Rating:
8.4
Dimmu Borgir - In Sorte Diaboli
27 April 2007


Disc I
01. The Serpentine Offering
02. The Chosen Legacy
03. The Conspiracy Unfolds
04. The Ancestral Fever [European bonus]
05. The Sacrilegious Scorn
06. The Fallen Arise
07. The Heretic Hammer [North American bonus]
08. The Sinister Awakening
09. The Fundamental Alienation
10. The Invaluable Darkness
11. The Foreshadowing Furnace
12. Black Metal [Japanese bonus] [Venom cover]

Disc II [DVD]
01. The Serpentine Offering [video]
02. Making Of The Album With Dimmu Borgir (Studio Report)
03. Making Of "The Serpentine Offering"
+ Photogallery


So here it is, "In Sorte Diaboli", the long awaited new Dimmu Borgir concept album. It truly is a testament to the spirit of black metal, at least in it's message. The story is set in medieval england, and the concept that the album follows is that a man who is a priest's assistant realizes how corrupt the church is, and then in turn gets in touch with his dark side. Silenoz is the one who created the story and concept of the album, and I must say I apreciate him for that, I have been looking for an album dedicated to the message of corruption in organized religion. I would like all reading this review to prepare themselves to come into direct contact with Satan, prepare yourselves for "In Sorte Diaboli."

I have three words for you when it comes to the dominating musical factors of the album; "Shagrath and Hellhammer."
Seriously, those two did it on this album for me. Shagrath has such a powerful voice, every time I hear it my brain releases like a billion endorphines and I have a seizure from all the awesome that emanates from his vocal charge. Seriously, when he goes "Share my SACRIFIIIIIICE!!!" it stays there, in my head, all day.
Hellhammer tears the album up as well. He uses some insane double bass work, awesome fills, and he does some interesting cymbal work as well. So to all you Dimmu haters out there, if Hellhammer of legendary band "Mayhem" thinks that Dimmu is worth his time (which, considering his drumming for this album, he obviously does) then you should too.

As for the other instruments, well the guitars are obviously good. I mean, is it even possible to have a bad riff with Galder on your side? I think not, and Silenoz aint too shabby either. There are some intricate melody's and interludes in the album, and if you listen the switches are pretty good. Vortex, while not the best bassist in the world, still has of course, the legendary soothing clean vocals on this album. I personally, love that aspect of Dimmu. Then we come to Mustis, with his genius symphonic arrangements, charts, and melodies. The intro to "The Serpentine Offering" is a little annoying, but other than that, I think he does a pretty good job overall.

This album I wouldn't really say is their best, not by a long shot, but it sure as hell isn't a bad album, not in the least. Anyone who likes the unique and unorthodox style of symphonic/melodic Black Metal that Dimmu plays should get this album, it's definitely a worthy investment.


Album highlights: 'The Serpentine Offering', 'The Chosen Legacy', 'The Invaluable Darkness', 'The Forshadowing Furnace'.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 10


Band profile: Dimmu Borgir
Album: In Sorte Diaboli


 


written by Arian Totalis | 09.09.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Demonic Tutor

Rating:
8.3
A Black Metal concept album? Yes, you read that right. Dimmu Borgir has once again found a way to stand out by taking an unconventional path. The Norwegian superstars are back with "In Sorte Diaboli", following mostly raw reviews on their re-release of "Stormblåst". Needless to say that their concept better stand the test if Dimmu Borgir wants to stay on top, seeing that their latest notable work was released in 2003. Remember "Death Cult Armageddon"?

Read more ››
published 17.06.2007 | Comments (39)

Guest review by
Ekim Reklaw

Rating:
9.8
Dimmu Borgir made quite the accomplishment with the album, In Sorte Diaboli. This 2007 release to me is one of their best, if not the best. In Sorte Diaboli (ISD) was the very first Dimmu Borgir album I bought, but it was also the very first black metal, or for you technical people out there, symphonic black metal albums that I bought.

Read more ››
published 11.07.2012 | Comments (12)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 89  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 10.09.2007 at 15:32  
Yeah, not their best but not bad at least... But in my opinion Hellhammer could be better, I expected more from him.
W-Lash - 20.09.2007 at 23:24  
Can't agree about 8.4. This album couldn't be so high in the top. It's ordinary average stuff.
Why? Compare it to other DB albums...What's so good in this one? Double drumming all the time was the first impression and i didn't change my mind till the end of it.
All songs were like one - no visible difference.
Arian Totalis - 21.09.2007 at 04:40  
hey man I like it, just how it is
Infurnace - 23.09.2007 at 17:35  
It isn't a bad album at all, but I must say that I think they are getting a bit to commercial, and I don't like that. I would rate it an 8.
Arian Totalis - 23.09.2007 at 20:23  
They've actually been comercial for a while dude, ever since death cult armegeddon, but I still think that they play good music.
+{Jonas}+ - 20.10.2007 at 02:54  
IMo they've been comercial since Enthrone Darkness Triumphant...
Belphegore - 09.11.2007 at 01:31  
what's with all the "The"s in their track titles????
Arian Totalis - 09.11.2007 at 05:35  
I dunno, it's part of how they planned out the album I guess.
Witcher - 20.12.2007 at 08:08  
It's a good one but its not one of the best
Sepulchre - 20.12.2007 at 22:09  
I would still say Enthrone Darkness Triumphant is their best work, but I would give this album best album of 2007.
Arian Totalis - 21.12.2007 at 04:00  
Eh, not even CLOSE to best of 07........but yeah, it's a good album.
Bsquared - 14.08.2008 at 14:11  
@ Arian Totalis
Rofl, how can you even call this commercial. Ask a random person on the street outside if they ever heard of "dimmu borgir". I bet you most of em, if not all, won't know wtf you're talking about

OK album btw, not their best indeed, but it's allright.
MathC - 14.08.2008 at 15:06  
Written by Bsquared on 14.08.2008 at 14:11

Rofl, how can you even call this commercial. Ask a random person on the street outside if they ever heard of "dimmu borgir". I bet you most of em, if not all, won't know wtf you're talking about


No. Everyone heard of Dimmu Borgir.



btw this album is exactly what Dimmu is going for nowadays. Uninspired pseudo black metal where emphasis is put on production rather than songwritting.
the napalm rain - 17.12.2008 at 00:23  
In "the foreshadowing furnace" drums are awsome, after 4:08 it is getting impressive, but certainly sounds like there is nothing natural in the album. However the album is great with its production.

By the way it's good to see you back Hellhammer but I prefer listening Spiritual Black Dimensions:)
W-Lash - 19.12.2008 at 13:16  
What does concept album means in this case? Usually it means brand new ideas. But in this case? Did you hear something? I didn't.
Arian Totalis - 20.12.2008 at 03:22  
Written by W-Lash on 19.12.2008 at 13:16

What does concept album means in this case? Usually it means brand new ideas. But in this case? Did you hear something? I didn't.

A concept album doesn't necesserily mean new or experimental ideas, it just means that album follows a particular concept. Often times, concept albums will tell a story about someone, and that's exactly what this is, a story of a priest who eventually follows the path of satan
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.12.2008 at 03:28  
Written by Arian Totalis on 20.12.2008 at 03:22

Written by W-Lash on 19.12.2008 at 13:16

What does concept album means in this case? Usually it means brand new ideas. But in this case? Did you hear something? I didn't.

...Often times, concept albums will tell a story about someone, and that's exactly what this is, a story of a priest who eventually follows the path of satan


Actually the concept here is that every song title starts with "The"
Arian Totalis - 20.12.2008 at 03:47  
Lolz, yes, very true
Uirapuru - 27.04.2009 at 06:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.12.2008 at 03:28

Written by Arian Totalis on 20.12.2008 at 03:22

Written by W-Lash on 19.12.2008 at 13:16

What does concept album means in this case? Usually it means brand new ideas. But in this case? Did you hear something? I didn't.

...Often times, concept albums will tell a story about someone, and that's exactly what this is, a story of a priest who eventually follows the path of satan


Actually the concept here is that every song title starts with "The"


It is silly, but I like this kinda stuff (the ''The''s). That ''something more'' in the aesthetic of the album gives an air of elegance.

Too bad the music didnt have this ''something more'', this album is just good. Even Shagrath's voice (that is perfect for this kind of music) has also been more impressive than this.
Darkside Momo - 30.05.2009 at 17:56  
As far as the story's concerned, I'd like to know how much they were inspired by Sabbat's Dreamweaver. The story, inspired by the book The Way Of Wyrd, is based on the same ideas, the only difference is that the young priest turns pagan and not evil.
Lord_Regnier - 30.05.2009 at 19:48  
Written by Guest on 14.08.2008 at 15:06

btw this album is exactly what Dimmu is going for nowadays. Uninspired pseudo black metal where emphasis is put on production rather than songwritting.


I think it's a good way to describe Dimmu Borgir.
By the way, DB is as commercial as BM can be (though I would call it PSEUDO BM, indeed, and not BM).

To the guy who said it wasn't commercial: every kid who worships Shitknot and the likes here also knows Dimmu Borgir. And I see lots of Dimmu Borgir shirts wandering the streets.
METALVIKING107 - 12.11.2009 at 19:14  
Snooty metal heads... tisk tisk its a damn shame
Arian Totalis - 13.11.2009 at 03:23  
Written by METALVIKING107 on 12.11.2009 at 19:14

Snooty metal heads... tisk tisk its a damn shame

what does that have to do with the review? Or even the band for that matter?
Sulac - 06.08.2010 at 23:59  
Hehehe, this is a silly question: any of the songs on here not about killing god and worshipping Satan? These guys have an amazing sound, but I refuse to listen to such music.
M C Vice - 03.07.2011 at 11:08  
Written by Sulac on 06.08.2010 at 23:59

Hehehe, this is a silly question: any of the songs on here not about killing god and worshipping Satan?

Yeah ,there's an instrumentle about 3 quarters through the album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - In Sorte Diaboli 8.5 11.07.2012 by Kamil
Reviews Dimmu Borgir - In Sorte Diaboli 8.5 17.06.2007 by chris_metalhead
Albums Dimmu Borgir - In Sorte Diaboli 7.5 26.02.2010 by Novas
News Dimmu Borgir - Announce More European Tour Dates 4.5 25.03.2012 by Steadydrummer619
News Dimmu Borgir - New Video Online 4.5 22.10.2006 by



Hits total: 3948 | This month: 20