Flagellation - Incinerate Disintegrate review

Band: Flagellation
Album: Incinerate Disintegrate
Release date: 2007

01. Rendering The Apocalypse
02. Chaos In The Flesh
03. Threshold To Madness
04. Purified By Fire
05. Incinerate Disintegrate
06. Vast Desolation

Is this a side-project or a full-blown band? For now I will go with the full-blown band option since Flagellation was formed in 1997 and released a 3-track promo in 1998 only to fall into hibernation for a couple of years after a couple of live gigs. In 2004/2005 the band awoke from their long sleep.
Incinerate Disintegrate has now officially been released by Last Entertainment Productions after having been available as download on Flagellation's website. Finally, I would say, since Incinerate Disintegrate is a great little slab of death metal, no flagellation of the ears for me here. This sort of death metal you can wake me up for in the middle of the night.
This is the sort of music Zyklon should have released after Aeon. Yep, that's right, Flagellation is reminiscent of Zyklon's best works
Incinerate Disintegrate is chockful of slightly technical almost brutal and epic death metal. In 20 minutes six songs, of which Rendering The Apocalypse and Vast Desolation are an intro and outro to the work proper, are fired onto the listener.
Every song is full of tempo changes and chopping heavy riffs supported by a decent grunt and driving bass and drums, and the keyboards offer, as keyboards should do in this sort of music, some very distant atmospheric touches. To top it all of is a very able production Jonas Kjellgren (Scar Symmetry, Centinex). His production doesn't make it sound too mechanical he has found a nice balance between mechanical and organic, as in my opinion should be done for this type of slightly more modern death metal.
It is hard to pinpoint a truly standout track on this mini, but weere I forced to do so I would opt for Threshold To Madness which features guest vocals by Jonas Kjellgren and strangely enough is also the song where the keyboards are most prominent. But the prominence of the keyboards work really well here supporting the changes in rhythm brilliantly.
All in all a mini album which makes me look forward to a full-length release by these guy

Written by Marcel Hubregtse | 25.05.2007


Hits total: 2215 | This month: 8