Rating:
9.5
Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper
30 October 2000


01. Follow The Reaper
02. Bodom After Midnight
03. Children Of Decadence
04. Everytime I Die
05. Mask Of Sanity
06. Taste Of My Scythe
07. Hate Me!
08. Northern Comfort
09. Kissing The Shadows
10. Hellion [W.A.S.P. cover] [bonus]
11. Shot In The Dark [Ozzy Osbourne cover] [Japanese bonus]
12. Don't Stop At The Top [Scorpions cover] [Finnish bonus]
13. Aces High [Iron Maiden cover] [Deluxe Edition bonus]
14. Hate Me! [Original Single version] [2008 re-release bonus]
+ Everytime I Die [video] [Deluxe Edition bonus]


Death be not proud, though some have called thee mighty and dreadful, thou art not so.

The follow up album to Hatebreeder, this album too has a very good little speach to kick it off. The five peace melo-death/extreme power metallers are back and better than ever with this album. This album, like their previous work has infamous neo-classical passeges, legendary harmonies, and solid rhythm work. Ladies and gentlemen, I have followed the reaper and I have tasted his scythe, it was sweet.

Follow the Reaper, while similar to past albums, is different and truly a step up in musicianship. They are more varied, more technical, and more skilled than ever before in this album. This, in my opinion, is the band at the height of their skill. The guitars are definitly more creative, and the second the opening note to the first song (which doubles as the title track) is played, you are bound to get sucked into the harmonic riffing of the masters of melody. This is sadly the last contribution Alexander Kuopala made before he left, and I feel it to be no coincience that after he left, the quality of their sound began to decline. The drums are great, as usual, keeping great time and using catchy fills and cymbal work. The vocals are Alexi's own unique little brand of growl, and are definitly good to my ear. The bass is mediocre, as usual, and the lyrics, of course, are cheesy as hell. But what do you expect from the boys of Bodom, though? Lyrics that make you think are not exactly their strong suit.

The first four songs on this album are definitly the highlight of the masterpiece. The title track holds one of the best opening melodies to any song I have ever heard. True, the album opener does not match the likes of The Painkiller, The Light the Blinds, or Fight Fire with Fire, but it is definitly captivating. Bodom After Midnight has one of the catchiest choruses you have ever heard, Children of Decadence sticks in your head due to it's masterful composition, and Every Time I Die is slow but mesmerising and you are guaranteed to bang your head every time you hear it. A few songs after that you run into the anthem "Hate Me!" which Alexi himself proclaims as his favorite song to play live.

There are very few flaws in this album, and really should be the first COB album any fan reaches for. While the lyrics might suck, and the bass may not be as noticeable, this is the height of thier skill. Go to the store and buy it if you want a really kick ass and unique album. Are you ready to follow the reaper?

Album Highlights: Follow the Reaper, Bodom After Midnight, Children Of Decadence, Every Time I Die, Hate Me!.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Follow The Reaper


 


written by Arian Totalis | 31.07.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Demonic Tutor

Rating:
9.5
Children of Bodom? It's hard to describe their music if you've never heard it before. It's a mix of power metal, speed metal and on the other side black/death metal for vocals! Let's say that it's just amazing. For their third album, Children of Bodom has taken the good things of their two previous ones and added some boosted melodies. As a result, Follow the Reaper is a brilliant cocktail of angry riffs and sweet but fast melodies.

Read more ››
published 10.09.2003 | Comments (32)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 112  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 01.08.2007 at 14:36  
That's right man, this album kicks really a lot of asses... maybe their best album ever, together with Hatebreeder! Good work
Aylee_Bodom - 02.08.2007 at 14:33  
Yah, maybe their lyrics aren't the best, but this album is just amazing...a masterpiece With the new song Tie My Rope they slightly recover those melodies that so much characterize them...I hope the rest of the new songs keep on with the melody recovering. =D
Sunioj - 02.08.2007 at 15:25  
Sure the bass is mediocre, but what did you think about the Hellion cover? I think that shows the bassist has potential but doesnt apply it. I listen to this album less than Hatebreeder though, but its still an a good album though...Hate Me is sooo catchy!
Abattoir - 02.08.2007 at 17:25  
Great album indeed. The best from COB for me...I have listened this album over and over again.
Amazing long solos in Kissing the Shadows...
ThunderAxe1989 - 13.10.2007 at 03:50  
One ov my alltime favourite albums!! it's such a damn shame that the band's music went TOTALLY downhill after this release though. So much emotion! I remember back in like 8th grade, whenever I'd have a shitty day, I'd pop this into the stereo . It's the album ov the band which just stands out and blows the other releases out ov the water.

I think what helped with the power and feeling ov this album was that it was the first Children Of Bodom release since Alexi Laiho's attempted suicide [with sleeping pills] and being in a coma for a month or two.
Ellrohir - 13.10.2007 at 12:01  
i must say i like only a few bands and songs of those "extreme power" genre, but there is a number of such a tracks on this album...
+{Jonas}+ - 20.10.2007 at 02:36  
I'm deffinitely willign to follow teh reaper. This is their best album byt far. And teh WASP cover kicks ass. Great review Arian.
Doc Godin - 14.11.2007 at 07:13  
@Jonas
My god, I thought that WASP cover was atrocious, you shouldnt attempt to sing a Blackie Lawless song unless your Blackie Lawless, and Alexi Laiho aint Blackie Lawless. the only exception is Catamenias cover of 'I Wanna Be Somebody' in which they totally transformed the song to make it there own.

There was a time when I wouldve agreed with this review 100%, but at the moment Ive grown tired of it, I hear alot of repeating in riffs, just rearranged in different songs.
Stalker - 14.11.2007 at 18:05  
Ok, I would give it 8.5, it deserves it, but still, it is a (very) good COB's album with many legendary songs.
megamegadethfan - 24.06.2008 at 03:08  
I Love this album!! Sure its not as good as Blooddrunk, but its still one of my faviotes!!! Bodom After Midnight is amazing!!
Arian Totalis - 24.06.2008 at 06:32  
Written by Guest on 24.06.2008 at 03:08

I Love this album!! Sure its not as good as Blooddrunk, but its still one of my faviotes!!! Bodom After Midnight is amazing!!

Oh yeah, I don't think that ANY bodom album EVER is as good as Blooddrunk!
Insects Of Death - 30.08.2008 at 21:44  
blooddrunk is an amazing album idk why people keep saying bodom has sold out or sucks now
thesabbathfan - 30.08.2008 at 23:30  
I love this album, but I can't agree that they have been declining since, I just think it's been different since. This seemed to be the most atmospheric album they've produced, but everything else is good shit too.
Arian Totalis - 01.09.2008 at 22:33  
Written by thesabbathfan on 30.08.2008 at 23:30

I love this album, but I can't agree that they have been declining since, I just think it's been different since. This seemed to be the most atmospheric album they've produced, but everything else is good shit too.

I never said that they suck now-a-days. imo they're doing an okay job, but I also feel that the quality of their music has declined, and that they've given into a more comercialized sound. I mean, when you have a producer looking at you saying "we should do this because it'll target a wider audience range" that's actually them saying "let's alter your sound so we can make more money". and when you agree to do that, either you're naive, or you're saying "yeah, let's make money." In the end when you write music, it should be the very best you are capable of creating, and bodom have been half assing it since COBHCDR.
Pétur - 01.09.2008 at 23:13  
a good album but waaaaaayyyyyy to overated. an 8 is just good enough.
thesabbathfan - 02.09.2008 at 05:52  
Written by Arian Totalis on 01.09.2008 at 22:33

Written by thesabbathfan on 30.08.2008 at 23:30

I love this album, but I can't agree that they have been declining since, I just think it's been different since. This seemed to be the most atmospheric album they've produced, but everything else is good shit too.

I never said that they suck now-a-days. imo they're doing an okay job, but I also feel that the quality of their music has declined, and that they've given into a more comercialized sound. I mean, when you have a producer looking at you saying "we should do this because it'll target a wider audience range" that's actually them saying "let's alter your sound so we can make more money". and when you agree to do that, either you're naive, or you're saying "yeah, let's make money." In the end when you write music, it should be the very best you are capable of creating, and bodom have been half assing it since COBHCDR.

good point.
Arian Totalis - 03.09.2009 at 05:32  
Edit, I was wrong with one thing. Alexander Kuopala DID play on COBHCDR. lol.
thewall30 - 22.01.2010 at 03:44  
Great, great album! I would rank this as their second best of course next to the phenominal Hatebreeder...
Lord_Regnier - 22.01.2010 at 13:45  
Written by Doc Godin on 14.11.2007 at 07:13

@Jonas
My god, I thought that WASP cover was atrocious, you shouldnt attempt to sing a Blackie Lawless song unless your Blackie Lawless, and Alexi Laiho aint Blackie Lawless. the only exception is Catamenias cover of 'I Wanna Be Somebody' in which they totally transformed the song to make it there own.


This cover is inded nicely done, imo. Much better than Gates Of Ishtar's cover of the same song.
Gorshtak - 15.01.2011 at 00:25  
LOL!!!
Guy wrote peace instead of piece
Arian Totalis - 06.02.2011 at 09:19  
Yeah I think I was like 17 or smth when I wrote this so sorry about some of the fuck ups. 9/10's of my reviews are like that. I only have a few that imo are worth reading.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 10 17.09.2006 by BurbotsRevenge
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 10 17.09.2006 by BurbotsRevenge
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Hatebreeder 9.5 24.07.2007 by Katatronik
Albums Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper 9 22.02.2010 by Deadmeat
News Children Of Bodom - Follow The Reaper Deluxe Edition 9 04.08.2006 by ThunderAxe1989



Hits total: 6683 | This month: 36