Rating:
6.9
Burden Of Grief - Death End Road
30 March 2007


01. Death End Road
02. Vita Reducta
03. Swallow The Sun
04. The Game
05. Running Scared
06. The Killer In Me
07. Drown In Sorrow
08. Schizophrenic
09. Passion Of The Night
10. Road Of Visions


Burden Of Grief is the combo of Gothenburg Death Metal which was missing in the big list of the bands made in Germany. Well, Burden Of Grief is not a newcomer actually and "Death End Road" is already the fourth album of the combo but now that they're signed on Remedy Records, it's a bit easier for them to be known, that's right. What can I add? We're in front of a pure Gothenburg Metal release well done but extremely classic too and not really original.

"Death End Road" is not a bad album. The German combo knows how to play good Gothenburg Death Metal and don't worry, all the ingredients of the recipe are featured in the new album. The strong and heavy melodic riffs are there and that's the same with the big Death Metal vocals and the fast rhythm produced by the bass and the drums. It works on a side and a song like "Vita Reducta" with its nice melancholic and slow chorus is really catchy. On the other hand, and that's the main problem of the release, we don't have anything special here and plus, some of the songs are really average when you compare them to the best ones of the album. "The Game" for example is totally uncoloured and became boring after only one listening. It's sad but true but it seems that Burden Of Grief didn't take any risks with this release.

As you can understand, all is not good in the new album. That's a pity but despite some good songs, "Death End Road" is too unequal and will quickly become boring after some weeks. Too bad because the production is not bad and obviously, the guys know how to play Metal but that's not all, they could do something better if they tried to add something a bit more personal. "Death End Road" is just a basic album, not bad but not exceptional too and only the true (and blinded and not bored) fans of the style will find something for them here. The others will never say that it's bad, but they will probably quickly forget the album.

Don't misunderstand me, Burden Of Grief is not a bad band! But I hope, for their future albums, that they will be able to write something a bit more original. They can do it without any doubt so let's hope that this album was just a little mistake. "Death End Road" is for the unconditional fans of the band and of the genre, the other ones should try the new Detonation or Dark Tranquillity.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Burden Of Grief
Album: Death End Road


 


written by Jeff | 31.05.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 21  
Search this topic:  


Aphelion74 - 09.12.2007 at 05:14  
"But I hope, for their future albums, that they will be able to write something a bit more original. "

They re from Germany, not a chance. Not even Suidakra, despite the amazing guitarwork, it lacks feeling in their songs. You can build on technique and you ll be appreciated, or you can build on emotions (Dark Tranquillity) and you ll be worshipped.

My point of view, obviosly, not an objective statement. By the way, have you ever dealt with german girls? If you did, you, you got it.
Promonex - 09.12.2007 at 11:46  
Written by Guest on 09.12.2007 at 05:14

They re from Germany, not a chance.

You've never ever heard of Disillusion, have you?

@review: Haven't listened to the album, but well-crafted, basic and uninspired was also my impression after seeing them live earlier this year.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.12.2007 at 11:48  
Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:46

Written by Guest on 09.12.2007 at 05:14

They re from Germany, not a chance.

You've never ever heard of Disillusion, have you?


Yes and not original, way too influenced by Opeth and such

Bt Helloween was an original band from Germany, so were Scorpions (when leaving out the Hendrix influences)
Promonex - 09.12.2007 at 11:50  
I thought we were just talking about melodeath here? And even if not, in which way does Disillusion's second album sound like Opeth?
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.12.2007 at 11:57  
Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:50

I thought we were just talking about melodeath here? And even if not, in which way does Disillusion's second album sound like Opeth?


Oops, forgot about that horrendous album. I really don't like it at all.
I thought the guy commenting before you meant "all thigns german" when mentioning originallity
Promonex - 09.12.2007 at 12:44  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.12.2007 at 11:57

Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:50

I thought we were just talking about melodeath here? And even if not, in which way does Disillusion's second album sound like Opeth?


Oops, forgot about that horrendous album. I really don't like it at all.
I thought the guy commenting before you meant "all thigns german" when mentioning originallity

You mean to say it's been too eclectic for you, right?
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.12.2007 at 12:57  
Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 12:44

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.12.2007 at 11:57

Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:50

I thought we were just talking about melodeath here? And even if not, in which way does Disillusion's second album sound like Opeth?


Oops, forgot about that horrendous album. I really don't like it at all.
I thought the guy commenting before you meant "all thigns german" when mentioning originallity

You mean to say it's been too eclectic for you, right?


Nope... I don't have problems with eclectic music whatsover. I mean it is too substandard and slick for me
Promonex - 09.12.2007 at 13:07  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.12.2007 at 12:57

Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 12:44

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.12.2007 at 11:57

Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:50

I thought we were just talking about melodeath here? And even if not, in which way does Disillusion's second album sound like Opeth?


Oops, forgot about that horrendous album. I really don't like it at all.
I thought the guy commenting before you meant "all thigns german" when mentioning originallity

You mean to say it's been too eclectic for you, right?


Nope... I don't have problems with eclectic music whatsover. I mean it is too substandard and slick for me

I wouldn't even mention a word that sounds remotely like "standard" in the context of Gloria. In contrary to the reviewed album. (Needed a way to get back on topic again. Perhaps we should stay there for now)

In case any member of the band reads this: Promonex = Colaspender@Eisenwahn
Aphelion74 - 09.12.2007 at 19:15  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.12.2007 at 11:48

Written by Promonex on 09.12.2007 at 11:46

Written by Guest on 09.12.2007 at 05:14

They re from Germany, not a chance.

You've never ever heard of Disillusion, have you?


Yes and not original, way too influenced by Opeth and such

Bt Helloween was an original band from Germany, so were Scorpions (when leaving out the Hendrix influences)


Let me tell you

Kai Hansen's secret identity has just been revealed by DT, his real name is Ziltoid Scorpions... I dont bother listening to.

Screw the coffee and screw the ominverse, we all live in future world

Cheers

(DT = Devin Townsend. Ziltoid = Kai Hansen, an alien genius)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Iron Maiden - A Matter Of Life And Death 4.5 28.08.2006 by Bas
Albums Burden Of Grief - Follow The Flames 4.5 12.02.2011 by Ag Fox
Reviews Grave Digger - Liberty Or Death 4.5 21.01.2007 by
Reviews Marillion - Happiness Is The Road 4.5 28.10.2008 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Artillery - When Death Comes 4.5 04.08.2009 by Maxx666



Hits total: 3026 | This month: 38