into their world of wild dances and flaming merriness. Other songs are powerful, some with a merrier, some with more serious undertone. Songs that make one sit back and be driven through times and ethereal landscapes, songs that teach the listeners values of life and give strength making it easier to cope the challenges of everyday life. "Wyrd" includes melodies that whirl around and create images of the wonderful world where elves and hobbits dwell.

Nothing bad can be said about the work of the band here. Kleid's voice possesses the same qualities Damnagoras has, essential for the atmosphere of Elvenking. However, Kleid does have his own characteristics. While Damnagoras' voice on "Heathenreel" was mostly tenor, then the voice span of Kleid seems to have slightly larger boundaries.
This makes the particular album very original and by no means can one forget the female vocals of Pauline Tacey, Laura De Luca and Giada Etro and the choirs which make the songs even more powerful.

The structure of "Wyrd" is similar to the one of "Heathenreel." A wild journey through a true wonderland and its different regions ends up with a large musical piece of art. On the previous album this was "Seasonspeech," here we have "A Poem For The Firmament." Unfortunately the latter song isn't as energetic and catchy as the one of "Heathenreel" but it is a very fine ending to "Wyrd." This track includes all colours of life, sometimes mild and narrative, on the other hand tough and harsh, having the features of a true farewell song. After the long journey of the day, "A Poem..." repeats all the experienced aspects of life as in a mirror of memory and eventually has its calm end.

Finally, it can only be told that "Wyrd" is indeed a grand album by a grand band. It is a merry piece of art that may help anyone to start a busy day, waking up and giving strength in a sleepy morning and offering relief between busy hours.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 8

Written by Ernis | 24.03.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Marcelo Hissa
Rating:
9.5
What happens if you put together high vocals and the speedy guitars from power metal with an Elven-based theme and orthodox instrumentation from folk metal? The Elvenking's fabulous Wyrd. As a final touch, they place some catchy tunes embedded in a competent production.

Wyrd is their second album from the distant year of 2004, but it's still considered one of the best albums from the band. Classified as power folk metal, the combination of these two worked so fine that it launched another innovative arm in the heavy metal genre tree.

Read more ››
published 28.07.2014 | Comments (0)


Comments

Comments: 15   Visited by: 93 users
30.03.2007 - 21:01
GT
Coffee!!
Great review of a great album...couldn't agree more
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
31.05.2007 - 22:32
iaberis
Advice Troll
Indeed a very good album. I agree that Kleid's voice is similar to Damnagoras and fits the music well. Of course it's not the same, but he voice goes very well to the music. I love all their songs.
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
31.05.2007 - 23:17
Bitch Boy
XD
My favorite Elvenking album. It's a very good piece of folk metal. They chose a very good replacement for Kleid because Damnagoras's vocal part is really cool in this one.
Loading...
31.05.2007 - 23:26
Ernis
狼獾
Written by Bitch Boy on 31.05.2007 at 23:17

My favorite Elvenking album. It's a very good piece of folk metal. They chose a very good replacement for Kleid because Damnagoras's vocal part is really cool in this one.

Aren't you messing up something....Damnagoras had left after the release of "Heathenreel"....they replaced him with Kleid who sang on "Wyrd".....Damnagoras returned when they made the third album "The Winter Wake".....
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
31.05.2007 - 23:34
Bitch Boy
XD
Oh fuck you're right, I meant that they made the right choice with Kleid, he did a good job while "replacing" Damnagoras.
Loading...
01.06.2007 - 17:39
iaberis
Advice Troll
Written by Bitch Boy on 31.05.2007 at 23:34

Oh fuck you're right, I meant that they made the right choice with Kleid, he did a good job while "replacing" Damnagoras.

Admit it! You're just a poser pretending to like them!
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
25.09.2009 - 12:29
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
Definitely a worth album from folk metal cauldron
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
09.12.2009 - 17:14
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Good album. Elvenking is a funny band, I dont hate any of their works, but also didnt found any masterpiece, or something deserving more than 9.

This album is their best, I specially enjoyed the Limited edition bonus songs. ''Disappering Sands'' is great, along with Moonchariot in my personal highlights.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
09.12.2009 - 22:24
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight
I gotta listen to this bonus track
----
So behold the flight of the sapphire dragon
soaring through the skies once again


Loading...
15.10.2010 - 19:41
game_fan
One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.
----
History Abhors A Paradox
Loading...
16.10.2010 - 15:29
Ernis
狼獾
Written by game_fan on 15.10.2010 at 19:41

One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.

Kleid does sing in a band... Thing is that he uses his real name at the moment plus he looks a lot different. Sadly enough, I forgot what his name was and also the name of the band which means I cannot give you any link to their page.
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...
20.10.2010 - 19:09
game_fan
Written by Ernis on 16.10.2010 at 15:29

Written by game_fan on 15.10.2010 at 19:41

One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.

Kleid does sing in a band... Thing is that he uses his real name at the moment plus he looks a lot different. Sadly enough, I forgot what his name was and also the name of the band which means I cannot give you any link to their page.


Still thanks mate. It is nice to hear that he is still singing. If by some chance you find out please write me a message. Thanks \m/
----
History Abhors A Paradox
Loading...
10.11.2010 - 12:25
Dwalinn
Also looking Kleid, please write if you find
Loading...
01.12.2010 - 19:37
Dwalinn
I find band where kleid singing, the band is "Future Is Tomorrow", his nickname there Max
Loading...
01.12.2010 - 21:49
Ernis
狼獾
Written by Dwalinn on 01.12.2010 at 19:37

I find band where kleid singing, the band is "Future Is Tomorrow", his nickname there Max

Thanks a lot... I had already given up the hope finding this information but yes... that was the right band...
----
Go ahead, make my day...
Loading...

Hits total: 5582 | This month: 27