Rating:
9.2
Elvenking - Wyrd
19 April 2004


01. The Losers' Ball
02. Pathfinders
03. Jigsaw Puzzle
04. The Silk Dilemma
05. Disappearing Sands [Limited Edition bonus]
06. Moonchariot
07. The Perpetual Knot
08. Another Haven
09. A Fiery Stride [Limited Edition bonus]
10. Midnight Circus
11. A Poem For The Firmament


"Wyrd" is the second full-length album by Elvenking; a pearl in the musical sky of Italy. Though some fans may miss the vocals of Damnagoras, nothing bad can be said about this album which is, for sure, made with love and passion. Kleid did a fine job during the recording of this album and proved that he was a talented singer indeed.

"Wyrd" is warm and homelike, especially for people who are interested in medieval European culture and way of life. Since the first track to the last the album supports an atmosphere of folklore and fantasy. One may notice influences of renaissance music and Celtic and old Italian culture. These characteristics emerge remarkably well in acoustic solos and melodies. Everything is well combined with the fabrics of power metal creating a fine symbiosis.

There aren't any bad songs on this album. Each is good in its own way. There are songs like "Disappearing Sands," "Pathfinders," and "Moonchariot" which tear the spirit of the listener into their world of wild dances and flaming merriness. Other songs are powerful, some with a merrier, some with more serious undertone. Songs that make one sit back and be driven through times and ethereal landscapes, songs that teach the listeners values of life and give strength making it easier to cope the challenges of everyday life. "Wyrd" includes melodies that whirl around and create images of the wonderful world where elves and hobbits dwell.

Nothing bad can be said about the work of the band here. Kleid's voice possesses the same qualities Damnagoras has, essential for the atmosphere of Elvenking. However, Kleid does have his own characteristics. While Damnagoras' voice on "Heathenreel" was mostly tenor, then the voice span of Kleid seems to have slightly larger boundaries.
This makes the particular album very original and by no means can one forget the female vocals of Pauline Tacey, Laura De Luca and Giada Etro and the choirs which make the songs even more powerful.

The structure of "Wyrd" is similar to the one of "Heathenreel." A wild journey through a true wonderland and its different regions ends up with a large musical piece of art. On the previous album this was "Seasonspeech," here we have "A Poem For The Firmament." Unfortunately the latter song isn't as energetic and catchy as the one of "Heathenreel" but it is a very fine ending to "Wyrd." This track includes all colours of life, sometimes mild and narrative, on the other hand tough and harsh, having the features of a true farewell song. After the long journey of the day, "A Poem..." repeats all the experienced aspects of life as in a mirror of memory and eventually has its calm end.

Finally, it can only be told that "Wyrd" is indeed a grand album by a grand band. It is a merry piece of art that may help anyone to start a busy day, waking up and giving strength in a sleepy morning and offering relief between busy hours.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 8


Band profile: Elvenking
Album: Wyrd


 


written by Ernis | 24.03.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Marcelo Hissa

Rating:
9.5
What happens if you put together high vocals and the speedy guitars from power metal with an Elven-based theme and orthodox instrumentation from folk metal? The Elvenking's fabulous Wyrd. As a final touch, they place some catchy tunes embedded in a competent production.

Wyrd is their second album from the distant year of 2004, but it's still considered one of the best albums from the band. Classified as power folk metal, the combination of these two worked so fine that it launched another innovative arm in the heavy metal genre tree.

Read more ››
published 28.07.2014 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 90  
Search this topic:  


GT - 30.03.2007 at 21:01  
Great review of a great album...couldn't agree more
iaberis - 31.05.2007 at 22:32  
Indeed a very good album. I agree that Kleid's voice is similar to Damnagoras and fits the music well. Of course it's not the same, but he voice goes very well to the music. I love all their songs.
Bitch Boy - 31.05.2007 at 23:17  
My favorite Elvenking album. It's a very good piece of folk metal. They chose a very good replacement for Kleid because Damnagoras's vocal part is really cool in this one.
Ernis - 31.05.2007 at 23:26  
Written by Bitch Boy on 31.05.2007 at 23:17

My favorite Elvenking album. It's a very good piece of folk metal. They chose a very good replacement for Kleid because Damnagoras's vocal part is really cool in this one.

Aren't you messing up something....Damnagoras had left after the release of "Heathenreel"....they replaced him with Kleid who sang on "Wyrd".....Damnagoras returned when they made the third album "The Winter Wake".....
Bitch Boy - 31.05.2007 at 23:34  
Oh fuck you're right, I meant that they made the right choice with Kleid, he did a good job while "replacing" Damnagoras.
iaberis - 01.06.2007 at 17:39  
Written by Bitch Boy on 31.05.2007 at 23:34

Oh fuck you're right, I meant that they made the right choice with Kleid, he did a good job while "replacing" Damnagoras.

Admit it! You're just a poser pretending to like them!
Ellrohir - 25.09.2009 at 12:29  
Definitely a worth album from folk metal cauldron
Uirapuru - 09.12.2009 at 17:14  
Good album. Elvenking is a funny band, I dont hate any of their works, but also didnt found any masterpiece, or something deserving more than 9.

This album is their best, I specially enjoyed the Limited edition bonus songs. ''Disappering Sands'' is great, along with Moonchariot in my personal highlights.
Ellrohir - 09.12.2009 at 22:24  
I gotta listen to this bonus track
game_fan - 15.10.2010 at 19:41  
One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.
Ernis - 16.10.2010 at 15:29  
Written by game_fan on 15.10.2010 at 19:41

One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.

Kleid does sing in a band... Thing is that he uses his real name at the moment plus he looks a lot different. Sadly enough, I forgot what his name was and also the name of the band which means I cannot give you any link to their page.
game_fan - 20.10.2010 at 19:09  
Written by Ernis on 16.10.2010 at 15:29

Written by game_fan on 15.10.2010 at 19:41

One of their best albums. It is kinda sad that Kleid is not singing in any other band as i loved his voice. It would be awesome if he is guest in any of their feature albums even though his voice is similar to Damnagoras's.

Kleid does sing in a band... Thing is that he uses his real name at the moment plus he looks a lot different. Sadly enough, I forgot what his name was and also the name of the band which means I cannot give you any link to their page.


Still thanks mate. It is nice to hear that he is still singing. If by some chance you find out please write me a message. Thanks \m/
Dwalinn - 10.11.2010 at 12:25  
Also looking Kleid, please write if you find
Dwalinn - 01.12.2010 at 19:37  
I find band where kleid singing, the band is "Future Is Tomorrow", his nickname there Max
Ernis - 01.12.2010 at 21:49  
Written by Dwalinn on 01.12.2010 at 19:37

I find band where kleid singing, the band is "Future Is Tomorrow", his nickname there Max

Thanks a lot... I had already given up the hope finding this information but yes... that was the right band...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Interviews Elvenking - Wyrd (Song by Song) 4.5 09.12.2009 by Uirapuru
Albums Elvenking - Wyrd 4.5 14.09.2012 by Toan
News Elvenking - New Album Details 3 22.07.2010 by Vitriolic Hate
News Elvenking - Amanda Somerville To Guest On New Album 3 26.02.2014 by Pitwulf93
News Elvenking - Album Samples Online 3 12.07.2007 by Hyvaarin



Hits total: 4121 | This month: 57