Rating:
6.5
Kreator - Enemy Of God
17 January 2005


Disc I
01. Enemy Of God
02. Impossible Brutality
03. Suicide Terrorist
04. World Anarchy
05. Dystopia
06. Voices Of The Dead
07. Murder Fantasies
08. When Death Takes Its Dominion
09. One Evil Comes (A Million Follow)
10. Dying Race Apocalypse
11. Under A Total Blackened Sky
12. The Ancient Plague

[Bonus tracks]
13. Toxic Trace [Live in Busan, Korea]
14. Coma Of Souls [Live in Busan, Korea]
15. Impossible Brutality [Video] [Regular edition bonus]

Disc II [Re-issue digipack DVD]
[Live at Wacken 2005]
01. The Patriarch
02. Enemy Of God
03. Impossible Brutality
04. Pleasure To Kill
05. Phobia
06. Violent Revolution
07. Suicide Terrorist
08. Extreme Aggression
09. People Of The Lie
10. Voices Of The Dead
11. Terrible Certainty
12. Betrayer
13. Flag Of Hate
14. Tormentor

[Live At The Rockpalast]
01. Reconquering The Throne
02. Renewal
03. Servant In Heaven - King In Hell

[Videos]
+ Enemy Of God
+ Dystopia
+ Impossible Brutality
+ Dying Race Apocalypse
+ Making Of Enemy Of God


I'm a fan of Kreator's work, but their recent stuff has been bothering me. Before I bought the album, the title track from "Enemy Of God" sounded pretty awesome. Unfortunately, after buying "Enemy Of God Revisited" (which was a great buy simply because of the live footage) and listening to Enemy Of God in full, I felt let down. Allow me to elaborate:

Enemy Of God is definitely a little more fast paced than "Violent Revolution", and a little more melodic as well. However, we all know Kreator can play ten times heavier than how they're playing nowadays. I'm not saying that Kreator's recent material is sub-par, but if anything I'd like to see them play more aggressively. The band may be putting out solid stuff, but it lacks a certain vigour that the band once had. There are a few notable tracks here, particularly Enemy Of God, One Evil Comes - A Million Follow, and Dying Race Apocalypse. Still, these are worth mentioning almost only for their melodies, riffs, and solos, which brings me to my next point...

The album's lowest point is the lyrics. Being Thrash veterans, one would think that Kreator would know better than to write on such clichéd topics. I mean, come on Petrozza, just because you read 1984 doesn't mean you have to go write a song called "Dystopia" (no matter how "good" the idea may sound for a metal song). Aside from the unoriginal subject matter, the quality of the lyrics is just despicable. Go read the lyrics for "Suicide Terrorist" or "Murder Fantasies" and you'll see what I mean.

Overall, "Enemy of God" could've been much better. It's a solid release, no doubt about that, but incomparable to what Kreator once was.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 4
Production: 10


Band profile: Kreator
Album: Enemy Of God


 


written by TombstoneHighway | 14.08.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Jeff

Rating:
9.0
They are back !!! The great Thrash combo from Germany Kreator is back !!! And for sure with this new album "Enemy Of God", Mr Mille Petrozza and his band mates will show one more time, 20 years after their first release "Endless Pain", that the band is always one of the greatest of the entire Metal History. After Exodus, Death Angel and etc, last year, 2005 will do a great start with this great album of Thrash, a must have for all the fans of this excellent music. If you are a fan of Thrash, of Kreator or simply a real fan of Metal… "Enemy Of God" is made for you…

Read more ››
published 03.01.2005 | Comments (15)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 142  
Search this topic:  


Joey Jo Jo - 14.08.2007 at 17:50  
10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.

Violent Revolution is a lot better IMHO. Overall I agree with your review though.
TombstoneHighway - 14.08.2007 at 18:16  
Written by Joey Jo Jo on 14.08.2007 at 17:50

10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.


Hmm...yeah, you're right. Then again, at least it doesn't sound like a black metal album
Syk - 14.08.2007 at 18:31  
Whoa, those are some extremist scores. Congratulations on your first, interesting review
Kincaid - 14.08.2007 at 19:29  
Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!
matthioso - 15.08.2007 at 15:11  
Written by Kincaid on 14.08.2007 at 19:29

Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!


I agree with you. This is a great album. The best of Kreator I've heard.
Desertman - 28.08.2007 at 14:43  
what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it
TombstoneHighway - 28.08.2007 at 17:26  
Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 14:43

what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it


You must be joking. I mean, you're actually calling Enemy of God one of the best heavy metal albums of all time? I can name at least 20 albums that surpass this uninspiring effort in almost every aspect!

And don't even get me started on the lyrics. Those things lacked creativity. I'm not saying they weren't "extreme". No, god forbid metal lyrics are about anything but the brutal harshness of war, gore, suicide, and dystopian societies (if that's what "extreme" is). Almost no other bands have ever touched upon MORE INTERESTING matters. That's just practically unheard of (or so your "statistics" say).

By the way, can you tell me what the fuck is "extreme"? I must hear it from a pro like yourself.
Desertman - 29.08.2007 at 16:32  
then hear it from a pro like me

before i say why its a classic

tell you this.. enemy of god reach the golden era of slayer and metallica and testament!!!
its one of heavy metal best all the time!!! proudly i say this again

and folks you must... you need... to invest in this record


now why the album is a classic (musically)

1- a blind would notes a fuckin excellent guitars and drum works in this album (provide a real thrash work out)

2-a blind can see the excellent musicianship and the (really) tight rhythmically ((((despite))))
the fact that only mille and ventor remain from the original line-up!!!!

3-Heavy subject material makes for heavy music even a million metalheads said that before but again
(no dragon lyrics over here)!!

4-kreator and the production of andy sneap on this album is a top creativity


since you agree with me about metal = extreme lyrics there is no need for me to keep blah over here
but i assume you dont like slayer also cos there lyrics encourage killing (other races!) well thats disgusting
but its heavy metal you know!!

if you said you like slayer lyrics but not kreator's then this really strange!

now i'm feeling really dizzy!
TombstoneHighway - 29.08.2007 at 23:36  
Written by Guest on 29.08.2007 at 16:32

then hear it from a pro like me

before i say why its a classic

tell you this.. enemy of god reach the golden era of slayer and metallica and testament!!!
its one of heavy metal best all the time!!! proudly i say this again

and folks you must... you need... to invest in this record


now why the album is a classic (musically)

1- a blind would notes a fuckin excellent guitars and drum works in this album (provide a real thrash work out)

2-a blind can see the excellent musicianship and the (really) tight rhythmically ((((despite))))
the fact that only mille and ventor remain from the original line-up!!!!

3-Heavy subject material makes for heavy music even a million metalheads said that before but again
(no dragon lyrics over here)!!

4-kreator and the production of andy sneap on this album is a top creativity


since you agree with me about metal = extreme lyrics there is no need for me to keep blah over here
but i assume you dont like slayer also cos there lyrics encourage killing (other races!) well thats disgusting
but its heavy metal you know!!

if you said you like slayer lyrics but not kreator's then this really strange!

now i'm feeling really dizzy!


While Enemy of God is far from a classic, I'll agree with you on 1, 2, and 4. However, 3 is just ridiculous. It's like saying all hip-hop lyrics are about chicks, dope, and money. You're stereotyping metal, and of all places on a metal website.

Now I understand that a large amount of metal bands do sing about what you consider "extreme", but stating that 99.9% of all metal lyrics are about stupid shit like that is just blowing the whole thing waaaay out of proportion. I think you should listen to some more metal before you make a statement like that, let alone calling Enemy of God a classic.

Also, you never explained the meaning of "extreme", and I can tell you right now that your definition and mine differ tremendously.
Desertman - 30.08.2007 at 15:34  
oh..stereotyping metal i forget to mention ...a million metalhead use this to!

anyway..since you agree in 1'2'3'4'5'6'7'8'9..but not 10!
then your only problem with the (classic) album is only the lyrics?

come on thats not fair!

even i dont see how hip hop involved here!

yet you the one who advice me to listen to more metal! lol
sure your definition of extreme 100% will be diff than most metalheads ..opes..i mean diff than mine

so a pro like you might tell me whats extreme on your definition?


note: didnt you notes lot of heavy metal (classic songs) got some really stupid lyrics?
yet they are classics ..!!
TombstoneHighway - 31.08.2007 at 10:25  
Written by Guest on 30.08.2007 at 15:34

oh..stereotyping metal i forget to mention ...a million metalhead use this to!

anyway..since you agree in 1'2'3'4'5'6'7'8'9..but not 10!
then your only problem with the (classic) album is only the lyrics?

come on thats not fair!

even i dont see how hip hop involved here!

yet you the one who advice me to listen to more metal! lol
sure your definition of extreme 100% will be diff than most metalheads ..opes..i mean diff than mine

so a pro like you might tell me whats extreme on your definition?


note: didnt you notes lot of heavy metal (classic songs) got some really stupid lyrics?
yet they are classics ..!!


You're not making sense anymore.
Desertman - 31.08.2007 at 12:49  
Quote:
You're not making sense anymore.



lol no problem ...least anymore..you did not make sense at all!
Sunioj - 31.08.2007 at 13:16  
Prefer Coma of Souls over this album anyday...still not a bad album.
TombstoneHighway - 31.08.2007 at 15:42  
Quote:
Written by Guest on 31.08.2007 at 12:49

You're not making sense anymore.



lol no problem ...least anymore..you did not make sense at all!


Oh come on...
DigitalGrind - 23.09.2007 at 15:18  
It's one of the albums that changed my life,because i started to listen a trash a german trash fuckin metal yeah....trash till death ;]:banger:
trapedINaCORNER - 13.01.2008 at 15:13  
The guy must be joking. There are no words to describe this album. AMAZING..
Derelict Earth - 29.08.2008 at 17:38  
Written by Guest on 23.09.2007 at 15:18

It's one of the albums that changed my life,because i started to listen a trash a german trash fuckin metal yeah....trash till death ;]:banger:


Please ... "thrash" not "trash", this typo just bug me everytime!
Dangerboner - 31.08.2008 at 02:35  
People, he gave it a good rating, but the originality portion is why the overall number is so low. This was published before they fixed it.

But, it's about time someone gave an intelligent rating to the originality attribute. I'd still rate it higher though because the melodic factor took me by surprise. This album really is a grower, but I always say that.
Deadmeat - 03.11.2008 at 09:22  
Written by Joey Jo Jo on 14.08.2007 at 17:50

10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.

Violent Revolution is a lot better IMHO. Overall I agree with your review though.

maybe because they didn't want the bass to sound loud. btw this is one of the few albums with so "wide" sound! Listen also to ...and justice for all. Great production, no bass...
Kuurslight - 07.02.2009 at 09:26  
This is a classic thrash album. It was abused for to long by the band. Thank the chaos gods for a new Kreator album.
Deadmeat - 12.06.2009 at 10:33  
And what about the lyrics??? Suicide Terrorist has EXCELENT lyrics. it was exectly on the time when it happened and it's lyrics are great. also murder fantasies??? what's rong with those lyrics man??? really...
terrorist - 17.06.2009 at 07:46  
Excelent album!!!!!!!!The best song including Violent Revolution and Hordes of Chaos from Kreator ever made.ANd please don't start now that their older stuff is better.This is better ,after all those years of playing the made unique album realy!
Nicko's Nose - 04.08.2009 at 07:15  
Metal doesn't need to be extremely heavy and agressive to be good.
Hermann Langke - 16.10.2009 at 14:58  
That's very lame.
Hermann Langke - 16.10.2009 at 15:00  
Written by Kincaid on 14.08.2007 at 19:29

Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!

i agree with you.everything about it is good.
Hermann Langke - 16.10.2009 at 15:03  
Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 17:26

Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 14:43

what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it


You must be joking. I mean, you're actually calling Enemy of God one of the best heavy metal albums of all time? I can name at least 20 albums that surpass this uninspiring effort in almost every aspect!

And don't even get me started on the lyrics. Those things lacked creativity. I'm not saying they weren't "extreme". No, god forbid metal lyrics are about anything but the brutal harshness of war, gore, suicide, and dystopian societies (if that's what "extreme" is). Almost no other bands have ever touched upon MORE INTERESTING matters. That's just practically unheard of (or so your "statistics" say).

By the way, can you tell me what the fuck is "extreme"? I must hear it from a pro like yourself.

don't you say that.
Maxx666 - 19.10.2009 at 22:23  
Awesome album in its own right. But i wish it were faster in the veins of pleasure to kill.
That Album still rules and no album can claim its throne.This album can be rightfully said as a modern thrash masterpiece

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kreator - Enemy Of God 7 07.07.2006 by florin
Albums Kreator - Enemy Of God 6 09.06.2011 by Damshak
News Kreator - Tour With Arch Enemy, Vader And Sodom 4.5 15.04.2014 by Azazel
News Arch Enemy - To Headline North American Tour With Kreator 3 13.06.2014 by Teravolt_Danny
Reviews Amon Amarth - Twilight Of The Thunder God 2.5 02.01.2011 by MechanisT



Hits total: 4267 | This month: 57